DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 18/368,237 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 06/10/2026. Claims 1-6 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered and were found persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record. However, in light of the amendments a new search was conducted and new prior art identified that renders the previous arguments moot. See claims 1-6 rejections below.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US-11799127-B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites .
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the elastic portion is 1 x 102 N/mm2 or less” however should recite “the elastic portion is 1 x 102 N/mm2 or less”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US-20190157723-A1) in view of Watanabe (WO 2012/127561 A1) and further in view of Shindo et al. (US-20170155127-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki discloses a battery (see e.g. “an all-solid-state secondary battery 100” in paragraph [0066] and part number 100 in FIG. 1),
the battery comprising:
a power generation element including a cathode (see e.g. “a cathode 10” in paragraph [0066] and part number 10 in FIG. 1), an electrolyte layer (see e.g. “a solid electrolyte layer 30 between the cathode and the anode” in paragraph [0066] and part number 30 in FIG. 1), and an anode (see e.g. “an anode 20” in paragraph [0066] and part number 20 in FIG. 1), in this order (see e.g. FIG. 1), and
an exterior body storing the power generation element (see e.g. “encapsulated in a laminating film in a vacuum state to manufacture an all-solid-state secondary battery” in paragraph [0142]),
wherein the anode includes at least an anode current collector (see e.g. “an anode current collector 121” in paragraph [0081] and part number 121 in FIG. 3), and
an anode active material layer (see e.g. “an anode active material layer 122 on the anode current collector 121” in paragraph [0081] and part number 122 in FIG. 3) that has an increase in thickness due to battery charge. Specifically, Suzuki discloses that when the battery is charged beyond the initial charge capacity of the anode active material layer, lithium is deposited between the anode current collector and the anode active material layer to form an additional lithium metal layer (see e.g. paragraphs [0008] and [0121] and part number 330 in FIG. 8). Suzuki teaches that the lithium metal layer formed by charging may be used as an anode active material (see e.g. paragraph [0041]). Therefore, the formation of the lithium metal layer due to charging corresponds to an increase in the thickness of the anode active material of the battery. Suzuki further discloses that the metal layer may be formed by overcharging the anode active material layer and may have a thickness in the range of about 1 µm to about 200 µm (see e.g. "The metal layer may have a thickness of about 1 μm to about 200 μm" in paragraph [0024]).
Suzuki discloses a range that contains the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a range that contains the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Suzuki does not disclose that the anode current collector includes a current collection portion and an elastic portion, wherein the current collection portion is placed between the electrolyte layer and the elastic portion, and wherein an elastic modulus of the anode current collector is 2.14 x 10³ N/mm² or more and 4.08 x 10³ N/mm² or less.
Watanabe, however, in the same field of endeavor of batteries and battery current collectors, discloses an anode current collector (see e.g. “current collector 11” in paragraphs [0035] and [0047] and part number 11 in FIG. 1 of Watanabe) that includes a current collection portion (see e.g. “conductive layers 11b” in paragraph [0047] and part number 11b in FIG. 1 of Watanabe) and an elastic portion (see e.g. “resin film 11a” in paragraphs [0047]–[0048] and part number 11a in FIG. 1 of Watanabe). Watanabe teaches that the conductive layer 11b is provided on the resin film 11a and that an active material containing layer 12 is formed on and electrically joined to the conductive layer 11b (see e.g. FIGS. 1–2 of Watanabe). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that when Watanabe’s composite current collector is used as the anode current collector of Suzuki, the conductive layer 11b would face Suzuki’s anode active material layer and electrolyte layer and would therefore be positioned between Suzuki’s electrolyte layer and the resin film 11a as claimed.
Watanabe further discloses that the Young’s modulus of the current collector, including the resin film and conductive layer, is 3.7 GPa (see e.g. PET-PVA Youngs Modulus in Table 1 highlighted on page 14 of Watanabe; 3.7 GPa is equivalent to 3700 N/mm2 or 3.7 x 103 N/mm2).
Watanabe discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Watanabe further teaches that the resin film reduces the weight of the current collector and improves the energy density of the battery (see e.g. paragraphs [0002] and [0031] of Watanabe). Watanabe also teaches that controlling the Young’s modulus of the resin film current collector suppresses expansion caused by temperature changes and maintains the charge discharge characteristics of the battery (see e.g. paragraphs [0009]–[0010] of Watanabe). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode current collector of Suzuki et al. to include the conductive layer, resin film and the elastic modulus taught by Watanabe in order to reduce the weight of the current collector, improve battery energy density and maintain charge/discharge characteristics as suggested by Watanabe.
