DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed July 29, 2026. As directed by the amendment: Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 21 and 22 were cancelled. Claims 1-20, 23, and 24 are presently pending in this application.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Neil et al. (US 2017/0265881), herein referred to as O’Neil.
Regarding claim 1, O’Neil discloses a surgical device (100) (figure 1), comprising a cannula (110+116), having an inner diameter (figures 1-7), an outer diameter (figures 1-7), a first opening (114) (¶31) disposed on a first end (figure 9), and a second opening (122) disposed on a second end (figure 4), an auger (108), fully disposed within the cannula (110+116) (figure 4), including a flighting (138) arranged around an auger shaft (108) (figure 4), wherein the auger shaft (108) is aligned concentrically to the cannula (110+116) (figure 4) and a material holding area (144) in communication with the first opening (114) (¶41 and figure 9).
Regarding claim 2, O’Neil discloses wherein the first opening (114) is arranged in a first plane (considered as an arbitrary first plane) perpendicular to a rotational axis of the auger (108) and the second opening (122) is arranged in a second plane (considered as an arbitrary second plane) parallel to the first plane (figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, O’Neil discloses wherein the auger shaft (108) is connected to a rotational mechanism (102) (¶30).
Regarding claim 5, O’Neil discloses further comprising a cutting tip (130) mounted to the auger shaft (108) and in communication with the second opening (122) (figure 6), wherein the auger (108) is disposed between the second opening (122) and the first opening (114).
Regarding claim 6, O’Neil discloses wherein the cutting tip (130) is selectively attachable to the auger shaft (108) (figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, O’Neil discloses further comprising a handle (112) in which a portion of the first end of the cannula (110) is secured (figure 9), wherein the handle (112) includes the material holding area (144).
Regarding claim 10, O’Neil discloses wherein the material holding area (144) includes an access panel (140 or 142) that is selectively openable (¶46) to allow removal or addition of material to the material holding area from outside of the surgical device (considered functional).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neil (US 2017/0265881) in view of Cronin et al. (US 2011/0282381), herein referred to as Cronin.
Regarding claim 11, O’Neil’s surgical device discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks further comprising a material magazine that is selectively removable from the material holding area.
However, Cronin teaches a material magazine (922) that is selectively removable (¶258) from a material holding area (920) (figure 54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify O’Neil’s surgical device with a material magazine that is selectively removable from the material holding area as taught by Cronin, since such a modification would provide a saline solution or a medical fluid component to the surgical site (¶260).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neil (US 2017/0265881).
Regarding claim 12, O’Neil’s surgical device discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein the outer diameter is less than or equal to 9 millimeters.
However, the prior art discovering optimum or workable ranges involves routine experimentation in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify O’Neil’s surgical device with wherein the outer diameter is less than or equal to 9 millimeters, since the prior art discovering optimum or workable ranges involves routine experimentation in the art.
Regarding claim 13, O’Neil’s surgical device discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein a capacity of the material holding area is greater than a volume of the cannula.
However, it is known that discovering an optimum value/size involves routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify O’Neil’s surgical device with wherein a capacity of the material holding area is greater than a volume of the cannula, since it is known that discovering an optimum value/size involves routine skill in the art and such a modification would be advantageous in order to collect/store the desired amount of material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 9, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20, 23, and 24 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: After further search and consideration it is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipated nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, the prior art of record does not teach, the following limitation(s) in combination with the remaining claimed limitation such as but not limited to "A method, comprising: conveying the bone tissue from the bone target to a holding area via an auger disposed in a cannula, wherein the auger is co-rotated with the cutting tip, removing the cutting tip from the cannula; feeding material in the holding area to the auger in a direction substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the auger".
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the reference Pfleuger has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775