DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 recites a lipid-containing composition comprising an inedible rendered fat having a free fatty acid content greater than 5%, whereas claim 5 recites a free fatty acid content greater than 2%. The range greater than 2% is broader than the range greater than 5% and, considered individually, does not further restrict the latter range.
The expression “a rendered fat” in line 1 of claim 14, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if a rendered fat is the same as “an inedible rendered fat” in claim 1.
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and recites vacuum drying of the lipid-containing phase before adsorbent treatment. However, claim 17 already requires vacuum drying of the lipid-containing phase before adsorptive bleaching. Therefore, claim 18 merely repeats a limitation already present in claim 17 and fails to further limit the subject matter claimed.
Claim 19 depends from claim 17 and recites removal of spent adsorbent. However, claim 17 already requires removal of spent adsorbent as a solid waste stream. Therefore, claim 19 merely repeats a limitation already present in claim 17 and fails to further limit the subject matter claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil et al. (US 6,015,915) in view of Canakci and Van Gerpen, “Biodiesel Production from Oils and Fats with High Free Fatty Acids,” Transactions of the ASAE, 44(6), 1429–1436 (2001).
Claims 1 and 13: Jamil teaches a process for treating animal or vegetable oils and fats using an aqueous complexing agent, including EDTA and sodium salts thereof, with intense stirring at 500–15,000 rpm, followed by separation of the aqueous and fatty phases by gravity or centrifugation (Jamil, col. 1, lines 7–12; col. 2, lines 7–15 and 40–65). Jamil further teaches drying and bleaching-earth treatment of the degummed fatty substance (col. 3).
Jamil does not specifically teach treating an inedible rendered fat having a free fatty acid content greater than 5%.
Canakci teaches known high-FFA rendered fats and waste greases, including yellow grease containing approximately 12% FFA and brown grease containing approximately 33% FFA (Canakci, pp. 1429–1430).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the known high-FFA rendered-fat feedstocks taught by Canakci in the aqueous-chelate degumming process of Jamil, to remove phospholipid-associated contaminants from such fatty materials.
Regarding claim 13, Jamil further demonstrates that its aqueous-chelate degumming process can produce treated oil containing 2.2 ppm phosphorus (Example 3).
Although Jamil does not specifically demonstrate phosphorus below 3 ppm in high-FFA rendered fat, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select effective degumming and adsorbent-treatment conditions to achieve the claimed phosphorus concentration, because the modified process of Jamil employs substantially the same operations as the claimed process and Jamil demonstrates that phosphorus below 3 ppm is achievable.
The final FFA content above 5%, would have been reasonably expected when treating a sufficiently high-FFA feedstock such as brown grease without incorporating Canakci's FFA esterification operation.
Claims 2 and 15: Canakci teaches yellow grease and brown grease, corresponding to the claimed alternatives (pp. 1429–1430).
Claim 3: Canakci teaches feedstocks having FFA contents greater than 5%, consistent with the claimed threshold.
Claim 5: Jamil teaches adsorbent treatment of degummed oil and demonstrates phosphorus below 3 ppm (col. 3; Example 3). Canakci supplies the high-FFA feedstock. The phosphorus and FFA limitations would have been obvious for the reasons discussed for claim 13.
Claims 14 and 16: Canakci teaches rendered fats having FFA contents exceeding 2%, as claimed.
Claims 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Chanrai et al. (US 6,780,321 B2).
Claim 4: Jamil teaches treatment of degummed oil with bleaching earth (col. 3). Chanrai further teaches the use of bleaching earth in oil refining and separation of spent bleaching earth from treated oil (Chanrai, col. 1; col. 4, lines 10–36, as cited in the previous OA).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ conventional adsorbent treatment following aqueous-chelate degumming to further remove residual contaminants.
Claim 6: Jamil teaches drying the lipid phase before bleaching-earth treatment but does not specifically teach drying under vacuum.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to operate the drying step of Jamil at an effective pressure, including under vacuum, to facilitate removal of moisture at reduced temperatures before adsorbent treatment.
