DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument that Chirumbolo fails to teach a trigger member. The teeth 93 at least trigger the manual unlocking of the device (see para 42) which would at least physically trigger the switch. The examiner also disagrees new claim 21 requires a bidirectional actuator. The claim merely requires the pin to move bi directionally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections have been overcome by the present amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, 15-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chirumbolo US 20200347641 A1 (hereinafter Chirumbolo).
In regards to claim 1, Chirumbolo teaches a door-locking module for a door of a household appliance, comprising: a housing (12); a printed circuit board (PCB)(18), received within the housing and comprising at least one first actuator switch (28) adapted to open and close a predetermined first circuit of the PCB (see fig 2 and para 30; circuit with 28 such as in fig 15; circuit is determined during manufacturing which is before use); a locking pin (56) configured to move between a locked position (see fig 8), affecting the door into a locked state (para 41), and an unlocked position (such as in fig 7), affecting the door into an unlocked state (para 39 and 41); an actuator (68), operably coupled to the locking pin so as to controllably move the locking pin between the unlocked position and the locked position (para 41), and a locking ring (86), operably coupled between the actuator and the at least one first actuator switch (see fig 2), comprising a trigger member (93; para 42) adapted to operably engage with the at least one first actuator switch (28), and at least one cam guide (92 and 90) adapted to cooperate with a corresponding cam follower (94) of the locking pin (see figs 6-8).
In regards to claim 2, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one cam guide comprises an enclosed cam surface (at least enclosed within 86).
In regards to claim 3, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 2, wherein the enclosed cam surface of the at least one cam guide comprises a first stop (90; at least stops 60 from moving down wrt fig 6) terminating at a first end (top of 86 wrt fig 2), and a second stop (92; at least stops 60 from moving up wrt fig 8) terminating at a second end (bottom of 86 wrt fig 2) opposite the first end (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 4, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 3, wherein the locking pin is in the unlocked position when the cam follower engages the first stop, during use (see fig 6).
In regards to claim 5, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 3, wherein the locking pin is in the locked position when the cam follower engages the second stop (see fig 8).
In regards to claim 6, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is configured to move the locking pin bidirectionally up and down) between the unlocked position and the locked position (see figs 6-8).
In regards to claim 7, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is operably coupled to the locking pin via a transmission (74), wherein the transmission is a gear assembly, comprising a plurality of cooperating gears (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 9, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 1, wherein the PCB comprises at least one second actuator switch (30) adapted to open and close at least one second predetermined circuit of the PCB (see fig 2; and circuit with 30 such as in fig 15; circuit is determined during manufacturing which is pre use; The first and circuit are separate as the paths with 28 and 30 are separate and a circuit is defined as “the complete path of an electric current including usually the source of electric energy” by Merriam-Webster; the two switches are on separate paths).
In regards to claim 11, Chirumbolo in view of Hara teaches the door-locking module according to claim 1, wherein the actuator is an electric motor (Chirumbolo: para 34).
In regards to claim 15, Chirumbolo teaches a door-locking module for a door of a household appliance, comprising: a housing (12); a printed circuit board (PCB)(18), received within the housing and comprising at least one first actuator switch (28) adapted to open and close a predetermined first circuit of the PCB (para 30; also see fig 15 circuit is determined during manufacturing which is pre use); a locking pin (56) configured to move between a locked position (see fig 8), affecting the door into a locked state, and an unlocked position (fig 7), affecting the door into an unlocked state (see paras 39-41); an actuator (68), operably coupled to the locking pin so as to controllably move the locking pin between the unlocked position and the locked position (see figs 6-7 and para 41), wherein the actuator is configured to move the locking pin bidirectionally (up and down wrt fig 6) between the unlocked position and the locked position; and a locking ring (86), operably coupled between the actuator and the at least one first actuator switch (see fig 2), comprising a trigger member (93) adapted to operably engage with the at least one first actuator switch (para 42), and at least one cam guide (90 and 92) adapted to cooperate with a corresponding cam follower (94) of the locking pin (see fig 2), wherein the at least one cam guide comprises an enclosed cam surface (at least enclosed within 86) with a first stop 90; at least stops 60 from moving down wrt fig 6) terminating at a first end (top end of 86 wet fig 2), and a second stop (92; at least stops 60 from moving up wrt fig 8) terminating at a second end (bottom of 86 wrt fig 2) opposite the first end (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 16, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 15, wherein the actuator is operably coupled to the locking pin via a transmission (74), the transmission comprising a plurality of cooperating gears (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 17, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 15, wherein the PCB comprises at least one second actuator switch (30) adapted to open and close at least one second predetermined circuit of the PCB (see fig 2; and circuit with 30 such as in fig 15; circuit is determined during manufacturing which is pre use; The first and circuit are separate as the paths with 28 and 30 are separate and a circuit is defined as “the complete path of an electric current including usually the source of electric energy” by Merriam-Webster; the two switches are on separate paths).
In regards to claim 19, Chirumbolo teaches a door-locking module according to claim 15, wherein the actuator is a bidirectional electric motor (para 38, the motor does not operate bi directionally but is capable of bidirectional functionality).
