DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 1-5 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG et al, CN- 114122570-A in view of FUGANE et al, US-20170338536-A1 . With respect to claim 1 , ZENG teaches an energy conversion device ( aluminum -air battery; See Abstract) , comprising: a cathode ( cathode is a mesoporous MnO2 coated by graphene; teaching claim 10) ; an anode ( anode is metal aluminium or aluminium alloy ; teaching claim 10) ; and an alkaline electrolyte disposed between the cathode and the anode ( alkaline electrolyte ; teaching claim 6 ) , wherein the alkaline electrolyte comprises an electrolyte additive comprising zinc oxide, L-cysteine, or a combination thereof ( zinc oxide is added to the alkaline electrolyte; teaching claim 7 ) . With respect to claim 2 , the energy conversion device is a metal-air battery ( aluminum -air battery; See Abstract) . With respect to claim 4 , the alkaline electrolyte comprises potassium hydroxide ( alkaline electrolyte is potassium hydroxide; teaching claim 4 ) . ZENG does not teach: an aluminum-magnesium alloy ( claim 1 ) ; an amount of magnesium in the aluminium -magnesium alloy is in a range from about 0.1 percent to about 10 percent ( claim 3 ) ; a concentration of the electrolyte additive is in a range from about 0.005 moles per litre to about 0.5 moles per litre in the alkaline electrolyte ( claim 5 ) ; the cathode comprises a catalyst and a conductive carbon ( claim 8 ). FUGANE teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: an aluminum-magnesium alloy ( al uminum ( Al ), and magnesium ( Mg ) and alloys containing any of these metals; [0020]; claim 1 ) ; the cathode comprises a catalyst and a conductive carbon ( claim 8 ). ZENG and FUGANE are analogous rt from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating metal - air batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the aluminum-magnesium alloy of FUGANE , in the anode of ZEN , in order to increase capacity of the electrode. The skilled artisan recognizes that adding additional active material increases capacity. With respect to an amount of magnesium in the aluminium -magnesium alloy being in a range from about 0.1 percent to about 10 percent ( claim 3 ) ; it would have been obvious in the anode of ZENG in view of FUGANE , as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch , 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). With respect to a concentration of the electrolyte additive is in a range from about 0.005 moles per litre to about 0.5 moles per litre in the alkaline electrolyte ( claim 5 ) ; it would have been obvious in the anode of ZENG in view of FUGANE , to increase anti-corrosion of the anode. ZENG teaches the concentration of the zinc oxide is 0.1 ~ 5 g/L. See Contents of the Invention, paragraph 14. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch , 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 6-7 & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZENG et al, CN- 114122570-A in view of FUGANE et al, US-20170338536-A1 , and further in view of MA et al. CN 108023144A . ZENG in view of FUGANE teach an energy conversion device ( aluminum -air battery; See Abstract) , comprising: a cathode ( cathode is a mesoporous MnO2 coated by graphene; teaching claim 10) ; an anode ( anode is metal aluminium or aluminium alloy ; teaching claim 10) ; and an alkaline electrolyte disposed between the cathode and the anode ( alkaline electrolyte ; teaching claim 6 ) , wherein the alkaline electrolyte comprises an electrolyte additive comprising zinc oxide, L-cysteine, or a combination thereof ( zinc oxide is added to the alkaline electrolyte; teaching claim 7 ), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove . With respect to claim 9 , metal-air battery device ( aluminum -air battery; See Abstract) , comprising: a cathode ( cathode is a mesoporous MnO2 coated by graphene; teaching claim 10) ; an anode ( anode is metal aluminium or aluminium alloy ; teaching claim 10) ; and an alkaline electrolyte disposed between the cathode and the anode ( alkaline electrolyte ; teaching claim 6 ) , wherein the alkaline electrolyte comprises an electrolyte additive comprising zinc oxide ( zinc oxide is added to the alkaline electrolyte; teaching claim 7 ), Although ZENG teach es zinc oxide is added to the alkaline electrolyte; teaching claim 7 ), the reference does not teach: the electrolyte additive comprises zinc oxide and L-cysteine ( claims 6 & 9 ); a concentration of zinc oxide is in a range from about 0.001 moles per litre to about 0.1 moles per litre , and a concentration of L-cysteine is in a range from about 0.001 moles per litre to about 0.1 moles per litre in the alkaline electrolyte ( claim 7 ) ; a concentration of zinc oxide is in a range