DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges Yu’s coils are separate coils and thus are not sections of a single coil positioned around the lens carrier, however the applicant is respectfully reminded that, while it might be evident, by comparing the patented structure of Yu with the instant specification and drawings, that the claimed invention is different from the Prior Art made of record, that is not the test for patentability. Rather, it is the language of the claims what defines the meets and bounds of the instant invention. In this case, with respect to independent claims (e.g. claims 1, 7 and 14), the claim language can reasonably be read broadly to encompass a single coil assembly or a single composite coil structure rather than requiring a single, monolithic winding. For example, the claim 1 recites “a single first coil comprising” a first pair of coil sections and a first intermediate coil section bridging those sections. The use of “comprising” following the singular term “first coil” does not, by itself, exclude a broader construction in which the “coil” is made up of multiple portions, traces, turns, or sub-sections that collectively form the coil.
The instant specification supports that broader reading. In particular, the disclosure describes coils formed as part of a flexible printed circuit, including embodiments in which coils are formed from one or more conductive traces and in which multiple coils may be formed from different layers of a single flexible printed circuit. See, e.g., ¶¶ [0051]-[0052]. The disclosure also explains that a coil may include a plurality of turns, with current driven through multiple traces in series, and that turns may be interconnected by conductive vias or overlapping end portions. See ¶¶ [0054]-[0057]. This intrinsic evidence supports viewing the claimed “single coil” as a composite structure defined by constituent portions, rather than as a single uninterrupted physical conductor. Accordingly, under a reasonable broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim does not necessarily require that all “coil sections” be parts of one continuous, unitary winding in the narrow sense advanced by applicant. Rather, the claim language may encompass a coil assembly in which the recited sections are different portions of the overall coil structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-9, 11, 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0064587).
Regarding claims 7-9 and 11, Yu teaches a camera module comprising:
a lens carrier (70);
set of lens elements carried by the lens carrier (implicit);
a plurality of magnets (52); and
a single coil positioned around the lens carrier and comprising:
a plurality of first coil sections (51), each first coil section having a first cross-sectional area and positioned adjacent to a corresponding magnet of the plurality of magnets; and
a plurality of second coil sections (61), each second coil section having a second cross- sectional area greater than the first cross-sectional area and transitioning between a pair of consecutive first coil sections;
wherein the second cross-sectional area is at least twice the first cross-sectional area (Fig. 2) [claim 8];
wherein a height of each second coil section (61) is greater than a height of each first coil section (61) (Fig. 2) [claim 9];
wherein each of the plurality of magnets (52) has a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (Fig. 6) [claim 11].
Regarding claims 14 and 16-18, Yu teaches a camera module comprising:
a lens carrier (70) having a lens module with an optical axis; and
a sensor module comprising an image sensor positioned to receive light from the lens module (implicit);
an actuator (50, 60) configured to move the lens carrier relative to the image sensor along the optical axis, the actuator comprising:
a set of magnets (52); and
a single coil comprising:
a set of first coil sections (51), each having a first cross-sectional area and positioned adjacent to a corresponding magnet of the set of magnets; and
a set of second coil sections (61), each having a second cross-sectional area greater than the first cross-sectional area;
a driver (50) electrically connected to the coil and configured to drive current through the single coil to move the lens carrier relative to the sensor module [claim 16];
the actuator comprises an additional coil; and
the driver is electrically connected to the additional coil to drive current through the additional coil (para. 58-59) [claim 17]; and
wherein the coil comprises a plurality of turns connected to the driver in parallel (para. 59-60, the coils 51 and 61 are independently operated, hence in parallel connection to the driver) [claim 18].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0064587) in view of Jang et al. (US Patent No. 11,762,167).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-6, Yu teaches a coil assembly comprising:
a carrier (70); and
a single first coil that is circumferentially disposed around the carrier; the single first coil comprising:
a first pair of coil sections (51), each coil section having a first cross-sectional area; and
a first intermediate coil section (61) bridging the first pair of coil sections, the first intermediate coil section having a second cross-sectional area greater than the first cross- sectional area (Fig. 2);
wherein the second cross-sectional area is at least twice the first cross-sectional area (Fig. 15) [claim 2];
wherein the second coil comprises: a second pair of coil sections, each of the second pair of coil sections having the first cross-sectional area; and a second intermediate coil section bridging the second pair of coil sections and having the second cross-sectional area [claim 5];
the first pair of coil sections is positioned to overlap the second pair of coil sections of the second coil; and the first intermediate coil section is positioned to overlap the second intermediate coil section (when viewed from the X direction, the first part of coil sections 51 overlap the second pair of coil sections 51, and the first intermediate coil section 61 overlaps the second intermediate coil section 61 -Fig. 4) [claim 6].
