DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 9/13/2023. Claims 1-17 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Silorio (US20220385089).
As to claim 1, Silorio discloses a battery charging control device for controlling charging operations of rechargeable battery units (Fig. 1), for which electrical energy is provided by an electrical energy source ([0014] power input port 112 connected to each of the power outlet 104a through 104h), comprising:
a charging control unit (battery charger system 100) having an input connection capable of being coupled to the energy source for supplying an energy supply signal ([0014] Each of the relays 110a through 110h is operational for being configured in an ON state which enables current to flow from the power input port 112 to the respective power outlet 104a through 104h), and an output connection configuration with one or more output connections for coupling a charger arrangement with comprises one or more chargers, each having one or more charging ports for the rechargeable battery units ([0013] battery chargers 106a through 106g are plugged into the power outlets 104a through 104h), wherein
the charging control unit is configured to detect a maximum current load state of an electrical current overload protection system of the energy source ([0025] The maximum current limit may be set to avoid tripping a circuit breaker through which the battery charger system is powered) and, when the maximum current load state of the current overload protection system is detected, to control current carried by the energy supply signal from the energy source via the current overload protection system to ensure that the detected maximum current load state of the current overload protection system is complied with ([0012] A battery charger system is configured to provide power to multiple battery chargers (106a through 106g) while maintaining total current to the battery chargers below a maximum current limit. [0020]- [0021] Fig. 2B-2C The maximum current limit may be set to avoid tripping a circuit breaker through which the battery charger system is powered. The controller 114 generates a second total current estimate which is greater than the maximum current limit, as indicated in chart 122b….the controller 114 compares the second total current estimate to the maximum current limit. Because the second total current estimate is greater than the maximum current limit, the controller 114 provides the off-state signal to the relay 110f.), or
the charging control unit is configured
to monitor at least one of a current provided by the energy source at the input connection (Figs. 2A-6 and [0019]-[0029]) or a current provided at a respective output connection and to enable activation of a charging operation at a respective charging port when the current provided by the energy source and/or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection does not exceed an associated predefinable lower current threshold value (Fig. 6 S602-608 and [0023] Referring to FIG. 2E, the controller 114 compares the fourth total current estimate to the threshold current limit. Because the fourth total current estimate is less than the threshold current limit, the controller 114 provides the on-state signal to the relay 110f, causing the relay 110f to be configured in the ON state, connecting the power input port 112 of FIG. 1 to the battery charger 106e with the battery 108d. “threshold current limit” identified as predefinable lower current threshold value), or
reduce a current provided for a charging operation at a respective charging port when the current provided by the energy source and/or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection exceeds an associated predefinable upper current threshold value ([0019]-[0029][0020]-[0021] and Fig. 6 S608-610). … Because the second total current estimate is greater than the maximum current limit, the controller 114 provides the off-state signal to the relay 110f. maximum current limit as “predefinable upper current threshold value”).
As to claim 3, Silorio discloses the battery charging control device according to claim 1, further wherein the charging control unit is configured to enable one or more charging operations only until the maximum current load state of the current overload protection system is reached ([0053]- [0058] Fig. 6 S604-608 “false” and repeats until step 608 is “true”).
