DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/31/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xin et al. (US 20220053560, Xin hereinafter, cited on IDS dated 05/31/2024).
As to claim 1: Xin discloses a method, comprising: determining whether to activate an adaptive transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing mechanism with respect to a plurality of traffics having different latency requirements and pending transmission (see at least paragraphs [0135], [0144] and Fig. 24, a check is performed 136 to determine if TXOP sharing is allowed by the RTF, i.e., the TXOP sharing indication field of RTF is set to “1”, and then TXOP sharing is allowed. The purpose of the scheduling is to perform a best effort toward satisfying the QoS requirements, such as latency, jitter and packet loss, for all the packets of the associated STAs.); and
responsive to determining to activate the adaptive TXOP sharing mechanism, utilizing the adaptive TXOP sharing mechanism in transmitting one or more traffics of the plurality of traffics associated with a plurality of stations (STAs) (see at least paragraphs [0144], [0147] and Fig. 24, if the condition is met with sharing allowed, then it continues arranging transmissions 138 during the TXOP sharing time which is indicated in the RTF.)
by performing either or both of: selecting a candidate traffic from the one or more traffics of the plurality of traffics (see at least paragraphs [0147]-[0148], an AP collects buffer status for its associated STAs. During the TXOP sharing time, as described in a previous section, it is important for the AP to collect buffer status including the QoS requirements on its associated STAs. According to the buffer status of its associated STAs, the AP can schedule the transmissions during the TXOP sharing time to satisfy the QoS requirements of all the packets of the STAs.); and adjusting a transmission time of the candidate traffic in transmitting the candidate traffic during a TXOP (see at least paragraphs [0113],[0171] and Fig. 33, The TF can also be such that it assigns the resources (all or some of the available BW) (interpreted as adjusting transmission time) is given to the STA4 UL data transmission for a specific period.).
As to claim 2: Xin discloses the method of claim 1. Xin further discloses wherein the determining comprises determining whether to activate the adaptive TXOP sharing mechanism based on characteristics of the plurality of traffics (see at least paragraph [0147], the AP can schedule the transmissions during the TXOP sharing time to satisfy the QoS requirements (interpreted as characteristics) of all the packets of the STAs.).
As to claim 4: Xin discloses the method of claim 1. Xin further discloses wherein the transmitting of the one or more traffics comprises transmitting a latency-sensitive traffic associated with a high-priority access category (AC) in the TXOP, which is associated with a low-priority AC, even though a queue of data pending transmission and associated with the low-priority AC is not empty (see at least paragraph [0112], the TXOP sharing mechanism must be designed with an aim to consider the time-validity of RTA traffic and minimize RTA packet latency in a wireless network where RTA and non-RTA traffic coexist.).
As to claim 5: Xin discloses the method of claim 1. Xin further discloses wherein the selecting comprises selecting the candidate traffic from the one or more traffics of the plurality of traffics of a same access category (AC) or different ACs and with different delay requirements (see at least paragraph [0112], the TXOP sharing mechanism must be designed with an aim to consider the time-validity of RTA traffic and minimize RTA packet latency in a wireless network where RTA and non-RTA traffic coexist.).
As to claim 11: Xin discloses an apparatus, comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising:
determining whether to activate an adaptive transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing mechanism with respect to a plurality of traffics having different latency requirements and pending transmission (see at least paragraphs [0135], [0144] and Fig. 24, a check is performed 136 to determine if TXOP sharing is allowed by the RTF, i.e., the TXOP sharing indication field of RTF is set to “1”, and then TXOP sharing is allowed. The purpose of the scheduling is to perform a best effort toward satisfying the QoS requirements, such as latency, jitter and packet loss, for all the packets of the associated STAs.); and
responsive to determining to activate the adaptive TXOP sharing mechanism, utilizing the adaptive TXOP sharing mechanism in transmitting one or more traffics of the plurality of traffics associated with a plurality of stations (STAs) (see at least paragraphs [0144], [0147] and Fig. 24, if the condition is met with sharing allowed, then it continues arranging transmissions 138 during the TXOP sharing time which is indicated in the RTF.)
by performing either or both of: selecting a candidate traffic from the one or more traffics of the plurality of traffics (see at least paragraphs [0147]-[0148], an AP collects buffer status for its associated STAs. During the TXOP sharing time, as described in a previous section, it is important for the AP to collect buffer status including the QoS requirements on its associated STAs. According to the buffer status of its associated STAs, the AP can schedule the transmissions during the TXOP sharing time to satisfy the QoS requirements of all the packets of the STAs.); and adjusting a transmission time of the candidate traffic in transmitting the candidate traffic during a TXOP (see at least paragraphs [0113],[0171] and Fig. 33, The TF can also be such that it assigns the resources (all or some of the available BW) (interpreted as adjusting transmission time) is given to the STA4 UL data transmission for a specific period.).
