DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuura (US 20210183565 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Matsuura teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body (10, Fig. 1 ; para 0020-0035) having a first surface (10f) and a second surface (10e) opposing each other in a first direction (T), and a third surface (10d) and a fourth surface (10c) opposing each other and connecting the first surface and second surface to each other;
a support member (11c, Fig. 2) disposed within the body;
first (41, Fig. 2) and second coils (44) disposed on the support member;
first (bottom part of 21 in Fig. 1) and third (bottom part of 22 in Fig. 1) external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first coil;
second (bottom part of 24 in Fig. 1) and fourth (bottom part of 23 in Fig. 1) external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second coil;
a first via electrode (71, Fig. 2) disposed within the body and connecting the first coil and the first external electrode to each other; and
a second via electrode (74, Fig. 2) disposed within the body and connecting the second coil and the second external electrode to each other,
wherein the third external electrode extends onto the third surface of the body, and the fourth external electrode extends onto the fourth surface of the body.
Regarding Claim 10:
Matsuura teaches that a coil component comprising:
a body (10, Fig. ; para 0020-0035) having a first surface (10f) and a second surface (10e) opposing each other,
a support member (11c, Fig. 2) disposed within the body;
first (41, Fig. 2) and second coils (44) disposed on the support member;
first (bottom part of 21 in Fig. 1) and third (bottom part of 22 in Fig. 1) external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the first coil;
second (bottom part of 24 in Fig. 1) and fourth (bottom part of 23 in Fig. 1) external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body and connected to the second coil;
first and third external electrodes disposed on the first surface and connected to the first coil;
second and fourth external electrodes disposed on the first surface and connected to the second coil;
first (71, Fig. 2) and third (72) via electrodes disposed within the body, the first via electrode connecting the first coil and the first external electrode to each other, and the second via
electrode connecting the first coil and the third external electrode to each other; and
second (74, Fig. 2) and fourth (73) via electrodes disposed within the body, the second via electrode connecting the second coil and the second external electrode to each other, and the fourth via electrode connecting the second coil and the fourth external electrode.
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 10, Matsuura teaches that each of the first to fourth via electrodes has one surface in contact with the first coil or the second coil, the other surface in contact with one of the first to fourth external electrodes, and a side surface (10c, or 10d) connecting the one surface and the other surface to each other, and at least one of the first to fourth via electrodes has the side surface at least partially coplanar with the surface of the body (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13:
As applied to claim 12, Matsuura teaches that the body further has a third surface (10d) and a fourth surface (10c) opposing each other and connecting the first surface and the second surface to each other, at least one of the second or third via electrodes has the side surface at least partially coplanar with the third surface, and at least one of the first or fourth via electrodes has the side surface at least partially coplanar with the fourth surface (construed from Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15:
As applied to claim 10, Matsuura teaches that an insulating layer (11f, Fig. 2) disposed on the body and exposing the first to fourth external electrodes, wherein the insulating layer is in contact with at least a portion of at least one of the first to fourth via electrodes (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura in view of Jung (US 20210134515 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Matsuura teaches at least one of the first or second via electrodes except at least one of the first or second via electrodes is tapered to have a wider cross-sectional area as being closer to the first surface of the body.
However, Jung teaches that at least one of the first (2312, Fig. 3A; para 0060) or {second via} electrodes is tapered (construed from Fig. 3A) to have a wider cross-sectional area as being closer to the first surface (101, Fig. 1) of the body.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at least one of the first or second via electrodes is tapered to have a wider cross-sectional area as being closer to first surface of the body to provide a coil component capable of effectively controlling coupling inductance between a plurality of coil portions in a coupled inductor (see para 0007).
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 1, Matsuura teaches the body includes support member except the body includes first and second cores respectively passing through the support member.
However, Jung teaches that the body includes first (310, Fig. 1; para 0036 ) and second cores (320) respectively passing through the support member (100).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the body includes first and second cores respectively passing through the support member to provide a coil component capable of effectively controlling coupling inductance between a plurality of coil portions in a coupled inductor (see para 0007).
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 10, Matsuura teaches the third via electrode to be connected to the first coil, and the fourth via electrode to be connected to the second coil except the third via electrode passes through the support member to be connected to the first coil, and
the fourth via electrode passes through the support member to be connected to the second coil.
However, Jung teaches that the third via electrode (not shown; see para 0056 and Fig. 1) passes through the support member (100) to be connected to the first coil (221), and the fourth via electrode (not shown; see para 0056 and Fig. 1) passes through the support member to be connected to the second coil (211).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the third via electrode passes through the support member to be connected to the first coil, and
the fourth via electrode passes through the support member to be connected to the second coil. to provide a coil component capable of effectively controlling coupling inductance between a plurality of coil portions in a coupled inductor (see para 0007).
Regarding Claim 14:
As applied to claim 1, Matsuura teaches at least one of the first to fourth via electrodes except at least one of the first to fourth via electrodes is tapered structure having a wider cross-sectional area as being closer to the first surface.
However, Jung teaches that at least one of the first (2312, Fig. 3A; para 0060) or {second via electrodes} is tapered (construed from Fig. 3A) to have a wider cross-sectional area as being closer to the first surface (101, Fig. 1) of the body.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at least one of the first to fourth via electrodes is tapered structure having a wider cross-sectional area as being closer to the first surface to provide a coil component capable of effectively controlling coupling inductance between a plurality of coil portions in a coupled inductor (see para 0007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites, wherein each of the first and second via electrodes has one surface in contact with the first and second coil, respectively, and the other surface in contact with the first and second external electrode, respectively, each of the one surface and the other surface is formed in a circular shape, and a ratio of a diameter of the other surface of the first via electrode to a diameter of the one surface of the first
via electrode is more than 1.05 or a ratio of a diameter of the other surface of the second via electrode to a diameter of the one surface of the second via electrode is more than 1.05.
Claim 5 recites, wherein the first coil includes first and third winding portions, the first winding portion disposed on one surface of the support member and would around the first core, and the third winding portion disposed on an opposite surface of the support member and wound around the first core, the first via connecting the first and third winding portions to each other, a first lead portion in contact with the first via
electrode, a third lead portion in contact with the third external electrode, and first and third extension portions respectively connecting the first and third winding portions and the first and third lead portions to each other, and the second coil includes second and fourth winding portions, the second winding portion disposed on one surface of the support member and would around the second core, and the fourth winding portion disposed on an opposite surface of the support member and wound around the second core, a second via connecting the second and fourth winding portions to each other, a second lead portion in contact with the second via electrode, a fourth lead portion in contact with the fourth external electrode, and second and fourth extension portions respectively connecting the second and fourth winding portions and the second and fourth lead portions to each other.
Claim 16 recites, wherein the body includes first and second cores respectively passing through the support member, the first coil includes first and third winding portions respectively disposed on both surfaces of the support member and wound around the first core, a first via connecting the first and third winding portions to each other, first and third lead portions respectively in contact with the first and third via electrodes, and first and third extension portions respectively connecting the first and third winding portions and the first and third lead portions to each other, and the second coil includes second and fourth winding portions respectively disposed on both surfaces of the support member and wound around the second core, a second via connecting the second and fourth winding portions to each other, second and fourth lead portions respectively in contact with the second and fourth via electrodes, and second and fourth extension portions respectively connecting the second and fourth winding portions and the second and fourth lead portions to each other.
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
,
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837