DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 13 September 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2021/0082992 A1; hereinafter Wei).
In regards to claim 1, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, an optical sensing apparatus comprising:
a first photo-detecting layer ([0036], [0038]; fig. 1: e.g. (110D)) comprising
a first absorption region (114D) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum [0036];
a second photo-detecting layer ([0036], [0038]; fig. 1: e.g. (110B)) formed over the first photo-detecting layer, the second photo-detecting layer comprising
a second absorption region (114B) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a mid-infrared spectrum [0036];
a first buffer layer ([0040-0044]; fig. 1: e.g. (112B)) formed at the top of the second photo-detecting layer; and
a second buffer layer ([0040-0044]; fig. 1: e.g. (112D)) formed at the top of the first photo-detecting layer and under the second photo-detecting layer.
Wei appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations comprising the first buffer layer formed over the second photo-detecting layer and the second buffer layer formed over the first photo-detecting layer and under the second photo-detecting layer; however Wei teaches that each layer can be each of the recited components depending on the desired application of the overall device [0036]. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed would have found it obvious to have an arrangement of the elements of the device as taught by Wei such that the first buffer layer is formed over the second photo-detecting layer and the second buffer layer formed is over the first photo-detecting layer and under the second photo-detecting layer because Wei teaches that the arrangement of the layers is the use or an application of a one of a number of finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g. dependent on the desired application of the device in question). See MPEP §2141 III.
In regards to claim 2, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Wei further teaches the limitations further comprising: a first contact (e.g. (650A-3)) formed over the first photo-detecting layer (114D) (fig. 10: e.g. (650A-3) is formed to protrude over (110D)) [0077]; and a second contact (e.g. (650A-1)) formed over the first buffer layer (fig. 10: e.g. (650A-1) is formed to protrude over (112B)) [0077].
In regards to claim 3, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 2. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the first photo-detecting layer further comprises a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the second absorption region [0043-0045].
In regards to claim 4, Wei teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 3. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the first photo-detecting layer further comprises a well region electrically coupled to the second contact, the well region configured to guide the amplified charge-carriers to the second contact ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include well structures).
In regards to claim 5, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Wei further teaches the limitations further comprising: a third photo-detecting layer ([0036], [0038]; fig. 1: e.g. (110C)) formed between the first photo-detecting layer (110D) and the second photo-detecting layer (110B), the third photo-detecting layer comprising a third absorption region (114C) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a short-wavelength mid-infrared spectrum [0036].
In regards to claim 6, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 5. Wei further teaches the limitations further comprising: a third contact (e.g. (650A-2)) formed over the third photo-detecting layer (fig. 10: e.g. (650A-2) is formed to protrude over (110C)) [0077].
In regards to claim 7, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 5. Wei further teaches the limitations further comprising: a passivation layer (114B) formed between the third photo-detecting layer (110C) and the second buffer layer (112B) ([0048]; fig. 10).
In regards to claim 8, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 7. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the first photo-detecting layer (110D) ([0036], [0038]) comprises silicon [0051], the second photo-detecting layer comprises a two-dimensional material ([0045]: e.g. nBn device architectures), the third photo-detecting layer (110C) ([0036], [0038]) comprises germanium [0051], and the passivation layer comprises epitaxy silicon or amorphous silicon [0041].
In regards to claim 9, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 7. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the first photo-detecting layer includes p-doping ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include p-doped structures), the second photo-detecting layer includes p-doping, n-doping, or an intrinsic region ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include p-i-n doped structures), the third photo-detecting layer includes p-doping ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include p-doped structures), and the passivation layer includes p-doping ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include p-doped structures).
In regards to claim 10, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 7. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the first photo-detecting layer includes n-doping, the second photo-detecting layer includes p-doping, the third photo- detecting layer includes p-doping, and the passivation layer including p-doping ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include p-i-n doped structures).
In regards to claim 11, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein at least one of the first buffer layer or the second buffer layer comprises a monolayer graphene or a multi-layer graphene ([0045]: e.g. nBn device architectures).