As to claim 12: Xin discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Xin further discloses wherein the determining comprises determining whether to activate the adaptive TXOP sharing mechanism based on characteristics of the plurality of traffics (see at least paragraph [0147], the AP can schedule the transmissions during the TXOP sharing time to satisfy the QoS requirements (interpreted as characteristics) of all the packets of the STAs.).
As to claim 14: Xin discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Xin further discloses wherein the transmitting of the one or more traffics comprises transmitting a latency-sensitive traffic associated with a high-priority access category (AC) in the TXOP, which is associated with a low-priority AC, even though a queue of data pending transmission and associated with the low-priority AC is not empty (see at least paragraph [0112], the TXOP sharing mechanism must be designed with an aim to consider the time-validity of RTA traffic and minimize RTA packet latency in a wireless network where RTA and non-RTA traffic coexist.).
As to claim 15: Xin discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Xin further discloses wherein the selecting comprises selecting the candidate traffic from the one or more traffics of the plurality of traffics of a same access category (AC) or different ACs and with different delay requirements (see at least paragraph [0112], the TXOP sharing mechanism must be designed with an aim to consider the time-validity of RTA traffic and minimize RTA packet latency in a wireless network where RTA and non-RTA traffic coexist.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 20220053560, Xin hereinafter, cited on IDS dated 05/31/2024) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180220325, Lee hereinafter, cited on IDS dated 05/31/2024).
As to claim 3: Xin discloses the method of claim 2. Xin does not explicitly disclose wherein the characteristics of the plurality of traffics comprise a receiver address (RA), five-tuple information, and a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element associated with each of the plurality of traffics.
However Lee discloses wherein the characteristics of the plurality of traffics comprise a receiver address (RA), five-tuple information, and a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element associated with each of the plurality of traffics (see at least paragraphs [0060]-[0061], the primary electronic device 200 may determine the priority for traffic differentiation in the period 1 and the period 2 based on the acquired QoE state information and 5-tuple information and the 5-tuple information may include a source IP address (SIP), a source port (SP), a destination IP address (DIP), a destination port, and type information (interpreted as characteristics).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement 5-tuple information destination information and QoE, as taught by Lee, into the invention of Xin in order to improve the transmission rate for the TCP traffic having a relatively high priority (see Lee, paragraphs [0082]).
As to claim 13: Xin discloses the apparatus of claim 12. Xin does not explicitly disclose wherein the characteristics of the plurality of traffics comprise a receiver address (RA), five-tuple information, and a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element associated with each of the plurality of traffics.
However Lee discloses wherein the characteristics of the plurality of traffics comprise a receiver address (RA), five-tuple information, and a quality of service (QoS) characteristics element associated with each of the plurality of traffics (see at least paragraphs [0060]-[0061], the primary electronic device 200 may determine the priority for traffic differentiation in the period 1 and the period 2 based on the acquired QoE state information and 5-tuple information and the 5-tuple information may include a source IP address (SIP), a source port (SP), a destination IP address (DIP), a destination port, and type information (interpreted as characteristics).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement 5-tuple information destination information and QoE, as taught by Lee, into the invention of Xin in order to improve the transmission rate for the TCP traffic having a relatively high priority (see Lee, paragraphs [0082]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20240114552) discloses Buffer Status Reporting for Triggered Transmission Opportunity Sharing.
Ajami et al. (US 20240063995) discloses Dynamic Selection Of Triggered Transmission Opportunity Sharing Modes
Nayak et al. (US 20230389014) discloses Method And Apparatus For Traffic Urgency Indication
Seok et al. (US 20210315025) discloses Synchronous Multi-Link Wireless TXOP Procedure
Lu et al. (US 20210127420) discloses Multi-Link Channel Access and Operation With Efficient Utilization Of Multi-Link Resources
Huang et al. (US 20210127307) discloses Basic Service Set (BSS) Configuration In A Multiple Access Point (MULTI-AP) Network.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464