DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He et al. (US 2024/0056880 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1.
Regarding claim 1 and 16, D1 discloses a system, method and apparatus for using buffer size tables for high data throughput in wireless communication, which comprises:
configuring a mapping of each of a plurality of buffer status report (BSR) code points to a corresponding buffer size of a plurality of buffer sizes (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, configuring a BSR code points to a buffer size for a number of different sizes according to the configuration information received from the network node. For example, the buffer size may include a size of data stored in the one or more buffers and/or otherwise available for transmission. BSR encoding component 352 can encode the buffer size as a code point that corresponds to a buffer size, where the code points can be defined or otherwise determined or generated based on a formula. See paragraphs 0075-0080.);
indicating a size of buffered data based on the configured mapping (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, BSR encoding component 352 can encode the buffer size as a code point that corresponds to a buffer size, where the code points can be defined or otherwise determined or generated based on a formula. See paragraphs 0075-0080.);
receiving one or more uplink grants matched to the size of buffered data (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, n method 600, at Block 612, an uplink grant for transmitting the data can be transmitted for the UE and based on the BSR. In an aspect, BS communicating component 442, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 412, memory/memories 416, transceiver 402, etc., can transmit, for the UE and based on the BSR, the uplink grant for transmitting the data. For example, BS communicating component 442 can generate the uplink grant based on the buffer size indicated in the BSR, which can include generating an uplink grant with an amount of resources sufficient for transmitting the contents of the buffer based on the buffer size indicated in the BSR. BS communicating component 442 can transmit the uplink grant to the UE in DCI or other signaling in a downlink control channel or shared channel. See paragraphs 0093-0095.); and
transmitting uplink data using the one or more uplink grants (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, transmitting the uplink data per the uplink grant as per the standard. See paragraphs 0093-0095.)
Regarding claims 2 and 17, D1 discloses wherein the buffer sizes correspond to a set of possible buffer sizes at a user equipment for a particular set of application data flows (Note, the limitation “for . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight. The claim does not recite a positive limitation, but rather an intention of some future use. Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, the buffer size may include a size of data stored in the one or more buffers and/or otherwise available for transmission. At the UE, BSR encoding component 352 can encode the buffer size as a code point that corresponds to a buffer size, where the code points can be defined or otherwise determined or generated based on a formula. See paragraphs 0045 and 0075-0079. For flows and sessions. See paragraphs 0039-0041.)
Regarding claims 3 and 18, D1 discloses wherein the set of possible buffer sizes are centered on a likely buffer size for a predetermined application (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, UE communicating component 342 can use a certain buffer size table (set of possible buffer sizes centered on a likely buffer size) to encode a buffer size for a buffer in a BSR. The certain buffer size table, in some examples, may have improved granularity for encoding larger buffer sizes as compared to other buffer size tables, such as legacy buffer size tables currently defined in 5G NR. In an example, UE communicating component 342 can indicate use of a certain buffer size table by using a corresponding value for a LCID in the BSR. In an example, BS communicating component 442 can receive the BSR from the UE, and can decode the buffer size based on the certain buffer size table. In one example, BS communicating component 442 can determine the certain buffer size table used by the UE 104 based on the LCID specified for the buffer. Using a buffer size table with improved granularity (e.g., smaller step sizes) for large buffer sizes can improve resource utilization for certain applications that communicate using large data bursts, such as XR applications (predetermined application). See paragraphs 0044-0046.)
Regarding claims 4 and 19, D1 discloses wherein a number of the BSR code points is 128 (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, a formula similar to the following may be used to define buffer sizes corresponding to multiple code points for indicating in the BSR. As described, B.sub.k can be the buffer size corresponding to code point k and as such BSR encoding component 352 can indicate the code point k in the BSR to specify buffer size B.sub.k. The network node can also be configured with a similar formula for the buffer size table such to demap the code point k to the corresponding buffer size B.sub.k. However, the specific formula above or certain values of the minimum reported buffer size, B.sub.min, may cause the step size for larger values for the buffer size to be exponentially large, which may result in wasting resources for a corresponding UL grant, processing resources for padding TBs to reach the indicated buffer size, resources for transmitting the padded TBs, etc. The code points are configurable per the formula and cover a range of values comprising 128. See paragraphs 0073-0075.)
