Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/17/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 1-8, 10, 12, and 17 have been fully considered and are moot considering the recent amendments to the claims. The rejections of 5/15/2026 have been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards 35 USC 112(b) for claims 18 and 19 are unpersuasive because the applicant claims the configuration of the cap portion to be in two states, integrally formed and removably formed, and does not specify that a specific area of the cap portion is integrally formed while another part of the cap portion is removable.
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards the amendments of claim 1 with regards to an outer jacket being in a configuration to be in an unexpanded state is addressed in the rejection of claim 1 herein and is unpersuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards the wire 61 of Xiao not being sized to extend through a gap, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant has not recited that the tab is a thin flexible film and the examiner respectfully argues that the wire of Xiao comes off a tab portion of the heating layer of Xiao and connects through a gap as noted in the rejection of claim 5 below.
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards claim 9 where a cap portion is removably retained, etc.., the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim only requires that the cap is configured to be removably retained and the examiner argues that the prior art of US20240074003A1 Xiao in view of US20090014436A1 Toya as modified has a cap that is configured to be removably retained.
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards claim 9 that US20090014436A1 Toya does not teach a neck portion, the examiner added an annotated figure for clarity of record and the examiner argues that the art of Toya does teach a neck portion.
Regarding applicants’ arguments towards claim 9 that Toya does not teach a cap portion, the examiner argues that the interpretation of a cap portion with the disclosed structure of the amended claims of 8/17/2026 is broad and that Toya does teach a cap portion and the cap portions’ associated structure and is considered by the examiner to be a cap as noted in the rejections below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Figs. 5-7 include color
Figs. 8-13 are photographs
(2) Color. Color drawings are permitted in design applications. Where a design application contains color drawings, the application must include the number of sets of color drawings required by paragraph (a)(2)(ii) of this section and the specification must contain the reference required by paragraph (a)(2)(iii) of this section. On rare occasions, color drawings may be necessary as the only practical medium by which to disclose the subject matter sought to be patented in a utility patent application. The color drawings must be of sufficient quality such that all details in the drawings are reproducible in black and white in the printed patent. Color drawings are not permitted in international applications (see PCT Rule 11.13). The Office will accept color drawings in utility patent applications only after granting a petition filed under this paragraph explaining why the color drawings are necessary. Any such petition must include the following:
(i) The fee set forth in § 1.17(h);
(ii) One (1) set of color drawings if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three (3) sets of color drawings if not submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system; and
(iii) An amendment to the specification to insert (unless the specification contains or has been previously amended to contain) the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.[AltContent: rect]
(b) Photographs.—
(1) Black and white. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For example, photographs or photomicrographs of: electrophoresis gels, blots (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures, and, in a design patent application, ornamental effects, are acceptable. If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph. The photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent.
(2) Color photographs. Color photographs will be accepted in utility and design patent applications if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See paragraphs (a)(2) and (b)(1) of this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, and by dependency claim 19, the recitation of “wherein the cap portion is integrally formed with the main body portion of the outer jacket” is unclear how the cap can be removably retained as disclosed in claim 9 of which claim 18 depends and simultaneously integrally formed with the main body portion of the outer jacket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20240074003A1 Xiao.
