DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 07/10/2026 and 07/21/2026, concerning Application No. 18/368,605. The amendments to the claims filed on 07/10/2026 are acknowledged. Presently, claims 1-4, 7-12, 14-15, and 17-22 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, lines 8-9, the limitation “a thumb of the operator” should be changed to “a thumb of an operator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-12, 14-15, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelissier et al. (US 2009/0198132 A1, of record, cited in the applicant’s IDS filed on 09/15/2023, hereinafter Pelissier) in view of Shimada et al. (US 2018/0114046 A1, of record, with publication date 04/26/2018 and effectively filed date 06/26/2015, hereinafter Shimada), and further in view of Cruz-Hernandez et al. (US 2014/0282051 A1, of record, with publication date 09/18/2014, hereinafter Cruz-Hernandez).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Pelissier discloses an ultrasound device (hand-held ultrasound unit 10) and a method of operating the handheld ultrasound device (10) (see, e.g., Figs. 1-7, and Para. [0025]), comprising:
a housing (housing 12) configured for handheld use (see, e.g., Para. [0025], “FIG. 1 shows a hand-held ultrasound unit according to an example embodiment of the invention. Hand-held ultrasound unit 10 may be used in either hand. Unit 10 comprises a transducer 20 and a housing 12 bearing a display 14”);
an ultrasound transducer array (transducer 20) coupled to the housing (12) and configured to obtain ultrasound data while positioned adjacent to a body of a patient (see, e.g., Fig. 1, and Para. [0024], “There are various protocols for performing ultrasonography. These protocols may require the transducer to be moved in different ways over the skin of a subject and held in different ways during the scanning. For example, for performing cardiac scanning it is typical to hold the transducer in the operator's left hand. Other types of scanning may be performed with the transducer held in the operator's right hand”, and Para. [0025], “FIG. 1 shows a hand-held ultrasound unit according to an example embodiment of the invention. Hand-held ultrasound unit 10 may be used in either hand. Unit 10 comprises a transducer 20 and a housing 12 bearing a display 14”, and Para. [0029], “In some scanning protocols it is necessary to move transducer 20 over the surface of a subject such that a longitudinal axis of transducer 20 extends more-or-less transversely to the direction of motion”);
a display (display 14) on a front face of the housing (12) and arranged to display medical information derived from the obtained ultrasound data (see, e.g., Fig. 1, and Para. [0025], “FIG. 1 shows a hand-held ultrasound unit according to an example embodiment of the invention. Hand-held ultrasound unit 10 may be used in either hand. Unit 10 comprises a transducer 20 and a housing 12 bearing a display 14. Display 14 is a touch-sensitive display. In some embodiments, substantially all of a front face of device 10 comprises a touch-sensitive display 14. Display 14 can display ultrasound images. In certain embodiments, display 14 also displays images representing controls with which an operator can interact to control the operation of apparatus 10”, and Para. [0029], “display 14 displays a ultrasound image 27. It is desirable that displayed ultrasound image 27 always have the same orientation relative to the operator such that the operator can readily comprehend ultrasound image 27”);
a plurality of sensors (inputs 26A, 26B, 26C) distributed on the housing (12) (see, e.g., Figs. 3A-3B, and Para. [0027], “FIGS. 3A and 3B show an example, the functions of controls 25A, 25B and 25C may be assigned to pushbuttons, switches, contact sensors, or the like 26A, 26B and 26C that are adjacent to but outside of display 14. In such embodiments, switching between left- and right-handed modes may switch the functions invoked by actuating inputs 26A, 26B, and 26C and may also change corresponding labels 27A, 27B, and 27C that are displayed on display 14 adjacent to inputs 26A, 26B and 26C”);
a computing device (data processor 40) disposed within the housing (12), wherein the computing device (40) is in communication with the ultrasound transducer array (20), the display (14), and the plurality of sensors (26A, 26B, 26C) (see, e.g., Para. [0050], “In the embodiment of FIG. 7, apparatus 10 comprises a data processor 40 that may comprise, for example, a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital signal processor or the like. Data processor 40 executes software 42. Data processor 40 is connected to generate an image 27 on display 14 and is also connected to receive inputs from display 14 as well as from any other inputs provided by apparatus 10. Data processor 40 is also connected to control an ultrasound system 44 that comprises transducer 20, driving circuits 45 for driving elements of transducer 20 to emit ultrasound, and receiving circuits 46 that receive signals representing reflected ultrasound received at elements of transducer 20 and process those signals. Driving and receiving circuits 45 and 46 may comprise discrete components, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), suitable data processors or suitable combinations thereof. A wide range of circuits suitable for use in ultrasonography are known to those skilled in the field of the invention. Software executing on data processor 40 may be included in ultrasound system 44”); and
a memory that stores instructions, which when executed by the computing device (40), cause the computing device (40) to (see, e.g., Para. [0052], “Certain implementations of the invention comprise computer processors which execute software instructions which cause the processors to perform a method of the invention. For example, one or more processors in a hand-held ultrasound apparatus may implement methods as described herein executing software instructions in a program memory accessible to the processors. The invention may also be provided in the form of a program product. The program product may comprise any medium which carries a set of computer-readable instructions which, when executed by a data processor, cause the data processor to execute a method of the invention”):
receive a plurality of readings from the plurality of sensors (26A, 26B, 26C), respectively (see, e.g., Figs. 3A-3B, and Para. [0027], “FIGS. 3A and 3B show an example, the functions of controls 25A, 25B and 25C may be assigned to pushbuttons, switches, contact sensors, or the like 26A, 26B and 26C that are adjacent to but outside of display 14. In such embodiments, switching between left- and right-handed modes may switch the functions invoked by actuating inputs 26A, 26B, and 26C and may also change corresponding labels 27A, 27B, and 27C that are displayed on display 14 adjacent to inputs 26A, 26B and 26C”, and Para. [0050], “In the embodiment of FIG. 7, apparatus 10 comprises a data processor 40 that may comprise, for example, a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital signal processor or the like. Data processor 40 executes software 42. Data processor 40 is connected to generate an image 27 on display 14 and is also connected to receive inputs from display 14 as well as from any other inputs provided by apparatus 10”).
