DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“ said CTs being configured to measure the output current in each zone of the modular power supply system” in claim 8,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the casing of an outdoor lighting modular power supply”, which should have been “the casing of the outdoor lighting modular power supply” instead.
Claim 1 recites “facilitate the switching of the output voltage of said modular power supply”, which should have been “facilitate switching of an output voltage of said outdoor lighting modular power supply” instead.
Claim 11 recites “facilitate the switching of the output voltage of said modular power supply”, which should have been “facilitate switching of an output voltage of said modular power supply” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 recite “a switch mechanism”. It’s not clear if this is the same or different than the switch mechanism mentioned in claim 1. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “the switch mechanism”.
Claims 5-6 depend on claim 4.
Claim 5 recites “The dynamic voltage switching system of Claim 4, further including a power supply unit configured to provide power to said dynamic voltage switching system, including said wireless communication technology module”. It’s not clear if the wireless communication technology module is included in the power supply unit or included in the dynamic voltage switching system. Based on Fig. 10, it appears that wireless communication technology module is not part of the power supply unit. Further clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites “the output current in each zone of the modular power supply system”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. It’s unclear if a modular power supply system is the same as an outdoor lighting modular power supply. It’s also unclear where each zone is located. Clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites “from the mobile application”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Examiner will assume claim 9 depends on claim 4 instead of claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,792,950 in view of Lim (US 9,363,870). Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,792,950 teaches everything in claim 11 except for a dynamic voltage switching system. However, Lim teaches a dynamic voltage switching system of an outdoor lighting modular power supply (Figs. 3-6; col. 1, lns. 13-24: “…outdoor lights…”), comprising: a) at least one relay (inside 111-113, see PC1~PC3, Figs. 4-6) operationally connected to a microcontroller unit (MCU) (102, Fig. 3) of the casing assembly of the outdoor lighting modular power supply, said at least one relay being configured to facilitate the switching of the output voltage of said modular power supply (col. 4, lns. 50-58); and b) means for communicating voltage level commands (claims 1-3: “…operating voltage level and supplying the DC power outputted via the AC/DC converter (132) to the RF switch controller (100)…”) from a switch mechanism (same as 100, Fig. 3) to said at least one relay to regulate the output voltage of the dynamic voltage switching system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dynamic voltage switching system in U.S. Patent No. 11,792,950, as taught by Lim, in order to control and utilize the modular power supply system to power load such as outdoor lighting by using wireless communication technology module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (US 9,363,870).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a dynamic voltage switching system for a casing assembly of an outdoor lighting modular power supply (Figs. 3-6; col. 1, lns. 13-24: “…outdoor lights…”; a casing assembly not explicitly mentioned, but must have it in order to prevent from external damage), comprising:
a) at least one relay (inside 111-113, see PC1~PC3, Figs. 4-6) operationally connected to a microcontroller unit (MCU) (102, Fig. 3) of the casing assembly of the outdoor lighting modular power supply, said at least one relay being configured to facilitate the switching of the output voltage of said modular power supply (col. 4, lns. 50-58); and
b) means for communicating voltage level commands (claims 1-3: “…operating voltage level and supplying the DC power outputted via the AC/DC converter (132) to the RF switch controller (100)…”) from a switch mechanism (same as 100, Fig. 3) to said at least one relay to regulate the output voltage of the dynamic voltage switching system.
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 1, and Lim further discloses wherein said means for communicating voltage level commands from the switch mechanism to said at least one relay comprises a wireless communication technology module (103, Fig. 3) and said switch mechanism comprises a digital switch on a mobile device (can be digitally switched from 101 instead of a mechanical switch, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 1, and Lim further discloses wherein said means for communicating voltage level commands from the switch mechanism to said at least one relay comprises a wireless communication technology module (103, Fig. 3) and said switch mechanism comprises a digital toggle switch on a mobile device (can be digitally switched from 101 instead of a mechanical switch, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 1, and Lim further discloses wherein said switch mechanism comprises a mechanical switch positioned on said casing assembly (col. 2, lns. 31-36, col. 2, lns. 60-67: “… mechanical switches…”).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 1, and Lim further discloses at least two output current transformers (CTs) (121, Fig. 2 and 121, T1-T8 in Fig. 3) operationally connected to said MCU (as shown in Fig. 3), said CTs being configured to measure the output current in each zone of the modular power supply system (as shown in Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 1, and Lim further discloses a power supply unit (150, Fig. 3) configured to provide power to said dynamic voltage switching system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, and further in view of Mirsky (US 11,558,947).
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 1, and Lim further teaches wherein said means for communicating voltage level commands from the switch mechanism to said at least one relay comprises a wireless communication technology module (103, Fig. 3) and said switch mechanism comprises a digital toggle switch on a mobile device (can be digitally switched from 101 instead of a mechanical switch, Fig. 3), wherein said wireless communication technology module is configured to establish a wireless connection (col. 4, lns. 38-49: “…wireless switch signal from the remote controller 101…”) with a mobile device (101, Fig. 3).
Lim does not explicitly teach enabling communication with a mobile application, said mobile application being of a type installable on the mobile device. However, Mirsky teaches enabling communication with a mobile application, said mobile application being of a type installable on a mobile device (31, Fig. 2; col. 11, lns. 13-54: “…App engine…”; col. 14, ln. 36-col. 15, ln. 35: “…mobile device… zigbee…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enabling communication with a mobile application, said mobile application being of a type installable on a mobile device in Lim, as taught by Mirsky, in order to allow the user to easily control the outdoor lighting from a modern mobile device, such as mobile devices that run on android or iOS.
Regarding claim 5 as best understood, Lim in view of Mirsky teaches the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 4, and Lim further teaches a power supply unit (150, Fig. 3) configured to provide power to said dynamic voltage switching system, including said wireless communication technology module (103, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6 as best understood, Lim in view of Mirsky teaches the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 4. Lim does not teach wherein said wireless communication technology module utilizes wireless communication protocols, including Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or Zigbee, to establish a connection with said mobile application. However, Mirsky further teaches said wireless communication technology module utilizes wireless communication protocols, including Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or Zigbee, to establish a connection with said mobile application (36, Fig. 2; col. 10, lns. 38-53: “…Zigbee, Wi-Fi…”; col. 14, ln. 36-col. 15, ln. 35: “…mobile device… zigbee…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said wireless communication technology module utilizes wireless communication protocols, including Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or Zigbee, to establish a connection with said mobile application in Lim in view of Mirsky, as taught by Mirsky, in order to utilize well-known protocol that is cost-effective, reliable and interoperable with different devices.
Regarding claim 9 as best understood, Lim in view of Mirsky teaches the dynamic voltage switching system of claim 4. Lim does not explicitly teach a memory storage unit operatively connected a printed circuit board supporting said MCU, said memory storage unit configured to retain voltage level data received from the mobile application. However, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice of the conventionality of a memory storage unit operatively connected a printed circuit board supporting said MCU, said memory storage unit configured to retain voltage level data received from the mobile application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EON with that of Lim in view of Mirsky, since doing so would, predictably, memorize the user’s last command from the mobile device in case of power or other communication connection issues.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841