Regarding claims 5 and 20, D1 discloses wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a carrier based on a selection of a logical channel group signaled in the BSR (Note, the limitation “for . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight. The claim does not recite a positive limitation, but rather an intention of some future use. Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, the network node can configure (e.g., assign) data logical channels (LCH) into up to eight (8) logical channel groups (LCGs). The UE can report the total L2 buffer size of each LCG to network in BSR MAC control element (MAC-CE). In 5G NR, for example, the UE can encode a buffer size for each LCG by either 5 bits or 8 bits depending on the format of a BSR MAC-CE (e.g., short or long format, respectively). Long format and short format BSR MAC-CEs can use different encoding tables, as defined in 5G NR. For communication on carriers for the transmission of data from a corresponding application. See paragraphs 0021, 0033-0035, 0085-0087.)
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a carrier using a reserved logical cell identifier (Note, the limitation “for . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight. The claim does not recite a positive limitation, but rather an intention of some future use. Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, UE communicating component 342 can indicate use of a certain buffer size table by using a corresponding value for a LCID (reserved logical cell identifier) in the BSR. In an example, BS communicating component 442 can receive the BSR from the UE, and can decode the buffer size based on the certain buffer size table. In one example, BS communicating component 442 can determine the certain buffer size table used by the UE 104 based on the LCID specified for the buffer. See paragraphs 0044-0046 and 0077-0080.)
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a first carrier based on a slot of a second carrier for transmitting the BSR (Note, the limitation “for . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight. The claim does not recite a positive limitation, but rather an intention of some future use. Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, n method 600, at Block 612, an uplink grant for transmitting the data can be transmitted for the UE and based on the BSR (indicates a request). See paragraphs 0093-0095.)
Regarding claim 8, D1 discloses wherein a selection of a carrier is based on a data type of data stored in a buffer of a user equipment (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, For communication on carriers (selected according to the standard) for the transmission of data from a corresponding application, XR application, (data type of data stored in a buffer of a UE). See paragraphs 0021-0023 and 0033-0035.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory et al. (US 2018/0077718 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2, in view of Ng et al. (US 2017/0303283 A1), hereinafter referred to as D3.
Regarding claim 9, D2 discloses a method and apparatus for scheduling uplink transmissions with reduced latency, which comprises:
configuring, at a user equipment (UE) a configured grant on a carrier of the UE (UE) (Referring to Figures 1-4, periodic BSR transmission utilizing configured uplink resources on a first carrier of a UE. See paragraphs 0035-0037 and 0099-0100.);
transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) using an instance of the configured grant (Referring to Figures 1-3, requesting an UL grant is a Buffer Status Report (BSR) based method. In this method, the UE can indicate the amount of outstanding data that it has to transmit using a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer message called BSR. The BSR can be carried on the physical layer using PUSCH. The PUSCH can be transmitted using one or more PRB-pairs in a subframe, with each PRB-par including two PRBs, where each PRB can be transmitted in each 0.5 ms slot of the subframe. See paragraphs 0027-0029.);
based on transmitting the BSR, receiving an uplink (UL) resource in a first uplink subframe on a time division duplex (TDD) carrier (Referring to Figures 1-3, per the standard the UE receives the UL grant for data transmission according to the requested UL grant for transmission over the carrier according to TDD, based on the BSR. See paragraphs 0020, 0027-0029, 0036-0040, and 0060.); and
transmitting user data in the UL resource (Referring to Figures 1-3, per the standard, transmitting data on the first carrier according to the UL grant. See paragraphs 0020, 0027-0029 and 0035-0040.)
D2 does not disclose a grant on a FDD carrier and receiving on a TDD carrier based on a transmitted BSR.