Suzuki in view of Watanabe does not disclose a battery system comprising both a battery and a controlling unit, wherein the controlling unit is configured to control a charge and a discharge of the battery.
Shindo, however, in the same field of endeavor of all solid state batteries, discloses a battery system (see e.g. “an all-solid-state battery system” in paragraph [0022] of Shindo) comprising both a battery and a controlling unit (see e.g. “an all-solid-state battery and a control device” in paragraph [0022] and part numbers 6 and 100 in FIG. 1 of Shindo), wherein the controlling unit is configured to control a charge and discharge of the battery (see e.g. "the control device controls the lower limit discharge potential of the positive electrode active material layer during normal use of the all-solid-state battery" in paragraph [0022] and "the control device controls the upper limit charging potential of the positive electrode active material layer during normal use of the all-solid-state battery" in paragraph [0026] of Shindo).
Shindo further teaches that controlling the charge and discharge conditions of an all solid state battery can decrease internal resistance, increase battery capacity, suppress undesirable side reactions, and inhibit deterioration of the active material (see e.g. paragraphs [0017]–[0020] of Shindo). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all solid state battery of Suzuki et al. in view Watanabe such that it includes a control device configured to control a charge and a discharge of the battery as taught by Shindo et al. in order to decrease internal resistance, increase battery capacity, suppress undesirable side reactions, and inhibit deterioration of the active material as suggested by Shindo.
Furthermore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that the control device of Shindo could perform the charging/discharging method taught by Suzuki and because Suzuki teaches that such charging deposits an additional lithium metal layer with thickness in the range of about 1 µm to about 200 µm that functions as anode active material it would be obvious that the controlling unit would be configured to control the charge of the battery such that an increase in a thickness of an anode active material layer of the battery due to the charge such hat the increase in thickness is 5 µm or more and 50 µm or less.
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo discloses the battery system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Suzuki further discloses that the electrolyte layer is solid electrolyte layer (see e.g. "a solid electrolyte layer" in paragraph [0027]) and the battery is all solid state battery (see e.g. " all-solid-state secondary battery" in paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo discloses the battery system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Suzuki further discloses that the increase in the thickness, due to the charge, of the anode active material layer is 1 µm to about 200 µm (see e.g. "The metal layer may have a thickness of about 1 μm to about 200 μm" in paragraph [0024]). Suzuki therefore discloses a range that contains the claimed range of 5 µm to 50 µm. Accordingly, the value of B is 0.005 mm to 0.05 mm.
Suzuki does not disclose the elastic modulus of the anode current collector.
Watanabe, however, discloses that the elastic modulus of the anode current collector is 3.7 GPa (see e.g. PET-PVA Youngs Modulus in Table 1 highlighted on page 14 of Watanabe). Accordingly, the value of A is 3700 N/mm2.
The value of AxB resulting from the combined teachings of Suzuki and Watanabe is therefore calculated as follows:
3700 N/mm² x 0.005 mm = 18.5 N/mm; and
3700 N/mm² x 0.05 mm = 185 N/mm.
Accordingly, the combined teachings of Suzuki and Watanabe result in an AxB value in the range of 18.5 N/mm to 185 N/mm, which is entirely within the claimed range of 200 N/mm or less.
Suzuki in view of Watanabe discloses a range that overlaps with the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Watanabe further teaches that using a current collector of this type allows for a solid state battery to be lightweight and have high charge and discharge characteristics and be widely used as a power source for a variety of devices (see e.g. paragraph [25] on page 5 of Watanabe). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode current collector of Suzuki et al. such that it has an elastic modulus of 3.7 GPa as taught by Watanabe in order to have a solid state battery that it lightweight with high charge and discharge characteristics as suggested by Watanabe.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US-20190157723-A1) in view of Watanabe (WO 2012/127561 A1) and further in view of Shindo et al. (US-20170155127-A1) and further in view of Nakashima et al. (WO-2018186442-A1), US-20200014071-A1 is being used as equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below.
