DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 12/04/2023 and 01/03/2024, have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claim 10] The claim recites the limitation of “the one or more additional fluid delivery lumens” in the 3rd line of the claim. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since it is unclear if claim 10 was intended to depend directly from claim 9 (providing proper antecedent basis), or if a typographical error was made in the claim language. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that claim 10 should depend directly from claim 9 (rather than claim 4).
[Claims 11-13] The claims are rejected based upon their dependency from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oliver et al. (USPN 6,958,040).
[Claims 1 and 2] Oliver teaches a system (figure 1, item 10) for treating a vascular region (column 3, lines 11-13), the system comprising:
an elongate catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) having a distal end region (figure 1, items 15/18);
wherein an inner lumen (figure 2, item 51), having a non-circular cross-sectional shape (figure 2), is formed in the elongate catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12);
wherein a fluid delivery lumen (figure 2, item 30) is formed in the elongate catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) and positioned adjacent to the inner lumen (figure 2, item 51);
a treatment core (figure 3, item 34) disposed within (figure 8) the inner lumen (figure 2, item 51), the treatment core (figure 3, item 34) including one or more ultrasound transducers (figures 3 and 8, items 40/42) disposed adjacent to the distal end region (figure 1, items 15/18) of the elongate catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) (column 10, lines 44-56), the one or more ultrasound transducers (figures 3 and 8, items 40/42) including a proximal-most ultrasound transducer (figures 3, 5, and 6; column 8, lines 6-16); and
wherein the fluid delivery lumen (figure 2, item 30) is adapted such that fluid passing through the fluid delivery lumen (figure 2, item 30) exits (via openings 58) the fluid delivery lumen (figure 2, item 30) at a position proximal to the proximal-most ultrasound transducer (figures 3, 5, and 6; column 8, lines 6-16) (figure 8; claims 6 and 13; “a fluid delivery lumen formed in the, tubular body, the fluid delivery lumen having at least one outlet proximal to the ultrasound radiating members”).
[Claim 3] Oliver teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 3 depends. In addition, Oliver discloses the inner lumen (figure 2, item 51) has a central treatment region (figure 8; space occupied by inner core 34) and one or more coolant regions (figure 8, item 44) disposed about the central treatment region (figure 8; space occupied by inner core 34) (figure 8; column 11, lines 39-56).
[Claims 4-6 and 9-13] Oliver teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 4-6 and 9-13 depend. Oliver further discloses one or more additional fluid delivery lumens (figure 2, item 30; Oliver teaches at least 3 fluid delivery lumens) that are formed in the elongate catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) and are positioned adjacent to the inner lumen (figure 2, item 51); wherein each fluid delivery lumen (figure 2, item 30) includes an opening (figure 8, item 58) that is formed in a side wall of the elongate catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) and in fluid communication (figure 8) with the one or more fluid delivery lumens (figure 2, item 30), such that the openings (figure 8, item 58) are side-facing/end-facing openings (figure 8; column 10, lines 57-65) (the examiner notes that the terms “side-facing” and “end-facing” have not been explicitly defined; as such, the openings taught by Oliver can be considered to be either “side-facing” or “end-facing,” depending on the perspective of the user).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, and 14-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver et al. (USPN 6,958,040), in view of Anand et al. (PGPub 2019/0160254).
[Claims 7 and 8] Oliver teaches the limitations of claim 4, upon which claims 7 and 8 depend. Oliver does not specifically disclose the opening is a non-circular shape and/or oval.
However, Anand teaches a drug delivery system (figure 32a, item 500) comprising openings (figure 32a, item 504) for a fluid delivery lumen which are oval in shape (paragraph [0283]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the shape of the opening taught by Oliver, to be an oval shape, as taught by Anand, since it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, Anand teaches such a shape can be useful in generating homogeneous directed infusion (Anand; paragraph [0283]).
