Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Specification The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1- 3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu (US 2014/0023893) . Regarding claim 1 , Shimizu discloses a battery module assembly, comprising: a plurality of battery cells (14, see Fig. 2)3 ; a first plate (partition wall 28) positioned between a group of the plurality of battery cells (as depicted in Fig. 3) , the first plate having a protruding joint part (52, see annotated Fig. 3 below) ; a second plate (26b, see annotated Fig. 3 below) provided on an outer side of an outermost battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, and configured to cover a side portion of the outermost battery cell (as depicted in Fig. 3 where end plate 26b covers a side of the outermost battery cell) ; and a top cover (18, see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured to cover an upper portion of each of the plurality of battery cells (cover covers each battery cell) , the top cover including an upper clamp (56 and the structure around it, as depicted in Fig. 3) coupled to the protruding joint part of the first plate (see Fig. 7 where protruding part 52 and cover/upper clamp 18/56 are coupled to each other) . Annotated Fig. 3 Regarding claim 2 , Shimizu further discloses the protruding joint part (52) protrudes from one point of the first plate to surround a portion of the plurality of battery cells (see annotated Fig. 7 below in which the protruding parts protrude outwardly from a center such that they at least partially surround the perimeter of the battery) . Regarding claim 3 , Shimizu further discloses the upper clamp includes a first upper coupling part coupled to the protruding joint part (as depicted in annotated Fig. 7 below) , and a second upper coupling part (54) coupled to the second plate (as depicted in annotated Fig. 2 below where coupling part attaches the upper clamp/cover to the end plate 26a) . Annotated Fig. 7 Annotated Fig. 2 Regarding claim 6 , Shimizu further discloses the protruding joint part (52) 3 is formed as a plurality of protruding joint parts in a center of the first plate (see annotated Fig. 7 above which illustrates multiple protruding joint parts in a center of the first plate) . Regarding claim 7 , Shimizu further discloses the protruding joint part is formed at an upper end of the first plate, and adjacent protruding joint parts are formed in different directions (see annotated Fig. 7 above which illustrates two protruding joint parts that are facing opposite directions) . Regarding claim 8 , Shimizu further discloses a bus bar (62), configured to electrically connect adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells (as described in paragraph 62) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 2014/0023893) in view of Ju (US 2015/0194709) . Regarding claim 9, Shimizu teaches a partition plate that separates battery cells along with a busbar that connects the battery cells. However, Shimizu does not teach that the bus bar electrically connects the plurality of battery cells with the first plate positioned between the group of the plurality of battery cells. Ju also discloses a battery module (see abstract). Ju, like Shimizu, teaches partition plates (200) that are situated between battery cells (100). Ju goes on to teach that each partition plate includes sensing wires that are electrically connected to the busbars (see paragraph 46 which discloses that sensing wires are placed within the partition plate and are electrically connected to the busbar). Ju teaches such a configuration in order to detect the voltage of each cell (paragraph 17). As such, it would have been obvious to modify the partition plates of Shimizu with the partition plate of Ju which includes sensing wires such that the busbars are electrically connected to the partition plate, in order to detect the voltage of each battery cell. Claim (s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 2014/0023893) in view of Kim (US 2022/0094022) . Regarding claims 4 -5, Shimizu teaches a structure to cover the battery and secure with an upper clamp that attaches itself to the cover, but is silent regarding a similar structure on the bottom side of the battery module. More specifically, Shimizu does not teach: a lower clamp coupled to the protruding joint part of the first plate , and wherein the lower clamp includes a first lower coupling part coupled to the protruding joint part and a second lower coupling part coupled to the second plate. Kim also discloses a battery module (see abstract). Kim, like Shimizu, teaches a mechanical fastening configuration such that the cover (40) is securely attached to the side walls (20) as well as the end plates (30) by utilizing a clamping mechanism (51, see paragraph 95 which discloses that utilizing the fastening method on the top further assists in maintaining distance between cells during swelling). Kim goes on to teach that such a structure is provided on both the top and bottom of the battery module (see clamps 51 and 52 in Fig. 1). Kim teaches such a structure in order to maintain the shape/size of the battery during periods of swelling (paragraph 95). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the clamping mechanism of Shimizu to both the top and the bottom of the battery module of Shimizu, as suggested by Kim, in order to provide a more stable structure and predictable size of the battery during swelling. Relevant Art US 9,553,289 - Discloses a battery module with partition plate 250 that comprises a protruding part 450 that clamps on to an upper plate/structure 400 that at least partially covers each cell. This reference teaches a conduit that attaches to the partition plate rather than a lid. US 2021/0402863 - Discloses a battery module where the partition beam is fixed to the bottom cover and the top cover of the battery module but is silent regarding the claimed protruding joint part. EP 4024584 A1 - Discloses multiple battery modules (200) that are separated from each other by partition walls (110) and the partition walls provide support for the cover (400). This reference, however, does not teach a protruding joint part that couples with clamp of the cover. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW J MERKLING whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9813 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Thursday 8am-6pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Basia Ridley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1453 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725