DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/18/2026.
Claims 1-8 are under current examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/24/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 4 each recite a “% active” in parentheses following the citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate. In each instance this phrase renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the phrase is intended to limit the composition. The meaning of a citric acid, for example that has 50% activity is totally unclear in terms of how a substance could only be 50% active and in terms of what the activity is. Additionally, the phrase is within parentheses and therefore it is unclear whether it is intended to limit the composition at all. No clarity is gained from the specification regarding the meaning of this phrase.
Claims 5 and 6 both list ATCC numbers in parentheses following categories of microbes. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the effect of the formulation must be against the specific strain recited in parentheses or may be against any of the recited categories of microbe, the parenthetical statement being only exemplary.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond (US 2022/0202020; publication date: 06/30/2022) in view of Kinstler (US20210329923; publication date: 10/28/2021), Green (US 2019/0021993; publication date: 01/24/2019) and Drohmann et al. (US20050148751; publication date: 07/07/2005).
With regard to claims 1, 3, and 4, Bond discloses a cleaner and disinfectant containing only 25(b) ingredients (title, abstract). In one embodiment, the formulation contains in weight percent: thyme oil in an amount ranging from about 0.195 to about 0.276%; wintergreen oil in an amount ranging from about 0.128 to about 0.207%; at least one 25(b) surfactant in an amount ranging from about 2.159 to about 3.015%; granular citric acid in an amount ranging from about 0.994 to about 1.358%; isopropanol in an amount ranging from about 1.351 to about 1.886%; and the remainder water (0006-0011). The 25(b) surfactant is sodium lauryl sulfate (0012). The ranges in amounts of the oil ingredients overlaps with the amounts required by the instant claims (see MPEP 2144.05).
The ranges in amount of citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate in this embodiment disclosed by Bond are below the amounts recited in the instant claims; however citric acid and sodium lauryl sulfate are listed as active ingredients in table 1. Bond lists isopropyl alcohol (i.e. isopropanol) as an inert ingredient (table 2); however, this substance was known to impart antimicrobial effect:
Kinstler discloses that isopropanol is an antimicrobial agent (0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to adjust the amounts of these three recognized antimicrobial ingredients (citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate) to increase the antimicrobial activity of the formulation to suit any particular need. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Bond discloses further that cedarwood oil is a 25(b) ingredient (Table 1); however, Bond does not particularly call out this substance from the list of 25(b) ingredients provided.
Green discloses that cedarwood in addition to thymol (i.e. an antimicrobial active in thyme oil; Drohmann: 0185) has antimicrobial properties (0016).
It would have been prima facie obvious to include cedarwood oil in Bond’s formulation because it was known to serve the same purpose as the other antimicrobial oil present, and it was also listed as a 25(b) ingredient (see MPEP 2144.06). With regard to the amount of cedarwood oil required by instant claims 1, 3, and 4, the examiner considers it a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of additional antimicrobial oil to provide a target activity against a pathogen. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
With regard to claim 2, the pH is from 6-8 (0012).
With regard to claims 5 and 6, Bond directs the artisan of ordinary skill to reduce or eliminate microbes (mold or bacteria; 0035). Although Bond does not report testing on log reduction of microbes, the examiner considers it prima facie obvious to maximize the formulation’s efficacy using the known ingredients to achieve the elimination of microbes. As such the log reduction values recited in the instant claims does not patentably define over the cited prior art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
With regard to claim 7, the formulation is a microemulsion (abstract).
With regard to claim 8, the examiner considers “is a diluted formulation” to be product by process language as it limits the product of claim 1 to one that has been formed by dilution. As all of the limitations of claim 1 are taught by the cited prior art, so also is claim 8 obvious. According to MPEP 2113: product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11033024 (cited in the IDS filed 09/14/2023) in view of Bond (US 2022/0202020; publication date: 06/30/2022), Kinstler (US20210329923; publication date: 10/28/2021), Pan et al. (US20040018154; publication date: 01/29/2001), Green (US 2019/0021993; publication date: 01/24/2019), and Drohmann et al. (US20050148751; publication date: 07/07/2005).
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘024 patent embrace a microemulsion comprising, in weight percent: at least one surfactant in an amount ranging from about 2.48 to 3.36%, citric acid in an amount ranging from about 1.62 to 2.20%, alcohol with a proof ranging from 90 to 180 and in an amount ranging from about 2.81 to 3.81%, thyme oil in an amount ranging from about 0.18 to 0.24%,a pH adjuster to adjust the pH of the microemulsion between 2.3 and 3.3, and water. The surfactant is sodium lauryl sulfate and the alcohol is isopropanol. The ranges in amounts of the oil ingredients overlap with the amounts required by the instant claims (see MPEP 2144.05).
The ranges in amount of citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate in the ‘923 claims are below the amounts recited in the instant claims; however these substances were known to impart antimicrobial effect:
Bond lists citric acid and sodium lauryl sulfate are listed as active [antimicrobial] ingredients in table 1.
