DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 202177101 U), hereinafter Li, in view of Schindler (EP 91116528 A), hereinafter Schindler.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 7-10, Li discloses a radiant tube apparatus, comprising:
an outer radiant tube (“the radiant tube 2” paragraph [0018]);
a burner located at least partially within the outer radiant tube (“flame nozzle 9” paragraph [0018]) and adapted to receive air and gas and operable to supply combustion gas (“gas tube 1, air inlet 8” paragraph [0018]);
a plurality of inner flame tubes located within, and spaced apart from, the outer radiant tube, the plurality of inner flame tubes disposed in flow-series and including at least a first inner flame tube and a second inner flame tube, the first inner flame tube adapted to receive the combustion gas from the burner and supply the combustion gas to at least the second inner flame tube (“the radiant tube 2 is further provided with a flame tube 15. flame tube 15 there is a radial gap between the radiation tube 2” paragraph [0018]. Figure 1 shows two).
Li does not disclose:
at least one flow body installed at an end of the second inner flame tube,
wherein the at least one flow body protrudes into, and extends from, the second inner flame tube;
wherein the at least one flow body is tubular;
wherein the at least one flow body comprises a polygonal tube-like body;
wherein the at least one flow body comprises an arrangement of a plurality of polygonal tube-like bodies;
wherein each polygonal tube-like body among the plurality of polygonal tube-like bodies are located next to each other, behind each other, or inside each other;
a plurality of flow bodies for the displacement of flow including the at least one flow body.
However, Schindler teaches:
at least one flow body installed at an end of the flame tube (Figure 2, elements 16 and 18),
wherein the at least one flow body protrudes into, and extends from, the flame tube (“The tube 14 with the largest diameter is placed over the burner nozzle” all citations from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference);
wherein the at least one flow body is tubular;
wherein the at least one flow body comprises a polygonal tube-like body (“cylindrical tubes 14, 16 and 18, preferably with a circular cross section, although tubes with a polygonal cross section can also be used”);
wherein the at least one flow body comprises an arrangement of a plurality of polygonal tube-like bodies (16 and 18);
wherein each polygonal tube-like body among the plurality of polygonal tube-like bodies are located next to each other, behind each other, or inside each other (Figure 2);
a plurality of flow bodies for the displacement of flow including the at least one flow body (16 and 18).
In view of Schindler’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include flow bodies as is taught in Schindler, in the radiant tube disclosed by Li because Schindler states “The apparatus comprises a number of pipes of decreasing diameter and surrounding vent devices for concentrating the flame, with feeding of the recirculation air together with the combustion products. The pipes are arranged telescopically around the flame outlet or fuel nozzle, the pipe diameters decreasing in the direction of the flame outlet. Rotating vent devices in the pipes can be arranged in various ways to provide the recirculation air with a spin and acceleration. The flame is thus sharply concentrated and the air is rapidly recycled in the combustion chamber. The invention increases the burner output, reduces the combustion temperature and reduces the NOx emissions by up to 50% and the carbons by up to 100%.” Therefore, including the flow bodies for recirculating air will reduce emissions in Li.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Li, as modified by Schindler, discloses the radiant tube apparatus of claim 1 wherein:
The second inner flame tube has a diameter (“the diameter of the flame tube” paragraph [0008]).
Li, as modified by Schindler, does not explicitly disclose the at least one flow body protrudes into the second inner flame tube with a length of approximately 0.3x to 0.7x the diameter of the second inner flame tube.
However, the court has held a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). However, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Shindler discloses wherein the at least one flow body protrudes into the flame tube, but does not specifically recite the claimed protrusion length. Achieving the claimed protrusion length is a results-effective variable because Schindler states “The position of the pipes should be adjusted until the pollutant content in the flue gases has been reduced to a minimum… adjust the position of the pipes 14, 16 and 18 accordingly by pushing or rotating the pipes.” Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the protrusion length, because the selection of protrusion length to achieve reduced emissions constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hisamatsu (JP 59164810 A)
Buschulte (US 4629414 A)
Cassagne (US 4850334 A)
Vandergrift (US 20160091199 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762