[Claims 14 and 18] Oliver teaches an ultrasonic catheter system (figure 1, item 10), comprising:
a multi-lumen (figure 2) catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) having a central lumen (figure 2, item 51) and a plurality of fluid delivery lumens (figure 2, item 30);
an ultrasound catheter core (figure 3, item 34) disposed within (figure 8) the central lumen (figure 2, item 51) (column 10, lines 44-56), the ultrasound catheter core (figure 3, item 34) including one or more ultrasound transducers (figures 3 and 8, items 40/42) including a proximal-most ultrasound transducer (figures 3, 5, and 6; column 8, lines 6-16);
wherein the central lumen (figure 2, item 51) is configured to allow for a cooling media to pass therethrough (via 44) when the ultrasound catheter core (figure 3, item 34) is disposed within the central lumen (figure 2, item 51) (figure 8; column 11, lines 39-56);
wherein the plurality of fluid delivery lumens (figure 2, item 30) include a first fluid delivery lumen (figure 8; any one of item 30 can be considered the “first” delivery lumen) that extends along the multi-lumen catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) to a fluid delivery lumen distal end (at openings 58) that is disposed proximal of the proximal-most ultrasound transducer (figures 3, 5, and 6; column 8, lines 6-16) (figure 8; claims 6 and 13; “a fluid delivery lumen formed in the, tubular body, the fluid delivery lumen having at least one outlet proximal to the ultrasound radiating members”); and
wherein an opening (figure 8, item 58) is formed in the multi-lumen catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) at the fluid delivery lumen distal end (at openings 58), the opening (figure 8, item 58) being in fluid communication (figure 8) with the first fluid delivery lumen (figure 8; any one of item 30 can be considered the “first” delivery lumen) (figure 8; column 10, lines 57-65).
Oliver does not specifically disclose the opening is a non-circular opening.
However, Anand teaches a drug delivery system (figure 32a, item 500) comprising openings (figure 32a, item 504) for a fluid delivery lumen which are oval in shape (paragraph [0283]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the shape of the opening taught by Oliver, to be an oval shape, as taught by Anand, since it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further, Anand teaches such a shape can be useful in generating homogeneous directed infusion (Anand; paragraph [0283]).
[Claims 15-17] Oliver and Anand teach the limitations of claim 14, upon which claims 15-17 depend. In addition, Oliver discloses the opening (figure 8, item 58) is formed in a side wall of the multi-lumen catheter shaft (figure 1, item 12) and is side-facing/end-facing (figure 8; column 10, lines 57-65) (the examiner notes that the terms “side-facing” and “end-facing” have not been explicitly defined; as such, the opening taught by Oliver can be considered to be either “side-facing” or “end-facing,” depending on the perspective of the user).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 6,958,040. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the recited instant application claims are found in the recited patent claims. For example, all of the elements of claim 1 of the instant application can be found in claim 6 of the patent. The difference between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 6 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 6 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the "generic” invention of claim 1 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 6 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 6 of the patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method recited in independent claim 19.
The closest prior art of record is Oliver et al. (USPN 6,958,040) and Anand et al. (PGPub 2019/0160254).
The prior art of record fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a method comprising delivering a drug to a treatment site using an ultrasonic catheter system that includes a multi-lumen catheter shaft having a central lumen and a fluid delivery lumen, the fluid delivery lumen terminating at a distal end of the multi- lumen catheter shaft, and an ultrasound catheter core disposable within the central lumen, the ultrasound catheter core including a proximal-most ultrasound transducer, the method comprising:
advancing the multi-lumen catheter shaft to a treatment site;
advancing the ultrasound catheter core through the central lumen until the ultrasound catheter core reaches the distal end of the multi-lumen catheter shaft;
passing a drug solution through the fluid delivery lumen; and
activating the ultrasound catheter core.
Specifically, regarding independent claim 19, the prior art to Oliver and Anand, either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious the specific method, structural, and/or functional features as claimed;
wherein the method further comprises:
withdrawing the multi-lumen catheter shaft proximally such that the distal end of the multi-lumen catheter shaft is proximal of the proximal-most ultrasound transducer.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 03/18/2026