Pelissier does not specifically disclose [1] wherein the plurality of sensors are specifically distributed on a plurality of lateral faces of the housing, respectively; [2] wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to detect when a hand of an operator is positioned around the housing; and [3] wherein the computing device is operable to: determine whether a first reading of the plurality of readings from a first sensor of the plurality of sensors at a first lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing exceeds a threshold reading for a thumb of the operator indicating that the first lateral face is gripped by the thumb of the operator, wherein the threshold reading comprises one or more of a capacitance reading, a thermal reading and an impedance reading; simultaneously determine that a second reading of the plurality of readings from a second sensor of the plurality of sensors at a second lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing indicates that the second lateral face is gripped by a finger of the operator other than the thumb; set the first lateral face as a primary edge based at least in part on the first reading from the first sensor and the second reading from the second sensor; and automatically orient the medical information on the display such that the primary edge is at a bottom of the display.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses (Figs. 1-5, 10, 12-15, 28-30, 33-34, and 37-38) a plurality of sensors (operation area 30, fingerprint sensor 140, fingerprint detection range 141), wherein at least one (fingerprint detection range 141) of the plurality of sensors is distributed on at least one of a plurality of lateral faces of the housing (apparatus case 2) and configured to detect when a hand of an operator is positioned around the housing (2) (see, e.g., Para. [0065], “An operation area 30 to be operated by a finger of the user is located in the end portion closer to the second side surface 1d of the front surface of the apparatus case 2. The operation area 30 is a part of a push button 150, which will be described below. This means that the push button 150 is partially exposed from the end portion closer to the second side surface 1d of the front surface of the apparatus case 2, and the exposed part is the operation area 30. The user can push the push button 150 by pushing the operation area 30. The location and the shape of the operation area 30 are not limited to those illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2”, and Para. [0066], “A part of the operation area 30 is a fingerprint detection range 141 of a fingerprint sensor 140, which will be described below. FIG. 4 illustrates an example of the fingerprint detection range 141. The fingerprint sensor 140 can detect a fingerprint of a finger 500 of the user touching the fingerprint detection range 141 included in the operation area 30. The fingerprint detection range 141 may correspond to the operation area 30”, and Para. [0135], “After step s2, the controller 100 operates the fingerprint sensor 140 whose operation has been stopped, and monitors a signal output from the fingerprint sensor 140. When the fingerprint sensor 140 detects the fingerprint of the finger of the user in step s3, the controller 100 starts the user authentication based on the result of fingerprint detection by the fingerprint sensor 140 in step s4”, and Figs. 37-38, where a first sensor 30 is shown to be positioned at the bottom side 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, and where a second sensor 141 is shown to be positioned at the right side 1e (i.e., a lateral face) of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures); and
wherein the computing device (controller 100) is operable to:
determine whether a first reading of the plurality of readings from a first sensor of the plurality of sensors (30, 140, 141) at a first lateral face (second side surface 1d) of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing (2) exceeds a threshold reading for a thumb (finger 500, right-hand thumb 500rt) of the operator indicating that the first lateral face (1d) is gripped by the thumb (500, 500rt) of the operator (see, e.g., Para. [0137], “In step s6, the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3. In step s6, the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3 as described above. When determining that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large, the controller 100 performs step s7”, and Para. [0139], “In step s7, the controller 100 determines whether the type of the finger is the thumb based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3. In step s7, the controller 100 determines the type of the finger based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3”, and Para. [0174], “the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing by comparing the feature point acquired from the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 with the plurality of reference feature points corresponding to the force with which the finger performs pressing, but the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140. […] the controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is normal when the absolute value of the difference between the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 and the reference thickness is equal to or smaller than a threshold. The controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large when a value obtained by subtracting the reference thickness from the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 is a positive value, and the absolute value of the obtained value is greater than the threshold”, and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first lateral face corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d), wherein the threshold reading comprises one or more of a capacitance reading, a thermal reading and an impedance reading (see, e.g., Abstract, “cause the fingerprint sensor to obtain a fingerprint of the finger in response to the detection of the touch; cause the fingerprint sensor to measure a force of the finger to the touch area”, and Para. [0080], “The fingerprint sensor 140 can detect a fingerprint of a finger touching the operation area 30 of the front surface 1a of the electronic apparatus 1. Specifically, the fingerprint sensor 140 has the fingerprint detection range 141 included in the operation area 30, and can detect a fingerprint of a finger touching the fingerprint detection range 141. The fingerprint sensor 140 outputs, as a result of fingerprint detection, a fingerprint image showing the detected fingerprint, for example. The fingerprint sensor 140 detects the fingerprint, for example, using a capacitive sensing method”, where the sensor 140 detects the fingerprint using capacitance readings via a capacitive sensing method, and Para. [0135], “After step s2, the controller 100 operates the fingerprint sensor 140 whose operation has been stopped, and monitors a signal output from the fingerprint sensor 140. When the fingerprint sensor 140 detects the fingerprint of the finger of the user in step s3, the controller 100 starts the user authentication based on the result of fingerprint detection by the fingerprint sensor 140 in step s4”, and Para. [0137], “In step s6, the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3”, and