D2 teaches the well-known system of requesting UL grant according to a BSR. D3 teaches the well-known technique of switching frequencies (first and second carriers) between cells. If the UE is configured with DL carrier aggregation of a FDD cell (Primary cell, FDD carrier) and a TDD cell (secondary cell, TDD carrier) and there is non-ideal backhaul connection between the two cells, both the FDD cell and the TDD cell require uplink transmission from the UE (in a different UL carrier for each cell) to deliver UL control information and UL data for the respective cell. This implies that a UE without UL CA capability may switch its UL carrier frequency between the two cells. Providing an UL frequency switching behavior between cells for a UE so that a network and the UE have a same understanding on when the UE can transmit on an UL frequency (switching between a first and second carrier). See Figures 14-15 and paragraphs 0182-0187. Further, D3 teaches providing UL switching as a function of UE Buffer Status Report (BSR). The UE's buffer status reports for the other carriers can be obtained via directly from the UE if the BSRs for multiple carriers are transmitted at least on the primary cell. See paragraphs 0226-0228.
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the well-known system of D2 utilizing the well-known technique of D3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the well-known technique of frequency switching, from FDD to TDD, of D3 in the well-known system for requesting UL grants according to a BSR of D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have done implemented the well-known technique in the well-known system to transmit uplink control information and uplink data associated with a base station directly over the air to the base station concerned when inter-site inter-base station carrier aggregation is configured; thereby, improving system compatibility with additional networks and reducing signaling for time sensitive traffic.
Regarding claim 10, D2 does not disclose wherein the configured grant overlaps a first downlink (DL) subframe of the TDD carrier.
D3 teaches as shown in FIG. 11 (demonstrating overlapping of uplink and downlink subframes of the FDD and TDD carriers as UL grants indicate switching commands), the pattern 1100 includes an uplink frequency (f.sub.1) 1102, an uplink frequency (f.sub.2) 1104, a downlink frequency (f.sub.1′) 1106, and a downlink frequency (f.sub.2′) 1108. In one embodiment, the UE can be configured with the pattern 1100 and the UE could retune its uplink carrier frequency in accordance with the pattern 1100. In one or more embodiments, the UE switches uplink carrier frequency upon receiving a command from the network. For example, the UE may tune its carrier frequency to frequency f.sub.1 1102 initially and switch its uplink carrier frequency to frequency f.sub.2 1104 if signaled by the network to do so. The UE can be configured by higher layer signaling with the system information and parameters associated with each potential target uplink carrier frequency, including an identity for each of the uplink carrier frequency. Then, the command for uplink carrier frequency switching includes the target uplink carrier frequency identity. The number of signaling bits can be defined by the number of target uplink carrier frequencies, e.g. when there are only two possible uplink carrier frequencies, only a single bit signaling may be used. The small signaling overhead makes it suitable to be delivered in a physical downlink control channel such as PDCCH or EPDCCH. Nevertheless, deliveries of the switching command by MAC control element or RRC are also viable options. See paragraphs 0149-0153.
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the well-known system of D2 utilizing the well-known technique of D3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the well-known technique of frequency switching, from FDD to TDD, of D3 in the well-known system for requesting UL grants according to a BSR of D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have done implemented the well-known technique in the well-known system to transmit uplink control information and uplink data associated with a base station directly over the air to the base station concerned when inter-site inter-base station carrier aggregation is configured; thereby, improving system compatibility with additional networks and reducing signaling for time sensitive traffic.
Regarding claim 11, the primary reference further teaches wherein a time duration between a first downlink subframe and a subsequent uplink subframe exceeds a minimum duration (Referring to Figures 1-3, time difference between downlink and uplink subframes for HARQ-ACK feedback (exceed a minimum duration of zero).)
Regarding claim 14, D2 does not disclose wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a carrier based on a selection of a logical channel group signaled in the BSR.
