DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 14 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed above.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/165850 A1 to Sirmon.
Regarding independent claim 1, Sirmon discloses a method of managing a filter apparatus (1) positionable outside a washing machine and connectable to a drain device of the washing machine to filter water discharged from the washing machine (see Fig. 1 and text, particularly p. 5 under Detailed Description), the method comprising:
storing, by a server, information of the washing machine (see ¶ bridging pp. 8-9 where washing machine filter information is collected and stored for later transmittal; see also p. 11, last ¶ to p. 12, first ¶ where the user app is configured to setup the filter using washing machine data);
registering, by the server, the filter apparatus in association with a user account based on receiving a registration request signal to register the filter apparatus (see p. 10, ¶ 6 to p. 11, ¶ 1, where washing machine filter information is registered and transmitted to user device linked to a customer internet server account); and
transmitting, by the server, the information of the washing machine to the filter apparatus based on the filter apparatus being registered in association with the user account (see p. 10, ¶ 6 to p. 11, ¶ 1, where washing machine filter information is registered and transmitted to user device linked to a customer internet server account; see also p. 12, ¶ 1 which discloses the user app communicating washing machine data as well as filter data).
Regarding claim 3, Sirmon further discloses obtaining, by a user device, the information of the washing machine; and transmitting, by the user device, the information of the washing machine to the server (see p. 10, ¶ 6 to p. 12, ¶ 1, which discloses user app receiving and transmitting filter and washing machine data),
Regarding claim 6, Sirmon further discloses wherein the obtaining, by the user device, the information of the washing machine includes: receiving, by the user device, the information of the washing machine from the washing machine through a short-range communication module (see wireless data transmission at abstract & p. 2, ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 8, Sirmon further discloses modifying, by the filter apparatus, a preset operation algorithm based on the information of the washing machine (see p. 11, last ¶ to p. 12, first ¶ where the filter can be configured and set up via the user app to control various washing machine options).
Regarding claim 9, Sirmon further discloses wherein the modifying of the preset operation algorithm based on the information of the washing machine includes: adjusting an operation rate of a filter cleaning device based on the information of the washing machine (see p. 11, ¶ 1 where usage rate of the filter can be transmitted to the user app).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirmon.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Sirmon discloses the claimed invention with the exception of establishing, by the washing machine, a communication with the server; transmitting, by the washing machine, a registration request signal to register the washing machine including the information of the washing machine to the server; and registering, by the server, the washing machine in association with the user account thereby linking the information of the washing machine and information of the filter apparatus with each other through the user account (claim 2) or transmitting, by the server, a signal requesting the information of the washing machine to the user device based on the registration request signal to register the filter apparatus being received; and providing, by the user device, a user interface for inputting the information of the washing machine based on the signal requesting the information of the washing machine being received (claim 4). However, Sirmon (see above) does disclose communication between each of a server, washing machine, filter, and user app, and performing the communications and data sharing between the devices as claimed would have been well within the general knowledge and skill of one having ordinary skill in the art to achieve the predictable results of providing electronic communication between a user, a washing machine, and an external filter.
Regarding claims 10-13, Sirmon discloses the invention including using a filter external of a washing machine and operation via a user app based on filter operations and washing machine operations (see above). Regarding claims 10-13, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to receive, transmit, and initiate signal of typical washing machine and filter operations such as those recited in claims 10-13 (see p. 11, ¶ 1 and p. 12, ¶ 1 where various operational statuses may be transmitted between the washing machine, filter and user).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirmon in view of US 2020/0240066 to Ko et al. (“Ko”).
Regarding claim 5, Sirmon discloses the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the obtaining, by the user device, the information of the washing machine includes photographing, by the user device, a visual indicator representing the information of the washing machine using a camera. However, use of cameras in washing machines for reading barcodes or QR codes is old and known. As is user apps using cell phone cameras. For instance, Ko teaches that it is known to use a camera to recognize laundry information with a QR code or barcode in order to determine a washing operation (see Ko at ¶ [0131]).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to provide the method of Sirmon with a camera, such as that taught in Ko, for the purpose of operating a washing machine using a QR code or barcode to obtain washing operational information.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirmon in view of EP 3511628 to Langhammer (machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 7, Sirmon discloses the claimed invention including wireless transmission between the filter/washing machine and user app. Sirmon does not expressly disclose the filter apparatus operating in a soft access point (Soft AP) mode; receiving, by the filter apparatus, access point information to connect the filter apparatus to a wireless access point apparatus from a user device while filter apparatus is operating in the soft AP mode; establishing, by the filter apparatus, a communication with a wireless access relay apparatus based on the access point information received; and transmitting, by the filter apparatus, the registration request signal to register the filter apparatus to the server based on the communication being established with the wireless access point apparatus. However, use of a soft access point mode to wirelessly transmit between washing machines and users are old and known. For instance, Langhammer teaches that it is known to provide wireless access between a user and a washing appliance using a soft access point between a user and the appliance (see p. 2, last sentence - p. 3. 2nd ¶ of translation).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to provide the filter, washing machine, and user app configuration of Sirmon using a soft access point mode in order to provide communication between the home appliance and software-based wireless access point, such as that provided in Langhammer, to yield the same and predictable wireless communicating results.
Conclusion
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711