Para. [0174], “the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing by comparing the feature point acquired from the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 with the plurality of reference feature points corresponding to the force with which the finger performs pressing, but the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140. […] the controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is normal when the absolute value of the difference between the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 and the reference thickness is equal to or smaller than a threshold. The controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large when a value obtained by subtracting the reference thickness from the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 is a positive value, and the absolute value of the obtained value is greater than the threshold”, where the sensor 140 detects the fingerprint using capacitance readings via a capacitive sensing method, and where the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large (i.e., exceeding the threshold) based on the result of fingerprint detection using the capacitance readings detected by the sensor 140, and where the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140, in which the thickness data is based on the result of fingerprint detection using the capacitance readings detected by the sensor 140, and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first lateral face corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d);
simultaneously determine that a second reading of the plurality of readings from a second sensor of the plurality of sensors at a second lateral face (third side surface 1e) of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing (2) indicates that the second lateral face (1e) is gripped by a finger of the operator other than the thumb (see, e.g., Para. [0139], “On the other hand, when determining that the type of the finger is not the thumb, the controller 100 determines whether the type of the finger is the index finger in step s11”, and Para. [0158], “In the example of FIG. 28, processing similar to processing in steps s8 and s9 may be performed between steps s11 and s12 to determine the orientation of the display in the display area 20 in accordance with the orientation of the finger. In this case, the orientation of the web page displayed in the display area 20 of the electronic apparatus 1 executing the web browser in step s12 is the orientation determined between steps s11 and s12”, and Para. [0162], “In the example of FIG. 28, it is determined whether the type of the finger is the thumb in step s7, but it may be determined whether the type of the finger is a finger other than the thumb. For example, it may be determined whether the type of the finger is the middle finger in step s7. It is also determined whether the type of the finger is the index finger in step s11, but it may be determined whether the type of the finger is a finger other than the index finger. For example, it may be determined whether the type of the finger is a little finger in step s11”, and Figs. 37-38, where a first sensor 30 is shown to be positioned at the bottom side 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, and where a separate second sensor 141 is shown to be positioned at the right side 1e of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, such that two separate fingers/thumb can be positioned at the first and second sensors 30, 141 simultaneously);
set the first lateral face (1d) as a primary edge based at least in part on the first reading from the first sensor and the second reading from the second sensor (see, e.g., Para. [0137], “In step s6, the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3. In step s6, the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3 as described above. When determining that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large, the controller 100 performs step s7”, and Para. [0139], “In step s7, the controller 100 determines whether the type of the finger is the thumb based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3. In step s7, the controller 100 determines the type of the finger based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3”, and Para. [0143], “When determining that the type of the finger is the thumb in step s7, the controller 100 determines the orientation of the finger based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3 as described above in step s8”, and Para. [0174], “the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing by comparing the feature point acquired from the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 with the plurality of reference feature points corresponding to the force with which the finger performs pressing, but the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140. […] the controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is normal when the absolute value of the difference between the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 and the reference thickness is equal to or smaller than a threshold. The controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large when a value obtained by subtracting the reference thickness from the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 is a positive value, and the absolute value of the obtained value is greater than the threshold”, and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first lateral face corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d, such that the orientation of the thumb is determined by the controller (see Para. [0143] cited above) and thus the claimed first edge/disclosed bottom edge 1d is set as a primary edge based on the determined orientation and detection of the thumb 500 positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d, and Figs. 37-38, where a first sensor 30 is shown to be positioned at the bottom side 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, and where a separate second sensor 141 is shown to be positioned at the right side 1e of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, such that two separate fingers/thumb can be positioned at the first and second sensors 30, 141 simultaneously); and
