DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1, 19, and 20 have been amended to include the “one or more medium access control (MAC) subheader fields.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (US 2024/0098564).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses a method comprising: receiving, from a transmitter ([0415], “In an embodiment, the communication apparatus 10 may be the transmitting end in the method embodiment. In this embodiment, the communication interface 13 may be a transceiver. The transceiver may include a receiver and/or a transmitter.”), a transport block comprising one or more medium access control (MAC) subheader fields and data units ([0292], “Further, with reference to a policy of dividing a TB into CBs that is known by the PHY layer, the PHY layer may determine a position mapping relationship between respective data parts of the plurality of CBs obtained by dividing the TB and all MAC CEs or MAC SDUs.”), the transport block being divided into code block groups ([0350], “a TB is divided to obtain a plurality of CBGs, each CBG includes a first part and a second part, the first part is header information of the CBG, and the second part is a data part of the CBG.”), a beginning of each code block group in the transport block comprising an alignment ([0355], “FIG. 19 is an example in which a receiving end delivers data based on a position mapping relationship between CBGs and sub-PDUs.”) with a beginning of a respective MAC subheader field in the transport block ([0355], “In addition, although CBG 2 is incorrect, CBG 1 is correct. If CBG 1 includes a complete sub-header of sub-PDU 2, header information of CBG 1 is parsed to obtain a complete sub-header of sub-PDU 2, and the complete sub-PDU 2 is read based on an indication of the sub-header of sub-PDU 2. If CRC is also added to the end of sub-PDU 2, whether sub-PDU 2 is correct may be determined based on a CRC check result.”); and based on the alignment, decoding the code block groups of the transport block ([0261], "FIG. 8 is used as an example. It is assumed that CB 1 and CB 2 are correct, and CB 3 is incorrect. The data part of CB 1 corresponds to a start position of sub-PDU 1. A position mapping relationship between sub-PDU 2 and the data part of CB 2 may be obtained by parsing the header information of CB 1. Because CB 1 is correct, a start position of sub-PDU 2 in the data part of CB 2 is obtained, and a size of sub-PDU 2 may be obtained based on a sub-header of sub-PDU 2, and then a size of sub-PDU 3 is obtained.").
Regarding claim 2, Tan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a code block group, of the code block groups, is successfully decoded ([0261], “FIG. 8 is used as an example. It is assumed that CB 1 and CB 2 are correct, and CB 3 is incorrect. The data part of CB 1 corresponds to a start position of sub-PDU 1. A position mapping relationship between sub-PDU 2 and the data part of CB 2 may be obtained by parsing the header information of CB 1. Because CB 1 is correct, a start position of sub-PDU 2 in the data part of CB 2 is obtained, and a size of sub-PDU 2 may be obtained based on a sub-header of sub-PDU 2, and then a size of sub-PDU 3 is obtained.”); and sending the decoded code block group to a higher layer, the sending being independent of decoding the transport block in entirety ([0260], “In addition, if one or more following CBs including complete sub-PDUs are correct, correct and complete sub-PDUs may be obtained and transmitted to an upper layer.”).
Regarding claim 4, Tan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transport block includes padding between a data unit and a subsequent MAC subheader ([0296], “As shown in FIG. 13, the receiving end performs CRC on CB 1 to CB 7 obtained by dividing a TB, to determine correct CBs in CB 1 to CB 7. It is assumed that CB 1 to CB 3, CB 5, and CB 6 are correct. The MAC header corresponds to CB 1 and a part of CB 2. Therefore, if CRC on CB 1 and CB 2 succeeds, integrity and correctness of the MAC header can be ensured. By parsing the MAC header, the receiving end obtains information about each sub-header, including information about a size of a MAC CE or a MAC SDU corresponding to each sub-header and information about a length of a padding bit.”), the padding enabling the alignment between the beginning of a code block group in the transport block and the beginning of the respective MAC subheader field in the transport block ([0296], “Therefore, the receiving end may determine a position mapping relationship between data parts of CB 1 to CB 7 and MAC CE 1, MAC CE 2, and MAC SDU 1 to MAC SDU 4, and a position and length of the padding bit. Based on the position mapping relationship, the PHY layer of the receiving end may obtain complete MAC CEs or MAC SDUs in CB 1 to CB 3, CB 5, and CB 6, and deliver the complete MAC CEs or MAC SDUs to the MAC layer. The PHY layer may discard the padding bit without processing.”).
