DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 11/17/2025, claims 1-3, 5, and 7-9 are pending. Claims 4, 6, and 10-19 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each claim recites “inflating the two balloons by depressing a level on the handle”, which appears to be a misspelling of “lever” since the present Specification describes “a balloon activation lever 116” (PP [0038]). It is recommended that claims 1 and 8 be amended to correct the spelling and recite “by depressing a lever on the handle” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (US PGPub 2016/0081710 A1) in view of Berger (US Patent No. 5,179,963).
With respect to claim 1, Barnes et al. discloses a method of performing carpal tunnel release procedure on a hand (abstract), the method comprising:
advancing a shaft (220 in Figs. 15-16) of a soft tissue cutting device into the hand (PP [0125]: “The distal end 214 includes a shaft 220 that inserts into the carpal tunnel region”), wherein the shaft (220) comprises;
a proximal end coupled to a handle (see unmarked shaft in Fig. 14 coupled to handle 212); and
a distal end coupled with two balloons on two sides of the shaft (see distal end 214 in Fig. 16 coupled with two balloons 234a-b);
positioning the distal end of the shaft (220) at or near a carpal tunnel (see PP [0125]);
inflating the two balloons (234a-b) by depressing a level on the handle (PP [0153]: “In certain embodiments, the handle also houses the syringe. In such cases, the syringe includes an actuator or control positioned outside of the handle that controls functions of the syringe. For example, the control can be a lever, slider button, push button and/or clamp. In some cases, the control is another slider button positioned on an external surface of the handle. The slider button can be coupled to a plunger to control movement of the plunger. In some cases, the slider button is directly connected to the plunger. In other cases, the control is a clamp. In such cases, the clamp can be coupled to a plunger to control movement of the plunger. When an operator desires to inflate the balloons, he or she slides the slider button forward (or compresses the clamp) to push the plunger and push fluid from the barrel into a piping arrangement”);
moving a hook shaped blade (246 in Figs. 17-24) of the soft tissue cutting device out of an opening in an upper surface of the shaft (see opening 264 in Fig. 22) between the two balloons and proximally along the shaft (see Figs. 23-26, the blade moves up and out of the opening in Figs. 23-24, and proximally from Figs. 25-26) to cut a transverse carpal ligament (PP [0152]: “Once the blade pin 256 reaches the proximal guideway end 268, the transverse carpal ligament is cut and the device 200 is in the second inactive position”); and
removing the shaft (220) of the soft tissue cutting device from the hand (PP [0152]: “The cutting edge 254 is fully housed and protected within the shaft 220 and the device 200 can be safely removed from the body”).
However, Barnes et al. fails to disclose measuring a first pressure in the two balloons via a pressure gauge in the handle coupled with the two balloons via tubing.
In the same field of carpal tunnel procedures (abstract), Berger teaches a carpal tunnel device (see Fig. 2) including a balloon (26 in Fig. 3) and a gauge (30 in Fig. 2) on a handle of the device (see Fig. 2) coupled with the balloon via tubing (see 34 in Fig. 2), and further teaches measuring a first pressure (col. 6, lines 39-41: “A balloon catheter 24 is attached to the pressure monitor 30 and syringe 32. Initial pressure reading is taken of the carpal tunnel”) via the pressure gauge (30).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Barnes et al. method to incorporate the teachings of Berger and include measuring a first pressure in the two balloons via a pressure gauge in the handle coupled with the two balloons via tubing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted the use of a known technique (the incorporation of a pressure gauge into the handle of a device comprising balloons) to a known device (the device of Barnes et al.) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The combination as proposed would simply allow the surgeon to monitor the fluid pressure within the balloons as the device is placed and moved along the carpal tunnel of a patient.
Regarding claim 3, Barnes et al. as modified by the Berger patent further discloses measuring a second pressure within the carpal tunnel after the transverse carpal ligament is cut (Berger patent claim 1: “serially inflating and deflating said balloon catheter while intermittently moving it along the tunnel and continuously montioring the pressure therein”, the combination as proposed would allow continuous pressure monitoring using the gauge as taught by Berger, therefore a second pressure would be measured after the carpal ligament is cut while the device is still inserted).