automatically orient the medical information on the display (display area 20, display panel 120) such that the primary edge (1d) is at a bottom of the display (20, 120) (see, e.g., Para. [0143], “The controller 100 then determines the orientation of the display in the display area 20 (a display of the display panel 120) in accordance with the orientation of the finger in step s9”, and Para. [0147], and Para. [0150], “the controller 100 determines the display in the display area 20 in accordance with the orientation of the finger touching the fingerprint detection range 141 to enable the electronic apparatus 1 to change the orientation of the display in the display area 20 in accordance with the orientation of the electronic apparatus 1. The electronic apparatus 1 can thus provide an easy-to-view display to the user automatically”, and Para. [0154], “When the user touches the operation area 30 of the electronic apparatus 1 in the portrait orientation with the right-hand thumb, the orientation of the right-hand thumb 500rt can become −45 degrees as illustrated in FIG. 33. Thus, in step s9, the portrait orientation may be determined as the orientation of the display in the display area 20 when the type of the finger is the right-hand thumb, and the orientation of the finger is −45 degrees”, and Figs. 10 and 29-30, where the claimed first edge/primary edge corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the primary edge 1d is positioned at the bottom of the display when the fingerprint is detected and when the display is orientated based on the detected fingerprint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier by including [1] wherein at least one of the plurality of sensors is distributed on at least one of a plurality of lateral faces of the housing; [2] wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to detect when a hand of an operator is positioned around the housing; and [3] wherein the computing device is operable to: determine whether a first reading of the plurality of readings from a first sensor of the plurality of sensors at a first lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing exceeds a threshold reading for a thumb of the operator indicating that the first lateral face is gripped by the thumb of the operator, wherein the threshold reading comprises one or more of a capacitance reading, a thermal reading and an impedance reading; simultaneously determine that a second reading of the plurality of readings from a second sensor of the plurality of sensors at a second lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing indicates that the second lateral face is gripped by a finger of the operator other than the thumb; set the first lateral face as a primary edge based at least in part on the first reading from the first sensor and the second reading from the second sensor; and automatically orient the medical information on the display such that the primary edge is at a bottom of the display, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Pelissier modified by Shimada still does not disclose [1] wherein each/all of the plurality of sensors are specifically distributed on a plurality of lateral faces of the housing, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor of displaying graphical user interface configurations based detected user contact, Cruz-Hernandez discloses a plurality of sensors (sensors 18) distributed on a plurality of lateral faces of the housing (handheld device 10), respectively, and configured to detect when a hand of an operator is positioned around the housing (10) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0016], “FIG. 2 illustrates a handheld device 10 according to one embodiment according to the present disclosure comprising two sensors 18, one located at each side of the handheld device 10. FIG. 3 illustrates a handheld device 10 according to one embodiment according to the present disclosure comprising two sensors 18, one located at each side of the handheld device 10, and an additional sensor 18 located at the top of the handheld device 10. In still another embodiment, illustrated by FIG. 4, a handheld device 10 comprises nine sensors 18: four sensors located at each side of the handheld device 10, and an additional sensor 18 located at the top of the handheld device 10. […] In sum, the present disclosure contemplates a plurality of embodiments comprising one or more sensors 18, having sensing areas that may vary in area and/or shape, located at each of one or more exterior surfaces of a handheld device 10”, and Para. [0017], “A sensor 18 according to embodiments may be any type of sensor that one of ordinary skill in the art would know to use to detect grasping contact applied to a handheld device 10. In one embodiment, sensor 18 is a pressure sensor. For example, a sensor 18 may be a resistive pressure sensor, a piezoelectric pressure sensor, a strain gauge, or any other type of pressure sensor known in the art. In another embodiment, sensor 18 is a sensor capable of determining the area and/or dimensions of contact”, and Para. [0018], “one or more sensors 18 may be integrated into a handheld device 10 in any manner known by those of ordinary skill in the art that allows for the detection of a grasping contact applied by a user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada by including [1] wherein each/all of the plurality of sensors are specifically distributed on a plurality of lateral faces of the housing, respectively, as disclosed by Cruz-Hernandez. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably allow for the detection of a grasping contact applied by a user to the handheld device, as recognized by Cruz-Hernandez (see, e.g., Para. [0016-0018]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device and the method of claims 1 and 11, respectively, as set forth above. Pelissier does not disclose wherein the computing device is further operable to: switch the ultrasound device from a sleep mode to an active mode in response to determining that the first reading from the first sensor exceeds the threshold reading.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein the computing device (controller 100) is further operable to: switch the ultrasound device (electronic apparatus 1) from a sleep mode to an active mode in response to determining that the first reading from the first sensor (operation area 30, fingerprint sensor 140, fingerprint detection range 141) exceeds the threshold reading (see, e.g., Para. [0084], “The electronic apparatus 1 includes, as an operation mode, a sleep mode in which no display is provided in the display area 20 and a normal mode in which a display is provided in the display area 20. In the sleep mode, some components of the electronic apparatus 1, such as the display panel 120, the touch panel 130, and the fingerprint sensor 140, do not operate. This allows the electronic apparatus 1 to consume less power in the sleep mode than in the normal mode”, and Para. [0086], “when the power button is operated in the sleep mode, the operation mode transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode. The operation mode also transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode when the push button 150 is pushed to be in the on state in the sleep mode”, and Para. [0134], “FIG. 28 illustrates a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the electronic apparatus 1 when the electronic apparatus 1 returns from the sleep mode to the normal mode. When the operation area 30 of the electronic apparatus 1 operating in the sleep mode is pushed to turn on the push button 150, the operation mode of the electronic apparatus 1 returns from the sleep mode to the normal mode in step s1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein the computing device is further operable to: switch the ultrasound device from a sleep mode to an active mode in response to determining that the first reading from the first sensor exceeds the threshold reading, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Regarding claim 3, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 2, as set forth above. Pelissier does not disclose wherein the ultrasound device expends only enough power to monitor the plurality of sensors while in the sleep mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein the ultrasound device (electronic apparatus 1) expends only enough power to monitor the plurality of sensors (operation area 30, fingerprint sensor 140, fingerprint detection range 141) while in the sleep mode (see, e.g., Para. [0084], “The electronic apparatus 1 includes, as an operation mode, a sleep mode in which no display is provided in the display area 20 and a normal mode in which a display is provided in the display area 20. In the sleep mode, some components of the electronic apparatus 1, such as the display panel 120, the touch panel 130, and the fingerprint sensor 140, do not operate. This allows the electronic apparatus 1 to consume less power in the sleep mode than in the normal mode”, and Para. [0086], “when the power button is operated in the sleep mode, the operation mode transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode. The operation mode also transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode when the push button 150 is pushed to be in the on state in the sleep mode”, and Para. [0134], “FIG. 28 illustrates a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the electronic apparatus 1 when the electronic apparatus 1 returns from the sleep mode to the normal mode. When the operation area 30 of the electronic apparatus 1 operating in the sleep mode is pushed to turn on the push button 150, the operation mode of the electronic apparatus 1 returns from the sleep mode to the normal mode in step s1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein the ultrasound device expends only enough power to monitor the plurality of sensors while in the sleep mode, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Regarding claim 4, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 2, as set forth above. Pelissier does not disclose wherein the computing device is further operable to: power on the display in response to switching the ultrasound device from the sleep mode to the active mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein the computing device (controller 100) is further operable to: power on the display in response to switching the ultrasound device (electronic apparatus 1) from the sleep mode to the active mode (see, e.g., Para. [0084], “The electronic apparatus 1 includes, as an operation mode, a sleep mode in which no display is provided in the display area 20 and a normal mode in which a display is provided in the display area 20. In the sleep mode, some components of the electronic apparatus 1, such as the display panel 120, the touch panel 130, and the fingerprint sensor 140, do not operate. This allows the electronic apparatus 1 to consume less power in the sleep mode than in the normal mode”, and Para. [0086], “when the power button is operated in the sleep mode, the operation mode transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode. The operation mode also transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode when the push button 150 is pushed to be in the on state in the sleep mode”, and Para. [0091], “The lock screen 350 is displayed in the display area 20 immediately after the sleep mode is canceled, in other words, immediately after the operation mode transitions from the sleep mode to the normal mode. The lock screen 350 is thus displayed in the display area 20 when the power button or the push button 150 is pushed in the sleep mode in which no display is provided in the display area 20”, and Para. [0134], “FIG. 28 illustrates a flowchart showing an example of the operation of the electronic apparatus 1 when the electronic apparatus 1 returns from the sleep mode to the normal mode. When the operation area 30 of the electronic apparatus 1 operating in the sleep mode is pushed to turn on the push button 150, the operation mode of the electronic apparatus 1 returns from the sleep mode to the normal mode in step s1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein the computing device is further operable to: power on the display in response to switching the ultrasound device from the sleep mode to the active mode, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, as set forth above. Pelissier does not disclose wherein the plurality of sensors comprises one or more of a capacitance sensor, a thermal sensor and an impedance sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein the plurality of sensors comprises one or more of a capacitance sensor, a thermal sensor, and an impedance sensor (see, e.g., Para. [0080], “The fingerprint sensor 140 can detect a fingerprint of a finger touching the operation area 30 of the front surface 1a of the electronic apparatus 1. Specifically, the fingerprint sensor 140 has the fingerprint detection range 141 included in the operation area 30, and can detect a fingerprint of a finger touching the fingerprint detection range 141. The fingerprint sensor 140 outputs, as a result of fingerprint detection, a fingerprint image showing the detected fingerprint, for example. The fingerprint sensor 140 detects the fingerprint, for example, using a capacitive sensing method. The fingerprint sensor 140 may detect the fingerprint using a method other than the capacitive sensing method, such as an optical method”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein the plurality of sensors comprises one or more of a capacitance sensor, a thermal sensor and an impedance sensor, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, as set forth above. Pelissier further discloses wherein the computing device (data processor 40) is operable to: activate the ultrasound transducer array (transducer 20) to obtain ultrasound data (see, e.g., Fig. 1, and Para. [0024], “There are various protocols for performing ultrasonography. These protocols may require the transducer to be moved in different ways over the skin of a subject and held in different ways during the scanning. For example, for performing cardiac scanning it is typical to hold the transducer in the operator's left hand. Other types of scanning may be performed with the transducer held in the operator's right hand”, and Para. [0025], “FIG. 1 shows a hand-held ultrasound unit according to an example embodiment of the invention. Hand-held ultrasound unit 10 may be used in either hand. Unit 10 comprises a transducer 20 and a housing 12 bearing a display 14”, and Para. [0029], “In some scanning protocols it is necessary to move transducer 20 over the surface of a subject such that a longitudinal axis of transducer 20 extends more-or-less transversely to the direction of motion”, and Para. [0050], “In the embodiment of FIG. 7, apparatus 10 comprises a data processor 40 that may comprise, for example, a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital signal processor or the like. Data processor 40 executes software 42. Data processor 40 is connected to generate an image 27 on display 14 and is also connected to receive inputs from display 14 as well as from any other inputs provided by apparatus 10. Data processor 40 is also connected to control an ultrasound system 44 that comprises transducer 20, driving circuits 45 for driving elements of transducer 20 to emit ultrasound, and receiving circuits 46 that receive signals representing reflected ultrasound received at elements of transducer 20 and process those signals. Driving and receiving circuits 45 and 46 may comprise discrete components, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), suitable data processors or suitable combinations thereof”).
