DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority. As noted before, a retrieval attempt was made by the office on 2/27/24 but was unsuccessful. Under the PDX program, applicant bears the ultimate responsibility for ensuring that a copy of the foreign application is received by the Office from the participating foreign intellectual property office, or a certified copy of the foreign priority application is filed, within the time period specified in 37 CFR 1.55(g)(1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, beginning page 9, that Adamovsky merely detect shock waves based on absorption spectroscopy and not spatial beam displacement. Specifically, Adamovsky does not disclose detecting shock wave position based on a spatial displacement of the light beam at the receiver caused by refraction.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 24 and 31.
Applicant argues, beginning page 11, that the two-dimensional photodetector (Adamovsky) is not the same as two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors for position detection. Further, that Adamovsky fails to teach a two-dimensional array of discrete photodetectors such that the location of the beam can be identified with the photodetector which the beam strikes.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The photodetector is a CCD array 1616 (col. 18, lines 37-56); the light sensitive area of the photodetector can have a two-dimensional form and be, for instance, in the shape of a square or circle (col. 3, lines 53-58). Adamovsky teaches a photodetector array capable of detecting the presence and position of the light beam via pixels of the photodetector(s): 1024x1024 CCD imaging array with 13µm x 13µm pixels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adamovsky (U8935107).
Claim 1: Adamovsky discloses a shock wave detection system (Title) comprising: a light beam emitter (light source 102, Fig. 1) for emitting a light beam oblique to a direction of an air flow through which a shock wave may propagate (Fig. 1B, configuration 122, shows the oblique direction of the pencil beam to the direction of flow. Col. 8, lines 49-58) ; a light beam receiver (photodetector 112) for receiving the light beam that has passed through the air flow, the light beam receiver having two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors configured to detect a receiving position of the light beam in two dimensions (The photodetector is a CCD array 1616 (col. 18, lines 37-56); the light sensitive area of the photodetector can have a two-dimensional form and be, for instance, in the shape of a square or circle (col. 3, lines 53-58). Adamovsky teaches a photodetector array capable of detecting the presence and position of the light beam via pixels of the photodetector(s): 1024x1024 CCD imaging array with 13µm x 13µm pixels); and
an analyzer (processor 114) configured to detect a presence and a position of the shock wave based on a change in a receiving position of the light beam by the light beam receiver (Fig. 13 shows the beam propagation. Col. 16, line 61- col. 17, line 12); the change in the receiving position being a spatial displacement of the light beam at the light beam receiver caused by refraction of the light beam as it passes through the shock wave (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 11, 24 and 31).
Claim 2: Adamovsky discloses the shock wave detection system according to claim 1, wherein the analyzer (processor 114) is configured to detect a time change in the position of the shock wave through which the light beam passes, the time change in the position of the shock wave being detected based on a time change in the receiving position of the light beam, the time change in the receiving position of the light beam corresponding to the time change in the position of the shock wave (Fig. 13 shows the beam propagation. Col. 16, line 61- col. 17, line 12: FIG. 13 depicts the result of modeling and computational analysis of a Gaussian beam propagation through inhomogeneities with a shock-like profile using the Finite-Difference Time-Domain (FDTD) method as a computational tool. The FDTD method is a method of computationally analyzing the time-dependent Maxwell equations.).
Claim 3: Adamovsky discloses the shock wave detection system according to claim 1, wherein the light beam emitter emits the light beam consisting of a laser light having a wavelength of not less than 740 nm and less than 780 nm (col. 18, lines 46-56: 769.3nm and 769.9nm wavelengths), and wherein the light beam receiver has the two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors (The photodetector is a CCD array 1616 (col. 18, lines 37-56); the light sensitive area of the photodetector can have a two-dimensional form and be, for instance, in the shape of a square or circle (col. 3, lines 53-58). Adamovsky teaches a photodetector array capable of detecting the presence and position of the light beam via pixels of the photodetector(s): 1024x1024 CCD imaging array with 13µm x 13µm pixels.) for receiving the laser light so that a time change in a receiving position of the laser light can be detected as the change in the receiving position of the light beam (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 24 and 31.).
Claim 4: Adamovsky discloses an aircraft (aerospace vehicle, end col. 6- col. 7, line 12) comprising the shock wave detection system according to claim 1.
Claim 5: Adamovsky discloses a method of detecting a shock wave (Title) comprising: emitting a light beam oblique to a direction of an air flow through which the shock wave may propagate (a light source 102 emits a light beam oblique to the direction of air flow, Fig. 1A, 1B); receiving, at a light beam receiver having two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors, the light beam that has passed through the air flow (The photodetector is a CCD array 1616 (col. 18, lines 37-56); the light sensitive area of the photodetector can have a two-dimensional form and be, for instance, in the shape of a square or circle (col. 3, lines 53-58). Adamovsky teaches a photodetector array capable of detecting the presence and position of the light beam via pixels of the photodetector(s): 1024x1024 CCD imaging array with 13µm x 13µm pixels); and detecting a presence and a position of the shock wave based on a change in a receiving position of the light beam, the change in the receiving position being a spatial displacement of the light beam at the light beam receiver caused by refraction of the light beam as it passes through the shock wave (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 11, 24 and 31).
