Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While Applicant’s arguments are understood, these arguments are related to the first flag limitations and not the second flag limitations of claim 1. Note that the first limitation discloses “determining when a first flag indicates Level-of-Detail (LoD) block packing or a second flag indicates LoD packing together” emphasis added, which requires the determination of either the first flag or the second flag. Also, the claim teaches the limitations “when the first flag indicates LoD block packing, then…” and “when the second flag indicates LoD packing together, then…” It is clear that claim 1 recites two conditional limitations that are mutually exclusive, such that if one is performed, then the other does not need to be performed. Although both conditional limitations are examined, only one of them is required. See In Rebstock, the PTAB echoed the Schulhauser guidance, see Ex Parte Schulhauser, No. 2013-007847, 2016 WL 6277792 (P.T.A.B. Apr. 28, 2016), that when there are two mutually exclusive steps, “the broadest reasonable interpretation of [the claim] requires performance of only one of the two mutually exclusive steps. Therefore, if the reference teaches the second flag limitations (see the rejection below), then the reference meets the teachings in claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an encoder configured for…” in claim 17 and “a decoder configured for…” in claims 17-19 and 22-24.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specification (on page 17) describes the encoder and decoder as software embodied in a structure of a processor. Thus, the claimed encoder and decoder are interpreted to be embodied on a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-20, and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZAKHARCHENKO et al. (WO 2024/039703 A1) hereinafter “ZAKHARCHENKO” in view of Van der Auwera et al. (US 2024/0348825) hereinafter “Van der Auwera”.
As per claim 1, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses a method programmed in a non-transitory memory of a device comprising:
…when the first flag indicates LoD block packing, then packing displacement information of a single LoD into one or more blocks (see FIG. 16B; paragraphs 0077, 0078, 0080, and 0083, LoD-based packing for displacement wavelet coefficients in 2D displacement samples…packing the samples belonging to each of the plurality of levels of detail into one of the plurality of blocks) and packing filler bits until an end of a current block of the one or more blocks (see LoD_0_Pad, LoD_1_Pad, and LoD_2_Pad in FIG. 16B; paragraph 0083)…, wherein displacement information corresponding to the LoD is associated with vertices having indices between: a first point count associated with a preceding LoD, and a second point count associated with the LoD (paragraph 0070, the syntax element “dmsps_mcsh_LoD_vcrtcx_count[i]” refers to a vertex count to indicate a difference between the number of vertexes in a level of details such as LoD(i) and the number of vertexes in another level of details such as LoD(i-l)), wherein displacement information corresponding to a selected LoD is decodable without decoding displacement information corresponding to a subsequent LoD (paragraph 0070, the difference indicates padded symbols in LoD(i) which can be discarded in a decoding process);
determining a block index for a vertex based on a difference between a vertex index and a starting vertex index of the LoD (paragraph 0070, the syntax element “dmsps_mcsh_LoD_vcrtcx_count[i]” refers to a vertex count to indicate a difference between the number of vertexes in a level of details such as LoD(i) and the number of vertexes in another level of details such as LoD(i-l)); and
when the second flag indicates LoD packing together, then packing displacement information of LoDs into the one or more blocks (the limitations are conditional claim limitations related to two possibilities, either the first flag indicates Level-of-Detail (LoD) block packing or the second flag indicates LoD packing together. Thus, only one of the two possibilities needs to be examined, see MPEP §2111.04).
However, ZAKHARCHENKO does not explicitly disclose determining when a first flag indicates Level-of-Detail (LoD) block packing or a second flag indicates LoD packing together…wherein a basemesh is level 0, vertices are level 1 after dividing each edge in half, and additional levels are implemented.
