DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 1 and 8, Applicant argues that Schnieders fails to teach the modular reamer limitation as well as the interchangeable broach head limitation. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. With respect to the modular reamer limitations the Examiner notes that the current claim construction uses the terminology “comprising” and “including” these are well known open-ended claim limitations not precluding the scope to encompass more elements or in a different configuration than presented in the claim(s). The identified handle (the portion of the drill which couples to the cutting edge, ¶5 in view of ¶60) are removable and discrete as the conventional power drill is coupled to the cutting edge of the reamer to perform the initial reaming of the medullary canal as set forth in ¶5 and ¶60 of Schnieders. The absence of the power unit (drill) would render the reamer inoperable to “rotate the reamer about a central axis of the reamer” as is done in figures 9-10 and ¶5 and ¶60 of Schnieders.
Applicant’s arguments that the broach head is not interchangeable with a single common stem is not found persuasive. ¶32 of Schnieders expressly teaches “a single driver component 24 configured for mounting to any one of a plurality of broach tools 22”. The single driver component 24 has been consistently relied upon as the “stem” and the broach tool 22 as the “plurality of different broach heads”.
Next Applicant argues the obviousness rejection of modifying the reamer extension to include the plurality of markings indicative of a cutting depth of the reamer. The Examiner stands by their position that modifying the reamer extension to have a plurality of marks like those of the broach (30, figures 1-4) yields a set of markings indicative of a cutting depth of the reamer. The sizing indicators/marks (30) of the broach (20) indicate a size of the potential implant that would fit the bone space, and the size is determined based on the level of material that has been removed e.g. the depth of material that has been reamed and that size is indicative of the overall dimensions of the broached area which includes the depth dimension.
Additionally, Applicant argues the indentations of Borries (114, 116) serve primarily as wear indicators and are not for the purpose of providing a visual indication of drilling depth. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. Borries expressly teaches that their indentations are used as a visual indicator of cutting depth see ¶47 “One or more optional indentations 114, 116 can extend inwardly at respective locations along the longitudinal axis (A). These indentations 114, 116 provide a visual indication of the depth of the hole drilled by the femoral reamer 100”. Applicant appears to be confusing the coating which provides a wear indicator see ¶51 with the indentations.
Lastly, Applicant argues that because the quick connect system of McLean is a separate component from the shaft portion of the reamer that the quick connect assembly is not a feature of the handle itself. As stated above, the current claim construction uses the terminology “comprising” and “including” these are well known open-ended claim limitations not precluding the scope to encompass more elements or in a different configuration than presented in the claim(s). The identified handle can have an additional distinct component that is integral to the operation and use of the handle as the claims as currently constructed do not preclude this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schnieders et al. (US 2005/0288676).
Regarding claim 1, Schnieders et al. disclose a system of modular reamers and broaches configured to prepare a bone of a patient for one of a plurality of different implants, the system comprising a reamer (100/102) configured to ream a portion of the bone (¶60-61), the reamer including a cutting edge (see figure below) extending longitudinally; and a handle (the portion of the drill which couples to the cutting edge, ¶5 in view of ¶60) extending longitudinally and removably coupled to the cutting edge as a modular component of the reamer (external drill is coupled as this is necessary to rotate the reamer), the handle configured to rotate the reamer about a central axis of the reamer; and a broach (20) configured to prepare a medullary cavity of the bone to prepare the bone to receive one of the plurality of different implants (figure 11), the broach including a stem (24) extending longitudinally and a plurality of different broach heads (22’s, figure 2), each of the plurality of different broach heads removably and interchangeably couplable to the stem (¶32 “a single driver component 24 configured for mounting to any one of a plurality of broach tools 22”) and configured to prepare the medullary cavity for a different one of the plurality of different implants (¶32, ¶45).
Regarding claim 5, Schnieders et al. disclose the plurality of different implants includes a fracture implant, a limb salvage implant, or a revision implant (¶32, ¶45, if one so chooses to use the system with one of these functionally recited implants).
Regarding claim 6, Schnieders et al. disclose the plurality of different broach heads includes a fracture implant broach head, a limb salvage implant broach head, and a revision implant broach head (¶32, ¶45, if one so chooses to use the system with one of these functionally recited implants).
Regarding claim 7, Schnieders et al. disclose the stem of each of the plurality of different broaches tapers radially towards a central axis as the stem extends longitudinally away from a portion of the stem that attaches to the plurality of different broach heads (figures 2-3, 5).