Claim 6: Adamovsky discloses the shock wave detection system according to claim 2, wherein the light beam emitter emits the light beam consisting of a laser light having a wavelength of not less than 740 nm and less than 780 nm (col. 18, lines 46-56: 769.3nm and 769.9nm wavelengths), and wherein the light beam receiver has the two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors for receiving the laser light so that a time change in a receiving position of the laser light can be detected as the change in the receiving position of the light beam (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 11, 24 and 31).
Claim 7: Adamovsky discloses an aircraft (aerospace vehicle, end col. 6- col. 7, line 12) comprising the shock wave detection system according to claim 2.
Claim 8: Adamovsky discloses an aircraft (aerospace vehicle, end col. 6- col. 7, line 12) comprising the shock wave detection system according to claim 3.
Claim 9: Adamovsky discloses an aircraft (aerospace vehicle, end col. 6- col. 7, line 12) comprising the shock wave detection system according to claim 6.
Claim 10: Adamovsky discloses the method of detecting the shock wave according to claim 5, wherein a time change in the position of the shock wave through which the light beam passes is detected based on a time change in the receiving position of the light beam, the time change in the receiving position of the light beam corresponding to the time change in the position of the shock wave (col. 16, lines 32-48 discusses Fig. 11 and the movement of the pencil beam due to the shock, thus a change over time).
Claim 11: Adamovsky discloses the method of detecting the shock wave according to claim 5, wherein the light beam emitter emits the light beam consisting of a laser light having a wavelength of not less than 740 nm and less than 780 nm (col. 18, lines 46-56: 769.3nm and 769.9nm wavelengths), and wherein the light beam receiver has the two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors for receiving the laser light so that a time change in a receiving position of the laser light can be detected as the change in the receiving position of the light beam (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 11, 24 and 31).
Claim 12: Adamovsky discloses the method of detecting the shock wave according to claim 10, wherein the light beam emitter emits the light beam consisting of a laser light having a wavelength of not less than 740 nm and less than 780 nm (col. 18, lines 46-56: 769.3nm and 769.9nm wavelengths), and wherein the light beam receiver has the two-dimensionally arrayed photodetectors for receiving the laser light so that a time change in a receiving position of the laser light can be detected as the change in the receiving position of the light beam (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 11, 24 and 31).
Claim 13: Adamovsky discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor unit (system 400 including pressure sensor 404) disposed near a flow path of the air flow, the sensor unit being configured to measure at least one parameter on which refractive indices of the air flow and the shock wave depend (col. 10, line 36- col. 11, line3 ; col. 16, line 18-31), wherein the analyzer is configured to detect the presence and the position of the shock wave based on the change in the receiving position of the light beam and the at least one parameter measured by the sensor unit (pressure, col. 10, line 44-col. 11, line 3), and wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a temperature of the airflow, a pressure of the air flow (pressure sensor 404), a humidity of the air flow, or a concentration of carbon dioxide contained in the air flow.
Claim 14: Adamovsky discloses the shock wave detection system according to claim 13, wherein the light beam emitter is configured to emit the light beam as a laser light having a plurality of superimposed wavelengths (col. 9, lines 50-55: initial pencil beam can contain two or more wavelengths which can be produces simultaneously), and the analyzer is configured to detect the position of the shock wave based on a receiving position of the laser light at a selected wavelength from the plurality of superimposed wavelengths (Fig. 13 shows the beam propagation. Col. 16, line 61- col. 17, line 12).
Claim 16: Adamovsky discloses the device of claim 13, wherein the analyzer is configured to calculate the position of the shock wave based on a law of refraction using a refractive index value of the shock wave with respect to the air flow, the refractive index value being determined based on the at least one parameter measured by the sensor unit (pressure sensor 404, col. 10, line 44-col. 11, line 3; col. 15, lines 56- col. 16, line 17).
Claim 17: Adamovsky discloses the shock wave detection system according to claim 1, wherein the analyzer is configured to output the position of the shock wave to an engine control unit configured to control a rotation speed of an engine based on the position of the shock wave (col. 6, lines 65- col. 7, line 3; col. 27, lines 1-33).