With respect to claim 8, Barnes et al. discloses a method of performing carpal tunnel release procedure on a hand (abstract), the method comprising:
advancing a shaft (220 in Figs. 15-16) of a soft tissue cutting device into the hand (PP [0125]: “The distal end 214 includes a shaft 220 that inserts into the carpal tunnel region”), wherein the shaft (220) comprises;
a proximal end coupled to a handle (see unmarked shaft in Fig. 14 coupled to handle 212); and
a distal end coupled with two balloons on two sides of the shaft (see distal end 214 in Fig. 16 coupled with two balloons 234a-b);
positioning the distal end of the shaft (220) at or near a carpal tunnel (see PP [0125]);
inflating the two balloons (234a-b) by depressing a level on the handle (PP [0153]: “In certain embodiments, the handle also houses the syringe. In such cases, the syringe includes an actuator or control positioned outside of the handle that controls functions of the syringe. For example, the control can be a lever, slider button, push button and/or clamp. In some cases, the control is another slider button positioned on an external surface of the handle. The slider button can be coupled to a plunger to control movement of the plunger. In some cases, the slider button is directly connected to the plunger. In other cases, the control is a clamp. In such cases, the clamp can be coupled to a plunger to control movement of the plunger. When an operator desires to inflate the balloons, he or she slides the slider button forward (or compresses the clamp) to push the plunger and push fluid from the barrel into a piping arrangement”);
moving a hook shaped blade (246 in Figs. 17-24) of the soft tissue cutting device out of an opening in an upper surface of the shaft (see opening 264 in Fig. 22) between the two balloons and proximally along the shaft (see Figs. 23-26, the blade moves up and out of the opening in Figs. 23-24, and proximally from Figs. 25-26) to cut a transverse carpal ligament (PP [0152]: “Once the blade pin 256 reaches the proximal guideway end 268, the transverse carpal ligament is cut and the device 200 is in the second inactive position”); and
However, Barnes et al. fails to disclose measuring a first pressure in the two balloons via a pressure gauge in the handle coupled with the two balloons via tubing, or sensing a second pressure in the two balloons, using the pressure gauge.
In the same field of carpal tunnel procedures (abstract), Berger teaches a carpal tunnel device (see Fig. 2) including a balloon (26 in Fig. 3) and a gauge (30 in Fig. 2) on a handle of the device (see Fig. 2) coupled with the balloon via tubing (see 34 in Fig. 2), and further teaches measuring a first pressure (col. 6, lines 39-41: “A balloon catheter 24 is attached to the pressure monitor 30 and syringe 32. Initial pressure reading is taken of the carpal tunnel”) and a second pressure (claim 1: “continuously montioring the pressure therein”) via the pressure gauge (30).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Barnes et al. method to incorporate the teachings of Berger and include measuring a first pressure and a second pressure in the two balloons via a pressure gauge in the handle coupled with the two balloons via tubing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted the use of a known technique (the incorporation of a pressure gauge into the handle of a device comprising balloons) to a known device (the device of Barnes et al.) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The combination as proposed would simply allow the surgeon to monitor the fluid pressure within the balloons as the device is placed and moved along the carpal tunnel of a patient.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (US PGPub 2016/0081710 A1) in view of Berger (US Patent No. 5,179,963), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Berger (US PGPub 2010/0100114 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Barnes et al. as modified by the Berger patent fails to disclose using a visualization member on the distal end of the shaft to visualize at least one anatomical landmark, wherein the visualization member is selected from the group consisting of a camera, a light fiber, and an ultrasound transducer.
In the same field of carpal tunnel procedures (abstract), the Berger publication teaches a surgical instrument comprising a shaft (32 in Fig. 4) and a balloon (50), and further teaches using a visualization member (55 in Fig. 6) on the distal end of the shaft (32) to visualize at least one anatomical landmark, wherein the visualization member is selected from the group consisting of a camera, a light fiber, and an ultrasound transducer (PP [0049]: “Clearly depicted in FIG. 6 is the visualization lens 55 used in lieu of the closed tip 26 in an alternative embodiment. As shown here, the lens 55 is generally optically transparent wherein the expensive optics of an arthroscope or endoscope inserted into this otherwise inexpensive device will be protected while in use. Additionally, the optical properties of the generally convex cross section of the lens 55 results in a wider field of view regarding objects viewed therethrough. It is contemplated that the visualization lens 55 may be ground with additional refractive indeces as desired, for example, the lens 55 may be ground to provide a magnified view of tissues viewed therethrough”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent further in view of the Berger publication to incorporate a visualization member as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted the use of a known technique (a distal lens for accommodating an endoscope or arthroscope to improve visualization in a carpal tunnel procedure) to improve a similar device (the combination of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent) in the same way, since providing an avenue for direct visualization would provide an avenue of direct visualization to the combination as proposed, which would yield a more efficient procedure by enabling the surgeon to more accurately place the device.
Regarding claim 9, Barnes et al. as modified by Berger fails to disclose visualizing an area within the hand using a visualization member on the distal end of the shaft.