from about 0.005 moles per litre to about 0.05 moles per litre and a concentration of L- cysteine is in a range from about 0.01 moles per litre to about 0.05 moles per litre in the alkaline electrolyte ( claim 10 ) . MA teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the electrolyte additive comprises zinc oxide and L-cysteine ( electrolyte compound corrosion inhibitor, composed of L-cysteine and zinc oxide, the L-cysteine and mol ratio of the zinc oxide is 0.003~50: 50~1000 ; the electrolyte compound inhibiter, components simply, low cost, safety and meets the environment-friendly requirement, not only can obviously reduce hydrogen evolution of aluminium positive electrode self-corrosion rate, but also can make the aluminium positive electrode open circuit potential and an external working potential of current condition obviously negative, increasing positive electrode efficiency, makes the aluminium positive electrode has good corrosion resistance and high electrochemical activity to meet the alkaline aluminium air battery discharge high current density requirement. ; See the Abstract; claims 6 & 9 ) . ZENG , FUGANE and MA are analogous rt from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating metal - air batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrolyte additive compris ing zinc oxide and L-cysteine of MA , in the anode of ZEN in view of FUGANE , because MA teaches the electrolyte compound inhibiter is low cost, safe and meets the environment-friendly requirement, not only can obviously reduce hydrogen evolution of aluminium positive electrode self-corrosion rate, but also can make the aluminium positive electrode open circuit potential and an external working potential of current condition obviously negative, increasing positive electrode efficiency, makes the aluminium positive electrode has good corrosion resistance and high electrochemical activity to meet the alkaline aluminium air battery discharge high current density requirement. With respect to a concentration of zinc oxide is in a range from about 0.001 moles per litre to about 0.1 moles per litre , and a concentration of L-cysteine is in a range from about 0.001 moles per litre to about 0.1 moles per litre in the alkaline electrolyte ( claim 7 ) ; it would have been obvious in the anode of ZEN in view of FUGANE and MA, as MA teaches electrolyte compound corrosion inhibitor, composed of L-cysteine and zinc oxide, the L-cysteine and mol ratio of the zinc oxide is 0.003~50: 50~1000; the electrolyte compound inhibiter is low cost, safe and meets the environment-friendly requirement, not only can obviously reduce hydrogen evolution of aluminium positive electrode self-corrosion rate, but also can make the aluminium positive electrode open circuit potential and an external working potential of current condition obviously negative, increasing positive electrode efficiency, makes the aluminium positive electrode has good corrosion resistance and high electrochemical activity to meet the alkaline aluminium air battery discharge high current density requirement. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch , 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). With respect to a concentration of zinc oxide is in a range from about 0.005 moles per litre to about 0.05 moles per litre and a concentration of L- cysteine is in a range from about 0.01 moles per litre to about 0.05 moles per litre in the alkaline electrolyte ( claim 10 ); it would have been obvious in the anode of ZEN in view of FUGANE and MA, as MA teaches electrolyte compound corrosion inhibitor, composed of L-cysteine and zinc oxide, the L-cysteine and mol ratio of the zinc oxide is 0.003~50: 50~1000; the electrolyte compound inhibiter is low cost, safe and meets the environment-friendly requirement, not only can obviously reduce hydrogen evolution of aluminium positive electrode self-corrosion rate, but also can make the aluminium positive electrode open circuit potential and an external working potential of current condition obviously negative, increasing positive electrode efficiency, makes the aluminium positive electrode has good corrosion resistance and high electrochemical activity to meet the alkaline aluminium air battery discharge high current density requirement. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch , 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MONIQUE M WILLS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1309 . The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30am to 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Tiffany Legette, may be reached at 571-270-7078 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /Monique M Wills/ Examiner, Art Unit 172 2 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723