DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
On pages 9-10 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that Domm, Lindholm, and Pendergast merely discuss the feature of providing additional content associated with certain content together, but do not disclose the feature of providing a UI including a second UI element for entering a screen for providing associated content related to the target content when a predetermined condition is satisfied, as disclosed in the present invention. Specifically, Applicant argues that Pendergast discloses features that allow an expanded view, whereas claim 1 recites “based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position
adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Lindholm discloses a device for presenting a user interface that includes a plurality of rows 602a-d of representations of items of content. As shown in Fig. 6A, row 602c represents “Editor’s Choice” which includes the icon for “TV Show L” along with an adjacent icon for “Actor A” ((0168], [0196], Figs. 6A, 6P, 6V, 6Y). Thus, Lindholm teaches outputting a user interface (UI) including a plurality of recommended contents such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents (i.e., icon for “TV Show L”) and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content to the arrangement at a position adjacent to the target content (i.e., icon for “Actor A”). However, the prior art fails to teach wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Pendergast discloses a GUI 100 that displays a plurality of media clips and additional information related to the media clip. For instance, a user selects the UI item 3520 adjacent to the media clip information 3515 in the list and the selection causes the list view to display additional information related to the media clip in an expanded list 3525 ([0282], Fig. 35). Thus, Pendergast teaches wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied (i.e., user selection), a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element (i.e., displaying additional information related to the media clip in an expanded list).
Therefore, the combination teaches “controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and, wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.”
The Examiner notes that the claims merely recite “a predetermined condition”, however fail to explicitly disclose what the predetermined condition is. The Applicant’s remarks disclose various examples of the predetermined condition, such as whether the number of times the content has been identified as the target content is a multiple of N (see Fig. 10) or whether the number of times a UI including the second UI element corresponding to associated content has been provided is equal to or greater than a predetermined value (see Fig. 11), or whether a current date falls within a predetermined period (see Fig. 12). The Examiner suggests amending the claims to explicitly disclose what the “predetermine condition” includes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domm et al. (US Pub. 2020/0304863) in view of Lindholm et al. (US Pub. 2020/0301575) and in further view of Pendergast et al. (US Pub. 2012/0210220), herein referenced Domm, Lindholm, and Pendergast, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Domm discloses “An electronic apparatus comprising: a communication interface; a display; a memory to store at least one instruction; and a processor ([0039], [0154]-[0155], Figs. 1A, 5) configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
acquire information associated with a plurality of recommended contents, through the communication interface, based on a user viewing history ([0174], [0180], [0185], [0187], [0190], Figs. 6F-J, i.e., recommendations for media in the unified media browsing application are based on the user’s viewing history),
acquire information associated with a target content, through the communication interface, based on the information associated with the plurality of recommended contents, the target content being acquired with additional content that is obtained based on a relationship of the additional content to the target content ([0174], [0185], [0192]-[0193], Figs. 6F-K, i.e., the “Because You Watched Content 1” row is acquired with the “Spotlight on Person 1” row, wherein the rows of content are personalized and based on the user’s past history. In other words, the relationship of the rows is that they are based on user viewing history),
identify an arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output on the display…” ([0176], [0238], [0240], [0242], i.e., all rows of content can be sorted or arranged in a way such that content that is more likely to be of interest to the user is arranged earlier in the row than items that are less likely to be of interest to the user).
Domm fails to explicitly disclose controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and, wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Lindholm teaches the technique of controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) … in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and … a second UI element corresponding to the additional content … at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element ([0168], [0196], Figs. 6A, 6P, 6V, 6Y, i.e., target content “TV Show L” is included within the arrangement of recommended contents “Editor’s Choice” and additional content “Actor A” is positioned adjacent to the target content).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) … in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and … a second UI element corresponding to the additional content … at a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element as taught by Lindholm, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of providing the viewer with supplemental detailed information on the same interface page as recommended content without having to navigate to additional menu screens.
The combination still fails to disclose controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and adds a second UI element corresponding to the additional content to the arrangement at a position adjacent.
