Detailed Action
1. Claims 1-20 are pending in this Application.
Response to amendment
3. Applicant’s response to the last Office Action filed on 01/07/2026 has been entered and made of record.
4. Claims 1, 13, 15 and 19 have been amended.
Response to Argument
5. The Applicant’s argument filed on 04/06/2026 is fully consider. For Examiner response see discussion below.
a. "Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 15 by adding the underlined sections shown in the following limitation: “apply to a section corresponding to the center of the second view angle among a plurality of sections constituting the first image data,”, and substantially argue that a combination of Kim and Kanda does not teach the added limitation.
It is noted that the combination of Kim and Kanda does not specifically teach the underline section of the limitation. Thus, Applicant’s argument is persuasive, and the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection based on the combination of Kim and Kanda is expressly withdrawn. However, after further search and consideration a new prior art (CN 104581427B to LI, Ting-na) that teach the underline section of the above limitation is found.
b. Regarding claim 2, the Applicant argues , Kim does not teach “the processor is further configured to, based on the first camera being set to a specified magnification or more, apply the second tuning parameter to the first image data” Specifically the applicant argues “ Kim suggests to change one parameter based on another, the references do not reasonably suggest such change at least according to the claimed "based on the first camera being set to a specified magnification or more”. Therefore, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 2 is requested.”
As to above argument [b], Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument for the reason discuss below: Kim teaches that the controller is further configured to: change the first photography parameter by comparing the first photography parameter and the second photography parameter, wherein the photography parameter may include exposure data, brightness data, shutter speed data, ISO data, focus data, zoom-in/zoom-out data, etc.,(see claim 2 and 3). The controller configured change the brightness data shutter speed data, ISO data, focus data based on the zoom-in/zoom-out data.
c. Regarding claim 5, the Applicant argues the combination Kim and Greiffenhagen does not teach “while applying the second tuning parameter to the first image data, apply a third tuning parameter to second image data obtained by the second camera.” Specifically, the Applicants’ argue “Even if the references suggested to apply various parameters, the references do not reasonably suggest the claimed "while applying the second tuning parameter to the first image data, apply a third tuning parameter to second image data obtained by the second camera
As to above argument Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument for the reasons discus below:
Kim teaches change the first photography parameter based on the second photography parameter, when the comparison result is such that a difference between the first photography parameter and the second photography parameter (for example brightness difference between) is greater than a threshold value (see[0208]). Thus, applying the second tuning parameter to the first image data corresponds to applying the difference between the first photography parameter and the second photography parameter.
Greiffenhagen teaches by choosing system modules and performing an analysis of the influence of various tuning parameters on the system a method according to the present invention performs proper statistical inference, automatically set control parameters and quantify limits of a dual-camera real-time video surveillance system (see [0010]- [0011]. The present invention provides continuous high resolution zoomed-in image of a person's head at any location in a monitored area. The third tuning parameter to second image data obtained by the second camera corresponds to the tuning parameter of the dual- camera that generator continuous high resolution zoomed-in image of a person's head at any location in a monitored area.
d. Regarding claim 14, the Applicant argues “For example, even if Hwang's CNN model features were trained to improve image sharpness, with fine details, and free of noise, as alleged by the rejection, it is not clear from the rejection or references how or why such features would have been obvious in the combination with at least Kim and Kanda”
As to above argument Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument because Hwang's CNN model generates extensive training data for camera tuning parameters. This massive dataset enables the network's convolutional filters to produce high-quality, noise-free images with fine details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2,6-10,12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim; Jungki (hereafter Kim), US-20180295283, pub., 10/11/2018, in view of KANDA SHUHEI ( hereafter KANDA), JP2001257927, published 09/21/2011, further in view of LI, Ting-na (hereafter LI ), CN 104581427B, pub., 11/07/2017.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: a first camera having a first view angle; a second camera having a second view angle that is smaller than the first view angle ( Fig.8, claims 1 and 8, [0163], A terminal comprising: a first camera having a first angle of view; a second camera having a second angle of view, wherein the first angle of view is different from the second angle of view, and wherein the first angle of view is narrow or standard and the second angle of view is wide);
a display; a memory; and a processor (Fig.5, [154]-[0157] )configured to:
apply a first tuning parameter to first image data obtained by the first camera; and
apply, to the first image data, a second tuning parameter corresponding to a location of the center of the second view angle (claims 1 and 3, Figs. 6, 8-10, [0181], [0190]-[0192], change the first photography parameter based on the second photography parameter, when the comparison result is such that a difference between the first photography parameter and the second photography parameter is greater than a threshold value, As shown in FIG. 8, the first camera unit 810 can capture an image with respect to its angle of view, i.e., the first FOV 820 and then obtain a photography parameter for the first FOV 820);and
