DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-2, 11, and 12, the HOMO values are indefinite as it is unclear what method is used to the calculate the HOMO of the compounds. It is well known in the art that the method used to calculate the HOMO can have a significant effect on the HOMO value. Depending on the method used could affect what compounds meet the applicant’s claimed HOMO limitations. Given that the method used can have an effect of the HOMO value it is unclear what compounds meet the applicant’s claimed HOMO limitations.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 18, chemical formula I is indefinite. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot fully envisaged the entire scope of the applicant’s claimed invention. The applicant claims that the R groups can be substituted or unsubstituted groups such as aryl or heteroaryl, but does not define what the substituted groups on the R groups can be and one of ordinary skill in the art cannot envisage all the groups that can cover groups that could be the substituents.
Claims 3-9, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claims 1-3, 10-12, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry 2015, 27, 240-244) (hereafter “Liu”).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8, and 9, Liu teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a blue emitting layer, a red emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (page 241 Fig. 1) (claims 1, 8, and 9). Liu teaches that the blue host material is MADN (claims 3 and 4). Fig. 1 of Liu shows that the device meets that applicant’s claimed HOMO imitations (claims 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 10-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry 2015, 27, 240-244) (hereafter “Liu”) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 9, and 18 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (WO 2012/036482) (hereafter “Shin”).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 10-14, and 16-20, Liu does not teach where the red host material meets applicant’s formula 3.
Shin teaches a red emitting electroluminescent device, comprising
,
, or
as a few examples as the host material for a red phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [61]-[97] and [217]-[236]) (claims 5, 6, 10-14, 16-20). Shin teaches that when these host materials are used for red phosphorescent dopants the device has improved electroluminescent properties (paragraph [240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify of the device of Liu so the red host material was
,
, or
as taught by Shin. The motivation would have been to improve the electroluminescent properties of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2015/0034923) teaches an electroluminescent device comprising multiple charge generation layers and multiple emission parts.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759