Regarding claim 1,
Xiao teaches,
A personal warming device (hand warming device 100) comprising:
an inner core (fig. 5 area incased by front housing 11 and back housing 12 as resistant foam 51 and 52) having an internal cavity (fig. 6 area incased by front housing 11 and back housing 12 and resistant foam 51 and 52) and a front outer surface portion (fig. 6 area of resistant foam 51 and 52 facing front housing 11), a rear outer surface portion (fig. 6 area of resistant foam 51 and 52 facing back housing 12), and opposite first and second end outer surface portions (fig. 10, positioning windows 101 and the perimeter interface between front housing 11 and back housing 12) interconnecting the front and rear outer surface portions with an outer perimeter of the inner core extending about the front, rear, and end outer surface portions (fig. 10);
a power source (battery 22) housed in the cavity (fig. 3);
an outer jacket (heat conducting member 3 comprising 31 and 32 fig. 1) of a resilient, heat transmissible material (par. 60 teaches metal) and being sized so that the outer jacket has a snug fit on the inner core and encases the inner core therein (fig. 1 and 14) the outer jacket having an unexpanded configuration and being deformable to an expanded configuration to allow insertion of the inner core into the outer jacket, wherein the outer jacket is relaxed from the expanded configuration toward the unexpanded configuration so that the outer jacket engages and tightly grips the inner core to secure the outer jacket with the snug fit on the inner core (par. 20 teaches heat conducting member being made of aluminum, aluminum is a ductile material known to be expandable and deformable);
and a heating layer (heat generating layers 41 and 42 fig. 3, 5, and 7) between the inner core and the outer jacket (fig. 3, 5, and 7 par. 69-72), the heating layer being electrically connected to the power source to receive power therefrom (par. 59) and being sized and configured to extend about the outer perimeter of the inner core such that the heating layer wraps along the front surface portion, along the opposite first and second end surface portions, and along the rear surface portion for generating and distributing heat substantially entirely about the outer perimeter of the inner core and through the outer jacket (fig. 3, 5, and 7 par. 69-72).
Regarding claim 2,
Xiao teaches,
The personal warming device of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein the heating layer is a thin, flexible film that is wrapped about and secured on the outer surface portions of the inner core (par. 98).
Regarding claim 5,
Xiao teaches,
The personal warming device of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein the inner core includes a housing forming the internal cavity containing the power source and including the front, rear, and end outer surface portions (as discussed above), and the housing has a gap formed in one of the outer surface portions (wire receiving room 106 and wiring hole 105), and the heating layer comprises a thin, flexible film (par. 98 heat generating member 4 which includes heat generating members 41 and 42 and is taught as an electrothermal film) and includes a tab portion of the thin, flexible film (wire 61 par 100 and 101 and fig. 5 is taught to extend from heat generating members 41 and 42) sized to extend through the gap for being electrically connected to the power source (fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6,
Xiao teaches,
The personal warming device of claim 5 (as discussed above)
wherein the outer jacket extends over and covers the gap of the inner core (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7,
Xiao teaches,
The personal warming device of claim 5 (as discussed above)
wherein the tab portion extends from an upper edge of the heating layer centrally along the front outer surface portion (fig. 17).
Regarding claim 8,
Xiao teaches,
The personal warming device of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein the inner core further includes an upper surface (main control unit 21) having a user interface including an actuator (control switch 8) for controlling heating provided by the heating layer (par. 59), and the outer jacket includes a cap portion (upper most part of front housing 11 and back housing 12 see fig. 3) having an upper wall that extends over the upper surface of the inner core with the upper wall having a projection aligned with the actuator (figs. 1, 3, 5, and 10) for being pressed by a user for shifting the actuator (par. 63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240074003A1 Xiao in view of US8288693B2 Weiss.
Regarding claim 3,
Xiao teaches, The personal warming device of claim 1 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the heating layer includes resistive heating coil traces that extend about the outer perimeter of the inner core.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Weiss teaches a heating element (20) for heating user contact surfaces of a passenger compartment of a vehicle (abstract) which is in the same field of endeavor of personal heating as that of the instant application and Weiss also teaches the heating layer (heating element 20)includes resistive heating coil traces (heating elements 40) that are applicable to be used in place of the thin film heat generating members 41 and 42 of Xiao such that the heating elements 40 as taught by Weiss extend about the outer perimeter of the inner core because the heat generating members 41 and 42 of Xiao extend about the outer perimeter of the inner core (Xiao fig. 7).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Xiao with the teachings of Weiss for the purpose of to provide heat to a user contacted surface (claim 1 Weiss).
