DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues the prior art of reference, Kim (US 2016/0328647), fails to teach the limitation “generating, based on a set of parameters that define a machine model, an item of software which, when executed by one or more processors, provides an implementation for the machine learning model; and applying one or more software protection techniques to the item of software”. More specifically, the applicant argues Kim does not teach a first step of generating an item of software and a subsequent step of applying a protection technique to the software since the machine learning (ML) model does not exist at the time the machine protection techniques are applied (see remarks pg. 8, para. 1-5). The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the examiner would like to note claim 1 does not recite or claim a specific order or steps for applying a protection technique to a generated machine learning model or software. Claim 1 only requires the generation of a software item with a protection technique applied to it without specifying an order for applying the protection technique. Second, the prior art Kim recites in [0048] “at block 520…Performing the program analysis can include compiling the source of the ML program based on the ML program annotation to generate the ML model. The ML model can be generated in a binary format...”. Further, [0051] and [0052] teach inserting binary code into the compiled ML program for protecting the program. Further, figure 5, step 530 is labeled “insert binary code based on program analysis”, which implies the program is already generated and further analyzed for inserting binary protection code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10-12, 16, 19, 20, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2020/0184070).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Kim discloses a system comprising one or more hardware processors ([0005], [0054], the system is embodied as hardware), the one or more hardware processors arranged to carry out a machine learning model protection method ([0004], a binary code is inserted for protecting a machine learning model), the machine learning model protection method comprising:
generating, based on a set of parameters that define a machine learning model, an item of software which, when executed by one or more processors, provides an implementation for the machine learning model ([0025], [0026], [0036], information for generating a machine language model is generated by development component 210 and used by program analysis component 220 for generating a machine language model for execution); and
applying one or more software protection techniques to the item of software ([0024], [0035], [0038], [0047], [0050], [0053], a binary code is inserted for protecting the generated model is inserted into the model).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Kim discloses the machine learning model is representable, at least in part, as a plurality of nodes, each node having corresponding node functionality ([0029], [0030], the model is represented as a set of nodes which represents a program statement (function)); and
the item of software comprises a plurality of node functions, wherein each node function, when executed by the one or more processors, provides an implementation of the node functionality of a respective subset of the plurality of nodes ([0029], [0030], the model is represented as a set of nodes which represents a program statement (function)).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Kim discloses wherein the respective subset of the plurality of nodes is a single node of the plurality of nodes ([0029], program statements are embodied as single nodes).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Kim discloses wherein the set of parameters are data interpretable by a machine learning framework software application (220) ([0025], [0026], [0036], information for generating a machine language model is generated by development component 210 and used by program analysis component 220 for generating a machine language model for execution; [0054], the system is embodied as software and/or hardware) to perform the machine learning model ([0025], [0026], [0036], information for generating a machine language model is used by development component 210 for generating a machine language model for execution).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Kim discloses wherein the set of parameters specify one or more of: (b) some or all of the structure of the machine learning model ([0025] The development component 210 is configured to implement a development stage that designs the ML program for generating a ML model. During the development stage, the source code of the ML program can be annotated to generate an ML program annotation that indicates which part needs confidentiality protection).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Kim discloses wherein generating the item of software comprises including, as part of the item of software, instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, provide one or more security features in combination with the implementation for the machine learning model ([0025] The development component 210 is configured to implement a development stage that designs the ML program for generating a ML model. During the development stage, the source code of the ML program can be annotated to generate an ML program annotation that indicates which part needs confidentiality protection).
Regarding claim 26, the limitations of claim 26 are rejected in the analysis of claim 16. Kim further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program which, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes the one or more hardware processors to carry out a machine learning model protection method ([0055], a stored program is executed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2020/0184070) in view of Lin et al. (Lin) (US 2016/0328647).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 17, and 18, Kim discloses the system of claim 16 (See claim 16 above).
Kim is silent about wherein the item of software implements arithmetic operations as fixed-point operations; and wherein the machine learning model protection method comprises at least one of: (a) obtaining a user-defined precision for the fixed-point operations for use in said generating the item of software; and (b) obtaining a user-defined specification for a number of bits for representing an input to and/or an output of the arithmetic operations.
Lin from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the item of software implements arithmetic operations as fixed-point operations ([0010], [0025], the model is configured as affixed point implementation); and wherein the machine learning model protection method comprises: (b) obtaining a user-defined specification for a number of bits for representing an input to and/or an output of the arithmetic operations ([0010], [0028], [0031], [0049], [0052], the bit width for parameters and calculations for a neural network is adjusted based on user input).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lin into the teachings of Kim to reduce a model size, reduce processing time, reduce memory bandwidth, and/or reduce power consumption (Kim: [0025]).
Claim(s) 7, 9, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2020/0184070) in view of applicant admitted prior art (AAPA).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 21, and 22, Kim discloses the system of claim 19 (see claim 19 above) and the system of claim 16 (see claim 16 above).
Kim is silent about wherein the machine learning model is one of:(a) a model for a neural network and each of the plurality of nodes is a respective neuron of the neural network.; (b) a model for a decision tree and each of the plurality of nodes is a respective node of the decision tree; or (c) a model for a random forest and each of the plurality of nodes is a respective node of the random forest; and wherein the machine learning model is a support vector machine.
The applicant admits as prior art (AAPA) wherein the machine learning model is one of: (a) a model for a neural network and each of the plurality of nodes is a respective neuron of the neural network (pg. 1, para. 2, many types of machine language models include neural networks, decision trees, support vector machines, and random forests); (b) a model for a decision tree and each of the plurality of nodes is a respective node of the decision tree (pg. 1, para. 2, many types of machine language models include neural networks, decision trees, support vector machines, and random forests); or (c) a model for a random forest and each of the plurality of nodes is a respective node of the random forest (pg. 1, para. 2, many types of machine language models include neural networks, decision trees, support vector machines, and random forests); and wherein the machine learning model is a support vector machine (pg. 1, para. 2, many types of machine language models include neural networks, decision trees, support vector machines, and random forests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of AAPA into the teachings of Kim dependent upon the choice of system design for implementing common machine language model types.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Srinivasan et al. (Srinivasan) (US 2021/0133577) ([0002], machine learning models are encrypted).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488