Regarding claim 14, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the method of claim 11, as set forth above. Pelissier does not disclose wherein determining that the first lateral face is gripped by the thumb of the operator comprises determining that the first reading from the first sensor exceeds the second reading of the plurality of readings from the second sensor of the plurality of sensors.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein determining that the first lateral face (second side surface 1d) is gripped by the thumb (finger 500, right-hand thumb 500rt) of the operator (see, e.g., Para. [0137] and [0139], and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first edge corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d) comprises determining that the first reading from the first sensor exceeds the second reading of the plurality of readings from the second sensor of the plurality of sensors (see, e.g., Para. [0139], “On the other hand, when determining that the type of the finger is not the thumb, the controller 100 determines whether the type of the finger is the index finger in step s11”, and Para. [0158], “In the example of FIG. 28, processing similar to processing in steps s8 and s9 may be performed between steps s11 and s12 to determine the orientation of the display in the display area 20 in accordance with the orientation of the finger. In this case, the orientation of the web page displayed in the display area 20 of the electronic apparatus 1 executing the web browser in step s12 is the orientation determined between steps s11 and s12”, and Para. [0162], “In the example of FIG. 28, it is determined whether the type of the finger is the thumb in step s7, but it may be determined whether the type of the finger is a finger other than the thumb. For example, it may be determined whether the type of the finger is the middle finger in step s7. It is also determined whether the type of the finger is the index finger in step s11, but it may be determined whether the type of the finger is a finger other than the index finger. For example, it may be determined whether the type of the finger is a little finger in step s11”, and Figs. 37-38, where a first sensor 30 is shown to be positioned at the bottom side 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, and where a second sensor 141 is shown to be positioned at the right side 1e of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein determining that the first lateral face is gripped by the thumb of the operator comprises determining that the first reading from the first sensor exceeds the second reading of the plurality of readings from the second sensor of the plurality of sensors, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Regarding claim 15, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the method of claim 11, as set forth above. Pelissier does not disclose wherein determining that the first lateral face is gripped by the thumb of the operator comprises referencing a stored handedness preference.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein determining that the first lateral face (second side surface 1d) is gripped by the thumb (finger 500, right-hand thumb 500rt) of the operator (see, e.g., Para. [0137] and [0139], and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first edge corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d) comprises referencing a stored handedness preference (see, e.g., Para. [0096], “In performing the user authentication, the controller 100 first extracts, from the fingerprint image output from the fingerprint sensor 140 as the result of fingerprint detection, a feature point representing features of the detected fingerprint shown by the fingerprint image. The feature point includes, for example, the locations of an end point and a branch point of a ridge line (protrusion) of the fingerprint and the thickness of the ridge line. The controller 100 compares the extracted feature point with a reference feature point stored in the storage 103”, and Para. [0097], “The reference feature point is herein a feature point extracted from a fingerprint image showing a fingerprint of an authorized user (e.g., the owner of the electronic apparatus 1). The electronic apparatus 1 includes a fingerprint registration mode as the operation mode. […] The controller 100 extracts a feature point from the fingerprint image output from the fingerprint sensor 140, and stores the extracted feature point in the storage 103 as the reference feature point. The reference feature point representing features of the fingerprint of the authorized user is thus stored in the storage 103”, and Para. [0098], “A plurality of reference feature points are stored in the storage 103 as will be described below. The controller 100 compares the extracted feature point with each of the plurality of reference feature points stored in the storage 103. The controller 100 determines that the user authentication has succeeded when the extracted feature point is similar to any of the plurality of reference feature points. This means that the controller 100 determines that the user having the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 is the authorized user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein determining that the first lateral face is gripped by the thumb of the operator comprises referencing a stored handedness preference, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Regarding claims 21-22, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, as set forth above. Pelissier does not specifically disclose wherein the orienting of the medical information on the display is always such that the primary edge is at the bottom of the display, enables the operator to pick up the housing without regard to an orientation of the ultrasound device with the display disposed in a preferred orientation of the operator.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Shimada discloses wherein the orienting of the medical information on the display (display area 20, display panel 120) is always such that the primary edge (second side surface 1d) is at the bottom of the display (20, 120), enables the operator to pick up the housing (apparatus case 2) without regard to an orientation of the ultrasound device with the display (20, 120) disposed in a preferred orientation of the operator (see, e.g., Para. [0143], “The controller 100 then determines the orientation of the display in the display area 20 (a display of the display panel 120) in accordance with the orientation of the finger in step s9”, and Para. [0147], and Para. [0150], “the controller 100 determines the display in the display area 20 in accordance with the orientation of the finger touching the fingerprint detection range 141 to enable the electronic apparatus 1 to change the orientation of the display in the display area 20 in accordance with the orientation of the electronic apparatus 1. The electronic apparatus 1 can thus provide an easy-to-view display to the user automatically”, and Para. [0154], “When the user touches the operation area 30 of the electronic apparatus 1 in the portrait orientation with the right-hand thumb, the orientation of the right-hand thumb 500rt can become −45 degrees as illustrated in FIG. 33. Thus, in step s9, the portrait orientation may be determined as the orientation of the display in the display area 20 when the type of the finger is the right-hand thumb, and the orientation of the finger is −45 degrees”, and Figs. 10 and 29-30, where the claimed first edge/primary edge corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the primary edge 1d is positioned at the bottom of the display when the fingerprint is detected and when the display is orientated based on the detected fingerprint).