DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inductive charging coils must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a sled” in line 8. It is not clear whether this is the same limitation as “a sled” from line 3 or is a new limitation. Claims 2-9 are dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (US 4,027,771).
Consider claim 1. Adams teaches a pallet truck and sled combination for delivering goods from a truck into a building, the combination comprising: a pallet truck (fork truck), wherein the pallet truck is shaped and sized to nest with a sled by comprising an alignment feature (fork tine of fork truck) configured to mate the sled with the pallet truck (see column 6, lines 8-11), wherein the pallet truck is shaped, sized, and constructed to lift the sled along with at least two palletized loads of goods (loads on forks 10 and 11), and wherein the pallet truck is shaped and sized to fit within a bed of the truck (bed of required size); and a sled, wherein the sled comprises an alignment feature (54) compatible with the alignment feature of the pallet truck, and a lifting mechanism (43) shaped, sized, and constructed to lift at least one of the palletized loads of goods.
Consider claim 5. Adams teaches that the sled comprises two forks (10 and 11).
Consider claim 6. Adams teaches that the forks of the sled are configured to raise and to lower vertically (via 43 and 23).
Consider claim 7. Adams teaches that the sled comprises two powered hub wheels (23, powered by 43).
Consider claim 8. Adams teaches that the sled comprises a vertical back frame (13).
Consider claim 9. Adams teaches that the sled comprises a caster wheel (45) whose heading can rotate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US 4,027,771) in view of Knapik (US 2023/0034152 A1).
Consider claims 2 and 3. Adams does not explicitly teach a lock mechanism as specifically claimed. Knapik teaches a pallet truck (400) comprising a first portion (402) of a lock mechanism and a sled (100) comprising a second portion (330) of the lock mechanism; wherein the lock mechanism is shaped and sized to automatically lock the sled to the pallet truck in a nested position when the pallet truck lifts the sled (see figs. 13a-13c); wherein the lock mechanism is shaped and sized to automatically unlock the sled from the pallet truck when the pallet truck sets the sled down enabling the pallet truck to be moved to un-nest the sled from pallet truck (see figs. 13a-13c); the lock mechanism comprises a pivoting arm (303) on the sled and a hole (hole left of 402 in fig. 13a) on the pallet truck, wherein the pivoting arm comprises, on one end, a finger (finger left of 330 in fig. 13a) configured to enter the hole when the pallet truck and the sled enter the nested position. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Adams’s combination with a lock mechanism as taught by Knapik in order to securely attach the sled to the pallet truck in order to improve safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if the drawing objection is overcome, if the claim is rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, and if the claim is rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
There are currently no prior art rejections for claim 4.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various pallet truck and sled combinations or joining means therefor.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652