Claim 20: Adamovsky discloses a shock wave detection system (Title) comprising: a light beam emitter (light source 102, Fig. 1) for emitting a light beam oblique to a direction of an air flow through which a shock wave may propagate (Fig. 1B, configuration 122, shows the oblique direction of the pencil beam to the direction of flow. Col. 8, lines 49-58); a light beam receiver (photodetector 112) for receiving the light beam that has passed through the air flow (The photodetector is a CCD array 1616 (col. 18, lines 37-56); the light sensitive area of the photodetector can have a two-dimensional form and be, for instance, in the shape of a square or circle (col. 3, lines 53-58). Adamovsky teaches a photodetector array capable of detecting the presence and position of the light beam via pixels of the photodetector(s): 1024x1024 CCD imaging array with 13µm x 13µm pixels);
a sensor unit (system 400 including pressure sensor 404) configured to measure at least one parameter (pressure) on which refractive indices of the air flow and the shock wave depend (col. 10, line 36- col. 11, line3 ; col. 16, line 18-31); and an analyzer (processor 114) configured to detect a presence and a position of the shock wave based on a change in a receiving position of the light beam by the light beam receiver and the at least one parameter measured by the sensor unit (pressure sensor 404, col. 10, line 44-col. 11, line 3; col. 15, lines 56- col. 16, line 17); the change in the receiving position being a spatial displacement of the light beam at the light beam receiver caused by refraction of the light beam as it passes through the shock wave (Adamovsky teaches detecting presence or position of a shock by processing data from the photodetector (col. 3, lines 8-10). The interaction of the beam and the shock wave results in movement of the beam detectable at the photodetector. The displacement (and thereby position) of the beam is assessed based on the brightest pixels detected at the photodetector wherein the brightest pixels correspond to the light beam and can be differentiated from noise. The displacement of the beam due to the shock is illustrated in at least Figs. 11, 24 and 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamovsky in view of Mackin et al. (US 10472060)
Claim 15: Adamovsky teaches the system of claim 13. Adamovsky teaches that the shocks are one type of density inhomogeneity that can occur when an object moves through the medium faster than the speed at which waves (e.g., sound or pressure waves in air) propagate in the medium. Shocks are regions in the medium characterized by sudden changes in pressure, temperature, and density. Col. 1, lines 1-12; (pressure sensor 404, col. 10, line 44-col. 11, line 3).
Adamovsky fails to teach wherein the analyzer is configured to refer to a database storing conversion information for converting the receiving position of the light beam to the position of the shock wave for each value of the at least one parameter, to detect the position of the shock wave.
However, Mackin teaches the use of a database 660 including a look-up table to determine a position of a shock wave with the position calculator 622 to account for changing conditions (col. 22, lines 42-54; col. 26, lines 27-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a database, as taught by Mackin, with the device of Adamovsky in order to reduce computation time by having a pre-populated table of values and mitigate effects of a shock wave (Mackin, col. 1, lines 19-21).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamovsky in view of Mackin further in view of Limage et al. (US3643676)
Claim 18: Adamovsky teaches the shock wave detection system according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the analyzer is configured to output the position of the shock wave to an engine control unit configured to control a flow rate of the air flow through a bypass of an engine based on the position of the shock wave.
However, Mackin teaches controlling a flight condition (air intake) of an aircraft in response to a detected shock wave (the flight condition manager 602 may obtain an engine speed, an amount of thrust, an amount of air intake, etc. of an engine. The example flight condition manager 602 may calculate an optimal parameter of the actuator. For example, the flight condition manager 602 may calculate an optimal engine speed, an optimal thrust parameter, etc. based on a position of a shock wave, a strength of a shock wave, a flight condition of the aircraft, etc. In some instances, the flight condition manager 602 obtains a position of a control surface. For example, the flight condition manager 602 may obtain a position of the slats 110, 112, the flaps 118, 120, the elevators 128, 130, etc. Col. 21, lines 1-14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to control an air flow rate to the engine (air intake) based on the position of the shock wave, as taught by Mackin, with the device of Adamovsky in order to adjust a parameter of one or more engines of the aircraft to mitigate an effect of a shock wave (Mackin, col. 1, lines 19-21).
Adamovsky in view of Mackin fails to teach a bypass.
However, Limage teaches an intake bypass system (Fig. 1, col. 6, lines 43-53; col. 8, lines 34-37) including a controllable air intake to control flow rate through the bypass (col. 6, lines 43-53).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to control a flow rate of the air flow through a bypass of an engine based on the position of the shock wave, as taught by Limage, with the device of Adamovsky in view of Mackin in order to provide the required bleed capacity for decreasing the corrected engine fluid flow when needed for normal shock stability. (Limage col. 7, lines 17-20).
Claim 19: Adamovsky in view of Mackin teaches the shock wave detection system according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the light beam emitter and the light beam receiver are disposed on a wall surface of a flow path through which the air flow flows, the flow path being an air intake of an engine of a supersonic aircraft.
However, Limage teaches an intake bypass system (Fig. 1, col. 6, lines 43-53; col. 8, lines 34-37) including a controllable air intake to control flow rate (col. 6, lines 43-53).
There are a limited number of places which a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could place the device of claim 1 onto an aircraft considering the requirements of operation. The emitter and receiver must be positioned to interact with aerodynamic flow (Adamovsky, Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place the sensor of claim 1 in a position to effectively detect a shock wave relative to the airplane, including a position known to be exposed to air flow such as an air intake of an engine, as taught by Limage.
Conclusion
/JEAN F MORELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 4/1/26
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855