In regards to claim 12, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, an optical sensing apparatus comprising
a silicon layer [0051] comprising:
a first absorption region (114D) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum [0036];
a germanium layer [0051] formed over the silicon layer, the germanium layer comprising:
a second absorption region (114B) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a short-wave infrared (SWIR) spectrum [0036];
a black phosphorus layer [0051] formed over the germanium layer, the black phosphorus layer comprising:
a third absorption region (114C) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a mid- infrared spectrum [0036];
a first buffer layer ([0040-0044]; fig. 1: e.g. (112B)) formed at the top of the black phosphorus layer; and
a second buffer layer ([0040-0044]; fig. 1: e.g. (112D)) formed at the top of the silicon layer and under the black phosphorus layer.
Wei appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations comprising the first buffer layer formed over the black phosphorus layer and the second buffer layer formed over the silicon layer and under the black phosphorus layer; however Wei teaches that each layer can be each of the recited components depending on the desired application of the overall device [0036]. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed would have found it obvious to have an arrangement of the elements of the device as taught by Wei such that the first buffer layer formed over the black phosphorus layer and the second buffer layer formed over the silicon layer and under the black phosphorus layer because Wei teaches that the arrangement of the layers is the use or an application of a one of a number of finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g. dependent on the desired application of the device in question). See MPEP §2141 III.
In regards to claim 13, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 12. Wei further teaches the limitations further comprising a silicon-based passivation layer (114B) formed between the germanium layer (110C) and the second buffer layer (112B) ([0048], [0051]; fig. 10).
In regards to claim 14, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 12. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the silicon layer further comprises a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the black phosphorus layer [0043-0045].
In regards to claim 15, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 14. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the silicon layer further comprises a well region configured to guide the amplified charge-carriers to a readout circuitry ([0043-0045]: Wei discloses a plurality of different possible electromagnetic radiation sensitive semiconductor devices, some of which include well structures).
In regards to claim 16, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 12. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein at least one of the first buffer layer or the second buffer layer comprises a monolayer graphene or a multilayer graphene ([0045]: e.g. nBn device architectures).
In regards to claim 17, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 10-12, an optical sensing apparatus comprising:
a silicon layer comprising:
a first absorption region (114D) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a visible spectrum [0036];
a germanium layer [0051] formed over the silicon layer, the germanium layer comprising:
a second absorption region (114B) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a SWIR spectrum [0036];
a two-dimensional-material layer ([0045]: e.g. nBn device architectures) formed over the germanium layer, the two-dimensional-material layer comprising:
a third absorption region (114C) [0038] configured to absorb light in at least a mid-infrared spectrum [0036];
a first buffer layer ([0040-0044]; fig. 1: e.g. (112B)) formed at the top of the two-dimensional-material layer;
a second buffer layer ([0040-0044]; fig. 1: e.g. (112D)) formed at the top of the silicon layer and under the two-dimensional material layer.
Wei appears to be silent as to, but does not preclude, the limitations comprising the first buffer layer formed over the two-dimensional-material layer and the second buffer layer formed over the silicon layer and under the two-dimensional material layer; however Wei teaches that each layer can be each of the recited components depending on the desired application of the overall device [0036]. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed would have found it obvious to have an arrangement of the elements of the device as taught by Wei such that the first buffer layer formed over the two-dimensional-material layer and the second buffer layer formed over the silicon layer and under the two-dimensional material layer because Wei teaches that the arrangement of the layers is the use or an application of a one of a number of finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g. dependent on the desired application of the device in question). See MPEP §2141 III.
In regards to claim 18, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 17. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the two-dimensional-material layer comprises graphene, MXene, topological insulators, or transition metal dichalcogenides ([0045]: e.g. nBn device architectures).
In regards to claim 19, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 17. Wei further teaches the limitations wherein the silicon layer further comprises a charge region configured to amplify charge-carriers generated in the two-dimensional material layer [0043-0045].
In regards to claim 20, Wei teaches, e.g. in figs. 10-12, the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 17. Wei further teaches the limitations further comprising a silicon-based passivation layer (114B) formed between the germanium layer (110C) and the second buffer layer (112B) ([0048]; fig. 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Tian et al. (US 2011/0309236 A1) and Niu et al. (US 2023/0087411 A1).
CALVIN CHOI
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/CALVIN Y CHOI/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812