Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have resolved the previously presented drawing objections, specification objections, claim objections, and 112(b) rejections from the Office Action of 11/6/25.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues first that the Dickson does not teach the recited positioning of the magnets to facilitate sliding of the lid. The examiner notes that the instant claim is an apparatus claim. As instructed in MPEP 2114(II), “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).” As modified by Dickson, the combination of Wilson with Dickson teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (as best understood). As shown in the implementations in Fig 6A-7B and 8A-8B, the magnet 42 engaged a vertically aligned attracted plate 44. The examiner additionally notes that the structure is at least substantially identical in structure (and material) to that claimed. Consequently, consistent with MPEP 2112.01(I), “a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” To the extent that applicant’s particular recitation attempts to require some other arrangements, that particular arrangement is unclear, as discussed in the 112(b) rejection below.
Second, applicant argues that the combination of Wilson with Dickson lacks “proper motivation”. Specifically, applicant characterizes the environments of Wilson has being different (e.g. Wilson operates in “harsh agricultural fields” while Dickson’s system is for “controlled interior of a vehicle”). The examiner acknowledges and agrees that the environment of Wilson would be subject to “extreme vibrations”, but respectfully submits that applicant’s characterization of Dickson is inaccurate. Dickson specifically discussed that it is applicable in “a variety of environmental conditions, such as in the presence of vibration at various levels of amplitude and frequency” (Para 0011) including effective at “dampening and absorbing vibrations in a container […] or any suitable lid or door” (Para 0002), including in “any interior or exterior structure”. And so contrary, to applicant’s assertions, the known vibration conditions in Wilson’s field of use would precise motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to look to a broadly applicable vibration mitigating latch system, such as that of Dickson.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 19 recite, “wherein the magnet and the plate are positioned such that there is a greater amount of magnetic attraction in a vertical direction than in a horizontal direction, facilitating sliding of the hopper lid along the track to open the hopper body.” While there is textual support for the claim language, the claim language at hand is largely recites a particular functional outcome for the arrangement/positioning of the claim elements.
MPEP 2173.05(g) states, “the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (noting that the Supreme Court explained that a vice of functional claiming occurs "when the inventor is painstaking when he recites what has already been seen, and then uses conveniently functional language at the exact point of novelty")”. Here, the claim merely recites a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention i.e. the elements are “positioned such that there is a greater amount of magnetic attraction in a vertical direction than in a horizontal direction, facilitating sliding of the hopper lid along the track to open the hopper body.”
The MPEP additionally notes that, “without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim. Ariad Pharmaceuticals., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc)” and consequently does not provide a clear cut indication of scope because it imposed no clear limits on the claim. Additionally it is unclear what specific arrangement/positioning/structure is required by the claim.
Claims 2-9, 12-16, 18, and 20 are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 6092476 A), in view of Dickson (US 20210340794 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a seed hopper comprising:
(a) a hopper body (Fig 1, bin 25) comprising:
(i) a track formed in each of two longitudinal sides of the hopper body (Fig 5-6, track 44; Column 2, lines 45-46, “track 44 extending on the side walls 32 and 34”); and
(b) a hopper lid (Fig 1, lid 50) comprising:
(i) a lid body (Fig 7, lid 50, seen);
(ii) a bracket attached to the lid body (Fig 7, unlabelled bracket extending from each inwardly extending from pegs 54 to the exterior of the lid then the U-shaped member on the interior of lid);
(iii) a peg on each end of the bracket configured to be fitted within the track in the hopper body (Fig 7, pegs 54); and
While Wilson teaches a latching assembly with a cooperating latching structure (Abstract), Wilson is silent on the body comprising a magnet disposed on an upper edge of a proximal side of the hopper body and the lid comprising a plate on a lower side of the lid body configured to be attracted to the magnet when the hopper lid is in a closed position.
Dickson teaches the body comprising a magnet disposed on an upper edge of a proximal side of the hopper body (Fig 2, body 30 contains magnet 262, see Para 0024) and the lid comprising a plate on a lower side of the lid body configured to be attracted to the magnet when the hopper lid is in a closed position (Fig 2, lid, incorrectly labelled as 70, contains plate as seen made of metal with magnetic attraction, see Para 0024)
wherein the magnet and the plate are positioned such that there is a greater amount of magnetic attraction in a vertical direction than in a horizontal direction, facilitating sliding of the hopper lid along the track to open the hopper body (Please see additional discussion in the response to arguments, above, but, in summary the magnets/plates of Dickson are substantially identical in material and arrangement/structure as claim. Consistent with MPEP 2112.01(I), “a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See also MPEP 2114(II)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wilson by having the magnetic latch system as disclosed by Dickson because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the latch of Wilson) for another (the latch of Dickson) to obtain predictable results (to latch a container and lid together). Additionally, the latch of Dickson has the benefit of not being as susceptible to vibrations like a mechanical latch would be could weaken a mechanical latch (Para 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Wilson as modified teaches wherein the plate is a ferrous metal plate (Para 0024 of Dickson, “the lid magnetic material 252 could be steel, a steel alloy, iron”).
