DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed 04/16/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, & 9-10, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al (WO2021203252A1) in view of Sebire et al (US20230389109A1).
Regarding claim 1 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 14), Shi teaches a wireless device comprising:
one or more processors (English Translation pg. 7 paragraph 5, transceiver circuit 400, processor 402, the memory 404); and
memory storing instructions that (English Translation pg. 7 paragraph 5, transceiver circuit 400, processor 402, the memory 404), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) release message indicating that a signaling radio bearer (SRB) is configured for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (English Translation pg. 1 claim language, paragraph 1, pg. 7 paragraph 14, pg. 9 paragraph 16; receives an RRC release message from the network, the message is used to release the UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE, UE receives the RRC release message from the network side device, where the RRC release message is used to release the UE from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state; obtain configuration information from the RRC release message; pg. 5 Detailed ways paragraph 4-6 small data transmission optimization, DRB/LC configured for small data via RRC release; and pg. 6 paragraphs 9 RRC release configures which bearers channels support small data, pg. 8 paragraphs 16-17, SDT DRB is configured through the RRC release process); and
in response to a signaling message associated with the SRB being available, transmit the signaling message, while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state (English Translation, pg. 8 paragraphs 6-7 UE configured per logical channel whether that LC is allowed for RRC inactive small data, when data is available [Wingdings font/0xE0] pg. 8 paragraph 8-10 discussion on when data is available, & pg. 8 paragraph 20 UE can initiate SDT in the RRC INACTIVE state only when there is data to be sent in logical channel #4, in second case (DRB configured by RRC release));
However, Shi does not fully teach but Sebire teaches transmit the signaling message, while in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, based on a type of signaling message for the SDT procedure ([0080], [0086]-[0088], [0093], [0094], [0128]-[0129], [0132]-[0134], discloses that UE in RRC_INACTIVE may transmit relatively short/small messages while remaining in the inactive state using a small data transmission mechanism; further teaches that the network decides whether SDT is allowed in the inactive state and control which RRC messages, RRC/NAS message types, or message causes are allowed to use the SDT procedure, including use of a special RRC container or existing messages; also discloses an RRCSmallDataRequest including an sdt-Cause field and teaches that the UE compares the message cause to allowed causes, triggers SDT when allowed, and transmits the message without changing from inactive to connected).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Shi and Sebire because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the small data transmission control framework of Sebire in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 2 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 15), Shi teaches the wireless device wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive one or more indications indicating: one or more types of signaling message allowed to use the SDT procedure (English Translation, pg. 1 claim language, & pg. 7 paragraph 14-15, indication information from RRC release specifying which DRB/LC supports small data, receives the RRC release message…obtain configuration information from the RRC release message, wherein the indication information is obtained from the release message, and the indication information is used to indicate the DRB that supports data transmission in the RRC inactive state or the logical channel associated with the DRB; each logical channel corresponds to a category of signaling or data messages); and/or one or more types of signaling message not allowed to use the SDT procedure (English Translation, pg. 1 claim language, & pg. 7 paragraph 14-15, indication information from RRC release specifying which DRB/LC supports small data, receives the RRC release message…obtain configuration information from the RRC release message, wherein the indication information is obtained from the release message, and the indication information is used to indicate the DRB that supports data transmission in the RRC inactive state or the logical channel associated with the DRB; each logical channel corresponds to a category of signaling or data messages).
Regarding claim 3 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 16), Shi teaches the wireless device wherein the one or more types of signaling message allowed to use the SDT procedure comprise the type of the signaling message (English Translation, pg. 1 claim language, & pg. 7 paragraph 14-15, indication information from RRC release specifying which DRB/LC supports small data, receives the RRC release message…obtain configuration information from the RRC release message, wherein the indication information is obtained from the release message, and the indication information is used to indicate the DRB that supports data transmission in the RRC inactive state or the logical channel associated with the DRB; each logical channel corresponds to a category of signaling or data messages).