As to claim 17, Silorio discloses a battery charging control method for controlling charging operations of rechargeable battery units (Fig. 1-6), for which electrical energy is provided by an electrical energy source (Fig. 1-6), comprising:
receiving an energy supply signal from the energy source at an input connection of a charging control unit which, via an output connection configuration with one or more parallel output connections ( Fig. 1 [0013]-[0014] Each of the relays 110a through 110h is operational for being configured in an ON state which enables current to flow from the power input port 112 to the respective power outlet 104a through 104h), feeds charging current to a charger arrangement comprising one or more chargers each having one or more charging ports for the rechargeable battery units ([0013]-[0014] During operation of the battery charger system 100,battery chargers 106a through 106g are plugged into the power outlets 104a through 104h,… enables current to flow from the power input port 112 to the respective power outlet 104a through 104h); and
detecting a maximum current load state (maximum current limit) of an electrical current overload protection system of the energy source ([0025] The maximum current limit may be set to avoid tripping a circuit breaker through which the battery charger system is powered) and, when the maximum current load state of the current overload protection system is detected, limiting the current carried by the energy supply signal from the energy source via the current overload protection system to ensure that the detected maximum current load state of the current overload protection system is complied with ([0012] A battery charger system is configured to provide power to multiple battery chargers (106a through 106g) while maintaining total current to the battery chargers below a maximum current limit. The maximum current limit may be set to avoid tripping a circuit breaker through which the battery charger system is powered. [0020]- [0021] Fig. 2B-2C The maximum current limit may be set to avoid tripping a circuit breaker through which the battery charger system is powered. The controller 114 generates a second total current estimate which is greater than the maximum current limit, as indicated in chart 122b….the controller 114 compares the second total current estimate to the maximum current limit. Because the second total current estimate is greater than the maximum current limit, the controller 114 provides the off-state signal to the relay 110f.);
or at least one of
monitoring the current provided by the energy source at the input connection of the charging control unit (Figs. 2A-6 and [0019]-[0029]) and
monitoring a current provided at a respective output connection of the charging control unit and enabling activation of a charging operation at a respective charging port only if at least one of
the current provided by the energy source or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection does not exceed an associated predefinable lower current threshold value (Fig. 6 S602-608 and [0023] Referring to FIG. 2E, the controller 114 compares the fourth total current estimate to the threshold current limit. Because the fourth total current estimate is less than the threshold current limit, the controller 114 provides the on-state signal to the relay 110f, causing the relay 110f to be configured in the ON state, connecting the power input port 112 of FIG. 1 to the battery charger 106e with the battery 108d. “threshold current limit” identified as predefinable lower current threshold value) or
a charging operation at a respective charging port when the current provided by the energy source is deactivated when the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection exceeds an associated predefinable upper current threshold value ([0019]-[0029][0020]-[0021] and Fig. 6 S608-610). … Because the second total current estimate is greater than the maximum current limit, the controller 114 provides the off-state signal to the relay 110f. maximum current limit as “predefinable upper current threshold value”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silorio (US20220385089) in view of Hsu (US 20220234463).
As to claim 2, Silorio discloses the battery charging control device according to claim 1.
Silorio does not disclose/teach further wherein the charging control unit is configured to determine a signal strength of at least one of a frequency component of an AC voltage and/or an alternating current of the energy supply signal from the energy source in a predefinable monitoring frequency range and to detect a presence of the maximum current load state of the current overload protection system if the signal strength is above a normal signal strength by a predefinable amount, wherein the monitoring frequency range is above 10 kHz and/or below 150 kHz.
Hsu teaches further wherein the charging control unit is configured to determine a signal strength of at least one of a frequency component of an AC voltage and/or an alternating current of the energy supply signal from the energy source in a predefinable monitoring frequency range and to detect a presence of the maximum current load state of the current overload protection system if the signal strength is above a normal signal strength by a predefinable amount (Fig. 2 [0028] The frequency detection unit 186 detects an AC frequency of a voltage and that of a current of the power transmission path 12, and generates a frequency signal Sf…. The first controller 16A can determine whether an over voltage (OV) event, an under voltage (UV) event, an over current (OC) event, an over frequency (OF) event, or an under frequency (UF) event of the power transmission path 12 occurs according to the first voltage signal Sv1, the second voltage signal Sv2, the current signal Si, and the frequency signal Sf).
Hsu does not specifically teach wherein the monitoring frequency range is above 10 kHz and/or below 150 kHz. However, AC sources having a frequency component of 60 -120Hz (i.e. below 150KHz) are old and well known.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging control device of Silorio to wherein the charging control unit is configured to determine a signal strength of at least one of a frequency component of an AC voltage and/or an alternating current of the energy supply signal from the energy source in a predefinable monitoring frequency range and to detect a presence of the maximum current load state of the current overload protection system if the signal strength is above a normal signal strength by a predefinable amount, wherein the monitoring frequency range is above 10 kHz and/or below 150 kHz in order to determine whether an over voltage (OV) event, an under voltage (UV) event, an over current (OC) event, an over frequency (OF) event, or an under frequency (UF) event occurs [0028].
Claims 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silorio (US20220385089) in view of Sofaly (US 20160181810).
As to claim 4, Silorio discloses the battery charging control device according to claim 1.
Silorio does not disclose/teach wherein the charging control unit is configured to reduce the lower current threshold value by a predefinable current reduction increment if the current provided by the energy source or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection exceeds the upper current threshold value.
