DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a non-final, first office action in response to the Applicant's Request for Continued Prosecution filed 24 March 2026.
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 14 have been cancelled.
Claims 21 and 22 have been added.
Claims 1, 2, 4-13, and 15-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 with regards to the prior art disclosing determining whether content item was previously displayed within the boundary of the icon when selecting content to displayhave been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 12, 17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolith (US 10416840 B2) (hereinafter Rolith), in view of Crosswhite (US 7603629 B1) (hereinafter Crosswhite), in view of Flynt et al. (US 2007/0082707 A1) (hereinafter Flynt), and further in view of Murray (US 2023/0100461 A1) (hereinafter Murray).
With respect to claims 1 and 12, Rolith teaches:
Displaying a plurality of icons on a home screen of a user interface of a media device, wherein each icon is associated with an executable application for accessing content of a plurality of content items (See at least column 2 line19 through column 3 line 13, column 6 line 34 through column 7 line 10, and figure 1 which describe displaying a plurality of icons on a home screen, wherein the icons launch installed applications that pertain to services and programs).
Selecting, without user intervention, an icon of at least one executable application, from the plurality of icons displayed on the home screen (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, column 3 line 62 through column 4 line 67, and column 5 lines 12-36 which describe the user device automatically selecting an icon for animation, wherein the animation is conducted within the space of the icon and pertains to a promotional indication for the service or notification, and wherein the animation is shown without launching the corresponding application).
Selecting a content item of the plurality of content items for displaying within a boundary of the selected icon associated with the executable application, wherein the selection of the content item is based on a selection criterion (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, column 3 line 18-61, and column 7 lines 24-42 which describe icons and the messages being selected based on user interests and profiles).
Automatically displaying the selected content item within the boundary of the selected icon without launching the executable application associated with the selected icon (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, column 3 line 62 through column 4 line 67, and column 5 lines 12-36 which describe the user device automatically selecting an icon for animation, wherein the animation is conducted within the space of the icon and pertains to a promotional indication for the service or notification, and wherein the animation is shown without launching the corresponding application).
Rolith discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. Rolith does not explicitly disclose the following, however Crosswhite teaches:
Displaying a plurality of icons on a home screen of a user interface of a media device, wherein each icon is associated with an executable application for accessing content from a streaming service provider of a plurality of content items (See at least column 5 line 1 through column 6 line 52, and column 8 lines 1-32 which describe displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite. By using dynamic icons for media streaming services, and displaying dynamic content within the icons, a system will predictably be able to show relevant information for users, such as advertisements, in an efficient manner.
The combination of Rolith and Crosswhite discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. Rolith and Crosswhite do not explicitly disclose the following, however Flynt teaches:
Selecting a content item of the plurality of content items for displaying within a boundary of the selected icon associated with the executable application, wherein the selection of the content item is based, at least in part, on (1) a selection criterion, and (2) using subscription data to determine whether the content item is accessible on the media device (See at least paragraphs 7, 30, 31, 54-56, and 58 which describe a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt. By displaying content on tiles, wherein the content is related to criteria and a user’s subscription service with the application/service associated with the tile, a management system will predictably be able to present desirable information and content to users, thus increasing the likelihood of a user interacting with the content.
The combination of Rolith, Crosswhite, and Flynt discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. Rolith, Crosswhite, and Flynt do not explicitly disclose the following, however Murray teaches:
Selecting a content item of the plurality of content items for displaying within a boundary of the selected icon associated with the executable application, wherein the selection of the content item is based, at least in part, on (3) a determination of whether the content item was previously displayed within the boundary of the selected icon (See at least paragraphs 44, 46, 47, 50, 51, 54, 55, and 60-64 which describe displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray. By checking to see if content was previously displayed or interacted, and updating content displayed on tiles based on the determination, a system will predictably be able to ensure that fresh content is on display to a user, thus, increasing the likelihood of further interactions.
With respect to claim 6, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Rolith teaches:
Wherein the selection criterion for selecting the content item is user consumption history (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, column 3 line 18-61, and column 7 lines 24-42 which describe icons and the messages being selected based on user interests and profiles).
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. In addition, Rolith teaches:
Identifying information relating to media device type and user parameters; Transmitting the information relating to the media device type and user parameters to the streaming service provider; and Requesting an updated file that is personalized to the user based on the media device and user parameters transmitted (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, column 3 line 18-61, column 5 lines 13-26, column 7 lines 12-42, and column 10 lines 36-51 which describe icons and the messages being selected based on user interests, profiles, and device information, wherein the information is provided to advertisers and services, and wherein the information is used to generate new animated content to be displayed over an icon, such as an advertisement).
