DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to applicant’s amendment received on 12/8/2025, all requested changes to the claims have been entered.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/8/2025 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over BULZACKI et al. (WO 2016/191856) in view of Jiang et al. (“Object Detection and Counting with Low Quality Videos”, Stanford University, 2016 ).
With respect to claim 1, BULZACKI et al. teach one or more cameras configured to capture a plurality of betting areas arranged in a two- dimensional orientation on a gaming table from diagonally above ([00222] discloses that the camera is elevated angle; Fig. 5 and 6) and generate an image including a plurality of gaming chips wagered in a betting area of the plurality of betting areas (Fig. 5 and 6, [00133], [00144]-[0146] discloses that several chip stacks are imaged at various 2D coordinates on the table);
a learning model configured to recognize a position, a type, or a number of gaming chips wagered on a first place or on a second place on the gaming table by a player by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning ([00133], [00138] discloses the use of machine learning and depth and coordinates are considered by the data at [00137]-[0146]);
a device configured to acquire teacher data for generating or learning the learning model by capturing the images (The camera at [00144) is suitable for and configured to acquire image data, which is what the machine learning at [00138] would be trained on); and
a learning device configured to train the learning model using the teacher data, wherein the teacher data includes a plurality of images in which illumination conditions and chip hiding states are different from each other ([00132]-[00134], [00142)-[0144] disclose that images with
different illumination conditions and obstructions are used in the calibration process, which can use machine learning).
BULZACKI et al. do not teach expressly that a learning model configured to recognize a position, a type, or a number of gaming chips wagered on a first place or on a second place on the gaming table by a player by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning without performing image processing including color adjustment and/or noise removal;
Jiang et al. teach a learning model configured to recognize a number of object by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning without performing image processing including color adjustment and/or noise removal; (Abstract, The models are integrated with low resolution webcam videos and evaluated with an object counting agent; 1. Introduction, The application we are looking into is enabling robot to
count objects in a comparatively fixed scene, such as counting number of people in certain store or number of cars in certain parking lot; 3.2 Faster R-CNN, 3.2. Faster RCNN R-CNN is a neural network architecture for object detection, with region proposal network (RPN) which extracts object candidates from raw image and have them processed by convolutional networks).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to count number of object in raw image in the method of BULZACKI et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that so that conveniently input raw image without pre-process..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jiang et al. with BULZACKI et al.to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, BULZACKI et al. teach that the teacher data includes a training image showing a single unstacked gaming chip (See [00249], The system may also be trained to differentiate between new versions of chips from obsolete versions of chips, in order to do that system should be able to identify each chip).
With respect to claim 3, BULZACKI et al. teach that the teacher data includes a training image showing a second plurality of gaming chips stacked on top of each other (See [00231]).
With respect to claim 5, BULZACKI et al. teach that the learning model is configured to recognize the position, the type, and the number of the gaming chips wagered on both the first near place and the second place (para [00060], Machine-learning techniques (e.g., random forests) may be utilized and refined such that visual features representative of different chip values are readily identified, despite variations between different facilities, lighting conditions and chip types.; para [00133] and [00137]-[00138]).
With respect to claim 6, BULZACKI et al. teach one or more cameras configured to capture a plurality of betting areas arranged in a two- dimensional orientation on a gaming table from diagonally above ([00222] discloses that the camera is elevated angle; Fig. 5 and 6) and generate an image including a plurality of gaming chips wagered in a betting area of the plurality of betting areas (Fig. 5 and 6, [00133], [00144]-[0146] discloses that several chip stacks are imaged at various 2D coordinates on the table);
a learning model configured to recognize a position, a type, or a number of gaming chips wagered on a first place or on a second place on the gaming table by a player by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning ([00133], [00138] discloses the use of machine learning and depth and coordinates are considered by the data at [00137]-[0146]);
a device configured to acquire teacher data for generating or learning the learning model by capturing the images (The camera at [00144) is suitable for and configured to acquire image data, which is what the machine learning at [00138] would be trained on); and
a learning device configured to train the learning model using the teacher data, wherein the teacher data includes an image showing a stack of a plurality of gaming chips having a specific color that differs from each other on a side (para [00226]-[00227] and [00245])]).
BULZACKI et al. do not teach expressly that a learning model configured to recognize a position, a type, or a number of gaming chips wagered on a first place or on a second place on the gaming table by a player by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning without performing image processing including color adjustment and/or noise removal;
Jiang et al. teach a learning model configured to recognize a number of object by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning without performing image processing including color adjustment and/or noise removal; (Abstract, The models are integrated with low resolution webcam videos and evaluated with an object counting agent; 1. Introduction, The application we are looking into is enabling robot to
count objects in a comparatively fixed scene, such as counting number of people in certain store or number of cars in certain parking lot; 3.2 Faster R-CNN, 3.2. Faster RCNN R-CNN is a neural network architecture for object detection, with region proposal network (RPN) which extracts object candidates from raw image and have them processed by convolutional networks).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to count number of object in raw image in the method of BULZACKI et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that so that conveniently input raw image without pre-process..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jiang et al. with BULZACKI et al.to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
With respect to claim 7, BULZACKI et al. teach that the teacher data includes a training image showing a single unstacked gaming chip (See [00249], The system may also be trained to differentiate between new versions of chips from obsolete versions of chips, in order to do that system should be able to identify each chip).
