DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to the reply filed 25 August 2025, which was in reply to the non-final action, dated 28 May 2025.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 and 7-19 are pending. Claims 1, 7, 10, 15 and 19 have been amended and claims 4-6 have been canceled.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-19 (pgs. 2-9, Action), applicant has amended the independent claims to require “controlling the particular work vehicle as the route recording work vehicle to record the new route”. The examiner finds this step along with the claims as a whole, is sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Thus, under Step 2A Prong two (see MPEP 2106), since the claims as a whole are found to integrate the judicial exception into practical application, they are eligible at pathway B, thereby concluding the eligibility analysis. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-3 and 7-19 has been canceled. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claims 4-6 has been rendered moot because of their cancelation.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (pgs. 10-37, Action), applicant has incorporated the subject matter of claims 4-6 and 10 into the independent claims. This amendment necessitated additional searching and consideration of additional grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. Accordingly, the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are: claims 1, 7, 10, 11, 17 and 19 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II; claims 2 and 3 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Hasebe; claim 8 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Tomita; claim 9 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Tomita and Brinker; claims 12, 13 and 18 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Iwase II; claim 14 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Iwase II and Nishii; and claims 15 and 16 in view of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Iwase II and Kosa, as discussed below. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 4-6 has been rendered moot by their cancelation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 1, 7, 10, 11, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0116938 to Sun et al. (hereafter Sun) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0103527 to Iwase, U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0189687 to Dix et al. (hereafter Dix) and U.S. Patent Publication Number 20230114806 to Nishii et al. (hereafter Nishii II).
As per claim 1, Sun discloses [a] method comprising: registering a plurality of work vehicles with a work vehicle system (see at least Sun, [0042] disclosing that the workflow management server may include a vehicle schedule module (shown as 425 in FIG. 4) to identify or select one or more autonomous vehicle from a fleet of autonomous vehicles so that one of the selected autonomous vehicle(s) can be used to perform the task or are capable of performing the task ); ... (1) ...
selecting a particular work vehicle, from among the plurality of work vehicles which have been registered with the work vehicle system (see at least Sun, [0042]) ... (2) ... ; ... (3) ... , ... (4) ... . But Sun does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Nishii II:
(1) displaying a plurality of status information windows that correspond to the plurality of work vehicles and each include status information related to a respective one of the plurality of work vehicles (see at least Nishii II, Fig. 2, [0098] disclosing that the controller 10 determines whether or not the work vehicle data of the combine harvester 2 is registered in the management terminal 3, and if not registered, the display control unit 20 displays a first vehicle registration screen 30 on the display unit 13 as shown in FIG. 2, so as to perform the registering operation of the vehicle data as an initial registration. The display control unit 20, on the first vehicle registration screen 30, selectably displays a plurality of vehicle type items 31 where the model number and the maximum mowed strip count are different with each vehicle type of the combine harvester 2. The vehicle type item 31 identifiably displays the model number and the maximum mowed strip count by characters or signs. The display control unit 20 also displays a fix button 32 to fix the selecting operation of the vehicle type item 31 on the first vehicle registration screen 30); and
(4) wherein each of plurality of status information windows functions as a button, which when pressed, causes additional information regarding the respective one of the plurality of work vehicles to be displayed (see at least Nishii II, Fig. 2, [0098]) ... .