Regarding claim 4,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 3 (as discussed above)
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the resistive heating coil traces extend about the outer perimeter of the inner core in a serpentine pattern.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Weiss teaches wherein the resistive heating coil traces extend about the outer perimeter of the inner core in a serpentine pattern (figs. 1 and 3).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Xiao with the teachings of Weiss for the purpose of to provide heat to a user contacted surface (claim 1 Weiss).
Claim(s) 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240074003A1 Xiao in view of US20090014436A1 Toya.
Regarding claim 9,
Xiao teaches, except where struck through,
A personal warming device (hand warming device 100) comprising:
an inner core (fig. 5 area incased by front housing 11 and back housing 12 as resistant foam 51 and 52) having a lower heating portion including an internal cavity (fig. 6 area incased by front housing 11 and back housing 12 and resistant foam 51 and 52), outer side and end surfaces (fig. 6 area of resistant foam 51 and 52 facing back housing 12, area of resistant foam 51 and 52 facing front housing 11), and an upper control portion (upper portion of front housing 11 and back housing 12 of the hand warming device 100) including an upper surface forming a user interface region (upper portion of front housing 11 and back housing 12 of the hand warming device 100 contain main control unit 12 and control switch 8, led signal lamp 9, and interfaces 7) , the upper control portion having a smaller cross-section than the lower heating portion (fig. 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, and 10);
a power source (battery 22) housed in the internal cavity (fig. 3);
a heating layer (heat generating layers 41 and 42 fig. 3, 5, and 7) wrapped about the outer side and end surfaces of the lower heating portion (fig. 3, 5, and 7 par. 69-72) and operatively coupled to the power source (par. 59);
an outer jacket (heat conducting member 3 comprising 31 and 32 fig. 1) including a main body portion that extends about the heating layer wrapped about the lower heating portion (fig. 1 and 14),
.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: and a neck portion that extends from the main body portion, the neck portion having a smaller cross-section than the main body portion to extend about the upper control portion;
and a cap portion of the outer jacket having an interior surface extending about an interior space of the cap portion, the cap portion configured to be removably retained over and about the neck portion with the neck portion and upper control portion received in the interior spaceof the cap portion to selectively cover the user interface region and with the interior surface of the cap portion extending around and directly engaging an outer surface of the neck portion to form a seal with the neck portion of the outer jacket.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toya teaches a pocketable body warmer (abstract) with a front and back casing (3a and 3b) containing a battery (1 and 101) as the power source (par. 62) with a heater (heater 4) and a user interface (operation unit 16 fig. 11) and also teaches a neck portion (fig. 11 area above intermediate wall 32 see annotated fig. 11 below for clarity of record) that extends from the main body portion (major body portion 3a fig. 11),
the neck portion having a smaller cross-section than the main body portion (fig. 11, the examiner reminds the applicant In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ47 (CCPA 1966). The court held that the configuration of the claimed container was found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant) to extend about the upper control portion (fig. 3, 11);
and a cap portion (lid 3b and 103b including flange 41) of the outer jacket having an interior surface extending about an interior space of the cap portion, the cap portion configured to be removably retained over and about the neck portion to selectively cover the user interface region (par) and9, and 70) with the interior surface of the cap portion extending around and directly engaging an outer surface of the neck portion to, and form a seal with the neck portion of the outer jacket (par. 67, 69, and 70).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the upper portion of front housing 11 and back housing 12 of the hand warming device 100 of Xiao with the shape and design of Toya for the purpose to create a protective detachable lid (Toya par. 70).
Regarding claim 11,
The primary combination teaches, The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
Xiao teaches,
wherein the outer jacket is sized to fit about the lower heating portion of the inner core such that no air gaps are present between the outer jacket main body portion and the heating layer of the lower heating portion of the inner core for efficient heat transfer to the outer jacket and to a user's hand engaged thereon (par. 40).