D2 teaches in current LTE systems, buffer status can be indicated for 4 different Logical Channel Groups (LCGs). The number of LCGs can be extended for UEs configured with sTTI operation. For example, a UE can be allowed to report a buffer status of 5 or more LCGs. The UE can report BSR with LCG ID>=4 to indicate presence of low latency/critical data that needs sTTI based transmission. See paragraphs 0035-0037. D3 teaches the well-known technique of switching frequencies (first and second carriers) between cells. If the UE is configured with DL carrier aggregation of a FDD cell (Primary cell, first carrier) and a TDD cell (secondary cell, second carrier) and there is non-ideal backhaul connection between the two cells, both the FDD cell and the TDD cell require uplink transmission from the UE (in a different UL carrier for each cell) to deliver UL control information and UL data for the respective cell. This implies that a UE without UL CA capability may switch its UL carrier frequency between the two cells. Providing an UL frequency switching behavior between cells for a UE so that a network and the UE have a same understanding on when the UE can transmit on an UL frequency (switching between a first and second carrier). See Figures 14-15 and paragraphs 0182-0187. Further, D2 teaches providing UL switching as a function of UE Buffer Status Report (BSR) (threshold is interpreted as unity). The UE's buffer status reports for the other carriers can be obtained via directly from the UE if the BSRs for multiple carriers are transmitted at least on the primary cell. See paragraphs 0226-0228.
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the well-known system of D2 utilizing the well-known technique of D3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the well-known technique of frequency switching of D3 in the well-known system for requesting UL grants according to a BSR of D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have done implemented the well-known technique in the well-known system to transmit uplink control information and uplink data associated with a base station directly over the air to the base station concerned when inter-site inter-base station carrier aggregation is configured; thereby, improving system compatibility with additional networks and reducing signaling for time sensitive traffic.
Claim(s) 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory et al. (US 2018/0077718 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1, in view of Ng et al. (US 2017/0303283 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2, in further view of D1
Regarding claim 12, D2 does not disclose wherein buffer sizes correspond to a set of possible buffer sizes at the UE for a particular set of application data flows.
Note, the limitation “for . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight. The claim does not recite a positive limitation, but rather an intention of some future use. D1 teaches, referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, the buffer size may include a size of data stored in the one or more buffers and/or otherwise available for transmission. At the UE, BSR encoding component 352 can encode the buffer size as a code point that corresponds to a buffer size, where the code points can be defined or otherwise determined or generated based on a formula. See paragraphs 0045 and 0075-0079. For flows and sessions. See paragraphs 0039-0041.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the buffer sizes of D1 in the system of D2 and D3. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to support XR applications and comply with well-known standards.
Regarding claim 13, D2 does not disclose wherein the set of possible buffer sizes are centered on a likely buffer size for a predetermined application.
D1 teaches, referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, UE communicating component 342 can use a certain buffer size table (set of possible buffer sizes centered on a likely buffer size) to encode a buffer size for a buffer in a BSR. The certain buffer size table, in some examples, may have improved granularity for encoding larger buffer sizes as compared to other buffer size tables, such as legacy buffer size tables currently defined in 5G NR. In an example, UE communicating component 342 can indicate use of a certain buffer size table by using a corresponding value for a LCID in the BSR. In an example, BS communicating component 442 can receive the BSR from the UE, and can decode the buffer size based on the certain buffer size table. In one example, BS communicating component 442 can determine the certain buffer size table used by the UE 104 based on the LCID specified for the buffer. Using a buffer size table with improved granularity (e.g., smaller step sizes) for large buffer sizes can improve resource utilization for certain applications that communicate using large data bursts, such as XR applications (predetermined application). See paragraphs 0044-0046.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the buffer sizes of D1 in the system of D2 and D3. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to support XR applications and comply with well-known standards.
Regarding claim 15, D2 does not disclose wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a carrier using a reserved logical cell identifier.
Note, the limitation “for . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight. The claim does not recite a positive limitation, but rather an intention of some future use. D1 teaches, referring to Figures 1-3 and 5-6, UE communicating component 342 can indicate use of a certain buffer size table by using a corresponding value for a LCID (reserved logical cell identifier) in the BSR. In an example, BS communicating component 442 can receive the BSR from the UE, and can decode the buffer size based on the certain buffer size table. In one example, BS communicating component 442 can determine the certain buffer size table used by the UE 104 based on the LCID specified for the buffer. See paragraphs 0044-0046 and 0077-0080.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the buffer sizes of D1 in the system of D2 and D3. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to support XR applications and comply with well-known standards.