Regarding claim 4, Wilson as modified teaches wherein the magnet produces a downward force on the plate and the lid body (Fig 2, Para 0024 of Dickson, the magnet works to retain the lid closed/in a downward position).
Regarding claim 5, Wilson teaches a handle on an upper side of the lid body (Fig 2, lipped portion circled and shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Wilson teaches wherein the track comprises a substantially parallel portion (Fig 6, parallel portion intersecting 48) and a ramped portion (Fig 6, sloped portion between the upper and lower parallel portion), wherein the ramped portion is configured to assist in positioning the hopper lid into the closed position from an open position (Fig 6, ramp assists in moving to the lower parallel portion, which is closed, see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, Wilson teaches an open notch for removal of the hopper lid from the hopper body by removing the peg from the track (Fig 6, notch 48).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson teaches a vertical notch in the track wherein the pegs are configured to be positioned with the vertical notch when the seed hopper is in a propped position (Fig 6, notch 48; the lid can be positioned in here in a propped open position).
Regarding claim 9, Wilson teaches wherein the track includes a ramped portion (Fig 6, sloped portion between the upper and lower parallel portion), a substantially parallel portion (Fig 6, a portion of parallel portion of 44), a removal notch (Fig 6, notch 48), and a propped positioning notch (Fig 5-6, another portion of parallel portion of 44 closest towards 30).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson teaches a seed hopper for an agricultural row unit comprising:
(a) a hopper (Fig 1, bin 25) comprising:
(i) a track formed in each of two longitudinal sides of the hopper (Fig 5-6, track 44; Column 2, lines 45-46, “track 44 extending on the side walls 32 and 34”), the track comprising a parallel portion (Fig 6, parallel portion intersecting 48) and a ramped portion at a first end of the track (Fig 6, sloped portion between the upper and lower parallel portion); and
(b) a hopper lid (Fig 1, lid 50) comprising:
(i) a lid body (Fig 7, lid 50, seen);
(ii) a bracket attached at a first end of the lid body (Fig 7, unlabelled bracket extending from each inwardly extending from pegs 54 to the exterior of the lid then the U-shaped member on the interior of lid);
(iii) a peg on each end of the bracket wherein the pegs slide within the track as the hopper lid is moved between opened and closed positions (Fig 7, pegs 54).
While Wilson teaches a latching assembly with a cooperating latching structure (Abstract), Wilson is silent on (ii) a magnet disposed at a second end of the hopper; and (iv) a plate on a lower side of a second end of the lid body configured to be hold hopper lid in the closed position.
Dickson teaches (ii) a magnet disposed at a second end of the hopper (Fig 2, body 30 contains magnet 262, see Para 0024); and (iv) a plate on a lower side of a second end of the lid body configured to be hold the hopper lid in the closed position (Fig 2, lid, incorrectly labelled as 70, contains plate as seen made of metal with magnetic attraction, see Para 0024) wherein the magnet and the plate are positioned such that there is a greater amount of magnetic attraction in a vertical direction than in a horizontal direction, facilitating sliding of the hopper lid along the track to open the hopper body (Please see additional discussion in the response to arguments, above, but, in summary the magnets/plates of Dickson are substantially identical in material and arrangement/structure as claim. Consistent with MPEP 2112.01(I), “a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See also MPEP 2114(II)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wilson by having the magnetic latch system as disclosed by Dickson because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the latch of Wilson) for another (the latch of Dickson) to obtain predictable results (to latch a container and lid together). Additionally, the latch of Dickson has the benefit of not being as susceptible to vibrations like a mechanical latch would be could weaken a mechanical latch (Para 0009).
Regarding claim 12, Wilson teaches wherein the plate is a ferrous metal plate (Para 0024 of Dickson, “the lid magnetic material 252 could be steel, a steel alloy, iron”).
Regarding claim 13, Wilson teaches a vertical notch in the track wherein the pegs are configured to be positioned with the vertical notch when the seed hopper is in a propped position (Fig 6, notch 48; the lid can be positioned in here in a propped open position).
