DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lyu et al (US 2024/0176989, hereafter Lyu).
As per claim 1, Lyu discloses a method comprising:
obtaining map data of a geographic region and a plurality of historical trajectories of a plurality of agents located in the geographic region (¶ 44 and 49), the map data comprising a plurality of map elements, wherein the plurality of agents and the plurality of map elements have a corresponding plurality of physical locations in the geographic region (¶ 88 -100);
building, from the plurality of historical trajectories and the map data, a heterogeneous graph for the plurality of agents and the plurality of map elements (¶ 45),
wherein the heterogeneous graph defines the corresponding plurality of physical locations of the plurality of agents and the plurality of map elements relative to each other of the plurality of agents and the plurality of map elements (¶ 46);
modelling, by a first graph neural network, a plurality of agent actions of an agent of the plurality of agents using the heterogeneous graph to generate an agent goal location (¶ 48); and
operating an autonomous system based on the agent goal location (¶ 48).
As per claim 5, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein building the heterogeneous graph comprises:
calculating, from the plurality of historical trajectories, a first plurality of relative positions of the agent with respect a subset of the plurality of agents, the subset excluding the agent, calculating, from a historical trajectory of the agent, a second plurality of relative positions of the agent with respect to a current position of the agent, wherein the historical trajectory is in the plurality of historical trajectories, and generating an agent position encoding for the agent that encodes the first plurality of relative positions and the second plurality of relative positions (¶ 50 - 58).
As per claim 6, Lyu discloses the method of claim 5, wherein building the heterogeneous graph further comprises:
generating an agent layer of the heterogeneous graph using a plurality of agent position encodings generated for the plurality of agents, wherein the plurality of agent position encodings comprises the agent position encoding, wherein the agent layer comprises a plurality of agent nodes for the plurality of agents, the plurality of agent nodes connected by a plurality of edges based on distances between the plurality of agents, the plurality of edges having a corresponding agent position encoding of the plurality of agent position encodings for the corresponding pair of agent nodes of the plurality of agent nodes (¶ 94 - 116 ).
As per claim 7, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein building the heterogeneous graph further comprises:
obtaining the plurality of physical locations of the plurality of map elements, calculating, from the plurality of physical locations of the plurality of map elements, a plurality of relative positions of the plurality of map elements with respect to other of the plurality of map elements, generating a plurality of map element encodings of the plurality of relative positions, and generating a map layer of the heterogeneous graph using the plurality of map element encodings (¶ 94 - 116).
As per claim 8, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein building the heterogeneous graph further comprises:
generating an agent layer of the heterogeneous graph using a plurality of agent position encodings generated for the plurality of agents, wherein the agent layer comprises a plurality of agent nodes for the plurality of agents, the plurality of agent nodes connected by a first plurality of edges based on distances between the plurality of agent, the first plurality of edges comprising a corresponding agent position encoding of the plurality of agent position encodings for the corresponding agents, and wherein the plurality of agent position encodings encode relative positions of the plurality of agents with respect to each other, generating a map layer of the heterogeneous graph using a plurality of map element encodings generated for the plurality of map elements, wherein the map layer comprises a plurality of map element nodes for the plurality of map elements, the plurality of map element nodes connected by a second plurality of edges based on distances between the plurality of map elements, the second plurality of edges comprising a corresponding map element encoding of the plurality of map element encodings for the corresponding map elements, and wherein the plurality of map element encodings encode relative positions of the plurality of map elements with respect to each other, and connecting the agent layer to the map layer using a third plurality of edges based on relative positions of the plurality of agents to the plurality of map elements to generate the heterogenous graph (¶ 40, 42, 58, 87, 97 - 100).
As per claim 9, Lyu discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
executing a scene encoder on the heterogeneous graph to generate a plurality of agent embeddings of the plurality of agents and a plurality of graph embeddings of the plurality of map elements (¶ 88 and 97 - 116).
As per claim 10, Lyu discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the scene encoder comprise a second graph neural network (¶ 88).
As per claim 11, Lyu discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the second graph neural network comprises a first linear layer specific to the first plurality of edges, a second linear layer specific to the second plurality of edges, and a third linear layer specific to the third plurality of edges (¶ 40 and 88).
As per claim 12, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein modeling the plurality of agent actions comprises:
generating, by executing the first graph neural network for the agent, an agent location probability for each of a plurality of locations, the agent location probability indicating a probability that the agent is moving to be located at a location defined by a map element and an offset from the map element, and wherein the map element is in the plurality of map elements and the location is in the plurality of locations, and sampling the plurality of locations using the agent location probability to obtain a plurality of agent goal locations, wherein the agent goal location is in the plurality of agent goal locations (¶ 88).
As per claim 13, Lyu discloses the method of claim 12, wherein sampling comprises:
repetitively performing: sampling, according to the agent location probability of the plurality of locations, the plurality of locations, removing, from the plurality of locations, a first location having a distance to a current location of the agent less than a first threshold, and reducing the agent location probability of a second location having a distance to the current location of the agent less than a second threshold, wherein the first location and the second location are in the plurality of locations (¶ 114).
As per claim 14, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generate a trajectory of the agent to the agent goal location, wherein operating the autonomous system is further based on the trajectory (¶ 97).
As per claim 15, Lyu discloses the method of claim 13, wherein a multilayer perceptron model is used to perform trajectory completion of the trajectory of the agent (¶ 97 - 116).
As per claim 16, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, in the heterogenous graph, a relative position of a first agent to a second agent is defined by:
a distance between the first agent to the second agent, a first difference between angles of heading of the first agent compared to the second agent, and a second difference between an angle of heading of the second agent relative to a straight line between the first agent and the second agent (¶ 112 - 116).
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 8 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 8 are applicable for claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu in view of Manivasagam et al (US 2021/0152997, hereafter Manivasagam).
As per claim 2, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Lyu does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein operating the autonomous system comprises: outputting by an autonomous system controller of a virtual driver of the autonomous system, a control signal to an actuator of the autonomous system
In the field of endeavor, Manivasagam discloses the method of claim 1, wherein operating the autonomous system comprises:
outputting by an autonomous system controller of a virtual driver of the autonomous system, a control signal to an actuator of the autonomous system (¶ 86).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the invention Lyu in view of Manivasagam. The advantage is improving the technology to help improve the safety of passengers.
As per claim 3, Lyu discloses the method of claim 2.
However, Lyu does not explicitly teach wherein the control signal is intercepted by a simulator that simulates the autonomous system in a simulated environment to train the virtual driver.
In the same field of endeavor, Manivasagam discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the control signal is intercepted by a simulator that simulates the autonomous system in a simulated environment to train the virtual driver (¶ 57 - 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the invention Lyu in view of Manivasagam. The advantage is improving the technology to help improve the safety of passengers.
As per claim 4, Lyu discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Lyu does not explicitly teach wherein operating the autonomous system comprises: generating, by a simulator, a simulated environment simulating the agent being a virtual agent moving in the geographic region according to the agent goal location, outputting, by a virtual driver, a control signal based at least in part on simulated sensor input generated by the moving of the virtual agent in the geographic region, and simulating, by the simulator, the autonomous system moving in the simulated environment responsive to the control signal, wherein the plurality of agents and the autonomous system are virtually located in the geographic region as simulated by the simulator.
In the same field of endeavor, Manivasagam discloses wherein operating the autonomous system comprises: generating, by a simulator, a simulated environment simulating the agent being a virtual agent moving in the geographic region according to the agent goal location, outputting, by a virtual driver, a control signal based at least in part on simulated sensor input generated by the moving of the virtual agent in the geographic region, and simulating, by the simulator, the autonomous system moving in the simulated environment responsive to the control signal, wherein the plurality of agents and the autonomous system are virtually located in the geographic region as simulated by the simulator (¶ 55 - 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the invention Lyu in view of Manivasagam. The advantage is improving the technology to help improve the safety of passengers.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487