Sofaly teaches wherein the charging control unit is configured to reduce the lower current threshold value by a predefinable current reduction increment if the current provided by the energy source or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection exceeds the upper current threshold value ([0051] and Fig. 3 step 15 when more current can be fed into the line branch 3 from the energy generating system 9, a request signal is sent from the energy generating system 9 to the feed control 6 at 14. … If the limit value of the line protection fuse 7 can be reduced further, the limit value of the line protection fuse 7 is reduced. [0053] and Fig. 4 shows method returns to step 15 of Fig. 5 after more current than is prescribed by the maximum current could be fed in).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging control unit of Silorio to be configured to reduce the lower current threshold value by a predefinable current reduction increment if the current provided by the energy source or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection exceeds the upper current threshold value in order to prevent exceeding the maximum permissible value of the current in the AC source ([0011]) and prevent triggering of the line protection fuse [0012].
As to claims 5 and 6, Silorio in view of Sofaly teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 4.
Silorio in view of Sofaly does not disclose/teach wherein the current reduction increment is predefinable to a value between 1 A and 5 A nor teaches wherein the current reduction increment is predefinable to a value between at least 2 A and at most 4 A.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed current reduction increment value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the optimal current reduction increment in order to prevent exceeding the maximum permissible value of the current in the AC source and prevent triggering of the line protection system.
As to claims 7, Silorio in view of Sofaly teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 4, further wherein the charging control unit is configured to raise the lower current threshold value, previously reduced by the predefinable current reduction increment, by a predefinable current increase increment if the current provided by the energy source or the current provided by the charging control unit at the relevant output connection does not exceed the upper current threshold value during a predefinable charging monitoring time ([0054] of Sofaly If the comparison of the current that can at the particular time be fed into the line branch 3 from the energy generating system 9 with the maximum current prescribed at the particular time shows that at the particular time only less than the maximum current can be fed into the line branch 3 from the energy generating system 9 (IM>IP), the maximum current and the limit value of the line protection fuse 7 are adapted at acts 25 to 28 to prevent a potential undersupply to the line branch 3. For this purpose, the limit value of the line protection fuse 7 must be raised in order to be able to feed more current from the external energy supply network 5 into the line branch 3).
As to claims 8 and 9, Silorio in view of Sofaly teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 7.
Silorio in view of Sofaly does not disclose/teach wherein the current increase increment is predefinable to a value between 1 A and 5 A, or to the same value as the current reduction increment nor teaches wherein the current increase increment is predefinable to a value between at least 2 A and at most 4 A, and/or to the same value as the current reduction increment
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed current increase increment value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the optimal current increase increment in order to be able to feed more current from the external energy supply network ([0054] of Sofaly).
Claim 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silorio (US20220385089) in view of Nilsen (US 20110184579).
As to claims 10, Silorio discloses the battery charging control device according to claim 1.
Silorio does not disclose/teach wherein the charging control unit is configured to detect when the voltage of the energy supply signal undershoots a predefinable minimum voltage setpoint by a predefinable undershoot amount for a predefinable minimum undershoot period and to then lower the upper current threshold value by a predefinable current lowering increment.
Nilsen teaches lowering the upper current threshold value by a predefinable current lowering increment based on increasing input power ([0064] …. set power value can be established as a preselected percentage (and/or a preselected percentage range) of the maximum power rating of the power source 200. Exemplary preselected percentage ranges can include between fifty percent (50%) and one hundred percent (100%) …. The set power value can … dynamically change over time to, for example, adapt to changing system conditions, such as an increasing and/or decreasing amount of input power 610 being drawn from the power source 200 …).
As such one of ordinary skill in the art that an undershoot or a voltage supply is an indication of an overload condition of the voltage supply. There it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with the combined teachings of Silorio and Nilsen to modify Silorio battery charging control device lower the upper current threshold value by a predefinable current lowering increment in the event of the claimed voltage undershoot in order to prevent exceeding the maximum power rating of the voltage supply.
As to claims 11, Silorio in view of Nilsen teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 10.
Silorio in view of Nilsen does not disclose/teach the minimum voltage setpoint is predefinable to a value between 206 V and 208 V, or the undershoot amount is predefinable to a value between 1 V and 2 V or the minimum undershoot period is predefinable to a value between 9 ms and 11 ms, or the current lowering increment is predefinable to a value between 1 A and 4 A.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed current increase increment value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the optimal current lowering increment in order to prevent exceeding the maximum permissible value of the current in the AC source and prevent triggering of the line protection system.
As to claims 12, Silorio in view of Nilsen teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 11.