Claim 7: Chanrai teaches removal of spent bleaching earth from treated oil (col. 4, lines 10–36, as previously cited). It would have been obvious to remove spent adsorbent to recover the treated lipid product.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Dayton et al. (US 2008/0182322 A1) and Chanrai.
Jamil in view of Canakci teaches the process of claim 13 as discussed above. Jamil further teaches centrifugal phase separation, drying the degummed fatty substance, and subsequent bleaching-earth treatment (Jamil, col. 2–3; Examples 1–3).
Jamil does not specifically teach performing pH adjustment in a dedicated pH-adjustment reactor after degumming and before downstream centrifugal phase separation, or vacuum drying before adsorptive bleaching.
Dayton teaches pH adjustment after degumming to reduce precipitation of calcium and magnesium salts and fouling of downstream equipment, including centrifuges (Dayton, ¶[0041]). Dayton further teaches pH adjustment using acid or base (¶[0063]).
Chanrai teaches adsorptive bleaching and subsequent separation of spent bleaching earth from treated oil (Chanrai, col. 1 and col. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the process of Jamil to perform pH adjustment in a dedicated reactor after degumming and before downstream centrifugal separation, as suggested by Dayton, to provide controlled pH adjustment and reduce precipitation and fouling of downstream separation equipment.
It further would have been obvious to operate Jamil's drying step under vacuum to facilitate moisture removal before bleaching and to remove spent adsorbent as a solid waste stream, as taught by Chanrai. The dedicated reactor represents an obvious implementation of the pH-adjustment operation; Dayton is not relied upon as specifically disclosing the claimed dedicated reactor.
Claims 18–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Dayton and Chanrai.
Jamil, Canakci, Dayton, and Chanrai teach or render obvious the process of claim 17, as discussed above.
Claim 18: Jamil teaches drying before adsorbent treatment. It would have been obvious to perform the drying under vacuum for the reasons discussed for claim 17.
Claim 19: Chanrai teaches removal of spent adsorbent from treated oil. It would have been obvious to remove the spent adsorbent as a solid waste stream to recover the treated lipid product.
Claims 8–9 and 20–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Dayton.
Jamil in view of Canakci teaches the base process of claims 1 and 13.
Jamil does not specifically teach separately adjusting the pH of the lipid-containing phase by adding acid or base to obtain the claimed pH range.
Dayton teaches pH adjustment in oil degumming processes, including use of acid or base and pH values within the range of 3–7 (Dayton, ¶[0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the pH in the modified process of Jamil using acid or base, within the known operative degumming pH range, to control phospholipid treatment and separation, as taught by Dayton.
Claims 10–11 and 22–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Tao et al. (WO 2014/116646 A1).
Jamil in view of Canakci teaches the base process as discussed above.
Jamil further teaches breaking an oil-water emulsion using saturated sodium chloride solution (Jamil, Examples 1–3).
Tao teaches using salts to destabilize oil-water emulsions and facilitate phase separation (Tao, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ sodium chloride to break emulsions in the modified process of Jamil, thereby improving separation of the aqueous gum-containing phase from the lipid-containing phase. Sodium chloride satisfies the sodium chloride or sodium sulfate alternative of claims 11 and 23.
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Shahidi et al. (US 3,904,685).
Jamil teaches EDTA and sodium salts thereof as aqueous chelating agents (Jamil, col. 2, lines 7–15).
Jamil does not specifically teach the alternative use of a polymer containing carboxylic acid groups as an additional chelating agent.
Shahidi teaches polyacrylic acid, a polymer containing carboxylic acid groups, as a metal-sequestering material (Shahidi, col. 1, lines 8–23, as cited in the previous OA).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a carboxylic-acid-containing polymer, such as polyacrylic acid taught by Shahidi, in the aqueous chelate treatment of Jamil to provide additional metal-binding capacity.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci, and further in view of Gharby, Refining Vegetable Oils: Chemical and Physical Refining, The Scientific World Journal, Volume 2022.
Jamil in view of Canakci teaches the process of claim 13, as discussed above.
Jamil does not specifically teach treating the separated lipid-containing phase with a second aqueous chelate before adsorbent treatment.