maintain the first tuning parameter in other sections of the plurality of sections([0208], For example, if a brightness difference between areas is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the areas may be set to the dark region or object. Thus, brightness difference( corresponding to tuning, or color adjustment, parameter) between areas remain unchanged if a brightness difference less than the threshold value),
however it is noted that Kim does not specifically teach “recognize an external object; control, by driving the second camera, a center of the second view angle to be oriented toward the recognized external object; and apply to a section corresponding to the center of the second view angle among a plurality of sections constituting the first image data”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor a method of object trucking using a wide angle camera of KANDA teaches recognize an external object(Abstract, [0001], device for identifying an individual based on, for example, the shape and position of a person's iris pattern, eyes, nose, mouth, ears, etc., and in particular to a subject tracking device for photographing and tracking the body parts to be identified), control, by driving the second camera, a center of the second view angle to be oriented toward the recognized external object ([0012], predetermined part of the subject photographed by the wide-angle camera is photographed approximately in the center of the image of the telephoto camera by the photographing range change means changing the photographing ranges of the wide-angle camera and the telephoto camera in conjunction with each other based on the position information in the image of the wide-angle camera obtained by the position detection means and the distance information from the telephoto camera to the subject obtained by the distance detection mean).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method of identifying an individual based on, for example, the shape and position of a person's iris pattern, eyes, nose, mouth and ears taught by KANDA into Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been allows user of Kim to identify an individual precisely based on the individual facile feature .
It is noted that modified Kim does not specifically teach the underlined sections shown in the following limitation: “apply to a section corresponding to the center of the second view angle among a plurality of sections constituting the first image data, a second tuning parameter corresponding to a location of the center of the second view angle”
On the other hand LI teaches apply to a section corresponding to the center of the second view angle among a plurality of sections constituting the first image data, a second tuning parameter corresponding to a location of the center of the second view angle (page 3 last par., - page 4 1st par., A third adjustment module obtains the camera’s basic lens parameters, including the field of view (FOV) angle width. The fourth adjustment calculates the vertical distance between the camera tripod head's pitching shaft center and the camera lens's optical axis, and adjusts the tripod shaft's horizontal distance to align perfectly with the camera's optical center, within this framework the camera adjustment mentioned above allows to match the center of the tripod to the center a camera view angle. The sixth adjusting module obtains the camera's zoom parameter and adjusts the slope of the zoom reference curve accordingly. Within this framework: The curve is divided into different sections to analyze specific portions of the image, and the zoom reference represents the object being imaged at specific transverse and longitudinal offsets.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method of adjusting the slope of the zoom reference curve according to the zoom parameter taught by LI into modified Kim.
The motivation for doing so was to allow users of the modified Kim system to ensure that the camera automatically maintains precise calibration, tracking, or focus, regardless of zoom level (see claim 8).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the processor is further configured to, based on the first camera being set to a specified magnification or more, apply the second tuning parameter to the first image data(Claim 9, [0162], For example, the photography parameter may include exposure data, brightness data, shutter speed data, ISO data, focus data, zoom-in/zoom-out data. The controller is further configured to: change the first photography parameter based on the second photography parameter)
As to claim 6, Kim teaches the processor is further configured to output a preview image to the display, the preview image representing the first image data to which the second tuning parameter is applied (Claim 3, [0155] The display unit 551 may be configured to display an image previewed through the first or second camera. In addition, the display unit 551 may display a photography button for obtaining an image together with the preview image. The controller is further configured to: change the first photography parameter based on the second photography parameter…)
As to claim 7, Kim teaches the processor is further configured to, based on a specified condition related to switching of the first camera and the second camera occurring, output the preview image to the display according to second image data obtained by the second camera ( [0155], claim 1, 3 obtain image data from the first camera based on a first photography parameter for a first field of view (FOV) of the first camera; obtain a second photography parameter for a second FOV of the second camera; the controller is further configured to: change the first photography parameter based on the second photography parameter, when the comparison result is such that a difference between the first photography parameter and the second photography parameter is greater than a threshold value.).