Regarding claim 8, Schnieders et al. disclose a system for a modular broach and reamer configured to prepare a bone of a patient for a fracture imp]lant, a limb salvage implant, or a revision implant, the system comprising a plurality of different reamers (100, 102) configured to ream a portion of the bone, each reamer of the plurality of different reamers (¶60-61) including a cutting edge (see figure below) extending longitudinally; and a handle (the portion of the drill which couples to the cutting edge, ¶5 in view of ¶60) extending longitudinally and removably coupled to the cuffing edge as a modular component of the reamer (external drill is coupled as this is necessary to rotate the reamer), the handle configured to rotate the reamer about a central axis of the reamer; and a plurality of different broaches (20’s figure 2) configured to prepare a medullary cavity of the bone to receive an implant (figure 11), each broach of the plurality of different broaches including a stem (24) extending longitudinally; and a plurality of different broach heads (22’s, figure 2), each of the plurality of different broach heads removably and interchangeably couplable to the stem (¶32 “a single driver component 24 configured for mounting to any one of a plurality of broach tools 22”) and configured to prepare the medullary cavity to receive a different one of the fracture implant, the limb salvage implant, or the revision implant (¶31-32), such that the stem is usable with each of the plurality of different broach heads (¶32 “a single driver component 24 configured for mounting to any one of a plurality of broach tools 22”).
Regarding claim 9, Schnieders et al. disclose each reamer of the plurality of different reamers comprises different sizes from one another (¶60-61, ¶63).
Regarding claim 10, Schnieders et al. disclose each broach of the plurality of different broaches comprises different sizes from one another (¶45).
Regarding claim 11, Schnieders et al. disclose the size of each of the plurality of different reamers is determined by a diameter of the cutting edge (¶60-61), and the size of each of the plurality of different broaches is determined by a diameter of the stem (¶45). Regarding claim 15, Schnieders et al. disclose the stem of each of the plurality of different broaches tapers radially towards a central axis as the stem extends longitudinally away from a portion of the stem that attaches to the plurality of different broaches (figures 2-3. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schnieders et al. (US 2005/0288676).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Schnieders et al. disclose each of the plurality of different reamers comprises an extension (see figure below) extending longitudinally between the cutting edge and the handle (figure 2) and removably attached to the cutting edge and the handle (can be connected and disconnected).
However, Schnieders et al. fail to expressly teach or disclose the extension including a plurality of markings, each of the plurality of markings indicative of a cutting depth of the reamer. Instead, Schnieders et al. teaches the use of a plurality of markings (30, figures 1-2, 4 ¶66) indicative of a depth of the cutting element (¶66).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the extension to have a plurality of markings as taught on an alternative piece of the system of Schnieders et al. as the plurality of markings allow for visual alignment and confirmation of proper alignment of the tool relative to the bone canal in which it is being inserted into (¶66).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schnieders et al. (US 2005/0288676) in view of Borries et al. (US 2016/0074045). Regarding claims 2 and 12, Schnieders et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the cutting edge of the reamer comprises a plurality of indentations, each of the plurality of indentations indicative of a cutting depth of the reamer.
Borries et al. disclose a reamer (100) having a cutting edge (110) with a plurality of indentations (114, 116) each of the plurality of indentations indicative of a cutting depth of the reamer (¶47) which allow the user a visual indication of the depth of the hole drilled by the reamer (¶47).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the cutting edge of the reamer of Schnieders et al. to have a plurality of indentations as taught by Borries et al. as the plurality of indentations allow the user a visual indication of the depth of the hole drilled by the reamer.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schnieders et al. (US 2005/0288676) in view of McLean et al. (US 2011/0112540).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Schnieders et al. disclose the claimed invention including the handle having a plurality of markings (30’s) thereon, each of the plurality of markings indicative of a cutting depth of the reamer (¶66). However, Schnieders et al. fail to teach the handle of the reamer comprises a quick-release adapter, the quick release adapter engageable with a tool to rotate the reamer about the central axis.
McLean et al. disclose a handle (40) of a reamer (14, figure 2) comprises a quick-release adapter (40, figure 2), the quick-release adapter engageable with a tool (“drill” via 50, ¶59) to rotate the reamer about the central axis (¶59) as it allows for quick and easy coupling of the handle to the reamer as well as the tool to rotate the reamer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the handle of the reamer to have a quick-release adapter as taught by McLean et al. as the coupling mechanism allows for quick and easy coupling of the handle to the reamer as well as the tool to rotate the reamer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619