DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite the use of the instant compounds. Applicant is suggested to rewrite the claims to “The method of preventing or controlling bacterial diseases of plants”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The expression “The polysubstituted nitrogen-containing heterocyclic derivative of claim 1, a method for preparing the polysubstituted nitrogen-containing heterocyclic derivative comprising the following steps…” recited in claims 2-3 renders the claims indefinite. It’s not clear if the claims are directed to a compound made by a process or if the claims being directed to a method of making.
Claims 8-9 are considered indefinite as there is no active step recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,663,457 (‘457).
‘457 teaches a compound, 1-cyclopropy-6-fluoro-7-chloro-1,4-dihydro-4-oxo-1,8-naphthyridine-3-carboxlic acid (see claim 3). ‘457 teaches a mixture of water and 1-cyclopropy-6-fluoro-7-chloro-1,4-dihydro-4-oxo-1,8-naphthyridine-3-carboxlic acid (see col. 11, lines 20-31).
The method of how to make such compound would not change the compound itself. Therefore, the limitations of claims 2-3, as compounds by process of making claims, are met.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2017/113268 (‘268), Machine English translation is also provided.
‘268 teaches the compound OK-EM033, a one of the preferable compounds for treating amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (see the abstract and claim). ‘268 teaches the excipients could be talc (see page 6/12, 10th paragraph). ‘268 also teaches the suitable dosage forms include emulsions (see page 6/12, 4th paragraph).
As for claims 8-9, the limitations recited are considered as intended use.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627