But, neither Sun, nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Iwase:
(2) to use as a route recording work vehicle to record a new route (see at least Iwase, [0069] disclosing that the route generation processing part 214 can generate and store the traveling route R of the work vehicle 10, based on pieces of the setting information set by the vehicle setting processing part 211, the field setting processing part 212, and the work setting processing part 213; [0070] disclosing that the route generation processing part 214 generates the traveling route R (see FIG. 3), based on the work start position S and the work end position G registered in field settings. The traveling route R is not limited to the route illustrated in FIG. 3) ... . But, neither Sun, Iwase nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Dix:
(3) controlling the particular work vehicle as the route recording work vehicle to record the new route (see at least Dix, [0053] disclosing that he method 300 includes recording, with the computing system, a travel path of the work vehicle across the field based on data captured by a location sensor. For instance, as described above, the computing system 112 may record the travel path of the work vehicle 10 across the field based on data (e.g., coordinates) captured by and received from the location sensor 110);
Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II are analogous art to claim 1 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, to provide the benefit of displaying a plurality of status information windows that correspond to the plurality of work vehicles and each include status information related to a respective one of the plurality of work vehicles, where each of plurality of status information windows functions as a button, which when pressed, causes additional information regarding the respective one of the plurality of work vehicles to be displayed, as disclosed in Nishii II, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). And further modify the method, as disclosed in Sun as modified by Nishii II to provide the benefit of using a route recording work vehicle to record a new route, as disclosed in Iwase, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would further provide the benefit of improving the safety of the work vehicle (see at least Iwase, [0005]). And still further modify the method, as disclosed in Sun as modified by Nishii II and further modified by Iwase, to provide the benefit of controlling the particular work vehicle as the route recording work vehicle to record the new route as disclosed in Dix, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of more accurately guiding the work vehicle through the field.
As per claim 7, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Nishii II further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the additional information includes at least one of a map that shows a location of the one of the plurality of work vehicles or a live stream from one or more cameras attached to the one of the plurality of work vehicles (see at least Nishii II, Fig. 25; [0174] disclosing that depending on the progress of the headland straight work, the displaying of the area where the headland straight work was performed within the unmown area 191d is updated to the displaying of the already mowed area 191c. Further, while the combine harvester 2 is performing the headland straight work; on the headland straight work screen 190, the route shift button 194 and the headland reference line update button 191g are unselectable; [0175]; [0176] disclosing that In the image field 198a, the display control unit 20 displays an image that is taken by a camera or other imaging device installed in the combine harvester 2 and that shows the status of the headland straight work. For example, FIG. 25 shows an example of displaying, in the image field 198a, the combine harvester 2's front and rear images taken by the cameras installed in the front and rear of the combine harvester 2).
As per claim 10, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Dix further discloses the following limitation:
saving the new route as a registered route in the work vehicle system (see at least Dix, [0028] disclosing that the location data captured by the location sensor 110 may be transmitted to a computing system of the work vehicle 10 and/or the implement 12 (e.g., in the form coordinates) and stored within the computing system's memory for subsequent processing and/or analysis. Thus, the location data received from the location sensor 110 may be used to geo-locate the vehicle 10 within the field, thereby allowing for recording of the travel path of the vehicle/implement 10/12 across the field).
As per claim 11, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 10, as shown above. Dix further discloses the following limitations:
receiving an instruction to start recording the new route (see at least Dix, [0053] disclosing that the method 300 includes recording, with the computing system, a travel path of the work vehicle across the field based on data captured by a location sensor. For instance, as described above, the computing system 112 may record the travel path of the work vehicle 10 across the field based on data (e.g., coordinates) captured by and received from the location sensor 110; [0056] disclosing that steps of the control logic 200 and the method 300 are performed by the computing system 112 upon loading and executing software code or instructions which are tangibly stored on a tangible computer readable medium, such as on a magnetic medium, e.g., a computer hard drive, an optical medium, e.g., an optical disc, solid-state memory, e.g., flash memory); and
saving the new route as a registered route in the work vehicle system (see at least Dix, [0028]; [0056]).
As per claim 17, the combination of Sun, Iwase and Dix discloses all of the limitations of claim 10, as shown above. Dix further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the controlling the route recording work vehicle to record the new route includes manually, remotely, or autonomously controlling the route recording work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0029] disclosing that the system 100 includes a computing system 112 communicatively coupled to one or more components of the work vehicle 10, the implement 12, and/or the system 100 to allow the operation of such components to be electronically or automatically controlled by the computing system 112; [0049] disclosing that the control logic 200 includes controlling the operation of a work vehicle such that the vehicle automatically travels along the accessed swath line(s). Specifically, in several embodiments, the computing system 112 is configured to control the operation of the vehicle/implement 10/12 across the field during a subsequent agricultural operation such that the vehicle/implement 10/12 automatically travels along the swath line(s) accessed at (214)).