Regarding claim 9, Shi teaches a base station comprising:
one or more processors (English Translation pg. 7 paragraph 5, transceiver circuit 400, processor 402, the memory 404); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (English Translation pg. 7 paragraph 5, transceiver circuit 400, processor 402, the memory 404), cause the base station to:
transmit, to a wireless device, a radio resource control (RRC) release message indicating that a signaling radio bearer (SRB) is configured for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (English Translation pg. 1 claim language, paragraph 1, pg. 7 paragraph 14, pg. 9 paragraph 16; receives an RRC release message from the network, the message is used to release the UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE, UE receives the RRC release message from the network side device, where the RRC release message is used to release the UE from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state; obtain configuration information from the RRC release message; pg. 5 Detailed ways paragraph 4-6 small data transmission optimization, DRB/LC configured for small data via RRC release; and pg. 6 paragraphs 9 RRC release configures which bearers channels support small data, pg. 8 paragraphs 16-17, SDT DRB is configured through the RRC release process); and
receive, from the wireless device while the wireless device is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, a signaling message (English Translation, pg. 8 paragraphs 6-7 UE configured per logical channel whether that LC is allowed for RRC inactive small data, when data is available [Wingdings font/0xE0] pg. 8 paragraph 8-10 discussion on when data is available, & pg. 8 paragraph 20 UE can initiate SDT in the RRC INACTIVE state only when there is data to be sent in logical channel #4, in second case (DRB configured by RRC release)).
However, Shi does not fully teach but Sebire teaches receive, from the wireless device while the wireless device is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, a signaling message, based on a type of signaling message for the SDT procedure ([0080], [0086]-[0088], [0093], [0094], [0128]-[0129], [0132]-[0134], discloses that UE in RRC_INACTIVE may transmit relatively short/small messages while remaining in the inactive state using a small data transmission mechanism; further teaches that the network decides whether SDT is allowed in the inactive state and control which RRC messages, RRC/NAS message types, or message causes are allowed to use the SDT procedure, including use of a special RRC container or existing messages; also discloses an RRCSmallDataRequest including an sdt-Cause field and teaches that the UE compares the message cause to allowed causes, triggers SDT when allowed, and transmits the message without changing from inactive to connected).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Shi and Sebire because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the small data transmission control framework of Sebire in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 10, Shi fails to teach the base station wherein the instructions further cause the base station to transmit one or more indications indicating:
one or more types of signaling message allowed to use the SDT procedure; and/or
one or more types of signaling message not allowed to use the SDT procedure.
However, Won teaches wherein the instructions further cause the base station to transmit one or more indications indicating:
one or more types of signaling message allowed to use the SDT procedure ([0080], [0086]-[0088], [0093], [0094], [0128]-[0129], [0132]-[0134], discloses that UE in RRC_INACTIVE may transmit relatively short/small messages while remaining in the inactive state using a small data transmission mechanism; further teaches that the network decides whether SDT is allowed in the inactive state and control which RRC messages, RRC/NAS message types, or message causes are allowed to use the SDT procedure, including use of a special RRC container or existing messages; also discloses an RRCSmallDataRequest including an sdt-Cause field and teaches that the UE compares the message cause to allowed causes, triggers SDT when allowed, and transmits the message without changing from inactive to connected); and/or
one or more types of signaling message not allowed to use the SDT procedure ([0080], [0086]-[0088], [0093], [0094], [0128]-[0129], [0132]-[0134], discloses that UE in RRC_INACTIVE may transmit relatively short/small messages while remaining in the inactive state using a small data transmission mechanism; further teaches that the network decides whether SDT is allowed in the inactive state and control which RRC messages, RRC/NAS message types, or message causes are allowed to use the SDT procedure, including use of a special RRC container or existing messages; also discloses an RRCSmallDataRequest including an sdt-Cause field and teaches that the UE compares the message cause to allowed causes, triggers SDT when allowed, and transmits the message without changing from inactive to connected).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Shi and Sebire because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the small data transmission control framework of Sebire in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Claims 4, 6, 11-13, 17, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al (WO2021203252A1) in view of Sebire et al (US20230389109A1) in further view Won et al (US20220369272A1).
Regarding claim 4 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 17), Shi and Sebire do not fully teach the wireless device wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with at least one non-access stratum procedure, the at least one non-access stratum procedure comprising at least one of: a user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure for transporting a location service message; a mobility management connection management procedure triggered by the user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure; and/or a non-access stratum signaling connection recovery during an ongoing fifth generation core network MO location reporting (5GC-MO-LR) procedure.
