DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US 2019/0053319, hereinafter Jeon), in view of Yi et al (US 2016/0112178, hereinafter Yi) and in view of Sakhnini et al (US 2022/0095320, hereinafter Sakhnini).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses a method for optimizing uplink configured grants in a network, the method comprising: establishing, by at least one user device, a network connection to a primary cell in a carrier aggregation network (base station includes a primary cell, Para [0154], carrier aggregation is employed, Para [0029], UE has RRC connection establishment to the cell, Para [0163]); configuring the uplink configured grant on a secondary cell in the carrier aggregation network (secondary cell is configured, Para [0154], carrier aggregation is employed, Para [0029], GF configuration for the Scell, Para [0239], GF transmission on the Scell, Para [0250]); but does not disclose the primary cell having a first multiplexing scheme and the secondary cell having a second multiplexing scheme. Yi discloses the primary cell is configured with TDD and the secondary cell is configured with FDD, Para [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yi in the system of Jeon in order to perform FDD/TDD aggregation with high efficiency with effective signaling; and does not fully disclose the primary cell having first latency and secondary cell having second latency lower than the first and moving at least one traffic stream from the primary cell to the secondary cell, based on the second latency. Jeon discloses a primary cell may be configured for serving an eMBB service and a secondary cell may be configured for serving URLLC service, Para [0250], where URLLC has stringent requirements on latency and will use GF transmission, Para [0224] and GF configuration for Pcell or Scell, Para [0239]. Sakhnini discloses there are different CG configurations of periodic resources, where the configurations can have more or less frequency CG resources/occasions, thus different latency, and the UE can switch between CG configurations based on a data transmission pattern, Para [0061]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, URLLC service on the Scell, would use a GF configuration with more frequency of CG occasions to meet the lower latency requirements of URLLC. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Sakhnini in the system of Jeon in view of Yi in order to avoid increasing overhead and delays when switching CG configurations.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Jeon discloses the method/media of claim 1/15, further comprising transmitting uplink signaling on the primary cell after moving the at least one traffic stream to the secondary cell (PUCCH is transmitted on Pcell, Para [0186], even if one traffic stream is moved to Scell).
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 17, Jeon discloses the method/media of claim 1/11/15, wherein the first multiplexing scheme is a time division duplex multiplexing scheme. Yi discloses the primary cell is configured with TDD, Para [0010].
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 18, Jeon discloses the method/media of claim 1/11/15, wherein the second multiplexing scheme is a frequency division duplex multiplexing scheme. Yi discloses the secondary cell is configured with FDD, Para [0010].
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Jeon discloses the method/media of claim 1/15, wherein the first latency is 5 milliseconds. Sakhnini discloses there are different CG configurations of periodic resources, where the configurations can have more or less frequency CG resources/occasions, thus different latency, Para [0061], obvious variation for it to be every 5ms.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Jeon discloses the method/media of claim 1/15, wherein the second latency is 1 millisecond (periodicity of the GF radio resources could be less than 1 ms, Para [0236] obvious to one of ordinary skill it can be 1ms).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the carrier aggregation network is a new radio carrier aggregation (NRCA) network (new radio and carrier aggregation, Para [0172]).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon discloses the method of claim 2, wherein after moving the at least one traffic stream to the secondary cell the primary cell carries signaling traffic (PUCCH is transmitted on Pcell, Para [0186], even if one traffic stream is moved to Scell).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the signaling traffic is uplink signaling traffic (PUCCH is transmitted on Pcell, Para [0186]).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the primary cell carries only uplink signaling traffic (PUCCH is transmitted on Pcell, Para [0186]).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon discloses a method for optimizing uplink configured grants in a network, the method comprising: establishing, by a user device, a network connection to a primary cell in a carrier aggregation network (base station includes a primary cell, Para [0154], carrier aggregation is employed, Para [0029], UE has RRC connection establishment to the cell, Para [0163]); configuring, at the user device, the uplink configured grant on a secondary cell in the carrier aggregation network (secondary cell is configured, Para [0154], carrier aggregation is employed, Para [0029], GF configuration for the Scell, Para [0239], GF transmission on the Scell, Para [0250]); but does not disclose the primary cell having a first multiplexing scheme and the secondary cell having a second multiplexing scheme. Yi discloses the primary cell is configured with TDD and the secondary cell is configured with FDD, Para [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yi in the system of Jeon in order to perform FDD/TDD aggregation with high efficiency with effective signaling; and does not fully disclose the primary cell having first latency and secondary cell having second latency lower than the first and receiving, at the user device, an instruction to move at least one traffic stream from the primary cell to the secondary cell, based on the second latency. Jeon discloses a primary cell may be configured for serving an eMBB service and a secondary cell may be configured for serving URLLC service, Para [0250], where URLLC has stringent requirements on latency and will use GF transmission, Para [0224] and GF configuration for Pcell or Scell, Para [0239]. Sakhnini discloses there are different CG configurations of periodic resources, where the configurations can have more or less frequency CG resources/occasions, thus different latency, and the UE can switch between CG configurations based on a data transmission pattern, Para [0061], BS can send DCI to indicate device to switch CG configurations, Para [0062]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, URLLC service on the Scell, would use a GF configuration with more frequency of CG occasions to meet the lower latency requirements of URLLC. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Sakhnini in the system of Jeon in view of Yi in order to avoid increasing overhead and delays when switching CG configurations.
Regarding claim 12, Jeon discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising transmitting, by the user device, uplink signaling on the primary cell after receiving the instruction to move the at least one traffic stream from the primary cell to the secondary cell (PUCCH is transmitted on Pcell, Para [0186], even if one traffic stream is moved to Scell).
Regarding claim 15, Jeon discloses a non-transitory computer storage media storing computer-usable instructions (computer readable medium, Para [0261]) that, when used by one or more processors, cause the processor to: establish a network connection to a primary cell in a carrier aggregation network(base station includes a primary cell, Para [0154], carrier aggregation is employed, Para [0029], UE has RRC connection establishment to the cell, Para [0163]); configuring the uplink configured grant on a secondary cell in the carrier aggregation network (secondary cell is configured, Para [0154], carrier aggregation is employed, Para [0029], GF configuration for the Scell, Para [0239], GF transmission on the Scell, Para [0250]); but does not disclose the primary cell having a first multiplexing scheme and the secondary cell having a second multiplexing scheme. Yi discloses the primary cell is configured with TDD and the secondary cell is configured with FDD, Para [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yi in the system of Jeon in order to perform FDD/TDD aggregation with high efficiency with effective signaling; and does not fully disclose the primary cell having first latency and secondary cell having second latency lower than the first and moving at least one traffic stream from the primary cell to the secondary cell, based on the second latency. Jeon discloses a primary cell may be configured for serving an eMBB service and a secondary cell may be configured for serving URLLC service, Para [0250], where URLLC has stringent requirements on latency and will use GF transmission, Para [0224] and GF configuration for Pcell or Scell, Para [0239]. Sakhnini discloses there are different CG configurations of periodic resources, where the configurations can have more or less frequency CG resources/occasions, thus different latency, and the UE can switch between CG configurations based on a data transmission pattern, Para [0061]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill, URLLC service on the Scell, would use a GF configuration with more frequency of CG occasions to meet the lower latency requirements of URLLC. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Sakhnini in the system of Jeon in view of Yi in order to avoid increasing overhead and delays when switching CG configurations.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461