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the processor is further configured to output a preview image to the display, the preview image representing second image data obtained by the second camera (Claim 3, [0155] The display unit 551 may be configured to display an image previewed through the first or second camera).
As to claim 9, Kim teaches the processor is further configured to, based on a specified condition related to switching of the first camera and the second camera occurring, output the preview image to the display, the preview image representing the first image data to which the second tuning parameter is applied (Abstract, claims 1 and 3, [0155], a controller configured to: obtain image data from the first camera based on a first photography parameter for a first field of view (FOV) of the first camera; obtain a second photography parameter for a second FOV of the second camera; change the first photography parameter based on a comparison result of the first photography parameter and the second photography parameter; and continue to obtain the image data from the first camera based on the change in the first photography parameter. The display unit 551 may be configured to display an image previewed through the first or second camera).
As to claim 10, the combination of Kim and KANDA teaches the processor is further configured to, based on the external object being recognized beyond a specified range from a center of the first view angle (KANDA: changing the photographing ranges of the wide-angle camera and the telephoto camera in conjunction with each other based on the position information in the image of the wide-angle camera obtained by the position detection means and the distance information from the telephoto camera to the subject obtained by the distance detection mean), apply the second tuning parameter to the first image data (Kim: The controller is further configured to: change the first photography parameter based on the second photography parameter, see claim 1)
As to claim 12, KANDA teaches the processor is further configured to control, by driving the second camera, the second view angle to be within the first view angle (claim 5, the imaging range change means controls the wide-angle camera and the telephoto camera in conjunction with each other after photographing a predetermined part of the subject with the wide-angle camera, in a movement direction different from the direction along the same plane including the optical axes of the wide-angle camera and the telephoto camera, so that the predetermined part of the subject is on a center line in the movement direction within the image of the wide-angle camera, and then moves the wide-angle camera and the telephoto camera in conjunction with each other along a plane including the optical axes of the wide-angle camera and the telephoto camera to a position where the predetermined part of the subject is photographed in approximately the center of the image of the telephoto camera).
Claim 15 is rejected the same as claim 1 except claim 15 is directed to a method claim. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 1 is applicable to claim 15.
Claim 16 is rejected the same as claim 2 except claim 16 is directed to a method claim. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 2 is applicable to claim 16.
Claim 17 is rejected the same as claim 6 except claim 17 is directed to a method claim. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 6 is applicable to claim 17.
Claim 18 is rejected the same as claim 7 except claim 18 is directed to a method claim. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 7 is applicable to claim 18.
Claim 19 is rejected the same as claim 8 except claim 19 is directed to a method claim. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 8 is applicable to claim 19.
Claim 20 is rejected the same as claim 9 except claim 20 is directed to a method claim. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 9 is applicable to claim 20.
7. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, US-20180295283 in view of KANDA, JP2001257927,further in view of LI , CN 104581427B,still further in view of PARK CHANG JIN (hereafter PARK), KR20110116387, pub. 10/26/2011.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Kanda teaches the limitation of claim 1, but fails to teach the limitation of claim 3.
On the other hand PARK teaches store, in a lookup table of the memory, the second tuning parameter corresponding to each of the plurality of sections (claim 8, a step of performing image distortion correction processing on the raw image information using a partial distortion correction mapping table pre-stored in a storage unit)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a distortion correction method taught by PARK into modified Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been allows user of Kim to correct image distortions caused by image zoom in/ zoom out and camera shaking..
Regarding claim 4 ,the combination Kim and PARK teaches the processor is further configured to, based on a movement of the center of the second view angle (Kim: this limitation discussed in claim 1), obtain the second tuning parameter from the lookup table (Abstract, claims 1 and 8, a storage unit configured to store a partial distortion correction mapping table partitioned so that a distortion correction mapping table (look up table LUT)) for correcting image distortion corresponds to a plurality of regions partitioned so as to divide the resolution size of an output image).
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, US-20180295283 in view of KANDA, JP2001257927, further in view of LI , CN 104581427B, still further in view of JUN JAE WOO ( hereafter JUN), KR20200092580, pub 08/04/2020
Regarding claim 11, while modified Kim teaches the limitation of claim 1, but fails to teach the limitation of claim 11.