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein the orienting of the medical information on the display is always such that the primary edge is at the bottom of the display, enables the operator to pick up the housing without regard to an orientation of the ultrasound device with the display disposed in a preferred orientation of the operator, as disclosed by Shimada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the operability of the electronic device, as recognized by Shimada (see, e.g., Para. [0171-0175]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelissier (US 2009/0198132 A1) in view of Shimada (US 2018/0114046 A1) and Cruz-Hernandez (US 2014/0282051 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2007/0002016 A1, of record, cited in the applicant’s IDS filed on 09/15/2023, hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, as set forth above. Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez does not disclose wherein the computing device is further operable to: determine that a third reading of the plurality of readings from a third sensor of the plurality of sensors at a third lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing indicates that the third lateral face is gripped by an interdigital webbing of the operator's hand.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Cho discloses (Figs. 1-4D) wherein the computing device is further operable to: determine that a third reading of the plurality of readings from a third sensor of the plurality of sensors at a third lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing indicates that the third lateral face is gripped by an interdigital webbing of the operator's hand (see, e.g., Para. [0013], “The recognizing of the grip posture may include: receiving output signals from a plurality of touch sensors formed on the mobile terminal; and recognizing the grip posture of the user using the output signals from the touch sensors”, and Para. [0014], “The plurality of touch sensors may be arranged on a surface of the mobile terminal at regular intervals, or the surface of the mobile terminal may be divided into a plurality of portions, and then the plurality of touch sensors may be arranged in each portion of the mobile terminal at different intervals according to how frequently the user touches each portion of the mobile terminal when the user holds the mobile terminal”, and Para. [0055], “FIG. 3 illustrates views for explaining an approach of dividing both hands of a user into a plurality of portions for defining grip postures. Each hand is divided into six portions (L1-L6 for the left hand and R1-R6 for the right hand). A grip posture may be defined according to which portions of each hand shown in FIG. 3 touch which portions of the mobile terminal shown in FIG. 2A or 2B”, and Para. [0056], “FIG. 4A illustrates a right hand of the user who is vertically holding the mobile terminal. Table 1 shows which portions of the right hand touch which portions of the mobile terminal”, and Fig. 4A, where it is shown that interdigital webbing of the operator’s hand is positioned at the left side/edge of the handheld device when viewing the figure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including wherein the computing device is further operable to: determine that a third reading of the plurality of readings from a third sensor of the plurality of sensors at a third lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing indicates that the third lateral face is gripped by an interdigital webbing of the operator's hand, as disclosed by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably define the grip postures of the user’s hands, as recognized by Cho (see, e.g., Para. [0055-0057]).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelissier (US 2009/0198132 A1) in view of Shimada (US 2018/0114046 A1) and Cruz-Hernandez (US 2014/0282051 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Chaudhri et al. (US 9,740,381 B1, of record, with publication date 08/22/2017, hereinafter Chaudhri).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez discloses the ultrasound device of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, as set forth above. Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez does not disclose further comprising an accelerometer, wherein the computing device is operable to set the first lateral face as the primary edge based at least in part on a reading from the accelerometer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hand-held electronic devices, Chaudhri discloses further comprising an accelerometer (accelerometer 168), wherein the computing device is operable to set the first lateral face as the primary edge based at least in part on a reading from the accelerometer (168) (see, e.g., Col. 27, lines 29-36, “Device 100 optionally also includes one or more accelerometers 168. FIG. 1A shows accelerometer 168 coupled with peripherals interface 118. Alternately, accelerometer 168 is, optionally, coupled with an input controller 160 in I/O subsystem 106. In some embodiments, information is displayed on the touch-screen display in a portrait view or a landscape view based on an analysis of data received from the one or more accelerometers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound device and the method of Pelissier modified by Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez by including further comprising an accelerometer, wherein the computing device is operable to set the first lateral face as the primary edge based at least in part on a reading from the accelerometer, as disclosed by Chaudhri. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably display information on the screen in a portrait view or in a landscape view based on the accelerometer data, as recognized by Chaudhri (see, e.g., Col. 27, lines 29-36).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 07/10/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Pelissier (US 2009/0198132 A1) in view of Shimada (US 2018/0114046 A1) and Cruz-Hernandez (US 2014/0282051 A1), Applicant argues that “Shimada et al. does not teach determining whether a first reading of the plurality of readings from a first sensor of the plurality of sensors at a first lateral face of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing exceeds a threshold reading for a thumb of the operator” (see Page 10 of the Remarks filed 07/10/2026).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and emphasizes that the combination of Pelissier modified by in Shimada and Cruz-Hernandez does teach each and every limitation of the independent claims 1 and 11, as set forth above.
