DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending (claim set as filed on 09/14/2023).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1 and 3-18, in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP 818.01(a)).
Claims 2 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Therefore, only claims 1 and 3-18 are presented for examination.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/IL2022/050307, which has provisional applications to:
(a) 63/302,633 filed on 01/25/2022; and (b) 63/162,040 filed on 03/17/2021.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 09/14/2023 have been accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2023, 10/08/2023, 12/05/2023, 01/01/2025, and 04/24/2025 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 8 recites the abbreviation of “BSA” which is presumed to stand for bovine serum albumin as commonly known in the art. However, an abbreviation should be preceded in its first occurrence by the specific identity of the entity which said abbreviation is intended to represent. Thereafter, the use of the abbreviation in the claims will be understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112, Indefinite
(B) CONCLUSION - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “The method of claim 11, wherein said at least one agent is gallic acid or myricetin” and therefore, is inconsistent and/or lacks antecedent basis when the agent is either oleic acid or β-hydroxybutirate as disclosed in base claim 1. Gallic acid or myricetin are species that fall under the genus of a phenolic composition (as evident by instant claim 10 or the instant pre-grant specification at ¶ [0141]-[0144]). Claim 12 will be interpreted with instant claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102, Anticipation
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (Moringa Extract Attenuates Inflammatory Responses and Increases Gene Expression of Casein in Bovine Mammary Epithelial Cells, 2019 - cited by the ISA and in the IDS filed on 09/26/2023).
Cheng’s objective was to investigate the protective effects of Moringa extract (ME) in bovine mammary epithelial cells (MAC-T) (claim 7) in in vitro settings (see abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches MAC-T cells were cultured in high glucose DMEM and then pre-treated with ME at concentrations of 50 and 200 µg/ml for 12 hours (see page 3: Section 2.4.: Cell Culture and Treatments). Cheng discloses “To evaluate whether ME could affect the synthesis of milk components … Importantly, treatment with ME induced significant casein (i.e., the predetermined milk component being protein as in claim 13) gene expression in differentiated cells” (see page 8: Section 3.5.: Effects of ME on Casein Production in Differentiated MAC-T cells). Cheng discloses “feeding moringa leaves to dairy cattle not only increases milk yield, but also improves their health” (see page 10: Discussion). Cheng teaches that lactation is the most important function of bovine mammary epithelial cells and investigates different supplements for production of milk components in dairy cattle (i.e., harvesting of secretome milk from MECs of claim 3) (see pages 11-12, last ¶ - Conclusion).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 12 pertaining to the phenolic composition, Cheng discloses that Moringa oleifera is a tropical plant possessing beneficial properties and contains various antioxidant compounds, including phenolic acids, flavonoids, vitamin C, tannin, saponin, phytate, oxalate, alkaloid, cardenolides, and cardiac glycosides (see page 2, mid-section). Cheng further teaches “these antioxidant effects were attributed to the rich content of flavonoids (e.g., myricetin, quercetin, and kaempferol) and phenolic acids (e.g., gallic acid and chlorogenic acid) in ME. They are well-known antioxidants that can help neutralize free radicals, quench singlet or triplet oxygen, or decompose peroxides” (see page 11, 2nd ¶). Claim interpretation: regarding the recitation of “optionally”, the MPEP 2111.04 states that “a claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103, Obviousness
Claims 1, 5-6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, and 12-13 above, and in view of Elhofy (US 2015/0175956 A1).
Cheng’s disclosure is discussed above as it pertains to culturing mammary epithelial cells in a medium composition comprising phenolic acid composition.
However, Cheng does not teach: said composition comprising at least one agent selected from oleic acid (claim 1’s limitation and claim 5); or further comprises BSA (claim 6), or amino acid (claim 14).
Elhofy’s general disclosure relates to a cell culture growth media comprising a base physiological buffer and liposomes comprising cholesterol, phosphatidylcholine and fatty acids (see abstract & ¶ [0002]-[0003]). The media is useful for promoting viability, growth and proliferation of primary cells or cell lines in cell culture, wherein the media comprises liposomes with a lipid profile conducive to cell maintenance and growth (see ¶ [0009], [0078]).
