DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-10 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-10 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 5-7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Liang and Ohgishi does not teach the claimed invention because Ohgishi discloses two different devices, and the remaining battery information is transmitted between two independent devices.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 10/20/2025, the rejection relied upon Liang to already disclose the microcontroller (Liang: FIG. 1 the processor 11) electrically connected to the battery (Liang: FIG. 1 the processor 11 in electrical connection with the battery 10), the power detection module and the power indication module to determine the remaining power of the battery (Liang: Abstract, [0016]-[0019], and FIG. 1: Accordingly, the remaining capacity recorded, for example, RM.sub.new, is able to be corrected one or more times by the self-consumption capacity (Self_con) and therefore gradually approached to the reference capacity (RM.sub.ref) so that the estimation of the remaining capacity (RM) of the battery 10 can be accurate).
Further, Ohgishi discloses a power detection module controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery; and the microcontroller configured to generate the first control signal (Ohgishi: Abstract, [0015], [0023], [0053]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4: Next, in step S48, controller 225 of smartphone 200 determines whether or not the remaining battery capacity of secondary battery 147 is less than or equal to a threshold set in advance, based on the remaining capacity information sent from digital camera 100. This threshold is used for determining whether digital camera 100 needs to be charged when the remaining battery capacity is a certain amount. The threshold is registered in advance in flash memory 245 of smartphone 200. For example, in a case where the threshold is set to 20%, when the remaining battery capacity of secondary battery 147 sent from digital camera 100 is 10%, controller 225 of smartphone 200 determines that digital camera 100 needs to be charged. Then, controller 225 outputs a notification signal indicating that the remaining battery capacity is less than or equal to the threshold).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, and Ohgishi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Ohgishi teachings of a power detection module controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery; and the microcontroller configured to generate the first control signal into the electronic device of Liang to determine the remaining battery based on the control signal from the microprocessor. The motivation for this is to inquiry a remaining battery level of an electronic device based on its schedule.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained (see re-iterated below rejection for detail).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (Liang – US 2019/0227127 A1) in view of Ohgishi et al. (Ohgishi – US 2018/0040227 A1).
As to claim 1, Liang discloses a smart key device comprising:
a battery (Liang: Abstract and FIG. 1 the battery 10);
a power detection module (Liang: FIG. 1 the current detection circuit 14 and the voltage detection circuit 15) electrically connected to the battery (Liang: Abstract, [0016]-[0019], and FIG. 1 the battery 10 in electrical connection with the circuit detection circuit 14 and the voltage detection circuit 15), and controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery;
a power indication module (Liang: FIG. 1 the display unit 13 ) controlled by a second control signal to indicate the remaining power ([0016] and FIG. 1); and
a microcontroller (Liang: FIG. 1 the processor 11) electrically connected to the battery (Liang: FIG. 1 the processor 11 in electrical connection with the battery 10), the power detection module and the power indication module (Liang: Abstract, [0016]-[0019], and FIG. 1: Accordingly, the remaining capacity recorded, for example, RM.sub.new, is able to be corrected one or more times by the self-consumption capacity (Self_con) and therefore gradually approached to the reference capacity (RM.sub.ref) so that the estimation of the remaining capacity (RM) of the battery 10 can be accurate), and configured to generate the second control signal, wherein the second control signal comprises the remaining power (Liang: Abstract, [0016]-[0019], and FIG. 1 the display unit 13: As shown in FIG. 1, the electronic device 100 comprises a battery 10, a processor 11, a storage unit 12, a display unit 13, a current detection circuit 14, and a voltage detection circuit 15. The storage unit 12 stores an estimating program for battery capacity 120, and a lookup table 121, and records a information related for a remaining capacity (RM) and a full charge capacity (FCC) of the battery 10. The electronic device 100 of the present invention can perform a process for estimating the remaining capacity (RM) of the battery 10 or a process for estimating the full charge capacity (FCC) of the battery 10, so as to update the remaining capacity (RM) recorded or the full charge capacity (FCC) recorded. Besides, the recorded remaining capacity (RM) or the recorded full charge capacity (FCC) will be stored in the storage unit 12 or presented on the display unit 13).
Liang does not explicitly disclose a power detection module controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery; and the microcontroller configured to generate the first control signal.