Kinstler discloses that isopropanol is an antimicrobial agent (0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to adjust the amounts of these three recognized antimicrobial ingredients (citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate) to increase the antimicrobial activity of the formulation to suit any particular need. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
The ’024 claims do not require wintergreen oil or cedarwood oil.
Pan discloses that wintergreen oil and thymol were both known as antimicrobial agents as of the instant effective filing date (0048).
Green discloses that cedarwood in addition to thymol (i.e. an antimicrobial active in thyme oil; Drohmann: 0185) has antimicrobial properties (0016).
It would have been prima facie obvious to add wintergreen oil and cedarwood oil to the ‘024 composition because these substances were known to serve the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). With regard to the amount of wintergreen and cedarwood oils required by instant claims 1, 3, and 4, the examiner considers it a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of additional antimicrobial oil to provide a target activity against a pathogen. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11284624 in view of Bond (US 2022/0202020; publication date: 06/30/2022), Kinstler (US20210329923; publication date: 10/28/2021), Pan et al. (US20040018154; publication date: 01/29/2001), Green (US 2019/0021993; publication date: 01/24/2019), and Drohmann et al. (US20050148751; publication date: 07/07/2005).
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘642 patent embrace a microemulsion comprising, in weight percent: at least one surfactant in an amount ranging from about 2.48 to 3.36%, citric acid in an amount ranging from about 1.62 to 2.20%, alcohol with a proof ranging from 90 to 180 and in an amount ranging from about 2.81 to 3.81%, thyme oil in an amount ranging from about 0.18 to 0.24%, a pH adjuster to adjust the pH of the microemulsion between 2.3 and 3.3, and water. The surfactant is sodium lauryl sulfate, the alcohol is isopropanol and the pH is between 6-8. The ranges in amounts of the oil ingredients overlap with the amounts required by the instant claims (see MPEP 2144.05). The ranges in amount of citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate in the ‘923 claims are below the amounts recited in the instant claims; however, these substances were known to impart antimicrobial effect:
Bond lists citric acid and sodium lauryl sulfate are listed as active [antimicrobial] ingredients in table 1.
Kinstler discloses that isopropanol is an antimicrobial agent (0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to adjust the amounts of these three recognized antimicrobial ingredients (citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate) to increase the antimicrobial activity of the formulation to suit any particular need. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
The ’024 claims do not require wintergreen oil or cedarwood oil.
Pan discloses that wintergreen oil and thymol were both known as antimicrobial agents as of the instant effective filing date (0048).
Green discloses that cedarwood in addition to thymol (i.e. an antimicrobial active in thyme oil; Drohmann: 0185) has antimicrobial properties (0016).
It would have been prima facie obvious to add wintergreen oil and cedarwood oil to the ‘624 composition because these substances were known to serve the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). With regard to the amount of wintergreen and cedarwood oils required by instant claims 1, 3, and 4, the examiner considers it a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of additional antimicrobial oil to provide a target activity against a pathogen. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-10, 13-16, and 18 of copending Application No. 17694923 in view of Hansen et al. (US4865855; issue date: 09/12/1989), Kinstler (US20210329923; publication date: 10/28/2021), Green (US 2019/0021993; publication date: 01/24/2019) and Drohmann et al. (US20050148751; publication date: 07/07/2005).
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘923 application embrace a cleaner and disinfectant containing only 25(b) ingredients containing in weight percent: in weight percent: thyme oil in an amount ranging from about 0.195 to about 0.276%; wintergreen oil in an amount ranging from about 0.128 to about 0.207%; sodium lauryl sulfate in an amount ranging from about 2.159 to about 3.015%; citric acid in an amount ranging from about 0.994 to about 1.358%; isopropanol in an amount ranging from about 1.351 to about 1.886%; and the remainder water. The pH is from 6-8. The ranges in amounts of the oil ingredients overlap with the amounts required by the instant claims (see MPEP 2144.05). The ranges in amount of citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate in the ‘923 claims are below the amounts recited in the instant claims; however, these substances were known to impart antimicrobial effect:
Hansen discloses that citric acid and sodium lauryl sulfate were known antimicrobials (abstract).
Kinstler discloses that isopropanol is an antimicrobial agent (0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious to adjust the amounts of these three recognized antimicrobial ingredients (citric acid, isopropanol, and sodium lauryl sulfate) to increase the antimicrobial activity of the formulation to suit any particular need. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
The claims of the ‘923 application do not recite a limitation requiring cedarwood oil.
Green discloses that cedarwood in addition to thymol (i.e. an antimicrobial active in thyme oil; Drohmann: 0185) has antimicrobial properties (0016).
It would have been prima facie obvious to include cedarwood oil in the ‘923 formulation because it was known to serve the same purpose as the other antimicrobial oil present (see MPEP 2144.06). With regard to the amount of cedarwood oil required by instant claims 1, 3, and 4, the examiner considers it a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of additional antimicrobial oil to provide a target activity against a pathogen. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617