Regarding claim 12,
The primary combination teaches, The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the cap portion has wall portions including outer side and end surfaces, with the cap portion being sized and configured so that the outer side and end surfaces thereof are flush with the outer side and end surfaces of the main body portion with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toya teaches
wherein the cap portion has wall portions including outer side and end surfaces (flange 40), with the cap portion being sized and configured so that the outer side and end surfaces thereof are substantially flush with the outer side and end surfaces of the main body portion (fig. 3) with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion (as discussed above).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the upper portion of front housing 11 and back housing 12 of the hand warming device 100 of Xiao with the shape and design of Toya for the purpose to create a protective detachable lid (Toya par. 70).
Regarding claim 13,
The primary combination teaches, The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the user interface region includes a user- actuatable switch device, and the outer jacket including the cap portion thereof are of a resilient material with the cap portion being configured to extend over and cover the user-actuatable switch device with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck so that a user can push on a portion of the cap portion aligned with the user-actuatable switch device for actuation thereof.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toya teaches
wherein the user interface region includes a user- actuatable switch device (operation unit 16 and press button switch 119), and the outer jacket including the cap portion (as discussed above) thereof are of a resilient material with the cap portion being configured to extend over and cover the user-actuatable switch device with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion (fig. 10) so that a user can push on a portion of the cap portion aligned with the user-actuatable switch device for actuation thereof (fig. 3, 4, 11, 16, 17, 19, and 20).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the upper portion of front housing 11 and back housing 12 of the hand warming device 100 of Xiao with the shape and design of Toya for the purpose to create a protective detachable lid (Toya par. 70).
Regarding claim 14,
The primary combination teaches, The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
While Xiao does teach wherein the user interface region includes a recharging socket (charging interface 7).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the user interface region includes a recharging socket, the cap portion configured to extend over and cover the recharging socket with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toya teaches wherein the user interface region includes a recharging socket (fig. 3 usb interface 15 and external power terminal 180 fig. 21), the cap portion (as discussed above and cap 18) configured to extend over and cover the recharging socket with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion (par. 96).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the upper portion of front housing 11 and back housing 12 of the hand warming device 100 of Xiao with the shape and design of Toya for the purpose to create a protective detachable lid (Toya par. 70) which provides protection for a USB charging terminal (Toya par. 96).
Regarding claim 15,
The primary combination teaches, The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
While Xiao does teach wherein the user interface region includes at least one LED (led signal lamp 9).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach:.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toya teaches wherein the user interface region includes at least one LED (display 17 includes led 17a par. 98), and the outer jacket including the cap portion thereof is of a light transmissive material (par. 98 teaches “However, either the lid can directly expose the LED from the display aperture to the outside for display, or the lid in entirety or in part can be made of a translucent plastic material to permeate the LED emission for outside display”), the cap portion configured to extend over and cover the at least one LED with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion so that light from the at least one LED is visible through the cap portion (as discussed above) (par. 98 teaches “However, either the lid can directly expose the LED from the display aperture to the outside for display, or the lid in entirety or in part can be made of a translucent plastic material to permeate the LED emission for outside display”).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Xiao with the cover of Toya for the purpose to allow an outside display of the LED light (Toya par. 98).
Regarding claim 16,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 15 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the cap portion has a reduced thickness region that extends over the at least one LED to enhance visibility of the at least one LED with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toya teaches wherein the cap portion has a reduced thickness region that extends over the at least one LED to enhance visibility of the at least one LED with the cap portion removably retained over and about the neck portion (par. 98 teaches “However… the lid in entirety or in part can be made of a translucent plastic material to permeate the LED emission for outside display” which is indicative that the entirety or part of the lid made of translucent plastic material is of a sufficient thickness to allow light to pass through).
T Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Xiao with the cover of Toya for the purpose to allow an outside display of the LED light (Toya par. 98).
Regarding claim 18,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
Xiao teaches, wherein the cap portion is integrally formed with the main body portion of the outer jacket (see 112 above upper most part of front housing 11 and back housing 12 see fig. 3 are integrally formed).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240074003A1 Xiao in view of US20090014436A1 Toya in view of US 20190208815 A1 Thorsen.