As per claim 19, similar to claim 1, Sun discloses [a] work vehicle system (see at least Sun, Abstract) comprising:
one or more processors (see at least Sun, [0032] disclosing that the vehicle control computer 150 may include at least one data processor 170); and
a user interface including an input to receive one or more inputs from a user (see at least Sun, [0026] disclosing that vehicle control computer 150 can be in data communication with a plurality of vehicle subsystems 140, all of which can be resident in the autonomous vehicle 105. A vehicle subsystem interface 160 is provided to facilitate data communication between the vehicle control computer 150 and the plurality of vehicle subsystems 140), and
a display (see at least Sun, [0051] disclosing that the workflow ticket module may display a prompt on a screen associated with the vehicle control computer, where the prompt indicates to the driver that he or she can select an option to execute or perform the task associated with the ticket (e.g., by clicking on the “execute” or “perform” button on the prompt)),
wherein the one or more processors are operatively connected to the input and the display (see at least Sun, [0032] disclosing that many or all of the functions of the autonomous vehicle 105 can be controlled by the vehicle control computer 150. The vehicle control computer 150 may include at least one data processor 170 (which can include at least one microprocessor) that executes processing instructions stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as the data storage device 175 or memory. The non-transitory computer readable program includes code that when executed by the at least one data processor 170, causes the processor 170 to perform the operations associated with the vehicle control computer 150, the vehicle subsystem interface 160);
the one or more processors are configured or programed to: register a plurality of work vehicles with a work vehicle system (see at least Sun, [0042]); ... (1) ... ;
select, based on the one or more inputs received by the input, a particular work vehicle, from among the plurality of work vehicles which have been registered with the work vehicle system (see at least Sun, [0042]) ... (2) ... ; ... (3) ... , ... (4) ... . But Sun does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Nishii II:
(1) control the display to display a plurality of status information windows that correspond to the plurality of work vehicles and each include status information related to a respective one of the plurality of work vehicles (see at least Nishii II, Fig. 2, [0098]); and
(4) control the display to display additional information regarding the respective one of the plurality of working vehicles when one of the plurality of status information windows, each of which functions as a button, is pressed using the input (see at least Nishii II, Fig. 2, [0098]) ... .
But, neither Sun, nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Iwase:
(2) to use as a route recording work vehicle to record a new route (see at least Iwase, [0069]; [0070]) ... . But, neither Sun, Iwase nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Dix:
(3) control the particular work vehicle as the route recording work vehicle to record the new route (see at least Dix, [0053]);
Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II are analogous art to claim 19 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, to provide the benefit of displaying a plurality of status information windows that correspond to the plurality of work vehicles and each include status information related to a respective one of the plurality of work vehicles, where each of plurality of status information windows functions as a button, and displaying additional information regarding the respective one of the plurality of working vehicles when one of the plurality of status information windows, each of which functions as a button, is pressed using the input, as disclosed in Nishii II, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). And further modify the method, as disclosed in Sun as modified by Nishii II to provide the benefit of using a route recording work vehicle to record a new route, as disclosed in Iwase, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would further provide the benefit of improving the safety of the work vehicle (see at least Iwase, [0005]). And still further modify the method, as disclosed in Sun as modified by Nishii II and further modified by Iwase, to provide the benefit of controlling the particular work vehicle as the route recording work vehicle to record the new route as disclosed in Dix, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of more accurately guiding the work vehicle through the field.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0145366 to Hasebe.
As per claim 2, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Iwase further disclose the following limitation:
receiving an identifier that corresponds to the respective work vehicle (see at least Iwase, [0076] disclosing that the display processing part 216 causes the operation display part 23 to display various pieces of information. For example, the display processing part 216 causes the operation display part 23 to display an operation screen for registering work vehicle information <interpreted as an identifier that corresponds the work vehicle>, field information, work information, and the like, a setting screen D1 (see FIGS. 5A and 5B) for setting a layout of image display columns L1 that display a captured image of each of the plurality of cameras 15 installed on the work vehicle 10, a traveling state screen D2 (see FIG. 6A to FIG. 8B) that displays the captured images, a traveling selection screen D3 (see FIG. 9) for selecting a traveling stop instruction to stop traveling of the work vehicle 10, or a traveling continuation instruction to continue traveling) ... . But, neither Sun, Iwase, Dix nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Hasebe:
receiving a confirmation to register the respective work vehicle in the work vehicle system (see at least Hasebe, [0048] disclosing that in step S101 (Fig. 3), the controller 11 of the operation management apparatus 10 acquires performance data D1 indicating a usage record of the plurality of vehicles B1, . . . , BN that travel along a predetermined route <interpreted as receiving confirmation to register the respective work vehicle>. Specifically, the controller 11 retrieves from the memory 12 the performance data D1, which includes data indicating the average number of users on board the plurality of vehicles B1, . . . , BN in each time slot during a tally period).
Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Hasebe are analogous art to claim 2 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii II, [0010]). Hasebe relates to an operation management apparatus according to the present disclosure includes a controller configured to acquire performance data indicating a usage record of a plurality of vehicles that travel along a predetermined route (see at least Hasebe, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix and Nishii II, to provide the benefit of receiving a confirmation to register the respective work vehicle in the work vehicle system, as disclosed in Hasebe, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving the management of the plurality of vehicles.
As per claim 3, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Hasebe discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, as shown above. Hasebe further discloses the following limitation:
providing the plurality of work vehicles access to the work vehicle system when the plurality of work vehicles have been registered with the work vehicle system (see at least Hasebe, [0048] ). Sun further discloses the following limitation:
receiving status information from the plurality of work vehicles (see at least Sun, [0060] disclosing that at the generating operation 302, the workflow management server generates a record that describes a task to be performed with a vehicle. The record includes a first set of information that may include a starting location and a destination of a route on which the vehicle is to perform the task. At the adding operation 304, the workflow management server adds to the record a second set of information that indicate resources to perform the task).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0064863 to Tomita et al. (hereafter Tomita), now U.S. Patent Number 11,300,976.
As per claim 8, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Iwase further discloses the following limitation:
displaying an agricultural field map including a position of the particular work vehicle and an area surrounding the particular work vehicle (see at least Iwase, [0076]). But, nether Sun, Iwase, Dix nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Tomita:
wherein the agricultural field map is displayed when the particular work vehicle is selected from among the plurality of work vehicles to use as the route recording work (see at least Tomita, [0089] disclosing that FIG. 7 schematically illustrates the mapping of the mesh line set, which is an example of the travel route element set, onto the area CA to be worked. Using the work width of the harvester 1 as a mesh interval, the mesh route element calculating unit 601 calculates a travel route element set so as to completely cover the area CA to be worked with mesh lines. As described above, the area CA to be worked as an area on the inner side of the outer peripheral area SA, which is formed by making three to four circular passes, at the work width, from the border of the field toward the inside of the field; [0182] disclosing that the content of the field information, work plan manual, and so on sent from the management center KS, the items input through the communication terminal 4).
Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Tomita are analogous art to claim 8 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). Tomita relates to a work vehicle automatic traveling system for a plurality of work vehicles that carry out work travel cooperatively in a work site while exchanging data (see at least Tomita, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix and Nishii II, to provide the benefit of having the agricultural field map be displayed when the particular work vehicle is selected from among the plurality of work vehicles to use as the route recording work, as disclosed in Tomita, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving the system capability of responding to the changes in the work environment (see at least Tomita, [0010]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Tomita as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0189689 to Brinker et al. (hereafter Brinker).
As per claim 9, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Tomita discloses all of the limitations of claim 8, as shown above. But, nether Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II nor Tomita explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Brinker:
wherein the agricultural field map includes a location of one or more agricultural items (see at least Brinker, [0064] disclosing that FIGS. 7, 9, and 10 show operative row positions of a set of operative rows of an implement associated with separate locations of the field of crops, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure (e.g., see methods 400 and 500).; [0067] disclosing that the row position map 704 can be combined with a yield map 904 (e.g., see FIG. 9). The advantage of the row position map or the row position map combined with the yield map over the yield map alone is that the row position map provides additional information on the factors for the yields represented in a yield map. The row position map can also be combined with several types of agriculture informational maps such as a soil quality map, a soil moisture map, a soil pH-level map, or a crop or carbon density map).
Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Tomita and Brinker are analogous art to claim 9 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). Tomita relates to a work vehicle automatic traveling system for a plurality of work vehicles that carry out work travel cooperatively in a work site while exchanging data (see at least Tomita, Abstract). Brinker to mapping parameters of agricultural implements in a digital geographic map (see at least Brinker, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Tomita, to provide the benefit of having the agricultural field map include a location of one or more agricultural items, as disclosed in Brinker, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of allowing farmers to determine areas of concern in the field and improve farming practices or at least change field-management accordingly (see at least Brinker, [0004]).
Claims 12, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Iwase Dix and Nishii II as applied to claims 11 and 17 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0004390 to Iwase et al. (hereafter Iwase II).
As per claim 12, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 11, as shown above. But, neither Sun, Iwase, Dix nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Iwase II:
wherein when the instruction to start recording the new route is received, a position of the route recording work vehicle is saved as a location of a start point of the new route (see at least Iwase II, [0084] disclosing that the route generation processing unit 214 generates the travel route R, which is a route for causing the work vehicle 10 to automatically travel, on the basis of the aforementioned setting information. The travel route R is, for example, a work route from the work start position S to the work end position G (see FIG. 3). The travel route R illustrated in FIG. 3 is a route for causing the work vehicle 10 to reciprocate in parallel in the work area of the field F. The route generation processing unit 214 can generate and store the travel route R for the work vehicle 10 on the basis of the set information set in each of the vehicle setting processing unit 211, the field setting processing unit 212, and the work setting processing unit 213.); and
when the instruction to stop recording the new route is received, a position of the route recording work vehicle is saved as a location of an end point of the new route (see at least Iwase II, [0084]).
Sun, Iwase, Dix and Iwase II are analogous art to claim 12 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). Iwase II relates to an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to perform automatic traveling (see at least Iwase II, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix and Nishii II, to provide the benefit of, when the instruction to start recording the new route is received, having a position of the route recording work vehicle be saved as a location of a start point of the new route, and when the instruction to stop recording the new route is received, having a position of the route recording work vehicle be saved as a location of an end point of the new route, as disclosed in Iwase II, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving the safe operation of the work vehicle (see at least Iwase II, [0005]).
As per claim 13, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Iwase II discloses all of the limitations of claim 12, as shown above. Iwase II further discloses the following limitations:
displaying an agricultural field map including a position of the route recording work vehicle, an area surrounding the route recording work vehicle, and the location of the start point of the new route when the instruction to start recording the new route is received (see at least Iwase II, [0066] disclosing that the operator can also operate the operation unit to provide the work starting instruction, the travel stop instruction, and the like to the work vehicle 10. Furthermore, at a location away from the work vehicle 10, the operator can comprehend a travel status of the work vehicle 10, which travels automatically along the travel route R in the farm field F, from a travel trajectory that is displayed on the operation terminal 20; [0082] disclosing that the position and the shape of the field F can be acquired on the basis of a polygon shape acquired by operation of the operation terminal 20 while displaying a map on the operation terminal 20 and designation of a plurality of points on the map by the operator. An area specified by the acquired position and shape of the field F is an area (travel area) in which the work vehicle 10 can travel ; [0084]; [0087] disclosing that FIG. 8B illustrates a state in which a selected route of “Route 002” is selected for No. 1 field by the operator. Detailed information on the travel route is displayed by pressing a detailed button of the travel route in the route list A1 ); and
displaying an agricultural field map including a position of the route recording work vehicle, an area surrounding the route recording work vehicle, and the location of the end point when the instruction to stop recording the new route is received (see at least Iwase II, [0066]; [0082]; [0084]; [0087]).