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. In addition, Rolith teaches:
Wherein the selected content item is a video montage, wherein the video montage is a compilation of a plurality of segments from a plurality of media assets that are provided by the streaming service provider (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, and column 3 line 52 through column 4 line 67 which describe the selected information displayed over an icon includes a video montage of video and picture segments, and wherein the content is related to the application service).
With respect to claims 21 and 22, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. In addition, Murray teaches:
Requesting updated content from the streaming service provider if the determination indicates that the content item was previously displayed within the boundary of the selected icon (See at least paragraphs 44, 46, 47, 50, 51, 54, 55, and 60-64 which describe displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray. By checking to see if content was previously displayed or interacted, and updating content displayed on tiles based on the determination, a system will predictably be able to ensure that fresh content is on display to a user, thus, increasing the likelihood of further interactions.
Claims 2, 8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 as stated above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2014/0245227 A1) (hereinafter Xu).
With respect to claims 2 and 13, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. In addition, Crosswhite teaches:
Receiving a URL linked to the content item from the streaming service provider corresponding with the selected icon of the executable application (See at least column 5 line 1 through column 6 line 52, and column 8 lines 1-32 which describe displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, wherein the applications include video streaming services, and wherein the dynamic content can pertain to received URLs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray. By using dynamic icons for media streaming services, and displaying dynamic content within the icons, a system will predictably be able to show relevant information for users, such as advertisements, in an efficient manner.
Crosswhite discloses all of the limitations of claims 2 and 13 as stated above. Crosswhite does not explicitly disclose the following, however Xu teaches:
Receiving a manifest file that links to the content item from the streaming service provider corresponding with the selected icon of the executable application; Storing the received manifest file that includes data linking to the content item in memory of the media device (See at least paragraphs 28 and 31-37 which describe displaying dynamic icons on a desktop that correspond to applications, wherein the content displayed over dynamic icons pertain to received icon packs that store icons, descriptions, and rules for displaying content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop that correspond to applications, wherein the content displayed over dynamic icons pertain to received icon packs that store icons, descriptions, and rules for displaying content of Xu. By storing icon packs in memory on a device, wherein the icon packs include content to be displayed over dynamic icons, a system would predictably be able to display content on demand, without the need to stream content from an internet service.
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 as stated above. In addition, Rolith teaches:
Receiving the updated content that is personalized for the user; determining whether the updated content complies with an editorial policy of the media device; and in response to determining that the updated manifest file complies with the editorial policy of the media device, displaying content from the updated content within the boundary of the selected icon without launching the executable application associated with the selected icon (See at least column 2 line 19 through column 3 line 13, column 3 line 18-61, column 5 lines 13-26, column 7 lines 12-42, and column 10 lines 36-51 which describe icons and the messages being selected based on user interests, profiles, and device information, wherein the information is provided to advertisers and services, and wherein the information is used to generate new animated content to be displayed over an icon, such as an advertisement).
Rolith discloses all of the limitations of claims 8 and 18 as stated above. Rolith does not explicitly disclose the following, however Xu teaches:
Receiving the updated manifest file; displaying content from the updated manifest file over dynamic icons (See at least paragraphs 28 and 31-37 which describe displaying dynamic icons on a desktop that correspond to applications, wherein the content displayed over dynamic icons pertain to received icon packs that store icons, descriptions, and rules for displaying content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop that correspond to applications, wherein the content displayed over dynamic icons pertain to received icon packs that store icons, descriptions, and rules for displaying content of Xu. By storing icon packs in memory on a device, wherein the icon packs include content to be displayed over dynamic icons, a system would predictably be able to display content on demand, without the need to stream content from an internet service.
Claims 4, 5, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray as applied to claims 1 and 12 as stated above, and further in view of Keel et al. (US 9449109 B1) (hereinafter Keel).
With respect to claims 4 and 15, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray do not explicitly disclose the following, however Keel teaches:
Wherein the selection of the icon of the at least one executable application is based on bidding (See at least column 19 line 63 through column 20 line 24 which describe advertisers placing bids on ad placements, wherein the ad placement is inside of tiles on a user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray, with the system and method of advertisers placing bids on ad placements, wherein the ad placement is inside of tiles on a user interface of Keel. By allowing advertisers to place bids for dynamic content to be played over tiles on a user interface, a system will predictably be able to generate revenue via advertising, while also showing relevant information to users.