Regarding claim 5, Tan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the code block groups each comprise one or more code blocks, a code block representing a data packet that is encoded or decoded for transmitting data in the transport block ([0275], "The foregoing describes a solution in which the transmitting end adds header information to indicate the position mapping relationship between the data parts of the plurality of CBs obtained by dividing the TB and the N sub-PDUs included in the MAC PDU, so that the receiving end obtains the position mapping relationship between the data parts of the CBs and the sub-PDUs by parsing the header information, so as to deliver a complete sub-PDU in the CB that succeeds in CRC (that is, a correct CB) to an upper layer.”).
Regarding claim 6, Tan discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the code block groups each comprise a same number of code blocks ([0351], “For example, the plurality of CBGs include a first CBG, and header information of the first CBG indicates a position mapping relationship between a data part of the first CBG and M sub-PDUs in N sub-PDUs included in a MAC PDU, where N≥1, M≥1, and M is less than or equal to N. A data part of a CBG is a sum of CBs included in the CBG.”).
Regarding claim 7, Tan discloses the method of claim 5, wherein a first code block group of the code block groups comprises a first number of code blocks, wherein a second code block group comprises a second number of code blocks, and wherein the first number is different from the second number ([0353], “FIG. 18 is an example of a position mapping relationship between CBGs and sub-PDUs according to this application. As shown in FIG. 18, a MAC PDU includes five sub-PDUs, which are denoted as sub-PDU 1 to sub-PDU 5. ATB carrying the MAC PDU is divided into six CBGs: CBG 1 to CBG 6. It can be learned that each of CBG 1 and CBG 2 includes two CBs, and each of the remaining CBGs includes one CB. CBG 1_2 to CBG 6_2 respectively represent data parts of CBG 1 to CBG 6. For example, CBG 1_2 is a sum of CB 1 and CB 2. CBG 2_2 is a sum of CB 3 and CB 4. A data part of CBG 3 is a CB included in CBG 3, and is CB 5. Other CBGs are similar to CBG 3, and details are not described again.”).
Regarding claim 9, Tan discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first number is configured to enable the first code block group to include a first data unit that is larger than a second data unit of the second code block group ([0353], “It can be learned that each of CBG 1 and CBG 2 includes two CBs, and each of the remaining CBGs includes one CB. CBG 1_2 to CBG 6_2 respectively represent data parts of CBG 1 to CBG 6. For example, CBG 1_2 is a sum of CB 1 and CB 2. CBG 2_2 is a sum of CB 3 and CB 4. A data part of CBG 3 is a CB included in CBG 3, and is CB 5.”).
Regarding claim 10, Tan discloses the method of claim 5, wherein a mapping of code blocks to respective code block groups is configured by the transmitter depending on a number of the data units of the transport block, a size of the data units of the transport block, or both the number and the size of the data units ([0296], “By parsing the MAC header, the receiving end obtains information about each sub-header, including information about a size of a MAC CE or a MAC SDU corresponding to each sub-header and information about a length of a padding bit. Therefore, the receiving end may determine a position mapping relationship between data parts of CB 1 to CB 7 and MAC CE 1, MAC CE 2, and MAC SDU 1 to MAC SDU 4, and a position and length of the padding bit. Based on the position mapping relationship, the PHY layer of the receiving end may obtain complete MAC CEs or MAC SDUs in CB 1 to CB 3, CB 5, and CB 6, and deliver the complete MAC CEs or MAC SDUs to the MAC layer.”).