However, Won teaches the wireless device wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with at least one non-access stratum procedure, the at least one non-access stratum procedure comprising at least one of:
a user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure for transporting a location service message ([0080]-[0083], list EXACT NAS procedures: UE initiated NAS transport, 5GMM connection management, NAS signaling connection recovery, 5GC-MO-LR (mobile-originated location request);
a mobility management connection management procedure triggered by the user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure ([0080]-[0083], list EXACT NAS procedures: UE initiated NAS transport, 5GMM connection management, NAS signaling connection recovery, 5GC-MO-LR (mobile-originated location request);
and/or a non-access stratum signaling connection recovery during an ongoing fifth generation core network MO location reporting (5GC-MO-LR) procedure ([0080]-[0083], list EXACT NAS procedures: UE initiated NAS transport, 5GMM connection management, NAS signaling connection recovery, 5GC-MO-LR (mobile-originated location request).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. Lastly, Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 6 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 19), Shi and Sebire does not fully teach the wireless device wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with: access category 3, mobile originated signaling, and/or a mobile originated location request; access category 6, mobile originated short message service over NAS (MO SMS over NAS), and/or mobile originated short message service over internet protocol (MO SMSoIP); access category 8 and/or radio access network notification area (RNA) update; access category 4 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony voice call (MO MMTel voice); and/or access category 5 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony video call (MO MMTel video).
However, Won teaches wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with: access category 3, mobile originated signaling, and/or a mobile originated location request ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.);
access category 6, mobile originated short message service over NAS (MO SMS over NAS), and/or mobile originated short message service over internet protocol (MO SMSoIP) ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.);
access category 8 and/or radio access network notification area (RNA) update ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.);
access category 4 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony voice call (MO MMTel voice) ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.);
and/or access category 5 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony video call (MO MMTel video) ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. Lastly, Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 11, Shi and Sebire does not fully teach the base station further comprising receiving, by the base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF), the one or more indications.
However, Won teaches teach the base station further comprising receiving, by the base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF), the one or more indications (Fig 1, [0059], architecture with UE—NG-Ran—AMF—LMF—(GMLC, etc.) and MO-LR flow, shows AMF in the call flow, the MO-LR sequence includes AMF involvement (UL NAS TRANSPORT, location request, etc.).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. Lastly, Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 12, Shi and Sebire does not fully teach the base station wherein the one or more types of signaling message allowed to use the SDT procedure comprise the type of the signaling message.
However, Won teaches the base station wherein the one or more types of signaling message allowed to use the SDT procedure comprise the type of the signaling message ([0087]-[0088], describes that when the 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, a service request or registration procedure initiated for NAS signaling connection recovery/fallback in mapped to MO_sig or a new MO-LR category; the type of the signal message (service request/registration for NAS signaling connection recovery during MO-LR) is clearly one of the message types included in the allowed category (MO_sig/MO-LR) is the allowed set includes the type of the signal message).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Sebire teaches allowed a UE in RRC_INACTIVE to transmit certain permitted signaling/RRC or NAS messages using an SDT procedure based on the message type/cause, without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED. Lastly, Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 13, Shi and Sebire does not fully teach the base station of claim 9, wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with: at least one non-access stratum procedure, the at least one non-access stratum procedure comprising at least one of: a user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure for transporting a location service message; a mobility management connection management procedure triggered by the user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure; and/or a non-access stratum signaling connection recovery during an ongoing fifth generation core network MO location reporting (5GC-MO-LR) procedure; at least one RRC procedure, the at least one RRC procedure comprising at least one of: an uplink information transfer procedure to transfer a non-access stratum message; and/or a user equipment assistance information procedure to inform the base station of user equipment assistance information; access category 3, mobile originated signaling, and/or a mobile originated location request; access category 6, mobile originated short message service over NAS (MO SMS over NAS), and/or mobile originated short message service over internet protocol (MO SMSoIP); access category 8 and/or radio access network notification area (RNA) update; access category 4 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony voice call (MO MMTel voice); and/or access category 5 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony video call (MO MMTel video).
