DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0043601 (Hamaguchi).
For claim 1, Hamaguchi teaches a laser device (fig. 1B), comprising:
a stack of epitaxial layers having a central region and an edge region (fig. 1A, 22 and 23; [0073]; central region defined by opening 24A and edge region defined by 24)
and comprising:
a first reflective structure (fig. 1A, 42; [0063]);
an active region disposed on the first reflective structure (fig. 1A, 23; [0063]); and
a second reflective structure disposed on the active region (fig. 1A, 41; [0063]);
a first conductive layer disposed on the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 21; [0070]), wherein
the first conductive layer covers the central region and a part of the edge region of the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A);
an intermediate layer having a first opening corresponds to the central region of the stack of epitaxial layers, wherein the intermediate layer comprises insulating material or metal (fig. 1A, 24 with opening 24A or alternatively 33 with opening below 24A); and
a first electrode disposed on the first conductive layer (fig. 1A, 31, on left and right side of 41; [0063]).
For claim 2, Hamaguchi teaches the first electrode has a second opening (fig. 1A between left and right portions of 31) corresponding to the first opening (fig. 1A, opening 24A).
For claim 3, Hamaguchi teaches the first opening has a first width and the second opening has a second width different from the first width (fig. 1A).
For claim 4, Hamaguchi teaches the second width of the second opening is greater than the first width of the first opening (fig. 1A).
For claim 8, Hamaguchi teaches a substrate disposed under the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 26); and a second conductive layer disposed between the substrate and the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 32).
For claim 9, Hamaguchi teaches a bonding layer disposed between the substrate and the second conductive layer (fig. 1A, 25; [0068]).
For claim 10, Hamaguchi teaches an insulating layer (fig. 1A, 24) disposed between the second conductive layer (fig. 1A, 32) and the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 22 and 23), wherein the insulating layer has a third opening located directly under the central region of the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 24A).
For claim 14, Hamaguchi teaches an optical layer disposed on the first conductive layer and located corresponding to the first opening (fig. 1A, second reflecting structure 41 be considered an optical layer on the first conductive layer).
For claim 15, Hamaguchi teaches the optical layer is a multi- layer structure ([0066]).
For claim 16, Hamaguchi teaches a laser device (fig. 1A), comprising:
a substrate (fig. 1A, 26; [0068]);
a stack of epitaxial layers disposed on the substrate (fig. 1A, 22 and 23; [0073])
and comprising:
a first reflective structure (fig. 1A, 42; [0063]);
a current confinement structure disposed on or within the first reflective structure, wherein the current confinement structure comprises a current conductive region (fig. 1A, 24 and opening region 24A);
an active region disposed on the current confinement structure (fig. 1A, 23; [0063]); and
a second reflective structure disposed on the active region (fig. 1A, 41; [0063]);
a conductive layer disposed between the substrate and the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 33);
a bonding layer disposed between the substrate and the conductive layer (fig. 1A, 25; [0068]); and
a first electrode disposed on the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 1A, 31, on left and right side of 41; [0063]).
For claim 17, Hamaguchi teaches the first electrode comprises an opening (fig. 1A between left and right portions of 31) corresponding to the current conductive region (fig. 1A, opening 24A).
For claim 18, Hamaguchi teaches the opening has a fourth width and the current conductive region has a fifth width different from the fourth width (fig. 1A).
For claim 19, Hamaguchi teaches the fourth width of the opening is larger than the fifth width of the current conductive region (fig. 1A).
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0100068 (Jikutani).
For claim 1, Jikutani teaches a laser device (fig. 15-16; [0343]-[0352]), comprising:
a stack of epitaxial layers having a central region and an edge region (fig. 15 and 16, 806c, 807, 806d; central region defined by non-oxide regions 813a and 813b and edge region defined by oxidized regions of 804 and 805)
and comprising:
a first reflective structure (fig. 15, 803);
an active region disposed on the first reflective structure (fig. 15 and 16, 806c, 806d and 807); and
a second reflective structure disposed on the active region (fig. 15, 808);
a first conductive layer disposed on the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 15 and 16, 806e and 806f), wherein
the first conductive layer covers the central region and a part of the edge region of the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 15 and 16);
an intermediate layer having a first opening corresponds to the central region of the stack of epitaxial layers, wherein the intermediate layer comprises insulating material or metal (fig. 16, 804 with opening 813b); and
a first electrode disposed on the first conductive layer (fig. 15, 815).
For claim 6, Jikutani teaches the stack of epitaxial layers further comprises a current confinement structure between the active region and the second reflective structure (fig. 15-16, 805).
For claim 7, Jikutani teaches the current confinement structure comprises a current conductive region (fig. 16, 183a) corresponding to the first opening and has a third width larger than the first width of the first opening (fig. 16 width 813a > width 813b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0043601 (Hamaguchi) in view of US 2021/0075189 (Chang).
For claim 5, 11, and 20 Hamaguchi does not teach the laser device comprises a plurality of the stack of epitaxial layers electrically connect to the first electrode.
However, Chang teaches a similar laser device (fig. 3E and 4) comprising
a stack of epitaxial layers having a central region and an edge region (fig. 3E, 50, 60, and 70 with central region above 40)
and comprising:
a first reflective structure (fig. 3E, 50);
an active region disposed on the first reflective structure (fig. 3E, 60); and
a second reflective structure disposed on the active region (fig. 3E, 70);
an intermediate layer having a first opening corresponds to the central region of the stack of epitaxial layers, wherein the intermediate layer comprises insulating material or metal (fig. 3E, 30); and
a first electrode (fig. 3E and 4, 80).
Chang further teaches the laser device comprises a plurality of the stack of epitaxial layers (fig. 3 shows 3 stacks and fig .4 illustrates a large array of stacks) electrically connected to the first electrode (fig. 3E and 4, 80) in order to provide high power output with increased effective light emitting are and good heat dissipation ([0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chang’s teaching of multiple stacks of epitaxial layers electrically connected to the first electrode with the device of Hamaguchi in order to provide high power output with increased effective light emitting are and good heat dissipation.
For claim 12, Chang further teaches a second electrode, and the plurality of the stack of epitaxial layers electrically connect to the second electrode (fig. 3E and 4, 40; [0022]).
For claim 13, Hamaguchi does not teach the active region has sidewalls and the intermediate layer encapsulates the sidewalls of the active region.
However, Chang teaches a similar device where the active region (fig. 3E, 60) has sidewalls and the intermediate layer encapsulates the sidewalls of the active region (fig. 3E, 30) in order to form an array of VCSELs and high power output with increased effective light emitting are and good heat dissipation ([0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the encapsulation and array structure of Chang with the device of Hamaguchi in order to form an array of VCSELs and high power output with increased effective light emitting are and good heat dissipation.
For claim 14, if the limitation of claim 14 is assumed to require an optical layer distinct from the second reflective structure, Chang teaches an optical layer (fig. 3E, 90) on the second reflective structure (fig. 3E, 70) corresponding to the first opening (fig. 3E, 40) in order to increase output ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical layer of Chang with the invention of Hamaguchi such that the optical layer is on the second reflective structure and by extension the first conductive layer of Hamaguchi in order to increase output.
For claim 15, Chang does not teach the optical layer is a multi-layer structure.
However, the examiner takes official notice that multi-layer anti reflection films were well-known in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known multi-layer anti reflection film as a simple substitution for the AR film of combination as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides an alternative AR film. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
Conclusion
/Michael Carter/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828