As per claim 18, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 17, as shown above. Iwase further discloses the following limitations:
displaying ... an agricultural field map ... when the new route is being recorded (see at least Iwase, [0076] display processing part 216 causes the operation display part 23 to display various pieces of information. For example, the display processing part 216 causes the operation display part 23 to display an operation screen for registering work vehicle information, field information, work information, and the like, a setting screen D1 (see FIGS. 5A and 5B) for setting a layout of image display columns L1 that display a captured image of each of the plurality of cameras 15 installed on the work vehicle 10, a traveling state screen D2 (see FIG. 6A to FIG. 8B) that displays the captured images, a traveling selection screen D3 (see FIG. 9) for selecting a traveling stop instruction to stop traveling of the work vehicle 10, or a traveling continuation instruction to continue traveling) ... ,
the live stream is from one or more cameras attached to the route recording work vehicle (see at least Iwase, [0076]). But, neither Sun, Iwase, Dix nor Nishii II explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Iwase II:
displaying at least one of an agricultural field map ... when the new route is being recorded (see at least Iwase II, [0101] disclosing that display processing unit 219 displays, on the operation terminal 20, the captured image captured by the camera 15 while the work vehicle 10 is traveling automatically. Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 10A, the display processing unit 219 displays a camera image display column C1, which displays the captured image captured by each camera 15, on a travel status screen P3, which displays a state of automatic traveling of the work vehicle 10. The travel status screen P3 displays the current status of the work vehicle 10 during automatic traveling in real time. The operator can grasp the current traveling status and the current working status of the work vehicle 10 on the travel status screen P3; [0102] disclosing that display processing unit 219 displays each image display column L1 in a camera image display column C1 in accordance with preset layout. FIG. 10A illustrates an example of the travel status screen P3 with the captured image displayed in each image display column L1. The captured image displayed in each image display column L1 is updated in real time. The numbers “1” to “5” in the respective image display column L1 correspond to cameras 15F (camera 1), 15B (camera 2), 15R (camera 3), 15L (camera 4) and 15C (camera 5) illustrated in FIG. 4B, respectively. In FIG. 10A and other drawings, display examples of actual captured images are omitted);
wherein the agricultural field map includes a position of the route recording work vehicle and an area surrounding the route recording work vehicle (see at least Iwase II, [0101]; [0102]) ... .
Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II and Iwase II are analogous art to claim 18 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). Iwase II relates to an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to perform automatic traveling (see at least Iwase II, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix and Nishii II, to provide the benefit of displaying at least one of an agricultural field map when the new route is being recorded, and having the agricultural field map include a position of the route recording work vehicle and an area surrounding the route recording work vehicle, as disclosed in Iwase II, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving the safe operation of the work vehicle (see at least Iwase II, [0005]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Iwase II and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0028037 to Nishii et al. (hereafter Nishi).
As per claim 14, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 10, as shown above. But, neither Sun, Iwase, Dix nor Nishii II explicitly teaches the following limitations taught in Iwase II and Nishii:
receiving an instruction to add at least one of an entry point or an exit point to the new route (see at least Nishii, [0102] disclosing that presses down a start button, the reception process unit 212 accepts the starting operation of the teaching travel. Upon the reception process unit 212 accepts the starting operation, it sets a route start position Ts1 <interpreted as the entry point> in the field F1. For example, the reception process unit 212 sets the current position of the work vehicle 10 at the time when the starting operation is accepted as the route start position Ts1; [0103] disclosing that the reception process unit 212 may set the route start position Ts1 in the field F1 in the case where the starting operation is received from the operator in a state where the work vehicle 10 is located in a predetermined area in the field F1. For example, provided that the work vehicle 10 is located in an area of an entrance/exit H1 in the field F1 (see FIG. 4A), the reception process unit 212 accepts the starting operation from the operator and sets the route start position Ts1 in the field F1. In contrast, in a case where the work vehicle 10 is located outside the area of the entrance/exit H1 <interpreted as the exit point> in the field F1, the reception process unit 212 does not set the route start position Ts1 in the field F1 even when the reception process unit 212 accepts the starting operation from the operator ; [0110] disclosing that Upon the reception process unit 212 accepts the ending operation from the operator, the generation process unit 214 generates the inter-field route R12 for causing the work vehicle 10 to autonomously travel between the fields F1 and F2 based on the position information of the work vehicle which is acquired by the acquisition process unit 213. Specifically, the generation process unit 214 generates the inter-field route R12 that connects the route start position Ts1 at the entrance/exit H1 of the field F1 and the route end position Te2 at the entrance/exit H2 of the field F2 and passes through the road R0, as illustrated in FIG. 7);
wherein the entry point corresponds to an entrance of a designated area (see at least Nishii, [0102]; [0103]; [110]);
the exit point corresponds to an exit of the designated area (see at least Nishii, [0102]; [0103]; [110]); and
when the instruction to add the at least one of the entry point or the exit point to the new route is received, a position of the route recording work vehicle is saved as a location of the at least one of the entry point or entry point of the new route (see at least Iwase II, [0066]).
Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Iwase II and Nishii are analogous art to claim 14 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). Iwase II relates to an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to perform automatic traveling (see at least Iwase II, [0001]). Nishii relates to an autonomous travel program for causing a work vehicle to autonomously travel (see at least Nishii, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix and Nishii II, to provide the benefit of receiving an instruction to add at least one of an entry point or an exit point to the new route, having the entry point correspond to an entrance of a designated area, having the exit point correspond to an exit of the designated area, and, when the instruction to add the at least one of the entry point or the exit point to the new route is received, saving a position of the route recording work vehicle as a location of the at least one of the entry point or entry point of the new route, as disclosed in Iwase II and Nishii, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving the safety and a traveling efficiency of a work vehicle autonomously traveling between multiple areas (see at least Nishii, [0009]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Iwase II and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0017965 to Kosa et al. (hereafter Kosa).
As per claim 15, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix and Nishii II discloses all of the limitations of claim 10, as shown above. But, neither Sun, Iwase, Dix nor Nishii II explicitly disclose the following limitations disclosed in Iwase II and Kosa:
receiving an instruction to add one or more task points to the new route (see at least Kosa, [0055] disclosing that with regard to Fig. 10C, map 700 comprises regions 710, 711, 712 and 713 that mark the locations of plant rows 400, 410, 420 and 430 <interpreted as one or more task points>, respectively, detected through acoustic signal transmitted and registered by AGRYbot 100. Region 713 comprises sub-region 720 that marks the location of plants that have fruit 432, optionally fruit that is ready for harvest, as determined by the classifier comprised in the sound analyzer (by way of example classifier 180 as shown in FIG. 1D).; [0057]);
wherein when the instruction to add the one or more task points to the new route is received, a position of the route recording work vehicle is saved as a location of the one or more task points of the new route (see at least Iwase II, [0066]; [0082]; [0084]; [0087] <noting that if starting points can be saved, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to also save the task points>).
Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Iwase II and Kosa are analogous art to claim 16 because they are in the same field of registering routes for autonomous vehicles. Sun relates to workflow process management system for vehicle operations (see at least Sun, [0001]). Iwase relates to systems, methods and an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to automatically travel (see at least Iwase, [0001]). Dix relates to systems and methods for generating swath lines for a work vehicle (see at least Dix, [0001]). Nishii II relates to improving operability of selecting a work item and setting work information (see at least Nishii ii, [0010]). Iwase II relates to an automatic traveling program for causing a work vehicle to perform automatic traveling (see at least Iwase II, [0001]). Kosa relates to an agricultural robot (see at least Kosa, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, as disclosed in Sun, as modified by Iwase, Dix and Nishii II, to provide the benefit of receiving an instruction to add one or more task points to the new route, having the entry point correspond to an entrance of a designated area, and, when the instruction to add the one or more task points to the new route is received, having a position of the route recording work vehicle be saved as a location of the one or more task points of the new route, as disclosed in Iwase II and Kosa, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of facilitating effective management of the recourses (i.e. field, orchard) (see at least Kosa, [0003]).
As per claim 16, the combination of Sun, Iwase, Dix, Nishii II, Iwase II and Kosa discloses all of the limitations of claim 15, as shown above. Iwase II further discloses the following limitation:
displaying an agricultural field map including a position of the route recording work vehicle, an area surrounding the route recording work vehicle, and the location of the one or more task points when the instruction to add the one or more task points to the new route is received (see at least Iwase II, [0066]; [0082]; [0084]; [0087] <noting that if starting points can be saved, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to also save the task points>)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0186922 to Shinkai et al. (hereafter Shinkai) disclosing entrance and exit points at [0035].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP