DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This is the first office action in response to Claims filed on 09/15/2023.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, L. 5 “the conductive lattice structure” should be “a conductive lattice structure”, L. 8 “a terminal” should be “a battery cell terminal”, L. 13-14 “a plurality of battery cells” should be “the plurality of battery cells”;
Claim 12, L. 1-2 “a plurality of battery cells” should be “a plurality of battery cell terminals”;
Claims 2-11 and 13-15 are also objected for being dependent on an objected claim.
Appropriate correction required and Claims are interpreted as indicated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8: claim 8 recites the contingent limitation “if …”, it is not clear if the limitations following the term “if” are required, yielding indefiniteness. To further advance prosecution such limitations are interpreted as being not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wynn (US 2020/0147714).
Regarding Claim 1: Wynn discloses a method of manufacturing (the disclosure of the module discloses its method of manufacturing) a battery module (module formed by 221 and 222; Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of battery cells (221,222; Fig. 2C), comprising: clamping ( see [0035] reciting “206 holds one or more batteries in respective predetermined positions” , “206 may be used to position a busbar, foil element, flex PCB, or current collector” and see Figs. 2-3 wherein 206 is a plate placed on top of the battery, Thus 206 exerts a force downwards on the battery to holds/maintain them, i.e. a clamping force.) a battery pallet (group of batteries) containing the plurality of battery cells to a clamping plate (206; Fig. 2) to cause a top portion (annotated figure ‘714) of each of the plurality of battery cells to be in contact with the conductive lattice structure (see annotated figure ‘714) for welding, the conductive lattice structure comprising an electrical bus bar (see annotated figure ‘714, “busbar” [0035]) and a plurality of welding protrusions (310; Fig. 3) coupled to the bus bar, the battery pallet clamped to provide contact between a terminal (see annotated figure ‘714) of each of the plurality of battery cells and a respective welding protrusion (310; Fig. 3); scanning a region (region around the one weld point; [0004]) of the battery pallet to determine a location of each battery cell terminal (see annotated figure ‘714) in the region relative to respective welding protrusion (310; Fig. 3) from a first welding apparatus viewpoint ([0027] wherein the images are taken from the welding system and thus through the viewpoint of the welding system), wherein the battery pallet comprises a plurality of pre-defined regions each comprising a plurality of battery cells (regions around 202 and 204; Fig. 2); and updating a weld file (see [0047] wherein instruction are provided) used by a welding apparatus (506; Fig. 5) based on the location of each battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion ([0039]).
Regarding Claim 2: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above and further discloses wherein updating the weld file is performed based on the location of each battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion (real location) and an expected location of the battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion (location determined by the visual system).
Regarding Claim 3: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above and further discloses welding each battery cell terminal and the respective welding protrusion from the first welding apparatus viewpoint using the updated welding file ([0008] Figs. 5-6 wherein instructions based on position are given to the welding apparatus).
Regarding Claim 4: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein updating the weld file comprises dynamically creating the weld file (see Fig. 5 wherein the instructions are repeatedly/continuously provided in a feedback loop).
Regarding Claim 5: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the weld file defines expected welding positions for welding each battery cell terminal and the respective welding protrusion from the first welding apparatus viewpoint (weld position determined by the system), and wherein updating the weld file comprises calculating an offset (see [0054-57] and Figs. 7-8 wherein tolerances are computed as being differences between actual center and detected center, these tolerances are maximum offset values that are maintained, see [0055], to be maintained offsets are necessarily measured and checked) between the expected welding positions and the locations of each battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion (see “tolerances” Figs. 7-8 , and [0054-57]).
Regarding Claim 6: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein determining the location of each battery cell terminal comprises scanning to locate two points (320, 322; Fig. 3) on the battery cell terminal, and determining a center of the battery cell based on the location of the two points and a known radius (“nominal-cell-radius”; [0039]) of the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 7: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the clamping plate provides a plurality of apertures to facilitate welding the conductive lattice structure to each of the plurality of battery cells (see Fig. 3 wherein the apertures of 206 enable welding but not providing obstruction for the welding protrusions).
Regarding Claim 8: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the method comprises stopping the welding process (the system is necessarily stopping) (see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding Claim 12: Wynn discloses a welding system (see annotated figure ‘714) for welding a battery pallet ( group formed by 221, 222; Fig. 2) having a plurality of battery cells (221, 222; Fig. 2) to a conductive lattice structure ( lattice have the busbar, [0035-36]), the welding system comprising: an optical scanner (500; Fig. 5) configured to scan a region of the battery pallet (region around the one weld point; [0004]) clamped to the conductive lattice structure to determine a location ([0039]) of each battery cell terminal in the region relative to a respective welding protrusion ( protrusion to provide connection to the busbar [0035-36]) of the conductive lattice structure from a first welding apparatus viewpoint ([0027] wherein the images are taken from the welding system and thus through the viewpoint of the welding system); and a processing unit (504; Fig. 5) configured to update a weld file (see [0047] wherein instruction are provided) used by a welding apparatus (506; Fig. 5) based on the location of each battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion ([0039]).
Regarding Claim 13: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as stated above, and Wynn further discloses wherein the optical scanner comprises a line scanner, a vision system, or an optical camera ([0027] “camera”).