Gharby teaches sequential oil-refining operations and describes the use of aqueous degumming treatments for removal of phospholipids, including preliminary water degumming followed by further treatment to remove nonhydratable phospholipids (Gharby, §1.1, discussion of chemical refining and degumming).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to repeat the aqueous-chelate treatment of Jamil after the first aqueous phase separation and before adsorbent treatment, when further removal of residual phospholipids and associated metal contaminants was desired. Such repetition would provide additional contact between residual contaminants and the chelating agent, using the same removal mechanism taught by Jamil, with a reasonable expectation of further reducing contaminant levels.
Claims 26–30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jamil in view of Canakci and Gharby, and further in view of Choukri et al., “Improved Oil Treatment Conditions for Soft Degumming,” Journal of the American Oil Chemists' Society (2001).
Jamil, Canakci, and Gharby teach or render obvious the process of claim 25, as discussed above.
Jamil does not specifically teach conducting the sequential treatment stages at different pH values, including pH near the pKa of phosphatidic acid and approximately neutral pH.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select effective pH conditions for successive degumming treatments to improve phospholipid removal, because pH affects the ionization and extractability of phospholipids.
Claim 26: Different pH conditions in successive stages would have been an obvious process variable to investigate for improving phospholipid removal.
Claims 27–28: The proposed combination relies on selecting approximately neutral pH and pH near the pKa of phosphatidic acid in the respective treatment stages.
Claims 29–30: The proposed combination relies on selecting pH ranges of 3–4 and 5–7 for the respective stages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in response to the Office Action mailed April 20, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Regarding Jamil's applicability to inedible rendered fats: Applicant argues that Jamil's working examples involve vegetable oils and that Jamil indicates certain animal fats can be dry-degummed. However, Jamil teaches treatment of animal or vegetable oils and fats (col. 1, lines 7–12). The disclosure of dry degumming as an available treatment for certain fats does not constitute a teaching away from aqueous-chelate degumming where removal of phospholipid-associated contaminants is desired.
Regarding Canakci: Applicant argues that Canakci concerns biodiesel production through esterification of free fatty acids and therefore is incompatible with the claimed process. However, Canakci is relied upon for its teaching of known high-FFA rendered-fat and waste-grease feedstocks, not for incorporation of its esterification process into Jamil. Accordingly, Applicant's arguments concerning esterification and biodiesel production do not address the proposed modification.
Regarding processing difficulties and reasonable expectation of success: Applicant argues that high-FFA rendered fats exhibit increased viscosity, emulsification tendencies, soap formation, and solids content, requiring substantial modifications to Jamil. These differences are acknowledged. Nevertheless, Jamil teaches intense mixing, elevated-temperature treatment, and phase separation, including emulsion breaking with sodium chloride. These teachings provide a basis for expecting that aqueous-chelate treatment could be applied to known rendered-fat feedstocks. The claims do not require the particular residence times, recycle configurations, or operating temperatures discussed in Applicant's arguments.
Regarding phosphorus below 3 ppm: Jamil demonstrates that aqueous-chelate degumming can produce oil having 2.2 ppm phosphorus (Example 3). Claim 13 does not restrict the aqueous chelate to EDTA. In view of the similarities between the claimed process and the modified process of Jamil, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select effective degumming and adsorbent-treatment conditions to produce phosphorus below 3 ppm, as claimed.
Regarding phospholipase-free processing: Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claims 1 and 13. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation phospholipase-free is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claims 17–19: Dayton teaches pH adjustment following degumming to reduce precipitation and fouling of downstream separation equipment. It would have been obvious to implement such adjustment in a dedicated reactor before centrifugal separation. Jamil and Chanrai further teach conventional drying, bleaching, and spent-adsorbent removal operations. Vacuum drying represents an obvious selection of effective drying pressure for moisture removal.
Regarding claims 25–30: The cited references establish that sequential oil-refining operations and pH-dependent phospholipid removal were known. The Examiner maintains that additional aqueous-chelate treatment and selection of effective pH conditions would have been within the ordinary skill in the art, subject to the specific claim-by-claim pH findings set forth in the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771