However, it has been known in the art of electronic device design to implement a power detection module controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery; and the microcontroller configured to generate the first control signal, as suggested by Ohgishi, which discloses a power detection module controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery; and the microcontroller configured to generate the first control signal (Ohgishi: Abstract, [0015], [0023], [0053]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4: Next, in step S48, controller 225 of smartphone 200 determines whether or not the remaining battery capacity of secondary battery 147 is less than or equal to a threshold set in advance, based on the remaining capacity information sent from digital camera 100. This threshold is used for determining whether digital camera 100 needs to be charged when the remaining battery capacity is a certain amount. The threshold is registered in advance in flash memory 245 of smartphone 200. For example, in a case where the threshold is set to 20%, when the remaining battery capacity of secondary battery 147 sent from digital camera 100 is 10%, controller 225 of smartphone 200 determines that digital camera 100 needs to be charged. Then, controller 225 outputs a notification signal indicating that the remaining battery capacity is less than or equal to the threshold).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, and Ohgishi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang to include a power detection module controlled by a first control signal to detect remaining power of the battery; and the microcontroller configured to generate the first control signal, as suggested by Ohgishi. The motivation for this is to inquiry a remaining battery level of an electronic device based on its schedule.
As to claim 10, Liang, and Ohgishi disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the smart key device of claim 1, wherein the power indication module comprises at least one of a display Liang: Abstract, [0016]-[0019], and FIG. 1 the display unit 13: As shown in FIG. 1, the electronic device 100 comprises a battery 10, a processor 11, a storage unit 12, a display unit 13, a current detection circuit 14, and a voltage detection circuit 15. The storage unit 12 stores an estimating program for battery capacity 120, and a lookup table 121, and records a information related for a remaining capacity (RM) and a full charge capacity (FCC) of the battery 10. The electronic device 100 of the present invention can perform a process for estimating the remaining capacity (RM) of the battery 10 or a process for estimating the full charge capacity (FCC) of the battery 10, so as to update the remaining capacity (RM) recorded or the full charge capacity (FCC) recorded. Besides, the recorded remaining capacity (RM) or the recorded full charge capacity (FCC) will be stored in the storage unit 12 or presented on the display unit 13), a prompt light, and a speaker (Ohgishi: Abstract, [0015], [0023], [0053]-[0055], [0070], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4: In a case where the remaining capacity information indicating the remaining battery capacity is not sent to smartphone 200, controller 225 of smartphone 200 may output a notification signal indicating that secondary battery 147 is not mounted on digital camera 100. Based on this notification signal, liquid crystal monitor 215 of smartphone 200 may display a message alerting the user. Alternatively, based on this notification signal, sound or light may be output in order to alert the user).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (Liang – US 2019/0227127 A1) in view of Ohgishi et al. (Ohgishi – US 2018/0040227 A1) and further in view of Niroomand (Niroomand – US 2008/0258711 A1).
As to claim 2, Liang, and Ohgishi disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the smart key device of claim 1, wherein the power detection module comprises a power gauge, the power gauge is configured to calculate an input charge charged to the battery and an output charge released by the battery to obtain the remaining power.
However, it has been known in the art of battery monitor to implement wherein the power detection module comprises a power gauge, the power gauge is configured to calculate an input charge charged to the battery and an output charge released by the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Niroomand, which discloses wherein the power detection module comprises a power gauge, the power gauge is configured to calculate an input charge charged to the battery and an output charge released by the battery to obtain the remaining power (Niroomand: Abstract, [0017]-[0021], and FIG. 2: Processing block 216 can be configured to receive output 228 from voltage differentiator 214, to determine the integrated, i.e., average, current consumed by load 206 during the sampling time period, and to determine the amount of charge consumed by load 206 during the sampling time period. Processing block 216 can also be configured to utilize the amount of charge consumed by load 206 to determine the remaining amount of charge on power source 204, e.g., a battery, at the end of the sampling time period).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, and Niroomand, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, and Ohgishi to include wherein the power detection module comprises a power gauge, the power gauge is configured to calculate an input charge charged to the battery and an output charge released by the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Niroomand. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative device to obtain a remaining battery level of a power source of an electronic device.
As to claim 3, Liang, Ohgishi, and Niroomand discloses the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the smart key device of claim 2, wherein the power gauge is connected to the microcontroller through an inter-integrated circuit (Niroomand: Abstract, [0017]-[0021], [0033]-[0035], and FIG. 2-4: he invention's power gauge, such as power gauge 202 in FIG. 2, can also be utilized to accurately measure current consumption in a semiconductor die, such as a semiconductor die including, for example, a memory array, a processor, a multi-media module, a transceiver, or other type of circuit. By fabricating the invention's power gauge on a semiconductor die, such as a semiconductor die including, for example, any of the above discussed circuits, one or more software commands could be utilized to access the invention's power gauge and, thereby, accurately measure the current consumption of the die during a selected sampling time period. Thus, by fabricating the invention's power gauge on each semiconductor die on a circuit board, current consumption of any die on the circuit board could be accurately measured by utilizing software commands to access the power gauge fabricated on that die).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (Liang – US 2019/0227127 A1) in view of Ohgishi et al. (Ohgishi – US 2018/0040227 A1) and further in view of Sakayanagi (Sakayanagi – US 2024/0083451 A1).
