DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by McRorie(US10004327).
[claim 1] McRorie teaches a modular medical monitor mount(fig 1a, the mount shown being capable of being used in a medical environment), comprising: a base(21); a medical monitoring device mount(24); and an adjustable stand(30) mechanically engaging the base and the medical monitoring device mount, the stand including: a shaft(32,34,36) on which the medical monitoring device mount is positioned having a first end(lower end of 32) most proximal to the base and a second end(upper end of 36) most distal from the base; and a height control mechanism, further including: a pneumatic cylinder(80) engagingly connected to the shaft at the first end(at 76) and operable to offset a medical monitoring device weight and bias the position of the medical monitoring device mount to maintain a medical monitoring device at an adjusted height; and a braking mechanism(142,144) for fixing the position of the medical monitoring device mount at the adjusted height.
[claim 2] wherein the shaft extends upwardly in a vertical direction from the base(fig 2).
[claim 3] the pneumatic cylinder is interposed between the first end (lower end of 32) and the base such that the first end is connected to a piston(85) of the pneumatic cylinder.
[claim 5] wherein the shaft is a one-part shaft(36) and the pneumatic cylinder is interposed between the one-part shaft and the base(fig 4).
[claim 7] wherein the shaft is a two-part shaft including: a first part(30) and a second part(40); and the first part and the second part are jointed for articulation of the shaft.
[claim 8] wherein the braking mechanism locks the relative positions of a first part(34) and a second part(36) of the shaft by default(C5 L6-11).
[claim 9] wherein the braking mechanism includes a lever(148) that swivels or pivots between an actuated position and a released position.
[claim 10] wherein the braking mechanism includes a handle(148) that rotates between an actuated position and a released position.
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai(US9717328).
[claim 18] Tsai teaches a modular medical monitor mount(fig 1, disclosed mount can be used in a medical environment, or with a monitor displaying medical information), comprising: a base(1); a medical monitoring device mount(39); and means for adjusting and fixing the height of the medical monitoring device mount(2,3,4,5,8) mechanically engaging the base and the medical monitoring device mount, the adjusting and fixing including biasing the position of the medical monitoring device mount to maintain a medical monitoring device mounted to the medical monitoring device mount at an adjusted height and a shaft(3) having a first end(lower end) and a second end(upper end), wherein the shaft is engagingly connected to the means for adjusting and fixing the height of the medical monitoring device mount at the first end(connected to 2) and connected to the medical monitoring device mount at the second end(fig 2).
[claim 19] wherein the means for adjusting and fixing comprises an adjustable stand(2,3).
[claim 20] wherein the adjustable stand further comprises: a height control mechanism, further including: a pneumatic cylinder(4) operable to offset a medical monitoring device weight and bias the position of the medical monitoring device mount to maintain the medical monitoring device at an adjusted height; and a braking mechanism(5,8,43) for fixing the position of the medical monitoring device mount at the adjusted height.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11,13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McRorie as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dewees(US8210109).
[claim 11] McRorie teaches a modular medical monitor mount as detailed above, however McRorie does not teach that the braking mechanism includes a clamp that when actuated clamps one of the first part and the second part of the shaft to limit movement and hold the device monitor at the adjusted height.
Dewees teaches a similar adjustable device mount, which uses a braking mechanism including a clamp(13) to clamp onto a first part(7) to limit movement of the first part relative a second part(10) to hold the device at an adjusted height. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the clamp assembly of Dewees with the modular medical monitor mount of McRorie, as this would provide a means for limiting movement of the device once it has been set at an adjusted position, and would merely be using known elements for their known functions.
[claim 13] McRorie teaches a modular medical monitor mount as detailed above, however McRorie may not teach wherein the pneumatic cylinder includes a pressure adjustment to accommodate different medical monitoring device weights. Dewees teaches a similar adjustable device mount with a pneumatic cylinder(4) and further teaches a pressure adjustment(C2 L29-33), which would provide different counterbalance forces to accommodate different supported devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the pressure adjustment of Dewees with the mount of McRorie, as this would provide a means for adjusting the counterbalance force of the pneumatic spring, as taught by Dewees.
[claim 14] when arranged as above, Dewees further teaches that the pressure adjustment comprises a valve assembly to bleed or increase gas content in the pneumatic cylinder to adjust the pressure within the cylinder(C2 L29-33).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McRorie as applied to claim 1 above.
[claim 12] McRorie teaches a medical monitoring device mount(24) which as seen in figure 2 has two sets of four mounting apertures located in a square configuration. McRorie however does not specifically state that the device mount comports with the VESA interface standard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to make the device mount such that it complied with known standard configurations, such as VESA interface standards, as this would allow the device mount to be readily used with any monitor designed with VESA interface standards.
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai(US9717328) in view of Rossini et al.(US11284711).
[claim 15] Tsai teaches a method for use of a modular monitor mount(fig 1), comprising: mounting(C5 L7-9) a monitoring device(seen in fig 13) to a device mount(7,39) of the modular monitor mount, wherein the medical monitoring device mount comprises a shaft(3) engagingly affixed to a height control mechanism(4) at a first end(upper end, fig 4) and connected to the medical monitoring device mount at a second end(lower end, fig 10): altering the height of the mounted monitoring device(C5 L13-23), the position of the mounted monitoring device being biased by offsetting the weight thereof; and fixing the height of the mounted monitoring device(C5 L13-23). Tsai however may not specifically teach that the monitoring device is a medical monitoring device. The use of monitors and keyboards in medical environments is well known, with Rossini teaching mobile work stations using monitors and keyboards are often used in medical facilities(C1 L24-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the method and mount of Tsai with a medical monitoring device, as this would merely be using the known method of using a monitor mount taught by Tsai, in a medical environment, where monitors are known to be used as taught by Rossini.
[claim 16] further comprising adjusting the pressure in a pneumatic cylinder(4) to accommodate different monitoring device weights(C4 L64-C5 L5).
[claim 17] further comprising articulating the position of the shaft(3) to which the device mount is affixed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim 1, applicant argues that the shaft of McRorie(US10004327) does not have a first end engagingly connected to the pneumatic cylinder as recited in claim 1. The examiner disagrees, as seen in figure 4 of McRorie, the shaft(32,34,36) is engagingly connected to pneumatic cylinder(80) at a first end of the shaft(lower end of section 32, with the end(82) of the pneumatic cylinder(80) engaging cap element(72) of the shaft section(32).
Applicant makes the same argument with regards to Tsai(US9717328), however as detailed above, figure 4 of Tsai clearly shows the pneumatic cylinder(4) engagingly connected to the first end(upper end) of the shaft(3).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632