Regarding claim 14, Wilson teaches an open notch for removal of the hopper lid from the hopper by removing the peg from the track (Fig 6, notch 48).
Regarding claim 15, Wilson teaches wherein the magnet produces a downward force on the plate and the lid body (Fig 2, Para 0024 of Dickson, the magnet works to retain the lid closed/in a downward position).
Regarding claim 16, Wilson teaches a handle on the lid body (Fig 2, lipped portion circled and shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, Wilson teaches an agricultural row unit comprising:
(a) a hopper (Fig 1, bin 25) comprising:
(i) a track formed in each of two longitudinal sides of the hopper (Fig 5-6, track 44; Column 2, lines 45-46, “track 44 extending on the side walls 32 and 34”), the track comprising:
(A) a parallel portion along the longitudinal side of the hopper (Fig 6, parallel portion intersecting 48);
(B) a ramped portion at a forward end of the track (Fig 6, sloped portion between the upper and lower parallel portion); and
(b) a hopper lid (Fig 1, lid 50) comprising:
(i) a lid body (Fig 7, lid 50, seen);
(ii) a bracket attached at a forward end of to the lid body (Fig 7, unlabelled bracket extending from each inwardly extending from pegs 54 to the exterior of the lid then the U-shaped member on the interior of lid);
(iii) a peg on each end of the bracket configured to be fitted within the track in the hopper, wherein the pegs slide within the track as the hopper lid is moved between opened and closed positions (Fig 7, pegs 54).
While Wilson teaches a latching assembly with a cooperating latching structure (Abstract), Wilson is silent on (ii) a magnet disposed at the rear end of the hopper; and (iv) a plate on a lower side of the rear end of the lid body configured to be attracted to the magnet when the hopper lid is in the closed position.
Dickson teaches (ii) a magnet disposed at the rear end of the hopper (Fig 2, body 30 contains magnet 262, see Para 0024); and (iv) a plate on a lower side of the rear end of the lid body configured to be attracted to the magnet when the hopper lid is in the closed position (Fig 2, lid, incorrectly labelled as 70, contains plate as seen made of metal with magnetic attraction, see Para 0024) wherein the magnet and the plate are positioned such that there is a greater amount of magnetic attraction in a vertical direction than in a horizontal direction, facilitating sliding of the hopper lid along the track to open the hopper body (Please see additional discussion in the response to arguments, above, but, in summary the magnets/plates of Dickson are substantially identical in material and arrangement/structure as claim. Consistent with MPEP 2112.01(I), “a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” See also MPEP 2114(II)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wilson by having the magnetic latch system as disclosed by Dickson because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the latch of Wilson) for another (the latch of Dickson) to obtain predictable results (to latch a container and lid together). Additionally, the latch of Dickson has the benefit of not being as susceptible to vibrations like a mechanical latch would be could weaken a mechanical latch (Para 0009).
Wilson teaches a removal notch (Fig 6, notch 48), Wilson is silent on the location at the rear end of the track, as construed.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wilson by having removal notch located at the rear end of the track since it would be a merely rearrangement of parts. The location of the removal notch would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 20, Wilson teaches a groove in a rear portion of a row unit frame configured for accepting a rear end of the hopper lid when the hopper is in a propped position (Fig 2, propped position seen, the lid 50 is at least propped against the bin. This propped position is “accepted”/permitted by the groove/space between mounting members immediately above 22 of the row unit).
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 6092476 A), in view of Dickson (US 20210340794 A1), in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art.
Regarding claim 2, Wilson is not explicit on wherein the seed hopper has an about three bushel capacity.
Applicant Admitted Prior Art teaches wherein the seed hopper has an about three bushel capacity (Para 005 of the instant spec, regarding Figures 1-2 “hoppers 2 is usually 1.5 to 3 bushels of seed”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wilson by having wherein the seed hopper have an about three bushel capacity as disclosed by Applicant Admitted Prior Art because it is a “usual” amount of volume which a device in the same field of endeavor has.
Regarding claim 18, Wilson is not explicit on wherein the seed hopper is a high-capacity seed hopper that has an about three bushel capacity.
Applicant Admitted Prior Art teaches the seed hopper is a high-capacity seed hopper that has an about three bushel capacity (Para 005 of the instant spec, regarding Figures 1-2 “hoppers 2 is usually 1.5 to 3 bushels of seed”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wilson by having wherein the seed hopper have an about three bushel capacity as disclosed by Applicant Admitted Prior Art because it is a “usual” amount of volume which a device in the same field of endeavor has.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676