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki discloses a battery (see e.g. “an all-solid-state secondary battery 100” in paragraph [0066] and part number 100 in FIG. 1),
the battery comprising:
a power generation element including a cathode (see e.g. “a cathode 10” in paragraph [0066] and part number 10 in FIG. 1), an electrolyte layer (see e.g. “a solid electrolyte layer 30 between the cathode and the anode” in paragraph [0066] and part number 30 in FIG. 1), and an anode (see e.g. “an anode 20” in paragraph [0066] and part number 20 in FIG. 1), in this order (see e.g. FIG. 1), and
an exterior body storing the power generation element (see e.g. “encapsulated in a laminating film in a vacuum state to manufacture an all-solid-state secondary battery” in paragraph [0142]),
wherein the anode includes at least an anode current collector (see e.g. “an anode current collector 121” in paragraph [0081] and part number 121 in FIG. 3), and
an anode active material layer (see e.g. “an anode active material layer 122 on the anode current collector 121” in paragraph [0081] and part number 122 in FIG. 3) that has an increase in thickness due to battery charge. Specifically, Suzuki discloses that when the battery is charged beyond the initial charge capacity of the anode active material layer, lithium is deposited between the anode current collector and the anode active material layer to form an additional lithium metal layer (see e.g. paragraphs [0008] and [0121] and part number 330 in FIG. 8). Suzuki teaches that the lithium metal layer formed by charging may be used as an anode active material (see e.g. paragraph [0041]). Therefore, the formation of the lithium metal layer due to charging corresponds to an increase in the thickness of the anode active material of the battery. Suzuki further discloses that the metal layer may be formed by overcharging the anode active material layer and may have a thickness in the range of about 1 µm to about 200 µm (see e.g. "The metal layer may have a thickness of about 1 μm to about 200 μm" in paragraph [0024]).
Suzuki discloses a range that contains the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a range that contains the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Suzuki does not disclose that the anode current collector includes a current collection portion and an elastic portion, wherein the current collection portion is placed between the electrolyte layer and the elastic portion, and wherein an elastic modulus of the anode current collector is 2.14 x 10³ N/mm² or more and 4.08 x 10³ N/mm² or less.
Watanabe, however, in the same field of endeavor of batteries and battery current collectors, discloses an anode current collector (see e.g. “current collector 11” in paragraphs [0035] and [0047] and part number 11 in FIG. 1 of Watanabe) that includes a current collection portion (see e.g. “conductive layers 11b” in paragraph [0047] and part number 11b in FIG. 1 of Watanabe) and an elastic portion (see e.g. “resin film 11a” in paragraphs [0047]–[0048] and part number 11a in FIG. 1 of Watanabe). Watanabe teaches that the conductive layer 11b is provided on the resin film 11a and that an active material containing layer 12 is formed on and electrically joined to the conductive layer 11b (see e.g. FIGS. 1–2 of Watanabe). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that when Watanabe’s composite current collector is used as the anode current collector of Suzuki, the conductive layer 11b would face Suzuki’s anode active material layer and electrolyte layer and would therefore be positioned between Suzuki’s electrolyte layer and the resin film 11a as claimed.
Watanabe further discloses that the Young’s modulus of the current collector, including the resin film and conductive layer, is 3.7 GPa (see e.g. PET-PVA Youngs Modulus in Table 1 highlighted on page 14 of Watanabe; 3.7 GPa is equivalent to 3700 N/mm2 or 3.7 x 103 N/mm2).
Watanabe discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Watanabe further teaches that the resin film reduces the weight of the current collector and improves the energy density of the battery (see e.g. paragraphs [0002] and [0031] of Watanabe). Watanabe also teaches that controlling the Young’s modulus of the resin film current collector suppresses expansion caused by temperature changes and maintains the charge discharge characteristics of the battery (see e.g. paragraphs [0009]–[0010] of Watanabe). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anode current collector of Suzuki et al. to include the conductive layer, resin film and the elastic modulus taught by Watanabe in order to reduce the weight of the current collector, improve battery energy density and maintain charge/discharge characteristics as suggested by Watanabe.
Suzuki in view of Watanabe does not disclose a controlling unit, wherein the controlling unit is configured to control a charge and a discharge of the battery.
Shindo, however, in the same field of endeavor of all solid state batteries, discloses a controlling unit (see e.g. “ a control device” in paragraph [0022] and part numbers 6 and 100 in FIG. 1 of Shindo), wherein the controlling unit is configured to control a charge and discharge of the battery (see e.g. "the control device controls the lower limit discharge potential of the positive electrode active material layer during normal use of the all-solid-state battery" in paragraph [0022] and "the control device controls the upper limit charging potential of the positive electrode active material layer during normal use of the all-solid-state battery" in paragraph [0026] of Shindo).