However, Won teaches teach the base station of claim 9, wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with:
at least one non-access stratum procedure ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category), the at least one non-access stratum procedure comprising at least one of:
a user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure for transporting a location service message ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category);
a mobility management connection management procedure triggered by the user equipment initiated non-access stratum transport procedure ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category); and/or
a non-access stratum signaling connection recovery during an ongoing fifth generation core network MO location reporting (5GC-MO-LR) procedure ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category);
at least one RRC procedure, the at least one RRC procedure comprising at least one of: an uplink information transfer procedure to transfer a non-access stratum message ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category); and/or
a user equipment assistance information procedure to inform the base station of user equipment assistance information ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category);
access category 3, mobile originated signaling, and/or a mobile originated location request ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.; definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category);
access category 6, mobile originated short message service over NAS (MO SMS over NAS), and/or mobile originated short message service over internet protocol (MO SMSoIP) ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.);definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category);
access category 8 and/or radio access network notification area (RNA) update ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.); definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category);
access category 4 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony voice call (MO MMTel voice) ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.); definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category); and/or
access category 5 and/or a mobile originated multimedia telephony video call (MO MMTel video) ([0031]-[0036], [0052]-[0053], [0073]-[0088], ([0077]-[0085], discusses access categories including: AC 3 (MO_sig), AC 6 (MO0SMSONAS), AC 8 (RNA update), also discusses MO-LR, SMS-NAS, LPP, etc.); definitions and detailed access control behavior for MO-LR vs SMS, SMSOIP, MMTEL, voice/video in Rel-16 MO-LR access control, specifically in [0085], [arts pf an access control procedure for MT-SMSONAS are currently specified in TS 24.501 and TS 23.273 and parts of an access control procedure for MO SMSONAS are also specified…in an example embodiment, a difference between these two procedures is that while a 5GC-MO-LR procedure is ongoing, no SMSONAS, no SNSoIP, no MMTEL video call, and no MMTEL voice call are ongoing; provides type of signaling that is ties to access categories (MO_sig, potentially new MO-LR category).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Claims 5, 7-8, 18, & 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Sebire in further view of Won (US20220369272A1), in view of Bangolae et al (US20150043449A1).
Regarding claim 5 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 18), Shi and Won fail to teach, but Bangolae teaches the wireless device wherein the type of the signaling message is allowed to use the SDT procedure based on being associated with at least one RRC procedure, the at least one RRC procedure comprising at least one of:
an uplink information transfer procedure to transfer a non-access stratum message ([0016]-[0017], [0026], UE sends UE assistance information via RRC messages (RRCConnectionSetupComplete or RRCRconfigurationComplete, RRC signaling used to transfer NAS Service Request, BSR, etc. (UL information transfer); and/or
a user equipment assistance information procedure to inform the base station of user equipment assistance information ([0016]-[0017], [0026], UE sends UE assistance information via RRC messages (RRCConnectionSetupComplete or RRCRconfigurationComplete, RRC signaling used to transfer NAS Service Request, BSR, etc. (UL information transfer).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. Bangolae teaches SDSRB and small data signaling using SRB-like bearers with RRC configuration in IDLE/INACTIVE modes. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 7, Shi and Won fail to teach, but Bangolae teaches the wireless device wherein the transmitting the signaling message is via the SRB ([0011]-[0017], [0020], discloses SDSRB and SRB2 carrying small-data signaling, SMS can be transmitted over SRB2, SDSRB (new SRB) is used to carry SD UL messages).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. Bangolae teaches SDSRB and small data signaling using SRB-like bearers with RRC configuration in IDLE/INACTIVE modes. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Regarding claim 8 (and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 20), Shi and Won fail to teach, but Bangolae teaches the wireless device wherein the transmitting the signaling message uses the SDT procedure ([0015]-[0019], [0027], SDSRB explicitly created to support SD transmissions, UE configured to use SDSRB to send SD).
A POSITA would have found it obvious, before the EFD of the invention, to combine Shi and Won because both references address complementary aspects of small-data and signaling behavior for UEs operating in RRC Inactive or reduced-signaling modes. Shi teaches configuring, via an RRC release message, which logical channels or bearers are permitted to perform small data transmission while the UE remains in RRC Inactive, and further teaches that the UE determines whether to perform such transmission based on whether the corresponding channel is authorized for inactive-state small data. Won teaches determining whether specific types of NAS signaling messages—including MO-LR, MO-SMS, SMSoIP, and MMTel voice/video—are allowed or barred based on per-type access category rules and signaling-connection recovery procedures. Bangolae teaches SDSRB and small data signaling using SRB-like bearers with RRC configuration in IDLE/INACTIVE modes. A skilled artisan would readily integrate the message-type-based authorization framework of Won in order to allow or forbid small-data signaling for particular message types (e.g. MO-LR or NAS signaling) while the UE remains in RRC Idle/INACTIVE, thereby improving power efficiency and access control consistency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419