Regarding claim 15, Tan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein MAC control elements (CEs) are interspersed in the transport block among the MAC subheaders and the data units ([0292], “506: The PHY layer parses the MAC header to obtain sub-headers of all MAC CEs and/or MAC SDUs, so as to determine sizes of all the MAC CEs and/or MAC SDUs based on the sub-headers. The MAC header includes sub-headers of all MAC CEs and/or MAC SDUs. Further, with reference to a policy of dividing a TB into CBs that is known by the PHY layer, the PHY layer may determine a position mapping relationship between respective data parts of the plurality of CBs obtained by dividing the TB and all MAC CEs or MAC SDUs.”).
Regarding claim 16, Tan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a first code block group of the code block groups comprises a first number of code blocks, wherein a second code block group comprises a second number of code blocks, and wherein the first number is different from the second number ([0353], “FIG. 18 is an example of a position mapping relationship between CBGs and sub-PDUs according to this application. As shown in FIG. 18, a MAC PDU includes five sub-PDUs, which are denoted as sub-PDU 1 to sub-PDU 5. A TB carrying the MAC PDU is divided into six CBGs: CBG 1 to CBG 6. It can be learned that each of CBG 1 and CBG 2 includes two CBs, and each of the remaining CBGs includes one CB. CBG 1_2 to CBG 6_2 respectively represent data parts of CBG 1 to CBG 6. For example, CBG 1_2 is a sum of CB 1 and CB 2. CBG 2_2 is a sum of CB 3 and CB 4. A data part of CBG 3 is a CB included in CBG 3, and is CB 5. Other CBGs are similar to CBG 3, and details are not described again.”); wherein MAC control elements (CEs) are interspersed in the transport block among the MAC subheaders and the data units ([0292], “506: The PHY layer parses the MAC header to obtain sub-headers of all MAC CEs and/or MAC SDUs, so as to determine sizes of all the MAC CEs and/or MAC SDUs based on the sub-headers. The MAC header includes sub-headers of all MAC CEs and/or MAC SDUs. Further, with reference to a policy of dividing a TB into CBs that is known by the PHY layer, the PHY layer may determine a position mapping relationship between respective data parts of the plurality of CBs obtained by dividing the TB and all MAC CEs or MAC SDUs.”); and wherein the first number and the second number are configured based on respective lengths of the data units ([0353], “For example, CBG 1_2 is a sum of CB 1 and CB 2. CBG 2_2 is a sum of CB 3 and CB 4.”), and wherein the MAC CEs are interspersed based on padding space available in one or more of the first code block group or the second code block group ([0296], "By parsing the MAC header, the receiving end obtains information about each sub-header, including information about a size of a MAC CE or a MAC SDU corresponding to each sub-header and information about a length of a padding bit."), the padding space enabling the alignment of the beginning of each code block group in the transport block with the beginning of a respective MAC subheader field in the transport block ([0296], “Therefore, the receiving end may determine a position mapping relationship between data parts of CB 1 to CB 7 and MAC CE 1, MAC CE 2, and MAC SDU 1 to MAC SDU 4, and a position and length of the padding bit. Based on the position mapping relationship, the PHY layer of the receiving end may obtain complete MAC CEs or MAC SDUs in CB 1 to CB 3, CB 5, and CB 6, and deliver the complete MAC CEs or MAC SDUs to the MAC layer. The PHY layer may discard the padding bit without processing.”).
Regarding claim 18, Tan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transport block is received through a PHY layer ([0284], “501: A PHY layer of the receiving end receives a TB.”).