In regards to claim 20, Chirumbolo teaches a door-locking module for a door of a household appliance, comprising: a housing (12); a printed circuit board (PCB)(18), received within the housing and comprising at least one first actuator switch (28) adapted to open and close a predetermined first circuit of the PCB (see fig 2 and para 30; circuit with 28 such as in fig 15; circuit is determined during manufacturing which is before use); a locking pin (56) configured to move between a locked position (see fig 8), affecting the door into a locked state (para 41), and an unlocked position (such as in fig 7), affecting the door into an unlocked state (para 39 and 41); an actuator (68), operably coupled to the locking pin so as to controllably move the locking pin between the unlocked position and the locked position (para 41), and a locking ring (86), operably coupled between the actuator and the at least one first actuator switch (see fig 2), comprising a trigger member (at least 90) adapted to operably engage with the at least one first actuator switch (28), and at least one cam guide (92) adapted to cooperate with a corresponding cam follower (94) of the locking pin (see figs 6-8), wherein movement of the locking ring and the cam guide relative the cam follower moves the trigger member to operably engage with the at least one first actuator switch (see fig 2).
In regards to claim 21, Chirumbolo teaches a door-locking module for a door of a household appliance, comprising: a housing (12); a printed circuit board (PCB)(18), received within the housing and comprising at least one first actuator switch (28) adapted to open and close a predetermined first circuit of the PCB (see fig 2 and para 30; circuit with 28 such as in fig 15; circuit is determined during manufacturing which is before use); a locking pin (56) configured to move between a locked position (see fig 8), affecting the door into a locked state (para 41), and an unlocked position (such as in fig 7), affecting the door into an unlocked state (para 39 and 41); an actuator (68), operably coupled to the locking pin so as to controllably move the locking pin bidirectionally (up and down wrt fig 6) between the unlocked position and the locked position (para 41); a locking ring (86), operably coupled between the actuator and the locking pin (see fig 2), the locking ring comprising a cam guide (92 and 90) adapted to cooperate with a corresponding cam follower (94) of the locking pin; and a trigger member (89) adapted to operably engage with the at least one first actuator switch upon movement of the actuator (as the actuator causes movement of 89).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU CN 114668355 A (hereinafter Liu).
In regards to claim 19, Liu teaches door-locking module for a door of a household appliance, comprising: a housing (10); a printed circuit board (PCB) (60), received within the housing and comprising at least one first actuator switch (50) adapted to open and close a predetermined first circuit of the PCB (see fig 2); a locking pin (411) configured to move between a locked position, affecting the door into a locked state, and an unlocked position, affecting the door into an unlocked state (see fig 2); an actuator (20), operably coupled to the locking pin so as to controllably move the locking pin between the unlocked position and the locked position (see fig 2), wherein the actuator is configured to move the locking pin bidirectionally between the unlocked position and the locked position (see fig 2); and a locking ring (32), operably coupled between the actuator and the at least one first actuator switch (see fig 1), comprising a trigger member (teeth engaging 33) adapted to operably engage with the at least one first actuator switch (indirectly), and at least one cam guide (301) adapted to cooperate with a corresponding cam follower of the locking pin (portion of 41 around 42), wherein the at least one cam guide comprises an enclosed cam surface with a first stop (top wall wrt fig 2) terminating at a first end, and a second stop terminating at a second end opposite the first end (bottom wall wrt fig 2) wherein the actuator is a bidirectional electric motor (para 48.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chirumbolo in view of Kasack US 20110101840 A1 (hereinafter Kasack).
In regards to claim 10, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 9, further comprising a sensing member (Chirumbolo: 58) coupled with the door of the appliance and adapted to move between a first position (see fig 6), engaging the second actuator switch (see fig 6), when the door is open (para 39) and a second position (see fig 7) when the door is closed (para 40).
However, Chirumbolo does not teach and a second position, disengaged from the second actuator switch, when the door is closed.
Kasack teaches a sensing member (13) with a second position (see fig 4), disengaged from a similar second actuator switch (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have Chirumbolo’s sensing member disengage the second actuator switch in the second position in order to provide a clearance preventing undesired actuation of the second actuator switch (i.e. vibration of the sensing member would be less likely to actuate the second actuator switch).
In regards to claim 18, Chirumbolo teaches the door-locking module according to claim 17, further comprising a sensing member (Chirumbolo: 58) coupled with the door of the appliance and adapted to move between a first position (see fig 6), engaging the second actuator switch (see fig 6), when the door is open (para 39) and a second position (see fig 7) when the door is closed (para 40).
However, Chirumbolo does not teach and a second position, disengaged from the second actuator switch, when the door is closed.
Kasack teaches a sensing member (13) with a second position (see fig 4), disengaged from a similar second actuator switch (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing of the invention, to have Chirumbolo’s sensing member disengage the second actuator switch in the second position in order to provide a clearance preventing undesired actuation of the second actuator switch (i.e. vibration of the sensing member would be less likely to actuate the second actuator switch).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Promutico EP 1433893 A2 (teaches a similar device with unidirectional or bidirectional motor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675