Regarding claim 5 pertaining to oleic acid, Elhofy teaches that the liposomes comprise one or more fatty acids selected from linolenic acid, myristic acid, and oleic acid (see ¶ [0010]-[0011], [0024], [0090]). The liposomes comprise cholesterol and phosphatidylcholine, and fatty acids at concentrations that provide a more physiologically relevant milieu for cell growth; where fatty acids in a final concentration of about 0.5 to 5 mg/L, 0.75 to 4, 1 to 3, 0.5 to 3, 0.5 to 2, or 1 to 2 mg/L (see ¶ [0087]-[0090], Table 1). Regarding the claimed concentrations, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05 (II))). The adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., the concentration of an ingredient) is deemed a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is within the purview of the skill artisan as evident by Elhofy.
Regarding claim 6 pertaining to BSA, Elhofy also discloses other known media in the art comprises bovine serum albumin (see ¶ [0006]). Claim interpretation: regarding the recitation of “optionally”, the MPEP 2111.04 states that “a claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure”.
Regarding claim 14 pertaining to the amino acid, Elhofy teaches “the liposome is loaded with other compositions beneficial in cell culture. Exemplary compositions beneficial in cell culture include, but are not limited to, buffers, iron transporters, free fatty acids, growth peptides GHK peptide comprising gly-his-lys trimer), amino acids (essential and non-essential), vitamins, trace elements, antioxidants and/or salts” (see ¶ [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ or use oleic acid, BSA, and/or amino acids such as taught by Elhofy in the teachings of Cheng. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because Elhofy teaches a cell media that is useful for promoting viability, growth and proliferation of primary cells or cell lines in cell culture. Moreover, the claimed ingredients are considered well-known or commonly employed in the cell media art and their combination would have been readily apparent as additives for promoting cell cultivation.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Elhofy as applied to the claims above, and in further view of Zhang (β-Hydroxybutyrate Facilitates Fatty Acids Synthesis Mediated by Sterol Regulatory Element-Binding Protein1 in Bovine Mammary Epithelial Cells, 2015).
Cheng and Elhofy’s disclosures are discussed above as it pertains to culturing mammary epithelial cells in a medium composition comprising phenolic acid composition and oleic acid.
However, Cheng-Elhofy do not teach: wherein the predetermined components are milk lipids (claim 4); or wherein said agent comprises β-hydroxybutirate (BHBA) (claim 8).
Zhang discloses “Butyric acid is absorbed and metabolized into β-hydroxybutyrate
(BHBA) by ruminal epithelium cells. BHBA is the main precursor of milk fat synthesis in ruminants” (see page 2116, 2nd ¶). Zhang discloses that “the aim of this study is to investigate whether BHBA facilitates milk fat synthesis mediated by SREBP1/Cidea in bovine mammary epithelial cells cultured in vitro” (see page 2116, 5th ¶). Zhang teaches bovine mammary epithelial cells were cultured and treated with 0, 0.6, 1.2, 2.4 mM BHBA for 24 h (see page 2117: BHBA treatment and transfection). Zhang teaches that BHBA promotes de novo fatty acid synthesis (see page 2118: Results); BHBA treatment can influence the synthesis of triglyceride content where TG content in the supernatant were measured (claim 3) (see pages 2120-2121).
“Taken together, these results indicate that BHBA can induce SREBP1 activation and then upregulate the expression of lipid synthesis enzymes FAS, ACC-α, Cidea and DGAT-1, thereby increasing TG secretion in bovine mammary epithelial cells” (see page 2121, last ¶).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ or use BHBA such as taught by Zhang in the teachings of Cheng-Elhofy for the production of milk lipids. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because Zhang teaches that BHBA can induce SREBP1 activation and then upregulate the expression of lipid synthesis enzymes, thereby increasing TG secretion in bovine mammary epithelial cells (see Zhang at page 2121, last ¶). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because the references are directed to investigating the effects of additives in bovine mammary epithelial cells secretion of milk components.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, and 12-13 above, and in view of Turner (US Patent no. 5,227,301).
Cheng’s disclosure is discussed above as it pertains to culturing mammary epithelial cells in a medium composition comprising phenolic acid composition.
However, Cheng does not teach: wherein the predetermined components are milk carbohydrates and optionally the milk carbohydrate is lactose (claim 11).