Yu does not specifically teach a flexible circuit defining the first coil, wherein the flexible printed circuit defines at least a second coil that is circumferentially disposed around the carrier [claim 3].
Jang teaches a coil assembly (130) comprises a flexible circuit defining the first coil, wherein the flexible printed circuit defines at least a second coil that is circumferentially disposed around the carrier (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a flexible printed circuit as taught by Jang within said coil assembly in order to provide the first and second coil assembly with electrical driving power.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Jang, and further in view of Baik et al. (KR 20170108901 and its English Translation).
Regarding claim 4, Yu, as modified by Jang, teaches all the claimed limitation except for the single first coil comprises a first set of terminals connected to an electrical supply; and the second coil comprises a second set of terminals connected to the electrical supply, the second set of terminals being electrically isolated from the first set of terminals. Baik teaches a coil assembly comprises a first coil (410) comprises a first set of terminals connected to an electrical supply; and the second coil (420) comprises a second set of terminals connected to the electrical supply, the second set of terminals being electrically isolated from the first set of terminals. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electrically isolated first set of terminals and second set of terminals for said first coil and second coil in order to enable independent driving of each coil.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Umehara et al. (US Patent No. 11,674,822).
Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches all the claimed limitations except for a height of each second coil section is greater than a height of each of the plurality of magnets. Umehara teaches a camera module comprises a height of each second coil section (45, 46) is greater than a height of each of the plurality of magnets (32A, 32B). It would have been obvious to one having and ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute second coil sections as taught by Umehara within said camera module in order to increase the driving force of the lens carrier.
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Baik et al. (KR20170108901 and its English Translation).
Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches all the claimed limitations except for a flexible printed circuit, where the single coil is formed from conductive traces of the flexible printed circuit. Biak teaches a single coil assembly comprising: a flexible printed circuit (530), where the coil is formed from conductive traces of the flexible printed circuit. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a coil assembly as taught by Baik in order to obtain a lighter and compact camera module.
Regarding claim 18, Yu teaches all the claimed limitations except for the coil comprises a plurality of turns connected to the driver in parallel. Biak teaches a coil assembly comprising a coil comprises a plurality of turns connected to the driver in parallel (Fig. 14). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a coil assembly as taught by Baik in order to obtain a lighter and compact camera module.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim (KR 20220020301 and its English Translation).
Regarding claim 15, Yu teaches all the claimed limitations except for an insulating layer positioned between the lens carrier and the coil. Kim teaches a camera module comprises an insulating layer positioned between the lens carrier and the coil (para. 10). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a coil coated with insulating layer within said camera module in order to help reduce electrically shorts internally.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Shahparnia et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0314469).
Regarding claim 19, Yu teaches all the claimed limitations except for the coil comprises a turns that includes a plurality of turns, each of which encircles the lens carrier. Shahparnia teaches a camera module comprises a coil (114) comprises a turns that includes a plurality of turns, each of which encircles the lens carrier (para. 31). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a coil assembly as taught by Shahparnia in order to obtain a lighter and compact camera module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MINH Q. PHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/MINH Q PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852