Shindo further teaches that controlling the charge and discharge conditions of an all solid state battery can decrease internal resistance, increase battery capacity, suppress undesirable side reactions, and inhibit deterioration of the active material (see e.g. paragraphs [0017]–[0020] of Shindo). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all solid state battery of Suzuki et al. in view Watanabe such that it includes a control device configured to control a charge and a discharge of the battery as taught by Shindo et al. in order to decrease internal resistance, increase battery capacity, suppress undesirable side reactions, and inhibit deterioration of the active material as suggested by Shindo.
Furthermore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that the control device of Shindo could perform the charging/discharging method taught by Suzuki and because Suzuki teaches that such charging deposits an additional lithium metal layer with thickness in the range of about 1 µm to about 200 µm that functions as anode active material it would be obvious that the controlling unit would be configured to control the charge of the battery such that an increase in a thickness of an anode active material layer of the battery due to the charge such hat the increase in thickness is 5 µm or more and 50 µm or less.
Suzuki in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo does not explicitly disclose a car having all solid state battery and a controlling unit.
Nakashima, however, in the same field of endeavor of all solid state batteries, discloses an electric vehicle comprising an all solid state battery (see e.g. FIG. 24 of Nakashima). .
Nakashima further teaches that the all solid state battery is used in the car to supply electric power to a power driving force conversion device that converts the electric power into driving force for the vehicle (see e.g. FIG. 24 of Nakashima). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the all solid state battery of Suzuki et al. in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo in a car as taught by Nakashima et al. in order to supply electrical power to the power driving force conversion device and provide driving force to the wheels of the car as suggested by Nakashima.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US-20190157723-A1) in view of Watanabe (WO 2012/127561 A1) and further in view of Shindo et al. (US-20170155127-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kleyer et al. (US-6017587-A).
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo disclose the battery system of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Suzuki in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo does not disclose that the elastic portion includes a silicone rubber and an electron conductive material, and an electron conductivity of the elastic portion is 1x 10-5 S/cm or more.
Kleyer, however, in the same field of endeavor, high electroconductivity elastic portions for battery use, discloses an elastic portion includes a silicone rubber (see e.g. "electrically conductive silicone compositions" in Column 2 lines 30-31 of Kleyer) and an electron conductive material (see e.g. "Component (D) in the electrically conductive silicone compositions of this invention is at least one conductive metal particulate" in Column 6 lines 15-17 of Kleyer), and an electron conductivity of the elastic portion is 3.29 x 103 S/cm (see e.g. "Volume Resistivity" for Sample D in Table 3 of Kleyer; Sample D has volume resistivity of 3.04 Ω·cm its reciprocal is 3.29 x 103 S/cm).
Kleyer discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Kleyer also teaches that this elastic portion is useful as electrically conductive adhesives (resins) and coating for electrical and electrical devices and that the cured electrically conductive silicone compositions have high electroconductivity and rubbery elasticity (see e.g. Abstract of Kleyer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the elastic portion of Suzuki et al. in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo et al. such that the elastic portion includes a silicone rubber and an electron conductive material, and an electron conductivity of the elastic portion is 1x 10-5 S/cm or more as taught by Kleyer et al. in order to have an elastic portion with high electroconductivity and rubbery elasticity as suggested by Kleyer.
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki in view of Watanabe in view of Shindo and further in view of Kleyer discloses the battery system of claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Suzuki in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo does not disclose that the elastic modulus of the elastic portion is 1x 102 N/ mm2or less.
Kleyer, however, discloses the elastic modulus of the elastic portion is 48.26 N/mm2 (see e.g. "Young's Modulus" for Sample D in Table 3 of Kleyer; Sample D has an elastic modulus of 7000 psi this can be converted into N/mm2 to give an elastic modulus of 48.26 N/mm2).
Kleyer discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Kleyer also teaches that this elastic portion is useful as electrically conductive adhesives (resins) and coating for electrical and electrical devices and that the cured electrically conductive silicone compositions have high electroconductivity and rubbery elasticity (see e.g. Abstract of Kleyer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the elastic portion of Suzuki et al. in view of Watanabe and further in view of Shindo et al. such that an elastic modulus of the elastic portion is 1x 102 N/ mm2or less as taught by Kleyer et al. in order to have an elastic portion with high electroconductivity and rubbery elasticity as suggested by Kleyer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723