1. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2.1 Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Putman et al. (US 20220179398 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 17, Putman discloses a computing system communicatively coupled to a plurality of client devices (Fig. 1, [0026], The industrial control systems is communicatively coupled to a display/operator interface, e.g., a human-machine interface (HMI), and to devices of the industrial automation system), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer- executable instructions that, when executed, are configured to cause at least one processor ([0035], The memory 46 and the storage 48 may represent non-transitory computer-readable media (e.g., any suitable form of memory or storage) that may store the processor-executable code used by the processor 44 to perform various techniques), wherein the computing system is configured to:
receive an indication of an event-based trigger for deploying visualization content (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0038], the visualization manager system receives data indicative of such factors as identifications of the thin clients 102, their locations, their users or the user roles, event triggers, and so forth);
identify a deployment configuration file associated with the event-based trigger ([0020], [0030], [0038], [0053], the container images may comprise configuration files for executing respective applications (e.g., SAP, Excel, etc.) as containers via container hosts of the container orchestration system. The deployment configuration file may include a list of different pods and a number of replicas for each pod that should be operating within the container orchestration system 24 at any given time);
identify a first client device of the plurality of client devices communicatively couple to the at least one processor for deploying a container specified in the deployment configuration file ([0028], [0030], [0038], an integrated development environment (IDE) tool may be employed by a user to create a deployment configuration file that specifies a desired state for the collection of nodes of the container orchestration system).
schedule deployment of a pod associated with the container to the first client device ([0028], [0030], [0055], schedules the deployment of pods to the connected nodes, and ensures that the desired state specified in the deployment configuration file is met. Schedule deployment of containers into clusters and identify a host (e.g., node) that may be best suited for executing the container),
wherein the first client device (thin clients 102) is configured to:
retrieve a container image associated with the pod ([0030], retrieves the deployment configuration files of container image from the container registry schedules the deployment of pods to the connected nodes);
execute the container image ([0005], [0054], executing the container images), wherein the container image comprises an application configured to generate visualization content associated with the event-based trigger (Fig. 4, [0017], [0038], [0053]-[0054], the container images may comprise configuration files for executing respective applications (e.g., SAP, Excel, etc.), the container image host is configured to generate a visualization of a controlled machine); and
send the visualization content to a second client device of the plurality of client devices for display via an electronic display (Fig. 3-Fig. 5, [0040], [0051],[0058], the visualization manager system 104 compile visualizations from data and deliver them to the thin clients 102, and the thin client device displays visualizations corresponding to the operations specified by the transmitted containers).
Regarding claim 2, Putman discloses the event-based trigger is defined via a user input, wherein the user input comprises the deployment configuration file, the container, or both ([0007], [0020], [0030], receiving, via client input, one or more container images from a visualization manager that represents a primary node within the container orchestration system; employed by a user to create a deployment configuration file that specifies a desired state for the collection of nodes of the container orchestration system).
Regarding claim 3, Putman discloses the computing system is configured to identify the first client device based on a machine state associated with the first client device ((Abstract, [0005], [0028], [0030], [0047], [0051], identify a host (e.g., node) that is best suited for executing the container. After the host is identified, the container orchestration system manages the lifecycle of the container based on predetermined specifications).
Regarding claim 4, Putman discloses the machine state corresponds to one or more computing resources associated with the first client device ([0007], [0022], [0028], [0047], container orchestration systems that operate in the IT environment build application services operate across multiple computing resources, such that certain applications (e.g., packaged as software containers) may be automatically deployed, scaled, and managed in the same machine or across multiple machines in disparate computing environments).
Regarding claim 7, Putman discloses the visualization content comprise code associated with the event-based trigger ([0027], [0028], [0035]-[0036] The display is operated to depict visualizations associated with software or executable code being processed by the processor).
Regarding claim 9, Putman discloses the event-based trigger is defined via a graphical user interface configured to receive user input, wherein the user input corresponds to the deployment configuration file, the container, or both (Abstract, [0005], [0020]-[0021], [0027], [0051], the industrial control systems may facilitate representing components of the industrial automation system 10 through programming objects that may be instantiated and executed to provide simulated functionality similar or identical to the actual components, as well as visualization of the components, or both, on the display/operator interface).
Regarding claim 10, Putman discloses the at least one processor is configured to identify the first client device by querying a plurality of container nodes of a container orchestration system to identify a container node associated with a machine state defined in the deployment configuration file (Abstract, [0005], [0028], [0030], [0047], [0051], the container orchestration system use configuration files to determine, the container orchestration system containers into clusters and identify a host (e.g., node) that is best suited for executing the container. After the host is identified, the container orchestration system manages the lifecycle of the container based on predetermined specifications).
Regarding claim 11, Putman discloses the machine state corresponds to one or more computational resources being consumed by a respective client device corresponding to a respective container node ([0007], [0022], [0028], [0047], container orchestration systems that operate in the IT environment build application services operate across multiple computing resources, such that certain applications (e.g., packaged as software containers) may be automatically deployed, scaled, and managed in the same machine or across multiple machines in disparate computing environments).
Regarding claim 16, Putman discloses visualization content is presented in a tile format (Fig. 1, [0017], [0020], [0026], [0058], The screens may show diagrams of the controlled machine or process, components, values, process flows, and so forth the thin client device displays visualizations corresponding to the operations specified by the transmitted containers).
Regarding claim 18, Putman discloses the second client device is configured to stream the visualization content via first client device (Fig. 1, [0056]-[0058], a thin client device displays visualizations in response to executing containers received from a visualization manager of a container orchestration system; a suitable container host may be running on a thin client device).
Regarding claim 19, Putman discloses identifying the first client device comprises determining one or more available computing resources associated with the first client device ([0051]-[0056], identify a container host that may fit container orchestration constraints or specifications provided in the one or more configuration files. The container orchestration constraints may be related to resource availability, memory availability, central processing unit (CPU) availability of components of the industrial automation system and corresponding container hosts of the container orchestration system).
Regarding claim 20, Putman discloses identifying the first client device comprises selecting the first client device in response to the one or more available computing resources meeting one or more computing resource thresholds defined in the deployment configuration file ([0056], the visualization manager identifies a particular container host; and check whether each of the container hosts have available resources to meet resource requests for running a particular container. Based on the container hosts that have a suitable number of available resources to meet resources requests of the particular container and determining whether a suitable node exists for the constraints provided in one or more configuration files, and the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.1 Claim(s) 5-6 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Putman et al. (US 20220179398 A1) in view of Miller et al. (US 20220066415 A1).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 13-14, Putman discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 8, but fails to disclose the limitation of claims 5 and 12-14. However, Miller discloses the limitation of claims 5 and 12-14 as follow:
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses the visualization content comprises one or more datasets retrieved via one or more industrial devices of an operational technology (OT) network ([0036]-[0037], Industrial devices, industrial controllers, HMIs, associated controlled industrial assets, and other plant-floor systems such as data historians, vision systems, and other such systems operate on the operational technology (OT) level of the industrial environment).
Putman and Miller are analogous art. They relate to industrial automation control.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify analyzing industrial control project, taught by Miller, incorporated with operations of an industrial automation system, taught by Putman, for leveraging container orchestration systems to generate visualizations related to operations of the industrial automation system.
Regarding claim 6, Putman discloses the first client device is configured to: send a package to the one or more industrial devices, wherein the package is configured to cause the one or more industrial devices to retrieve the one or more datasets (Abstract, [0025], the industrial automation system 10 may be associated with devices used by other equipment. For instance, scanners, gauges, valves, flow meters, and the like may be disposed on or within the industrial automation system, receive data from the associated devices and use the data to perform their respective operations more efficiently); and send the one or more datasets to the first client device (Abstract, [0026], the container host transmit configuration details for accessing a visualization associated with the container image to a thin client).
Regarding claim 12, Miller discloses the visualization content comprises one or more inputs configured to perform one or more analysis functions on one or more datasets associated with the event-based trigger (Abstract, [0025], an industrial automation system based on an analysis of the second dataset, and transmits the action to the industrial automation component via the data delivery pipeline. Generate a variety of OT data regarding operation, status, sensor data, operational modes, alarm conditions, or the like, that may be desirable to output for analysis with IT data from an IT network, for storage in an IT network, for analysis with expected operation set points (e.g., thresholds).
Regarding claim 13, Miller discloses the one or more datasets are acquired via one or more devices of an operational technology (OT) network ([0036]-[0037], Industrial devices 120, industrial controllers 118, HMIs 114, associated controlled industrial assets, and other plant-floor systems such as data historians 110, vision systems, and other such systems operate on the operational technology (OT) level of the industrial environment).
Regarding claim 14, Miller discloses the one or more analysis functions comprises a trend analysis, a statistical analysis, or both ([0021]-[0022], Fig. 15a, 15b, [0044], [0045], configured to analyze an industrial control project submitted by a user and generate project telemetry, or statistical information, for the submitted project based on the analysis).
Putman and Miller are analogous art. They relate to industrial automation control.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify analyzing industrial control project, taught by Miller, incorporated with operations of an industrial automation system, taught by Putman, in order to improve one or more of the predicted operating characteristics, wherein the user interface component is configured to render the recommendation on the client device based on the first analysis.
3.2 Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Putman et al. (US 20220179398 A1) in view of Baier et al. (US 2009/0085934 A1)
Regarding claims 15, Putman discloses the limitations of claim 8, but fails to disclose the limitation of claim 15. However, Baier discloses the limitation of claim 15 as follow:
Regarding claim 15, Baier discloses the evet- based trigger comprises a pre-defined event trigger identified based on one or more machine learning algorithms ([0055], [0073], [0075], Data store 110 can include historical data, for example relating to previous visualizations utilized given certain context/state, that trained (explicitly or implicitly) machine learning systems (MLS) stored in the data store 110 to facilitate converging on desired or proper visualizations given a set of conditions).
Putman and Baire are analogous art. They relate to industrial automation control.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify controlling industrial processes, taught by Baire, incorporated with operations of an industrial automation system, taught by Putman, in order to provide to facilitate more efficient interactions with industrial automation systems and systems provided to mitigate navigation issues with human machine interfaces (HMI) and/or pop-up problems associated with such interfaces.
Citation Pertinent prior art
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McNab (US 20180176335 A1) discloses a systems and methods of creating a configuration file for a cloud-enabled industrial control system.
Ozoki et al. (US 20170168474 A1) discloses the communication setting device 1 is loaded with a configuration file 3, which defines communication parameters to establish the communication between the robot control device 2 and the programmable logic controller 6, and sets the communication parameters to the programmable logic controller 6).
Caine et al. (US2018/0299863A1) discloses visualization configuration is stored and provided by a visualization manager to a thin client HMI. Based upon the configuration, the thin client HMI accesses individual visualizations from automation components, such as automation controllers, motor controllers, camera, and so forth.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KIDEST WORKU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119