Pendergast teaches the technique of controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element ([0282], Fig. 35, i.e., the user selects the UI item 3520 adjacent to the media clip information 3515 in the list. As shown in the second stage 3510, the selection causes the list view to display additional information related to the media clip in an expanded list 3525). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element as taught by Pendergast, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of allowing user control of the display of additional information and reducing visual clutter.
Therefore, the combination teaches controlling the display to output a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and, wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Regarding claim 2, Domm discloses “wherein the processor is configured to control the display to display the second UI element in a region adjacent to the first UI element.” (Fig. 6K, i.e., “Because You Watched Content 1” and “Spotlight on Person 1” rows are positioned relative to each other).
Regarding claim 3, Domm discloses “wherein the processor is configured to: control the display to output a plurality of UI elements including the first UI element, and control the display to display the second UI element between one of the plurality of UI elements and the first UI element.” ([0199], i.e., the plurality of rows of content included in user 610 is described as having a particular order, the rows of content discussed above is not limited to only the order described and can be displayed in any order).
Regarding claim 4, Domm discloses “wherein the processor is configured to control the display to display a screen to output the additional content where the screen is output based on a user input selecting the second UI element.” ([0186], Fig. 6G, i.e., selection of any of icons 620 causes display or playback of the selected content or display of a canonical page for the selected content).
Regarding claim 6, Domm discloses “wherein the processor is configured to acquire information associated with the target content based on metadata of the plurality of recommended contents.” ([0174], [0185], [0192]-[0193], Figs. 6F-K, i.e., the “Because You Watched Content 1” row is personalized and based on the user’s past history).
Regarding claim 7, Domm discloses “wherein the processor is configured to acquire information associated with the target content based on information associated with a history in which the second UI element is selected.” ([0192], i.e., the content in the “Because You Watched Content 1” row are personalized and recommended for the user based on the user's past viewing history, which includes viewing history of “Spotlight on Person 1” and other categories).
Regarding claim 8, Domm discloses “wherein information associated with the plurality of recommended contents includes information associated with a position where a list of the plurality of recommended contents is output on the display.” ([0176], i.e., all rows of content can be sorted or arranged in a way such that content that is more likely to be of interest to the user is arranged earlier in the row than items that are less likely to be of interest to the user).
Regarding claim 9, Domm discloses “wherein the processor is configured to acquire information associated with the target content based on information associated with a position where a list of the plurality of recommended contents is output on the display.” ([0176], i.e., all rows of content can be sorted or arranged in a way such that content that is more likely to be of interest to the user is arranged earlier in the row than items that are less likely to be of interest to the user).
Regarding claim 10, Domm discloses “wherein the additional content is metadata of the target content.” ([0192]-[0193], Fig. 6K, i.e., content displayed in the “Spotlight on Person 1” row includes content that features or includes person 1 due to the user's past history including content displayed in “Because You Watched Content 1”. In other words, person 1 likely appears in previously watched content and thus the “Spotlight on Person 1” row provides metadata to the “Because You Watched Content 1”).
Regarding claim 11, Domm discloses “A method of controlling an electronic apparatus, comprising: acquiring information associated with a plurality of recommended contents based on a user viewing history ([0174], [0180], [0185], [0187], [0190], Figs. 6F-J, i.e., recommendations for media in the unified media browsing application are based on the user’s viewing history);
acquiring information associated with a target content based on the information associated with the plurality of recommended contents, the target content being acquired with additional content that is obtained based on a relationship of the additional content to the target content ([0174], [0185], [0192]-[0193], Figs. 6F-K, i.e., the “Because You Watched Content 1” row is acquired with the “Spotlight on Person 1” row, wherein the rows of content are personalized and based on the user’s past history. In other words, the relationship of the rows is that they are based on user viewing history);
identify an arrangement in which the plurality of recommended content are to be output…” ([0176], [0238], [0240], [0242], i.e., all rows of content can be sorted or arranged in a way such that content that is more likely to be of interest to the user is arranged earlier in the row than items that are less likely to be of interest to the user).