Regarding Claim 15: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as stated above, and Wynn further discloses further comprising the welding apparatus (506; Fig. 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wynn (US 2020/0147714) in view of North (US 2022/0181752).
Regarding Claim 9: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 7, as stated above, but is silent regarding the clamping plate comprises tapered portions along at least a portion of the apertures to facilitate welding from the first apparatus viewpoint.
However, North teaches a method of manufacturing (see title) a battery module (“battery pack”, Title) comprising: clamping a plurality of battery cells (300; Fig. 3) to a clamping plate (110; Fig. 2), the clamping plate comprises tapered portions (see Fig. 2) along at least a portion of apertures (115; Fig. 5) to facilitate welding from a welding apparatus (“welding jig”; Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping plate of Wynn to have tapered portions along at least a portion of the apertures to facilitate welding from the welding apparatus, i.e. the first apparatus viewpoint, as taught North. Such a modification would facilitate access and view to the cell terminal.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wynn (US 2020/0147714) in view of Miaolei (US 2024/0243439).
Regarding Claim 10: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses the plurality of apertures of the clamping plate expose first weld sites (see annotated figure ‘714) between first cell terminals of the plurality of battery cells and respective of the plurality of welding protrusions (310; Fig. 2).
Wynn is silent wherein after all first cell terminals have been welded to the respective welding protrusions, the method further comprises clamping the battery pallet to a second clamping plate providing a second plurality of apertures to facilitate welding the conductive lattice structure to each of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the second plurality of apertures of the second clamping plate expose second weld sites between second cell terminals of the plurality of battery cells and respective of the plurality of welding protrusions,
This limitation is equivalent to have repeating the welding operation on a second portion of cell terminal with a second portion of the clamping plate, wherein the first portion and second portion of the clamping plate are two separated plates.
However, Miaolei teaching a method for manufacturing (the disclosure of the system discloses its method of manufacturing) a battery module (1000; Figure 2b) comprising performing welding operation on a first portion (see annotated figure ‘439 and Figs. 5a-5b, particularly portion comprising 506-1 to 506-4 in Fig. 5c) of a clamping plate (see annotated figure ‘439), and repeating the welding operation on a second portion (see Figs. 5a-5c, in particular any other portion than portion comprising 506-1 to 506-4 in Fig. 5c) of cell terminal with a second portion of the clamping plate (see Figs. 5a-5b; [0068-71], particularly see Fig. 5c).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wynn to have performing the welding operation on a first portion and repeating the welding operation on a second portion of cell terminal with a second portion of the clamping plate, as taught by Miaolei, and thus having wherein after all first cell terminals have been welded to the respective welding protrusions the method further comprises clamping the battery pallet to a second clamping plate providing a second plurality of apertures to facilitate welding the conductive lattice structure to each of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the second plurality of apertures of the second clamping plate expose second weld sites between second cell terminals of the plurality of battery cells and respective of the plurality of welding protrusions. Such a modification would enable to avoid thermal or mechanical distortion, as recognized by Miaolei ([0071]).
Wynn modified by Miaolei does not teach wherein the first portion and second portion of the clamping plate are two separated plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second portion being a second plate since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
(In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)). (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is “press fitted” and therefore not manually removable. The court held that “if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.”).
Regarding Claim 11: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, but is silent regarding moving the welding apparatus to a second welding apparatus viewpoint; scanning a second region of the battery pallet to determine a location of each battery cell terminal in the second region relative to the respective welding protrusion from the second welding apparatus viewpoint; updating the weld file used by the welding apparatus based on the location of each battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion; and welding each battery cell terminal and the respective welding protrusion in the second region of the battery pallet from the second welding apparatus viewpoint, i.e. moving and repeating the steps of welding operation for a second region.
However, Miaolei teaching a method for manufacturing (the disclosure of the system discloses its method of manufacturing) a battery module (1000; Figure 2b) comprising moving and repeating steps of welding operation on a second portion of cell terminal with a second portion of the clamping plate (see Figs. 5a-5b; [0068-71]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Wynn to have moving and repeating the steps of welding operation (scanning, updated file, and welding) for a second region, as taught by Miaolei, and thus having moving the welding apparatus to a second welding apparatus viewpoint; scanning a second region of the battery pallet to determine a location of each battery cell terminal in the second region relative to the respective welding protrusion from the second welding apparatus viewpoint; updating the weld file used by the welding apparatus based on the location of each battery cell terminal relative to the respective welding protrusion; and welding each battery cell terminal and the respective welding protrusion in the second region of the battery pallet from the second welding apparatus viewpoint, i.e. moving and repeating the steps of welding operation for a second region.. Such a modification would enable to avoid thermal or mechanical distortion, as recognized by Miaolei ([0071]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wynn (US 2020/0147714) in view of Lee (US 2025/0033144).
Regarding Claim 14: Wynn discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as stated above, and further discloses the optical scanner comprises an optical system of the welding apparatus ([0027]), but is silent regarding the optical system being a scanning laser.
However, Lee teaches a welding apparatus (“welding device”; Abstract) wherein the optical system is a scanning laser (“scan laser”; Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wynn to have the optical system being a scanning laser, as taught by Lee. Such a modification would enable to have high speed, long-distance and accurate optical information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741