Turner’s general disclosure relates to “a bovine immortalized mammary epithelial cell line which has normal physiological responses in that it produces milk constituents which comprises α- and β-casein and lactose. There is provided, using the cell line of the present invention a method of ‘in vitro’ studying lactation” (see abstract & col. 2, lines 20-25). Turner further teaches bovine mammary epithelial cells were cultured and analyzed for lactose and casein content (see col. 3-4). Turner discloses that “two major constituents of milk are casein proteins and the disaccharide, lactose” (see col. 8, lines 19-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to envisage milk carbohydrate of lactose such as taught by Turner as the predetermined milk component in Cheng. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because Turner discloses that lactose
is one of the two major constituents in milk. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success is because the references are drawn to cultivation of mammary epithelial cells (MAC-T) and investigating effects on milk production.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Elhofy as applied to the claims above, and in further view of Wang (Dipeptide (Methionyl-Methionine) Transport and Its Effect on β-Casein Synthesis in Bovine Mammary Epithelial Cells, 2018).
Cheng and Elhofy’s disclosures are discussed above as it pertains to culturing mammary epithelial cells in a medium composition comprising phenolic acid composition and oleic acid.
As noted above, Elhofy teaches “the liposome is loaded with other compositions beneficial in cell culture. Exemplary compositions beneficial in cell culture include, but are not limited to, buffers, iron transporters, free fatty acids, growth peptides GHK peptide comprising gly-his-lys trimer), amino acids (essential and non-essential, claim 14), vitamins, trace elements, antioxidants and/or salts” (see ¶ [0050]).
However, Cheng-Elhofy do not teach: wherein said dipeptide is a Met-Met dipeptide (claim 17); or the predetermined amino acid concentrations and/or ratios (claims 15-16 and 18).
Wang’s general disclosure relates to “investigate the transport properties and utilization of methionyl-methionine dipeptide (Met-Met) in β-casein (β-CN) synthesis in bovine mammary epithelial cells (BMECs)” (see abstract). Wang concludes that “the properties of peptide transporter and its effect on β-CN synthesis in BMECs. Met-Met, taken up by PepT2, enhances cell proliferation and promotes β-CN synthesis by activating JAK2-STAT5 and mTOR signaling pathways in BMECs” (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ or use a Met-Met dipeptide such as taught by Wang in the teachings of Cheng-Elhofy for the culturing of mammary epithelial cells. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so is because Wang suggests the dipeptide enhances cell proliferation and promotes β-casein (β-CN) synthesis. The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation because the references are directed to culture of bovine mammary epithelial cells.
Furthermore, regarding the amino acid concentration and/or ratios, as stated above, “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (MPEP 2144.05 (II))). The adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., the concentration of an ingredient) is deemed a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is within the purview of the skill artisan as evident by Wang which discloses testing different concentrations of amino acids (see, e.g., page 483: Results).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-2, 5-6, 20-23, and 29 (claim set as filed on 11/05/2024) of co-pending Application no. 18/862,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, co-pending ‘996 teaches a method of increasing lipid synthesis or accumulation in mammary epithelial cells (MECs) culture comprising contacting the MECs with an LXR agonist in the presence of a fatty acid (oleic acid), phenolic composition, and β-hydroxybutirate (see claims 1-2, 5, and 20 of co-pending ‘996).
Regarding claims 3-4, co-pending ‘996 teaches harvesting lipids from said MECs or from a medium of said culture of said MECs (see claim 6 of co-pending ‘996).
Regarding claim 6, co-pending ‘996 teaches in the presence of albumin, optionally wherein said albumin is bovine serum albumin (BSA), optionally wherein said albumin is BSA or plant albumin (see claim 23 of co-pending ‘996).
Regarding claim 7, co-pending ‘996 teaches wherein said MECs are human or bovine MECs (see claim 26 of co-pending ‘996).
Regarding claim 9, co-pending ‘996 teaches wherein said composition is selected from the group consisting of flavonol, flavanol, flavone and anthocyanidin (see claim 21 of co-pending ‘996).
Regarding claim 12, co-pending ‘996 teaches wherein said phenolic composition is selected from gallic acid or myricetin (see claim 22 of co-pending ‘996).
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims were allowed.
Correspondence Information
/NGHI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653