Double Patenting
Claim 9, 14, and 15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 10, and 11 of copending Application No. 18368926 in view of D3.
The copending application teaches all of the claim limitations of the instant application except utilizing FDD and TDD carriers.
D3 teaches the well-known technique of switching frequencies (first and second carriers) between cells. If the UE is configured with DL carrier aggregation of a FDD cell (Primary cell, FDD carrier) and a TDD cell (secondary cell, TDD carrier) and there is non-ideal backhaul connection between the two cells, both the FDD cell and the TDD cell require uplink transmission from the UE (in a different UL carrier for each cell) to deliver UL control information and UL data for the respective cell. This implies that a UE without UL CA capability may switch its UL carrier frequency between the two cells. Providing an UL frequency switching behavior between cells for a UE so that a network and the UE have a same understanding on when the UE can transmit on an UL frequency (switching between a first and second carrier). See Figures 14-15 and paragraphs 0182-0187. Further, D3 teaches providing UL switching as a function of UE Buffer Status Report (BSR). The UE's buffer status reports for the other carriers can be obtained via directly from the UE if the BSRs for multiple carriers are transmitted at least on the primary cell. See paragraphs 0226-0228.
The claims are rejected over the well-known system of copending application utilizing the well-known technique of D3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the well-known technique of frequency switching, from FDD to TDD, of D3 in the well-known system of the copending application. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have done implemented the well-known technique in the well-known system to transmit uplink control information and uplink data associated with a base station directly over the air to the base station concerned when inter-site inter-base station carrier aggregation is configured; thereby, improving system compatibility with additional networks and reducing signaling for time sensitive traffic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
‘085
‘926
9. A method for uplink latency reduction in a carrier aggregation network, the method comprising: configuring, at a user equipment (UE) a configured grant on a frequency division duplex (FDD) carrier of the UE; transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) using an instance of the configured grant; based on transmitting the BSR, receiving an uplink (UL) resource in a first uplink subframe on a time division duplex (TDD) carrier; and transmitting user data in the UL resource.
See claim 9.
See claim 9.
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a carrier based on a selection of a logical channel group signaled in the BSR.
15. The method of claim 9, wherein the BSR indicates a request for transmission resources on a carrier using a reserved logical cell identifier.
1. A method for transmitting uplink packet in a carrier aggregation network, the method comprising: configuring a periodic uplink (UL) resource on a first carrier of a user equipment (UB);transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) on the first carrier using the configured UL resource, the buffer status report indicating a request for transmission resources on a second carrier; receiving an UL grant for data transmission on the second carrier, the UL grant indicating transmission resources on the second carrier; and transmitting a user data packet on the second carrier using the transmission resources indicated in the UL grant.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the first carrier is an FDD carrier.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the second carrier is a TDD carrier.
10. The method of any of claims 1, wherein the BSR indicates the request for transmission resources on the second carrier based on a selection of a logical channel group signaled in the BSR.
11. The method of any of claims 1, wherein the BSR indicates the request for transmission resources on the second carrier using a reserved LCID.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moon et al. (US 2018/0049227 A1) - a method and apparatus for uplink scheduling in a mobile communication system. The method of uplink scheduling for a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system may include identifying the amount of data stored in a buffer, generating a scheduling request (SR), and transmitting the SR to a base station (NB) on the basis of the identified data amount so that an uplink resource is to be allocated from the NB.
Kazmi et al. (US 2016/0270047 A1) - method for selecting carrier aggregation (CA) configurations includes determining whether a first wireless device is operating or expected to operate using a single carrier configuration on a cell associated with a first frequency band. If the first wireless device is not operating or expected to operate using a single carrier configuration on a cell associated with a first frequency band, a first CA configuration is selected for a second wireless device.
Rahman et al. (US 2016/0353343 A1) - a cell change for a UE is based on the target cell's uplink transmission configuration, including, for example, the maximum number of allowed UL physical channel (e.g., UL resource blocks) for the target cell.
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462