Specifically, Examiner emphasizes that Pelissier is first modified by Shimada, in which Shimada discloses: determining whether a first reading of the plurality of readings from a first sensor of the plurality of sensors at a first lateral face (second side surface 1d) of the plurality of lateral faces of the housing exceeds a threshold reading for a thumb (finger 500, right-hand thumb 500rt) of the operator indicating that the first lateral face (1d) is gripped by the thumb (500, 500rt) of the operator (see, e.g., Para. [0137], “In step s6, the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3. In step s6, the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3 as described above. When determining that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large, the controller 100 performs step s7”, and Para. [0139], “In step s7, the controller 100 determines whether the type of the finger is the thumb based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3. In step s7, the controller 100 determines the type of the finger based on the predetermined determination condition using the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3”, and Para. [0174], “the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing by comparing the feature point acquired from the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 with the plurality of reference feature points corresponding to the force with which the finger performs pressing, but the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140. […] the controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is normal when the absolute value of the difference between the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 and the reference thickness is equal to or smaller than a threshold. The controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large when a value obtained by subtracting the reference thickness from the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 is a positive value, and the absolute value of the obtained value is greater than the threshold”, and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first lateral face corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d),
wherein the threshold reading comprises one or more of a capacitance reading, a thermal reading and an impedance reading (see, e.g., Abstract, “cause the fingerprint sensor to obtain a fingerprint of the finger in response to the detection of the touch; cause the fingerprint sensor to measure a force of the finger to the touch area”, and Para. [0080], “The fingerprint sensor 140 can detect a fingerprint of a finger touching the operation area 30 of the front surface 1a of the electronic apparatus 1. Specifically, the fingerprint sensor 140 has the fingerprint detection range 141 included in the operation area 30, and can detect a fingerprint of a finger touching the fingerprint detection range 141. The fingerprint sensor 140 outputs, as a result of fingerprint detection, a fingerprint image showing the detected fingerprint, for example. The fingerprint sensor 140 detects the fingerprint, for example, using a capacitive sensing method”, where the sensor 140 detects the fingerprint using capacitance readings via a capacitive sensing method, and Para. [0135], “After step s2, the controller 100 operates the fingerprint sensor 140 whose operation has been stopped, and monitors a signal output from the fingerprint sensor 140. When the fingerprint sensor 140 detects the fingerprint of the finger of the user in step s3, the controller 100 starts the user authentication based on the result of fingerprint detection by the fingerprint sensor 140 in step s4”, and Para. [0137], “In step s6, the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large based on the result of fingerprint detection obtained in step s3”, and Para. [0174], “the controller 100 determines the force with which the finger performs pressing by comparing the feature point acquired from the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 with the plurality of reference feature points corresponding to the force with which the finger performs pressing, but the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140. […] the controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is normal when the absolute value of the difference between the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 and the reference thickness is equal to or smaller than a threshold. The controller 100 determines that the force with which the finger performs pressing is large when a value obtained by subtracting the reference thickness from the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140 is a positive value, and the absolute value of the obtained value is greater than the threshold”, where the sensor 140 detects the fingerprint using capacitance readings via a capacitive sensing method, and where the controller 100 determines whether the force with which the finger performs pressing is large (i.e., exceeding the threshold) based on the result of fingerprint detection using the capacitance readings detected by the sensor 140, and where the force with which the finger performs pressing may be determined based on the thickness of the ridge line of the fingerprint detected by the fingerprint sensor 140, in which the thickness data is based on the result of fingerprint detection using the capacitance readings detected by the sensor 140, and Figs. 10 and 28-29, where the claimed first lateral face corresponds to the disclosed bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 when viewing the figures, in which the operation area 30 / fingerprint detection range 141 is positioned at the bottom edge 1d of the electronic apparatus 1 and in which the operator’s thumb 500 is shown to be positioned on the operation area 30 at the bottom edge 1d).
Conclusion
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798