With respect to claim 8, BULZACKI et al. teach that the teacher data includes a training image showing a second plurality of gaming chips stacked on top of each other (See [00231]).
With respect to claim 10, BULZACKI et al. teach that the learning model is configured to recognize the position, the type, and the number of the gaming chips wagered on both the first place and the second place (para [00060], Machine-learning techniques (e.g., random forests) may be utilized and refined such that visual features representative of different chip values are readily identified, despite variations between different facilities, lighting conditions and chip types.; para [00133] and [00137]-[00138]).
With respect to claim 11, BULZACKI et al. teach one or more cameras configured to capture a plurality of betting areas arranged in a two- dimensional orientation on a gaming table from diagonally above ([00222] discloses that the camera is elevated angle; Fig. 5 and 6) and generate an image including a plurality of gaming chips wagered in a betting area of the plurality of betting areas (Fig. 5 and 6, [00133], [00144]-[0146] discloses that several chip stacks are imaged at various 2D coordinates on the table);
a learning model configured to recognize a position, a type, or a number of gaming chips wagered on a first place or on a second place on the gaming table by a player by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning ([00133], [00138] discloses the use of machine learning and depth and coordinates are considered by the data at [00137]-[0146]);
a device configured to acquire teacher data for generating or learning the learning model by capturing the images (The camera at [00144) is suitable for and configured to acquire image data, which is what the machine learning at [00138] would be trained on); and
a learning device configured to train the learning model using the teacher data, wherein the teacher data includes an image of a plurality of gaming chips stacked out of alignment with each other (para [0061], and [00231]).
BULZACKI et al. do not teach expressly that a learning model configured to recognize a position, a type, or a number of gaming chips wagered on a first place or on a second place on the gaming table by a player by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning without performing image processing including color adjustment and/or noise removal;
Jiang et al. teach a learning model configured to recognize a number of object by analyzing one image using trained artificial intelligence or deep learning without performing image processing including color adjustment and/or noise removal; (Abstract, The models are integrated with low resolution webcam videos and evaluated with an object counting agent; 1. Introduction, The application we are looking into is enabling robot to
count objects in a comparatively fixed scene, such as counting number of people in certain store or number of cars in certain parking lot; 3.2 Faster R-CNN, 3.2. Faster RCNN R-CNN is a neural network architecture for object detection, with region proposal network (RPN) which extracts object candidates from raw image and have them processed by convolutional networks).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to count number of object in raw image in the method of BULZACKI et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that so that conveniently input raw image without pre-process..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jiang et al. with BULZACKI et al.to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
With respect to claim 12, BULZACKI et al. teach that the teacher data includes a training image showing a single unstacked gaming chip (See [00249], The system may also be trained to differentiate between new versions of chips from obsolete versions of chips, in order to do that system should be able to identify each chip).
With respect to claim 13, BULZACKI et al. teach that the teacher data includes a training image showing a second plurality of gaming chips stacked on top of each other (See [00231]).
With respect to claim 15, BULZACKI et al. teach that the learning model is configured to recognize the position, the type, and the number of the gaming chips wagered on both the first place and the second place (para [00060], Machine-learning techniques (e.g., random forests) may be utilized and refined such that visual features representative of different chip values are readily identified, despite variations between different facilities, lighting conditions and chip types.; para [00133] and [00137]-[00138]).
Claim 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over BULZACKI et al. (WO 2016/191856) in view of Jiang et al. (“Object Detection and Counting with Low Quality Videos”, Stanford University, 2016 ) and in further view of ZHONG (CN 110678908).
BULZACKI et al. and Jiang et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 4 respectively depend.
BULZACKI et al. and Jiang et al.do not teach expressly that the teacher data includes a training image showing a gaming chip that is partially hidden due to a blind spot of the one or more cameras.
ZHONG teaches the teacher data includes a training image showing a gaming chip that is partially hidden due to a blind spot of the one or more cameras (page 8 last paragraph).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to train data with part of data is hidden in the method of BULZACKI et al. and Jiang et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that so that accurately identify chip later.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine ZHONG with BULZACKI et al. and Jiang et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
With respect to claim 9, claim 9 is rejected same reason as claim 4 above.
With respect to claim 14, claim 9 is rejected same reason as claim 4 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667