DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species B in the reply filed on April 20, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden and FIGS. 8A-8B should be classified under species B rather than species A.
This is not found persuasive because the inventions are independent or distinct for the reasons previously given and there would be a serious burden on the examiner if restriction were not required because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their separate classification and differing field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper.
FIGS. 8A-8B both are drawn to species A as they both have connector 4a and not an exterior extension board 4b.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 13, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 20, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “self-emission members” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are separately objected to because FIG. 7A-7H fail to include trace layer 3.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, and 14-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A non-exhaustive list of the minor informalities in the claims include:
Claim 1:
Lines 5-6: “each of the tile” should be “tiles” or “one or more tiles” or similar language.
Lines 4 and 7-9, “one or ones” is not idiomatic English.
Line 11: “corresponding of” should be, “corresponding one of”.
Line 11: “electrically connect” should be “electrically connected to” or similar language.
Claim 4 line 4, “through exterior extension board” should be, “through the exterior extension board”.
Claim 8, “further includes” should be, “further including”.
Claims 8, 10, and 14-15, “one or ones” is not idiomatic English.
Claim 10, “include a plural” is not idiomatic English.
Claim 10, “electrically connecting” should be “electrically connected to” or similar language.
Claim 16, “as thin film” is not idiomatic English.
The remaining claims are objected to by reason of their dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites, “which electrically either connects or disconnects the trace layer”. The meaning of this limitation is unclear. It is also not readily apparent if this limitation further limits the subject matter of the claim in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Claim 15 recites, “the pattern layer(s)” and, “the patterned layer”. These limitations lack antecedent basis (as claim 15 is not dependent upon claim 14).
These limitations renders the claims each indefinite, and accordingly, claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication 2024/0290927 to Willem et al. (hereinafter Willem).
Claim 1
Willem (FIG. 1-2) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
one or more first substrates (120, paragraph 120); wherein each of the first substrates (120) defines a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
one or more tiles (110; paragraph 121) disposed on the first surface(s) of one or ones of the first substrates (120) in a first direction along the first surface thereof; wherein each of the tile (110) includes a second substrate (170; paragraph 121) and a patterned layer (160), and the patterned layer (160) is formed on the second substrate (170) and away from one or ones of the first substrates (120);
a trace layer (130) arranged between one or ones of the tiles (110) and a corresponding one of the first substrates (120) and electrically connected to the patterned layer (160);
and one or more connection components (for 155, paragraph 119) disposed at the second surface of the corresponding of the first substrates (120) and electrically connect the trace layer (130).
Claim 3
Willem discloses the electrical device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a corresponding one of the connection components (for 155) includes an exterior extension board (155 or 140).
Claim 8
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further includes one or more cover members (150) covering at least part of one or ones of the connection components (for 155).
Claim 10
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein one or ones of the tiles (110) further include a plural of self-emission members (paragraph 119) electrically connecting the patterned layer (160).
Claim 12
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the trace layer (130) is arranged on the corresponding one of the first substrates (120).
Claim 14
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein one or ones of the first substrates (120) defines a conductive layer (for 155) formed on the second face thereof, which electrically either connects or disconnects the trace layer (130).
Claim 15
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the trace layer (FIG. 1: 130, paragraph 132, 145) electrically connects the patterned layer(s)(FIG. 2: 215) of one or ones of the tiles (FIG. 2: 200) by one or more top jumper structure (FIG. 2: 225), each of the top jumper structures (225) is provided with a top through hole (225) and a top conductive member (251), and the top conductive member (251) is disposed in the top through hole (225) and electrically connects the patterned layer (215) with the trace layer (130; paragraph 149-151).
Claim 16
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least a partial region of either one or both of the patterned layer and the trace layer are defined as thin film (paragraph 142).
Claim 17
Willem discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 16, wherein the partial region defined as thin film of either one or both of the patterned layer and the trace layer has a thickness no greater than 1/4 mil (paragraph 115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willem in view of JP Publication 2008-76930 to Ueda et al. (hereinafter Ueda; see also machine translation).
Willem discloses the electrical device as claimed in claim 3, as shown above.
Willem does not expressly disclose one or more conjunctions electrically connecting the exterior extension board to the trace layer, wherein the conjunction is provided with a first through hole through the first substrate, a second through hole through exterior extension board, and a conductive member disposed in the first through hole and the second through hole, as recited in claim 4.
Ueda (FIG. 2) teaches one or more conjunctions (10) electrically connecting an exterior extension board (8) to a trace layer (6), wherein the conjunction (10) is provided with a first through hole (40) through a first substrate (4), a second through hole (30) through exterior extension board (8), and a conductive member (10) disposed in the first through hole (40) and the second through hole (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ueda with Willem to incorporate a conductive member and through holes as taught by Ueda in the structure taught by Willem, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification allows for both a mechanical and electrical connection, preventing peeling, and increased reliability and yield rate (Ueda “ADVANTAGEOUS-EFFECTS”).
Conclusion
/NATHAN MILAKOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847