DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, figures 6a, b, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that figures 9a-w should be included in species 1. This is found persuasive because these features are disclosed in figures 6a, b and figures 9a-w (see applicant’s remarks, page 7).
Claims 14-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/2/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold et al U.S 2020/0297497.
Claim 1: Arnold et al disclose a sacroiliac fusion system for treating a patient as best seen in figure 1, see paragraph 60, comprising: an implant body (plate 3) having a medial side configured to engage a sacrum 53, fig. 7 of a patient, a lateral side configured to engage an ilium 54 of the patient, a distal portion, and a proximal portion having an opening (it is noted that plate 3 side that receives screw 2 to engage ilium 54, see paragraphs 60-61) configured to receive a screw 2; and a screw having a distal portion and proximal portion, wherein the distal portion comprises a threaded portion (it is noted that screw 2 extends through plate 4 into the sacrum with the transverse pin 1 and screw 2 are threaded through hole in plate 3, see paragraph 61) configured to engage bone of the patient and the proximal portion is configured engage the opening in the proximal portion of the implant body.
Claims 2-3: Arnold et al disclose wherein the screw 2 engages both the ilium 54 and the sacrum 53 of the patient; wherein the screw is a first screw 2 configured to engage the sacrum, and wherein the system further comprises a second screw (transverse pin 1, fig. 8) configured to engage the ilium 54.
Claims 4-5: Arnold et al disclose wherein the proximal portion of the screw locks rigidly to the opening in the implant body (screw 2 is threaded into hole holding in plate 3 thus lock tightly, see paragraph 61); wherein the implant body is comprised of a porous structure configured for bony ingrowth (bone growth inducing material 31 which is porous structure, see paragraph 71).
Claims 6-7: Arnold et al disclose wherein the implant body has a window configured to contain bone graft (transverse pin 1 shown forming a window for bone growth inducing material 31-bone graft, see paragraph 71); wherein the implant body has an hourglass shaped cross-section comprising a narrow section configured to be on the superior and inferior sides of the implant, and a narrowest point configured to be located at a sacroiliac joint of the patient (it is noted that wider cross sections at each end and a narrower intermediate portion in fig. 1 and the narrowest point configured to be located at a SI joint of the patient, see figures 7-8).
Claims 8-10: Arnold et al disclose wherein the screw is a first screw 2, wherein the system further comprises a second screw (transverse pin 1 is considered as second screw )configured to engage the ilium 54 and the sacrum 53, and wherein the second screw( pin 1) is substantially perpendicular to a long axis of the implant body (see figures 1, 8); wherein the second screw comprises a threaded portion configured to engage the implant body (figures 1, 8, see paragraph 61); wherein a head of the second screw compresses the ilium 54 to the implant body (see figures 7-8, paragraphs 61, 70-71).
Claims 11-13: Arnold et al disclose wherein a head of the second screw compresses the sacrum to the implant body (it is noted that the pin 1 with head and threaded into hole of plate 3 to sacrum 53 with the compressing, see figures 1, 7, 8)
; wherein the head of the second screw (transverse pin 1 is as the second screw) compresses the ilium 54 to the sacrum 53; wherein the screw is a first screw 2, wherein the system further comprises a second screw configured to engage the ilium and the sacrum, and wherein the second screw (transverse pin 1) engages a long axis of the implant body at an acute angle (see figures 1, 8).
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771