Silorio in view of Nilsen does not disclose/teach further wherein one or more of: the minimum voltage setpoint is predefinable to a value of 207 V, or the minimum undershoot period is predefinable to a value of 10 ms, or the current lowering increment is predefinable to a value of 2 A.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed current increase increment value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the optimal current lowering increment in order to prevent exceeding the maximum permissible value of the current in the AC source and prevent triggering of the line protection system.
As to claims 13, Silorio in view of Nilsen teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 11.
Silorio does not disclose/teach wherein the charging control unit is configured to detect when the voltage of the energy supply signal exceeds a predefinable minimum voltage setpoint by a predefinable exceedance amount for a predefinable minimum exceedance period and to then raise the upper current threshold value by a predefinable current raising increment.
Nilsen teaches wherein the charging control unit is configured to detect when the voltage of the energy supply signal exceeds a predefinable minimum voltage setpoint by a predefinable exceedance amount for a predefinable minimum exceedance period and to then raise the upper current threshold value by a predefinable current raising increment ([0064] …. set power value can be established as a preselected percentage (and/or a preselected percentage range) of the maximum power rating of the power source 200. Exemplary preselected percentage ranges can include between fifty percent (50%) and one hundred percent (100%) …. The set power value can … dynamically change over time to, for example, adapt to changing system conditions, such as an increasing and/or decreasing amount of input power 610 being drawn from the power source 200 …)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging control device of Silorio to wherein the charging control unit is configured to detect when the voltage of the energy supply signal exceeds a predefinable minimum voltage setpoint by a predefinable exceedance amount for a predefinable minimum exceedance period and to then raise the upper current threshold value by a predefinable current raising increment. in order to be able to feed more current from the external energy supply network thus providing the required power to the loads.
As to claims 14, Silorio in view of Nilsen teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 13.
Silorio in view of Nilsen does not disclose/teach wherein one or more of: the minimum voltage setpoint is predefinable to a value between 206 V and 208 V, or the exceedance amount is predefinable to a value between 1 V and 2 V or the minimum exceedance period is predefinable to a value between 9 ms and 11 ms, or the current raising increment is predefinable to a value between 1 A and 4 A.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed current increase increment value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the optimal current raising increment in order to be able to feed more current from the external energy supply network thus providing the required power to the loads.
As to claim 15, Silorio in view of Nilsen teaches the battery charging control device according to claim 14.
Silorio in view of Nilsen does not disclose/teach wherein one or more of: the minimum voltage setpoint is predefinable to a value of 207 V, or the minimum exceedance period is predefinable to a value of 10 ms, or the current raising increment is predefinable to a value of 2 A.
However, absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the claimed current increase increment value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to determine the optimal current raising increment in order to be able to feed more current from the external energy supply network thus providing the required power to the loads.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silorio (US20220385089) in view of Tischer (US 20120173033).
As to claim 16, Silorio discloses the battery charging control device according to claim 1.
Silorio does not disclose/teach wherein the charging control unit has charging prioritization information, on the basis of which it initiates activation of a respective charging operation, wherein the charging prioritization information comprises an output connection priority information or a charging port priority information or a state of charge priority information or a charging specification priority information.
Tischer teaches wherein the charging control unit has charging prioritization information, on the basis of which it initiates activation of a respective charging operation, wherein the charging prioritization information comprises an output connection priority information or a charging port priority information (unswitched loads) or a state of charge priority information or a charging specification priority information ([0053] In some cases the method 300 also allows for prioritizing distribution of the input power. For example, in some cases priority is given to certain un-switched loads to provide full operation on-demand. [0097] … a system automatically and selectively directs power to an external device, notebook/battery charging systems, and notebook management systems, in that order of priority).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery charging control device of Silorio to wherein the charging control unit has charging prioritization information, on the basis of which it initiates activation of a respective charging operation, wherein the charging prioritization information comprises an output connection priority information or a charging port priority information or a state of charge priority information or a charging specification priority information in order to maximize the capability of the remaining input power [0053] of Tischer.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chan (US 20180111493) is cited for having a power controller independently enables or disables each of the plurality of relays according to the instructions received. The power supply enabler enables or disables power supply to the system substantially based on the amount of current being drawn by the system.
Yamada (US 20240405542) is cited for having an upper limit and a lower limit of the voltage range are expressed as HV2 and LV2, respectively. In order to make the electrical inertia work effectively, it is necessary to set the range (the first voltage range) from LV1 to HV1 so as to fall within a range that the terminal voltage of the battery shows a characteristic of substantially linearly changing with respect to the SOC.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859