Regarding claim 19,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 18 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the cap portion is connected to the main body portion of the outer jacket via a living hinge.
Thorsen teaches a known technique of applying a live hinge (par 34) to contain an openable and closable cap or door (36) (par. 34) for a device (apparatus 10) that is applicable to the base device of the lid 3b and 103b including flange 41 of Toya.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known the living hinge of door 36 of Thorsen to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as one of many techniques for retaining a cap or door (Thorsen par. 34). The results would have been predictable for the purpose of retaining a cap or door to a base apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a live hinge (par 34) to contain an openable and closable cap or door (36) (par. 34) for a device (apparatus 10) that is applicable to the base device of the lid 3b and 103b including flange 41 of Toya.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240074003A1 Xiao in view of US20090014436A1 Toya in view of US 20190069349 A1 Habata.
Regarding claim 10,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the cap portion is sized to form a friction fit with the neck portion to provide a substantially fluid-tight seal in compliance with an Ingress Protection (IP) rating of IPX7 with the neck portion with the cap portion retained over and about the neck portion.
Habata teaches a “comparable” device where it is known to: provide a water tight interface between caps 5a and 5b and heating module housing 3 (par. 24).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the improvement taught by Habata would have been capable of being applied to Xiao and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have applied the known improvement technique of a wherein the cap portion is sized to form a friction fit with the neck portion to provide a substantially fluid-tight seal in compliance with an Ingress Protection (IP) rating of IPX7 with the neck portion with the cap portion retained over and about the neck portion of Habata in the same way to the (lid 3b and 103b including flange 41)of Toya which is used in combination with Xiao (as discussed above) and the results would have been predictable because Habata teaches that the use of a design to create fluid tight caps where water tight and water proof meet the limitation of having an IPX7.
Regarding claim 20,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 9 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Xiao does not teach: wherein the outer jacket including the cap portion is of a silicone material.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Habata teaches a water tight interface between caps 5a and 5b and heating module housing 3 (par. 24) to cover a heater (PTC heating unit 11).
Habata also teaches wherein the outer jacket including the cap portion is of a silicone material (par. 24).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Xiao with the end cap design and material of Habata for the purpose of to create a waterproof cap (Habata par. 24).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240074003A1 Xiao in view of US20090014436A1 Toya in view of US 20240090579 A1 XIE.
Regarding claim 17,
The primary combination teaches The personal warming device of claim 16 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the primary combination does not teach: wherein the upper control portion includes a plurality of spaced annular ribs extending thereabout with the neck portion of the outer jacket being sized to be tightly engaged thereagainst for forming a seal therebetween.
XIE teaches a “comparable” device of a hand held heating unit (vaporizer 100) for delivering heat to a smokable material (liquid as taught in par. 4 and 5) with an internal battery (battery cell 210) connected to a heating element (40) and a controller (220) for controlling the heating element (par. 103 and 104) with water proof seals (first convex rib 76 and second convex rib 75) to seal the liquid in the liquid storage chamber 12 and further teaches that the seal design contains a plurality of spaced annular ribs extending thereabout with the neck portion of the outer jacket being sized to be tightly engaged thereagainst for forming a seal therebetween fig. 7 and par. 119-120 and 148 to 149).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the improvement taught by XIE would have been capable of being applied to Xiao and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art for sealing a space from liquid intrusion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have applied the known improvement technique wherein the upper control portion includes a plurality of spaced annular ribs extending thereabout with the neck portion of the outer jacket being sized to be tightly engaged thereagainst for forming a seal therebetween of XIE in the same way to the (lid 3b and 103b including flange 41)of Toya which is used in combination with Xiao (as discussed above)and the results would have been predictable because XIE teaches that the use of the first convex rib 76 and second convex rib 75 to seal liquid intrusion from a gap (par. 149).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761