DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention II (claims 7-12) in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner did not provide the CPC or USPC class schemes for the inventions. Regarding claims 13-20, this is not found persuasive because while the classification of inventions is a factor in considering the search for invention(s) it is not the only factor. Each of the inventions would require different search strategies and queries. The inventions would be classifiable in different CPC schemes, such as: invention I G01T1/26, invention II G21C17/0002, and invention III G01T3/00. While these inventions are classifiable in different schemes, they would also require different search strategies and queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-6 have been included by the Examiner in the Examination due to realized similarities after starting search.
Claims 13-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Claim Objections
The Claims are objected to because each element or step of the claim is NOT separated by a line indentation (See 37 CFR 1.75). Appropriate correction is required. For example, “a second conductive wire” (claim 1) should be separated by a line indentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Due to the passive language of the claims, it is not clear of what is being required by the claims and what is merely intended result and/or intended use. The Examiner recommends amending the claims to actively claim the desired required steps of the method of claims 7-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by First et al. (US 2022/0365233).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-6, First teaches a detector (100) comprising:
a first conductive wire (wire connected to 118, Fig. 1) and a second conductive wire (wire connected to 120, Fig. 1);
a resistance measurement device (110 and 112) connected to a first end of the first conductive wire and to a first end of the second conductive wire (Fig. 1);
wherein the detector is formed of a material that experiences Radiation Induced Conductivity (RIC) when exposed to radiation ([0022]; [0024]; [0025]).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, First teaches the material is boron or boron nitride ([0022]; [0024]).
Regarding claims 7 and 9-10, First teaches a method of operating a detector comprising a first conductive wire, a second conductive wire, and a resistance measurement device connected to a first end of the first conductive wire and to a first end of the second conductive wire (Fig. 1; [0022]; [0024]; [0025]), the method comprising: placing the resistance measurement device of the detector in a radiation field to measure electrical resistivity of the detector in the radiation field to gauge a strength of the radiation field ([0025]); wherein the detector is formed of a material that experiences Radiation Induced Conductivity (RIC) when exposed to radiation ([0022]; [0024]; [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over First et al. (US 2022/0365233).
Regarding claims 11-12, First is silent regarding calibration. However, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use a standard source and calibrate a detector for the benefit of increasing the accuracy of the detector. Therefore. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to include calibrating the detector using a known field strength and measuring a detector electrical resistivity for the benefit of increasing accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Imaizumi et al. (US 2023/0213668) teaches a neutron beam detecting device (Abstract) with a housing sensor portion (20) and a connection cable (22).
Doty et al. (US 12,034,422) teaches using boron as a resistive sensing material (col. 3, lines 33-35).
/CAROLYN FIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2884