On the other hand, JUN teaches the second camera comprises a folded camera structure comprising a prism, and wherein the processor is further configured to control, by driving the second camera, at least one of movement and rotation of the prism of the second camera(FIG.2, [0033]- [0034] FIG. 2 is a perspective view of a folded camera module according to one embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 2, a folded camera module (1000) according to one embodiment of the present invention includes a reflective module, a continuous zoom lens module (1001), and an image sensor module.
The reflective module is configured to change the direction of light propagation by including a reflective member (1002) such as a prism or mirror).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reflective module which is configured to change the direction of light propagation by including a reflective member such as a prism or mirror taught by JUN into modified Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been allows user of Kim to correct image orientation, enabling long-range zoom in slim devices, and improving color accuracy.
9. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, US-20180295283 in view of KANDA, JP2001257927, further in view of LI , CN 104581427B, still further in view of HOZUMI YASUSH (hereafter HOZUMI),JP2020077938 A, pub. 05/21/2020.
Regarding claim 13, while modified Kim teaches the limitation of claim 1, but fails to teach the limitation of claim 12.
On the other hand, HOZUMI teaches each of the first tuning parameter and the second tuning parameter comprises a parameter related to at least one of noise reduction (NR), edge enhance, or multi-frame merge (Calims1-3, an image processing means for performing predetermined image processing on the stars detected by the detection means, wherein the image processing means performs the predetermined image processing using first parameters when the photographing angle of view specified by the specifying means is a first angle of view, and performs the predetermined image processing using second parameters different from the first parameters when the photographing angle of view specified by the specifying means is a second angle of view wider than the first angle of view., wherein the predetermined image processing is a process for sharpening edges, and the predetermined image processing is edge enhancement processing, and the first parameter is a parameter that enhances the degree of edge enhancement)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method of applying various tuning parameters by automatically setting set control parameters taught by Greiffenhagen into modified Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been allows user of modified Kim to generate a continuous high resolution zoomed-in images.
10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, US-20180295283 in view of KANDA, JP2001257927, further in view of LI , CN 104581427B , still further in view of Greiffenhagen et al., (hereafter Greiffenhagen), US20100007740 A1, pub., 01/14/2010.
Regarding claim 5, while Kim teaches the limitation “applying the second tuning parameter to the first image data” as discussed in claim 1 above, but fails to teach “apply a third tuning parameter to second image data obtained by the second camera”
On the other hand, Greiffenhagen teaches apply a third tuning parameter to second image data obtained by the second camera ([0010] by choosing system modules and performing an analysis of the influence of various tuning parameters on the system a method according to the present invention performs proper statistical inference, automatically set control parameters and quantify limits of a dual-camera real-time video surveillance system. The present invention provides continuous high resolution zoomed-in image of a person's head at any location in a monitored area)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method of applying various tuning
parameters by automatically setting set control parameters taught by Greiffenhagen into modified Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been allows user of modified Kim to generate a continuous high resolution zoomed-in images.
11. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, US-20180295283 in view of KANDA, JP2001257927, further in view of LI , CN 104581427B, still further in view of HWANG et al., (hereafter HWANG), US 20190108618 A1, pub., 04/11/2019.
Regarding claim 14, while Kim teaches the limitation of “first tuning parameter and the second tuning parameter” as discussed in claim 1 above, but fails to teach “a deep learning model related to sharpness”
On the other hand HWANG teaches a deep learning model related to sharpness
( Fig.6 [0080], the network 600 operates to apply the various convolutional filter weights tuned during the training stage to the input features in different ways to finally drive the 8×8 output RGB patch 630. The convolutional filters include the strided CNN1 623, the strided CNN2 624, the strided CNN3 625, the CNN 631, the CNN 632, the CNN 633, the CNN 626, the CNN 627, the CNN 628, and the CNN 629. The convolutional filters provide a hierarchical structure that helps to remove noise, enhance sharpening, produce images with fine details, among other benefits).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a convolution neural network(CNN) contain a convolutional filters provide a hierarchical structure that helps to remove noise, enhance sharpening o an image taught by HWANG into modified Kim.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been allows user of modified Kim to produce high quality images with fine details and free of noise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Eng, George can be reached on (571) 272-7495.The fax phone number for the organization where the application or proceeding is assigned is 571-237-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published application may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished application is available through Privet PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have question on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217-919 (tool-free)
/MEKONEN T BEKELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699