Drawings
The drawings are objected to because drawings 3-5 are not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 are indefinite because they recite a coefficient of variation of data obtained from the microarray. The claims do not indicate what the coefficient of variation is measuring. Coefficient of variation is a measure of repeatability or the standard deviation divided by the number of replicates. While it states “of data” it is not clear if the data is a second run of the same sample of if the data is a measure of how the array performs over multiple runs of the same sample source or across all types of samples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 5-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sundararajan et al. (US 2010/0240555 A1) in view of Rava et al. (US 5,545,531 A) and Wilson Research Group (Webpage, 2001).
Sundararajan et al. teach manufacturing biomolecule micro arrays. Sundararajan et al. teach the use of a photoactive compound to attach features to a create a microarray. [0004]. Sundararajan et al. teach the surface can comprise silicon dioxide (SiO2). [0130, 0137]. Sundararajan et al. teach the use a ligand/receptor pair and the receptor is attached to the surface including peptides, polynucleotides, nucleic acids, and proteins. (Claim 19 [0052-0060]). The receptor in Sundararajan et al. is the equivalent of a feature in instant claim 1. Sundararajan et al. teach that the photoactive compound is treated with ultraviolet light to create a photoresist on the surface. [0064-65].
Rava et al. teach biological chips with arrays of probes attached. (Col. 4, Part E). Rava et al. further describe biological chips in Col 9, part D. Rava et al. teach that the probe array of 0.25 mm2 can have at least 10, 100, 1000, 104, 105, or 106 features. (Col 9, lines 20-25). Rava et al. further teach use hybridization of a sample to the microarray. (Col. 10, lines 58-67). Rava et al. teach the biological chip is imaged on a biological chip plate reader. (Col 4 – 7 discusses the reader/imager).
Sundararajan et al. and Rava et al. both teach the creation of biological chips that can bind biological samples. Sundararajan et al. does not specifically state how many features are on a plate, however Rava et al. teaches that there can be upwards of 1,000,000 features per 0.25 mm2. Sundararajan et al. does teach that the arrays can be used to measure expression levels of up to millions of reactions simultaneously but does not provide an exact feature to area number. Sundararajan et al. and Rava et al. are both in the same field, manufacturing biological chips from silicon dioxide and one of skill in the art would create chips with the recited number of features taught by Rava et al. on the plate taught by Sundararajan et al. Furthermore, Sundararajan et al. does not teach the use of their plate, however, Rava et al. teaches binding of ligands and imagining of the resulting binding. One of skill in the art would be motivated to use the microarray taught by Sundararajan et al. after it is manufactured as that is the intended purpose of the microarray.
Sundararajan et al. and Rava et al. do not teach a water-soluble photoactive compound. Wilson Research Group teach that water soluble photoactive compounds are preferable for chip design because they are cheaper and better for the environment. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would substitute the photoactive compound taught by Sundararajan et al. with a known water-soluble one to reduce costs and reduce emissions.
Regarding claims 5-12, Rava et al. teach that the microarray can be used to detect different types of samples and the array can be customized to the sample and the probe size. (Col 10, line 32 – Col 11, line6). Rava et al. discusses several types of samples such as human or pathogen. The type and size of the array will determine the amount of sample loaded onto the array and the type of sample will dictate the concentration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create an array based on the teachings of Sundararajan et al. and Rava et al. in view of Wilson Research Group to accommodate the sample amount and concentration because the array is customizable.
Regarding claims 13-18, the detection of a specified number of ligands is dependent on the number of features available on the array. Rava et al. teach that a 0.25 mm2 area can accommodate at least 1,000,000 features. Therefore a 1 cm2 chip will contain 400,000,000 features which encompasses the number of ligands that can bind in claims 13-18. Sundararajan et al. does teach that the arrays can be used to measure expression levels of up to millions of reactions simultaneously but does not provide an exact feature to area number. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include the number of features needed to analyze their sample and number of ligands because the arrays of both Sundararajan et al. and Rava et al. are customizable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,006,909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader in scope that the claims in the 909 patent and encompass the allowed subject matter.
Conclusion
/MINDY G BROWN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683