Regarding claim 19, Tan discloses a method performed by a transmitter, the method comprising ([0415], “In an embodiment, the communication apparatus 10 may be the transmitting end in the method embodiment. In this embodiment, the communication interface 13 may be a transceiver. The transceiver may include a receiver and/or a transmitter.”): configuring a transport block comprising one or more medium access control (MAC) subheader fields and data units ([0292], “Further, with reference to a policy of dividing a TB into CBs that is known by the PHY layer, the PHY layer may determine a position mapping relationship between respective data parts of the plurality of CBs obtained by dividing the TB and all MAC CEs or MAC SDUs.”), the transport block being divided into code block groups ([0350], “a TB is divided to obtain a plurality of CBGs, each CBG includes a first part and a second part, the first part is header information of the CBG, and the second part is a data part of the CBG.”), a beginning of each code block group in the transport block comprising an alignment ([0355], “FIG. 19 is an example in which a receiving end delivers data based on a position mapping relationship between CBGs and sub-PDUs.”) with a beginning of a respective MAC subheader field in the transport block ([0355], “In addition, although CBG 2 is incorrect, CBG 1 is correct. If CBG 1 includes a complete sub-header of sub-PDU 2, header information of CBG 1 is parsed to obtain a complete sub-header of sub-PDU 2, and the complete sub-PDU 2 is read based on an indication of the sub-header of sub-PDU 2. If CRC is also added to the end of sub-PDU 2, whether sub-PDU 2 is correct may be determined based on a CRC check result.”); and transmitting the configured transport block to a receiver ([0368], “In another embodiment, the plurality of CBs are obtained by dividing the TB plus a CRC code, and the sending unit 1300 is further configured to send the TB to a physical layer through a MAC layer.”)
Regarding claim 20, Tan discloses one or more baseband processors configured to perform operation comprising ([0413], “FIG. 22 is a diagram of a structure of a communication apparatus according to this application. As shown in FIG. 22, the communication apparatus 10 includes one or more processors 11, one or more memories 12, and one or more communication interfaces 13.”): receiving, from a transmitter ([0415], “In an embodiment, the communication apparatus 10 may be the transmitting end in the method embodiment. In this embodiment, the communication interface 13 may be a transceiver. The transceiver may include a receiver and/or a transmitter.”), a transport block comprising one or more medium access control (MAC) subheader fields and data units ([0292], “Further, with reference to a policy of dividing a TB into CBs that is known by the PHY layer, the PHY layer may determine a position mapping relationship between respective data parts of the plurality of CBs obtained by dividing the TB and all MAC CEs or MAC SDUs.”), the transport block being divided into code block groups ([0350], “a TB is divided to obtain a plurality of CBGs, each CBG includes a first part and a second part, the first part is header information of the CBG, and the second part is a data part of the CBG.”), a beginning of each code block group in the transport block comprising an alignment ([0355], “FIG. 19 is an example in which a receiving end delivers data based on a position mapping relationship between CBGs and sub-PDUs.”) with a beginning of a respective MAC subheader field in the transport block ([0355], “In addition, although CBG 2 is incorrect, CBG 1 is correct. If CBG 1 includes a complete sub-header of sub-PDU 2, header information of CBG 1 is parsed to obtain a complete sub-header of sub-PDU 2, and the complete sub-PDU 2 is read based on an indication of the sub-header of sub-PDU 2. If CRC is also added to the end of sub-PDU 2, whether sub-PDU 2 is correct may be determined based on a CRC check result.”); and based on the alignment, decoding the code block groups of the transport block ([0261], "FIG. 8 is used as an example. It is assumed that CB 1 and CB 2 are correct, and CB 3 is incorrect. The data part of CB 1 corresponds to a start position of sub-PDU 1. A position mapping relationship between sub-PDU 2 and the data part of CB 2 may be obtained by parsing the header information of CB 1. Because CB 1 is correct, a start position of sub-PDU 2 in the data part of CB 2 is obtained, and a size of sub-PDU 2 may be obtained based on a sub-header of sub-PDU 2, and then a size of sub-PDU 3 is obtained.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al (US 2024/0098564) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0094477).