In the same field of endeavor, Van der Auwera discloses determining when a first flag indicates Level-of-Detail (LoD) block packing or a second flag indicates LoD packing together (paragraph 0110, The encoder may explicitly signal in the bitstream the used packing scheme; see also paragraphs 0106 and 0201)…wherein a basemesh is level 0, vertices are level 1 after dividing each edge in half, and additional levels are implemented (Paragraphs 0041 and 0090, The reconstructed base meshes may be subdivided into finer meshes with additional vertices and, hence, additional triangles…V-DMC encoder 200 and V-DMC decoder 300 may be configured to implement a subdivision scheme. Various subdivision schemes may be used. A possible solution is the mid-point subdivision scheme, which at each subdivision iteration subdivides each triangle into 4 sub-triangles as described in FIG. 8. New vertices are introduced in the middle of each edge. Fig. 8 shows a first iteration s1, considered level 1, that introduces new vertices in the middle of each edge and each sub-triangle can be further divided in a subsequent iteration s2).
Note that the first limitation discloses “determining when a first flag indicates Level-of-Detail (LoD) block packing or a second flag indicates LoD packing together” emphasis added, which requires the determination of either the first flag or the second flag. Also, the claim teaches the limitations “when the first flag indicates LoD block packing, then…” and “when the second flag indicates LoD packing together, then…” It is clear that claim 1 recites two conditional limitations that are mutually exclusive, such that if one is performed, then the other does not need to be performed. Although both conditional limitations are examined, only one of them is required. See In Rebstock, the PTAB echoed the Schulhauser guidance, see Ex Parte Schulhauser, No. 2013-007847, 2016 WL 6277792 (P.T.A.B. Apr. 28, 2016), that when there are two mutually exclusive steps, “the broadest reasonable interpretation of [the claim] requires performance of only one of the two mutually exclusive steps.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by ZAKHARCHENKO, with those of Van der Auwera, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references are related to mesh encoding/decoding process using level of detail (LoD)-based packing for displacement wavelet coefficients in 2D displacement, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result, such as signaling the used packing scheme to a decoder and getting a better approximation of the original curve. This rationale applies to all combinations of ZAKHARCHENKO and Van der Auwera used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses repeating the packing displacement information of the single LoD into the one or more blocks (see FIG. 16B; paragraphs 0077-0078, 0080-0081, and 0083, several LoDs, such as LoD_0, LoD_l’, and LoD_2’, are discontinuously packed in the block-boundary-aligned arrangement) and packing the filler bits until the end of the current block of the one or more blocks for subsequent LoDs until all of the displacement information is packed (see LoD_0_Pad, LoD_1_Pad, and LoD_2_Pad in FIG. 16B; paragraph 0083).
As per claim 3, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses receiving position count information which indicates where each LoD begins and ends (see FIG. 16B; paragraphs 0060, 0062, 0084, and 0087).
As per claim 4, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses wherein each subsequent LoD begins at a beginning of a block (see FIG. 16B).
As per claim 6, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses dividing mesh information into different LoDs (see LoD_0_Pad, LoD_1_Pad, and LoD_2_Pad in FIG. 16B; paragraph 0073).
As per claim 7, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses performing slice decoding (paragraph 0084).
As per claim 8, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses decoding the displacement information (paragraph 0087).
As per claims 9-12 and 14-16, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 1-4 and 6-8 are applicable for claims 9-12 and 14-16; in addition, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses using a memory and processor for storing and processing an application related to the claimed method (paragraphs 0122-0124).
As per claim 17, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17; in addition, ZAKHARCHENKO discloses an encoder configured for encoding a 3D mesh (see FIG. 1 and paragraph 0033) and a decoder for performing the claimed method (paragraphs 0084-0088); and Van der Auwera discloses implementing inverse packing utilizing width, height, bit depth, block size, and position count as input (paragraphs 0123-0129, V-DMC decoder 300 may be configured to perform inverse image packing of wavelet coefficients. Inputs to this process are: width, which is a variable indicating the width of the displacements video frame; height, which is a variable indicating the height of the displacements video frame; bitDepth, which is a variable indicating the bit depth of the displacements video frame;…blockSize, which is a variable indicating the size of the displacements coefficients blocks; positionCount, which is a variable indicating the number of positions in the subdivided submesh).
As per claims 18-20 and 22-24, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 2-4 and 6-8 are applicable for claims 18-20 and 22-24.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482