As to claim 4, Liang, and Ohgishi disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the smart key device of claim 1, wherein the power detection module comprises a computing element, and is configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power.
However, it has been known in the art of battery monitor to implement wherein the power detection module comprises a computing element, and is configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Sakayanagi, which discloses wherein the power detection module comprises a computing element, and is configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery (Sakayanagi: FIG. 4 the actual remaining battery level qa – the actual remaining battery level qa1), and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery (Sakayanagi: FIG. 4 the allocated battery capacity qr) to obtain the remaining power (Sakayanagi: [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0044]-[0045], [0053], and FIG. 4-5: the ECU 22 calculates a display SOCd (corresponding to the current display remaining level qd) which is the current SOC displayed on the display 36, and displays the display SOCd on the display 36. The display SOCd is calculated by the following Equation (1) ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, and Ohgishi to include wherein the power detection module comprises a computing element, and is configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Sakayanagi. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method to obtain a remaining battery level of a power source of an electronic device.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (Liang – US 2019/0227127 A1) in view of Ohgishi et al. (Ohgishi – US 2018/0040227 A1) and further in view of Sakayanagi (Sakayanagi – US 2024/0083451 A1) and Lo Iacono et al. (Lo Iacono – US 2016/0079857 A1).
As to claim 5, Liang, and Ohgishi disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the smart key device of claim 1, wherein the power detection module further comprises:
a switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the switch element and the microcontroller,
wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power.
However, it has been known in the art of battery monitor to implement wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Sakayanagi, which discloses wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery (Sakayanagi: FIG. 4 the actual remaining battery level qa – the actual remaining battery level qa1), and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery (Sakayanagi: FIG. 4 the allocated battery capacity qr) to obtain the remaining power (Sakayanagi: [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0044]-[0045], [0053], and FIG. 4-5: the ECU 22 calculates a display SOCd (corresponding to the current display remaining level qd) which is the current SOC displayed on the display 36, and displays the display SOCd on the display 36. The display SOCd is calculated by the following Equation (1) ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, and Ohgishi to include wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Sakayanagi. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method to obtain a remaining battery level of a power source of an electronic device.
The combination of Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi does not explicitly disclose wherein the power detection module further comprises:
a switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the switch element and the microcontroller.
However, it has been known in the art of battery monitor to implement wherein the power detection module further comprises:
a switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the switch element and the microcontroller, as suggested by Lo Iacono, which discloses wherein the power detection module further comprises:
a switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1), wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the VBat), and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: the control circuit 20 comprises moreover a timer circuit 26 configured to generate a control signal EN used to open and close the switch S1, thus activating the voltage divider R1/R2, which in turn permits to monitor the output voltage V.sub.OUT through the scaled down version V.sub.FB); and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the switch element and the microcontroller (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: the control circuit 20 comprises moreover a timer circuit 26 configured to generate a control signal EN used to open and close the switch S1, thus activating the voltage divider R1/R2, which in turn permits to monitor the output voltage V.sub.OUT through the scaled down version V.sub.FB).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, and Lo Iacono, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi to include wherein the power detection module further comprises:
a switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the switch element and the microcontroller, as suggested by Lo Iacono. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method to selectively control output voltage to reduce power consumption of a power source.
As to claim 6, Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, and Lo Iacono disclose the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the smart key device of claim 5, wherein the control terminal of the switch element is connected to the microcontroller through a general-purpose input/output (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: the control circuit 20 comprises moreover a timer circuit 26 configured to generate a control signal EN used to open and close the switch S1, thus activating the voltage divider R1/R2, which in turn permits to monitor the output voltage V.sub.OUT through the scaled down version V.sub.FB).
As to claim 7, Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, and Lo Iacono disclose the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the smart key device of claim 5, wherein when the microcontroller enters a sleep mode, the switch element is controlled to be turned off (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0059], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: In various embodiments, power consumption may further be reduced by placing the control unit 20 in a low power or stand-by mode. For example, the driver circuit 22 and/or the detection circuit 24 could be deactivated. Generally, in the standby mode, only the timer circuit 26 (and possibly an associated oscillator or clock generator) could be maintained active and the other digital and analog components of the voltage control circuit could be switched off).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (Liang – US 2019/0227127 A1) in view of Ohgishi et al. (Ohgishi – US 2018/0040227 A1) and further in view of Sakayanagi (Sakayanagi – US 2024/0083451 A1), Lo Iacono et al. (Lo Iacono – US 2016/0079857 A1), and Bolduc (Bolduc – US 2015/0130469 A1).