With respect to claims 5 and 16, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray/Keel discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. In addition, Keel teaches:
Receiving a bid from each streaming service provider associated with a first and a second executable applications, from the plurality of executable applications; determining that the bid from the streaming service provider associated with the first executable application is higher in price than the bid from the streaming service provider associated with the second executable application; and in response to determining that the bid from the streaming service provider associated with the first executable application is higher in price than the bid from the streaming service provider associated with the second executable application, selecting, without user intervention, an icon for the first executable application for automatically displaying the determined content item within the icon of the first executable application (See at least column 19 line 63 through column 20 line 24 which describe advertisers placing bids on ad placements, wherein the ad placement is inside of tiles on a user interface, and wherein the ad placement is awarded to the advertiser with the highest bid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray, with the system and method of advertisers placing bids on ad placements, wherein the ad placement is inside of tiles on a user interface of Keel. By allowing advertisers to place bids for dynamic content to be played over tiles on a user interface, a system will predictably be able to generate revenue via advertising, while also showing relevant information to users.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray as applied to claims 1 and 12 as stated above, and further in view of Major (WO 2021/1379758 A1) (hereinafter Major).
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as stated above. Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray do not explicitly disclose the following, however Major teaches:
Determining a number of times the selected content item has been displayed on the media device; Determining whether the number of times the selected content item has been displayed on the media device exceeds a predetermined threshold; and In response to determining that the number of times the selected content item has been displayed on the media device exceeds the predetermined threshold, requesting an updated manifest file from the streaming service provider (See at least paragraphs 73 and 74 which describe presenting ads to content viewers, wherein if the number of times the ad is served to a user exceeds a threshold, then switching the ad content source link to a new advertiser and displaying the new ad to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray, with the system and method of presenting ads to content viewers, wherein if the number of times the ad is served to a user exceeds a threshold, then switching the ad content source link to a new advertiser and displaying the new ad to the user of Major. By tracking the number of ad servings to a user, a system will predictably be able to provide fresh advertisements to the user, thus predictably increasing the likelihood that an ad conversion can take place.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray as applied to claims 1 and 10 as stated above, and further in view of Oztaskent et al. (US 2014/0067825 A1) (hereinafter Oztaskent).
With respect to claim 11, Rolith/Crosswhite/Flynt/Murray discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as stated above. Rolith, Crosswhite, Flynt, and Murray do not explicitly disclose the following, however Oztaskent teaches:
Deep-linking each segment, from the plurality of segments, of the compilation with its related media asset; receiving a user selection of the icon in which the video montage is played; determining that a first segment, from the plurality of segments, associated with a first media asset, from the plurality of media assets, is being played from the montage when the user selection is received; and in response to the receiving of the user selection during the displaying of the first segment, automatically displaying the first media asset on the media device (See at least paragraph 52 which describes deep linking a video montage displayed to a user via an viewing tile, wherein when the user clicks the montage, the system will launch a video player to the corresponding timestamp of the interesting segment selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a user interface, wherein the icons are selected based on user preferences and can display video or various images, wherein the displayed content is played within the space of the icon without launching the application of Rolith, with the system and method of displaying dynamic icons on a desktop interface of a user device, wherein the icons can be animated and can launch corresponding applications, wherein the animation can pertain to advertisements corresponding to the application, and wherein the applications include video streaming services of Crosswhite, with the system and method of a graphical user interface that uses a series of tiles that represent applications and sources of content, wherein the tiles can be selected to launch applications, and wherein the tiles can also display content in the boundary of the tile that is selected based on criteria and a user’s subscription status with the source associated with the tile, and that the subscription grants access to the content of Flynt, with the system and method of displaying a series of tiles on a user interface, wherein the tiles are selectable by the user to view content associated with the tile, wherein the tiles further display content in their boundary, wherein the system checks to see if the content has been viewed or interacted with previously, and if so, refreshing the content displayed of Murray, with the system and method of deep linking a video montage displayed to a user via an viewing tile, wherein when the user clicks the montage, the system will launch a video player to the corresponding timestamp of the interesting segment selected of Oztaskent. By deep linking segments of a video montage played within a tile to a specific time stamp of a video, and allowing the user to access the specific time stamp when selected, a system would predictably be able to convey multiple pieces of information to the user via advertising in dynamic icons, and a user will predictably be able to quickly access interesting content.
Conclusion
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
14 May 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628