Domm fails to explicitly disclose displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents, and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Lindholm teaches the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) … in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended content and … a second UI element corresponding to the additional content … to the arrangement at a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element ([0168], [0196], Figs. 6A, 6P, 6V, 6Y, i.e., target content “TV Show L” is included within the arrangement of recommended contents “Editor’s Choice” and additional content “Actor A” is positioned adjacent to the target content).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) … in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended content and … a second UI element corresponding to the additional content to the arrangement at a position adjacent to the target content as taught by Lindholm, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of providing the viewer with supplemental detailed information on the same interface page as recommended content without having to navigate to additional menu screens.
The combination still fails to disclose displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Pendergast teaches the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element ([0282], Fig. 35, i.e., the user selects the UI item 3520 adjacent to the media clip information 3515 in the list. As shown in the second stage 3510, the selection causes the list view to display additional information related to the media clip in an expanded list 3525). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element as taught by Pendergast, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of allowing user control of the display of additional information and reducing visual clutter.
Therefore, the combination teaches displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents, and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, Domm discloses “A non-transitory computer readable medium for storing computer readable program code or instructions which are executable to perform a method for controlling an electronic apparatus ([0039], [0154]-[0155], Figs. 1A, 5), the method comprising:
acquiring information associated with a plurality of recommended contents based on a user viewing history ([0174], [0180], [0185], [0187], [0190], Figs. 6F-J, i.e., recommendations for media in the unified media browsing application are based on the user’s viewing history);
acquiring information associated with a target content based on the information associated with the plurality of recommended contents, the target content being acquired with additional content that is obtained based on a relationship of the additional content to the target content ([0174], [0185], [0192]-[0193], Figs. 6F-K, i.e., the “Because You Watched Content 1” row is acquired with the “Spotlight on Person 1” row, wherein the rows of content are personalized and based on the user’s past history. In other words, the relationship of the rows is that they are based on user viewing history);
identify an arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output…” ([0176], [0238], [0240], [0242], i.e., all rows of content can be sorted or arranged in a way such that content that is more likely to be of interest to the user is arranged earlier in the row than items that are less likely to be of interest to the user).
Domm fails to explicitly disclose displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents, and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Lindholm teaches the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) … in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and … a second UI element corresponding to the additional content… to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element ([0168], [0196], Figs. 6A, 6P, 6V, 6Y, i.e., target content “TV Show L” is included within the arrangement of recommended contents “Editor’s Choice” and additional content “Actor A” is positioned adjacent to the target content).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) … in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents and … a second UI element corresponding to the additional content to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element as taught by Lindholm, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of providing the viewer with supplemental detailed information on the same interface page as recommended content without having to navigate to additional menu screens.
The combination still fails to disclose displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Pendergast teaches the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element ([0282], Fig. 35, i.e., the user selects the UI item 3520 adjacent to the media clip information 3515 in the list. As shown in the second stage 3510, the selection causes the list view to display additional information related to the media clip in an expanded list 3525). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement … such that the UI outputs a first UI element … and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element as taught by Pendergast, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of allowing user control of the display of additional information and reducing visual clutter.
Therefore, the combination teaches displaying a user interface (UI) subsequent to the arrangement in which the plurality of recommended contents are to be output being identified such that the UI outputs a first UI element corresponding to the target content is included within the arrangement of the plurality of recommended contents, and wherein, based on a predetermined condition being satisfied, a position adjacent to target content that is output through the first UI element is identified and a second UI element corresponding to the additional content is added to the arrangement at the position adjacent to the target content that is output through the first UI element.
Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domm in view of Lindholm, Pendergast, and in further view of Fujioka et al. (US Pub. 2016/0050446), herein referenced as Fujioka.
Regarding claim 5, the combination fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the processor is configured to control the display to output a list of related contents based on a user input selecting the second UI element.”
Fujioka teaches the technique of providing wherein the processor is configured to control the display to output a list of related contents based on a user input selecting the second UI element ([0170], Fig. 14, i.e., associative content items 1414a-1414f that are related (and curated) to the selected movie). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the processor is configured to control the display to output a list of related contents based on a user input selecting the second UI element as taught by Fujioka, to improve the unified media browsing system of Domm for the predictable result of providing the user with relevant media options for easier browsing.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 January 17, 2026