As to claim 8, Liang, and Ohgishi disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the smart key device of claim 1, wherein the power detection module further comprises:
a first switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery;
a second switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal of and the control terminal of the first switch element, the second terminal is grounded, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the first switch element and the microcontroller,
wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power.
However, it has been known in the art of battery monitor to implement wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Sakayanagi, which discloses wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery (Sakayanagi: FIG. 4 the actual remaining battery level qa – the actual remaining battery level qa1), and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery (Sakayanagi: FIG. 4 the allocated battery capacity qr) to obtain the remaining power (Sakayanagi: [0030]-[0031], [0036], [0044]-[0045], [0053], and FIG. 4-5: the ECU 22 calculates a display SOCd (corresponding to the current display remaining level qd) which is the current SOC displayed on the display 36, and displays the display SOCd on the display 36. The display SOCd is calculated by the following Equation (1) ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, and Ohgishi to include wherein the microcontroller is further configured to obtain a difference between a voltage of the battery and a preset minimum voltage value of the battery, and calculate a ratio of the difference to a preset maximum voltage value of the battery to obtain the remaining power, as suggested by Sakayanagi. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method to obtain a remaining battery level of a power source of an electronic device.
The combination of Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi does not explicitly disclose a first switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery;
a second switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal of and the control terminal of the first switch element, the second terminal is grounded, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the first switch element and the microcontroller.
However, it has been known in the art of battery monitor to implement a first switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the first switch element and the microcontroller, as suggested by Lo Iacono, which discloses a first switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: the control circuit 20 comprises moreover a timer circuit 26 configured to generate a control signal EN used to open and close the switch S1, thus activating the voltage divider R1/R2, which in turn permits to monitor the output voltage V.sub.OUT through the scaled down version V.sub.FB), wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the VBat); and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the first switch element and the microcontroller (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: the control circuit 20 comprises moreover a timer circuit 26 configured to generate a control signal EN used to open and close the switch S1, thus activating the voltage divider R1/R2, which in turn permits to monitor the output voltage V.sub.OUT through the scaled down version V.sub.FB).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, and Lo Iacono, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, Ohgishi, and Sakayanagi to include a first switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the battery; and
a voltage divider circuit electrically connected to the second terminal of the first switch element and the microcontroller, as suggested by Lo Iacono. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method to selectively control output voltage to reduce power consumption of a power source.
The combination of Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, and Lo Iacono does not explicitly disclose a second switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal of and the control terminal of the first switch element, the second terminal is grounded, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller.
However, it has been known in the art of electronic device design to implement a second switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal of and the control terminal of the first switch element, the second terminal is grounded, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller, as suggested by Bolduc, which discloses a second switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal of and the control terminal of the first switch element, the second terminal is grounded, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller (Bolduc: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], and IFG. 3 the evaluation switch 75: Evaluation switch 75 may include appropriately biased switching transistors 86 and 87 for toggling the output in response to a selectable drive signal received from an auxiliary output terminal 85 of IC 66. Terminal 85 may be a general purpose input/output pin as commonly used in the art. Many other acceptable transistor devices and drive configurations could be used for switch 75).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, Lo Iacono, and Bolduc, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the electronic device of Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, and Lo Iacono to include a second switch element having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal is electrically connected to the first terminal of and the control terminal of the first switch element, the second terminal is grounded, and the control terminal is electrically connected to the microcontroller, as suggested by Bolduc. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method to monitor output voltage of a power source.
As to claim 9, Liang, Ohgishi, Sakayanagi, Lo Iacono, and Bolduc disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the smart key device of claim 8, wherein the control terminal of the second switch element and the voltage divider circuit are connected to the microcontroller through a general-purpose input/output, respectively (Lo Iacono: [0053]-[0056], [0062], [0065], [0067]-[0073], FIG. 2, FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8 the electronic control switch S1: the control circuit 20 comprises moreover a timer circuit 26 configured to generate a control signal EN used to open and close the switch S1, thus activating the voltage divider R1/R2, which in turn permits to monitor the output voltage V.sub.OUT through the scaled down version V.sub.FB and Bolduc: Abstract, [0025]-[0026], and IFG. 3 the evaluation switch 75: Evaluation switch 75 may include appropriately biased switching transistors 86 and 87 for toggling the output in response to a selectable drive signal received from an auxiliary output terminal 85 of IC 66. Terminal 85 may be a general purpose input/output pin as commonly used in the art. Many other acceptable transistor devices and drive configurations could be used for switch 75).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Meacham, US 10,371,755 B2, discloses reported state-of-charge scaling.
Wang et al., US 2012/0310568 A1, discloses monitoring battery state of charge.
Esnard et al., US 2009/0132186 A1, discloses method and system for reporting battery status based on current estimation.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685