In the same field of carpal tunnel procedures (abstract), the Berger publication teaches a surgical instrument comprising a shaft (32 in Fig. 4) and a balloon (50), and further teaches using a visualization member (55 in Fig. 6) on the distal end of the shaft (32) to visualize at least one anatomical landmark, wherein the visualization member is selected from the group consisting of a camera, a light fiber, and an ultrasound transducer (PP [0049]: “Clearly depicted in FIG. 6 is the visualization lens 55 used in lieu of the closed tip 26 in an alternative embodiment. As shown here, the lens 55 is generally optically transparent wherein the expensive optics of an arthroscope or endoscope inserted into this otherwise inexpensive device will be protected while in use. Additionally, the optical properties of the generally convex cross section of the lens 55 results in a wider field of view regarding objects viewed therethrough. It is contemplated that the visualization lens 55 may be ground with additional refractive indeces as desired, for example, the lens 55 may be ground to provide a magnified view of tissues viewed therethrough”).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent further in view of the Berger publication to incorporate a visualization member as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted the use of a known technique (a distal lens for accommodating an endoscope or arthroscope to improve visualization in a carpal tunnel procedure) to improve a similar device (the combination of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent) in the same way, since providing an avenue for direct visualization would provide an avenue of direct visualization to the combination as proposed, which would yield a more efficient procedure by enabling the surgeon to more accurately place the device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (US PGPub 2016/0081710 A1) in view of Berger (US Patent No. 5,179,963), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eschbach (US PGPub 2018/0256161 A1).
Regarding claim 5, since the combination as proposed uses an analog pressure gauge, Barnes et al. and the Berger patent fail to disclose:
converting the first pressure and the second pressure into digital numerical data; and
providing the digital numerical data on a display on the handle
In the related field of surgical instruments with sensors to detect a characteristic of the surgical environment (abstract), Eschbach teaches a device (1 in Fig. 1) comprising a pressure sensor (PP [0049]: “The second sensor 66 of the end effector 46 is a pressure sensor or pressure measuring device”). Eschbach further teaches:
converting the sensor data into digital numerical data (PP [0052]: “In some embodiments, the display 20 (FIG. 1) may display ranges of numbers or various numeral outputs to display the measurements of first and second sensors 64, 66. In particular, the first, second, and third display sections 20a, 20b, 20c may display the number ranges 0 to 3, 0 to 5, 0 to 10, 0 to 100, or any other suitable range, to illustrate information about the tissue being grasped by the end effector 46”); and
providing the digital numerical data on a display (20 in Fig. 1) coupled with the device (1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent to incorporate the teachings of Eschbach and include converting measurements into numerical digits for display. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted applying a known technique (the conversion of raw data into numerical digits for display purposes) to the known method of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent in order to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I. D.), since incorporating these teachings would only enable the display of the sensor information and would not interfere with or change the operation of the device or method of the combination as proposed.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes et al. (US PGPub 2016/0081710 A1) in view of Berger (US Patent No. 5,179,963), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wallace (US Patent No. 5,004,472).
Regarding claim 7, Barnes et al. as modified by the Berger patent fails to discloses:
inflating the two balloons before advancing the shaft into the hand; and
measuring a priming pressure in the two balloons to confirm the two balloons are inflated.
In the related field of balloon catheters (abstract), related in that this field is also concerned with pressurized balloons placed within a patient, Wallace teaches that “the balloon is typically inflated before the procedure to ensure the patency of the balloon and to check whether the balloon can withstand the desired pressure” (col. 2, lines 8-10).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combination of Barnes et al. and the Berger patent to further incorporate the teachings of Wallace and include inflating the two balloons before advancing the shaft into the hand, and measuring a priming pressure in the two balloons to confirm that they are inflated (since the Berger patent teaches continuous pressure readings via the gauge as described, testing the balloons as taught by Wallace would include measuring this priming pressure when combined with the teachings of the Berger patent). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have constituted the use of a known technique (inflating the balloons prior to the procedure before the device is inserted within a hand of a patient to test their patency at the desired pressure/inflation amount) to improve a similar device (the method of the combination as proposed) in the same way, since adding a method of inflating the balloons prior to their insertion into the patient merely serves to confirm their patency prior to the surgical procedure. Checking that the balloons can withstand the desired pressure would enhance the efficiency of the surgical procedure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Barnes et al. (US PGPub 2021/0085416 A1) teaches a tray for a soft tissue cutting device comprising a lever and balloons (see Figs. 6-7). This reference shares inventors with the present application, but has a published date of 3/25/2021 which makes it eligible for use as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) since the present application has an effective filing date of 9/14/2022.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 /TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771