Regarding claim 3, Tan does not disclose the HARQ retransmission for CBG not successfully decoded. Chen discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: while sending the decoded block group to the higher layer ([0116], "An advantage of this arrangement is that, as long as a CBG is correctly decoded, any decoded PDUs that start within that CBG can be immediately delivered to higher layers even if one or more previous CBGs have been missed. FIG. 7 illustrates and example in which (as in FIG. 6 described above) CBG(1) 106-1 is missing, e.g. due to a failure to correctly decode."), performing Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) retransmission for another code block group that is not successfully decoded ([0116], “Accordingly, upon successful decoding of CBG(2), the starting location of PDU(2) 502-2 can be located so the PDU(2) and following PDUs can be forwarded, even before CBG(1) has been successfully received. This means that the ARQ buffer(s) only need to store data directly affected by the failure of CBG(1), which in the example of FIG. 7 relates to PDU(0) and PDU(1). Because the content of CBG(2) and any subsequently received CBGs do not need to be buffered until CBG(1) has been successfully received, the required size of the ARQ buffer is reduced as compared to conventional ARQ techniques.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen to have the HARQ retransmission for CBG not successfully decoded. The motivation would have been to reduce the delay of delivering decoded PDUs (e.g., Chen [0110]).
Regarding claim 11, Tan does not disclose the DCI that specifies configuration. Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving downlink control information (DCI) that specifies a configuration of the transport block, the configuration indicating ([0020], “FIGS. 1A and 1B schematically illustrate ARQ transmission techniques known in the art;” In paragraph [0006], Chen states DCI may indicate configuration of the CBGs as shown in Fig. 1B.) the alignment of the beginning of each code block group ([0116], "the CBG header 700-2 of CBG(2) 106-2 contains an indication of the starting point of the first PDU in that code block group, which in this example is PDU(2). Accordingly, upon successful decoding of CBG(2), the starting location of PDU(2) 502- 2 can be located so the PDU(2) and following PDUs can be forwarded, even before CBG(1) has been successfully received.") in the transport block with the beginning of a respective MAC subheader field in the transport block ([0108], "Each CBG 106 may include one or more CBs 104 (not shown), and may contain encoded data of part of a MAC PDU 500 or of multiple MAC PDUs 500. The alignment between each MAC header 502 and the boundaries of any given CBG 106 is arbitrary, and changes depending on the variable lengths of the MAC PDUs 500."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen to have the DCI that specifies configuration. The motivation would have been to reduce the delay of delivering decoded PDUs (e.g., Chen [0110]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al (US 2024/0098564) in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 2020/0245368).
Regarding claim 8, Tan in view of Chen does not disclose the reduction of padding. Akkarakaran discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first number is configured to reduce a padding required to align the beginning of each code block group in the transport block being with the beginning of the respective MAC subheader field ([0096], “In some aspects, BS 110 may configure the one or more code blocks to be all the same code block size, and accordingly may add padding (that is, extra bits) to the one or more code blocks in order to ensure that the one or more code blocks are all the same code block size. In some aspects, BS 110 may configure the one or more code blocks to be different code block sizes, which may reduce the amount of padding that is added to the one or more code blocks.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen and further in view of Akkarakaran to have the reduction of padding. The motivation would have been to decrease decoding time (e.g., Akkarakaran [0108]).
Claims 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 2024/0098564) in view of Sundararajan et al. (US 2020/0396739).
Regarding claim 12, Tan in view of Chen does not disclose the DCI and mask data. Sundararajan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving downlink control information (DCI) specifying mask data, the mask data indicating ([0088], "In some aspects, the base station 105 may indicate the mode to the UE 115 (for example, via RRC signaling or downlink control information (DCI) signal). In some examples, the base station 105 may then determine an alignment of a sub-protocol data unit of the MAC layer based on transmitting the indication. In existing wireless communications systems, a base station may receive a data stream from an application, and may transmit the data stream in the order that it is received. According to the present disclosure, the base station 105 may map a sub-protocol data unit of the MAC layer to a code block group of a transport block such that a UE 115 can deliver the first code block group to the MAC layer before decoding a second code block group.") a number of code blocks for each code block group and an order for the code block groups ([0089], "In some aspects, a transport block may be split into multiple code blocks (CB1, CB2, CB3, CB4, CB5, CB6, and CB7). In some examples, one or more code blocks may be grouped into a code block group. As depicted in the example of FIG. 4, CB1, CB2, and CB3 are grouped into a first code block group (CBG 1), and CB4, CB5, CB6, and CB7 are grouped into a second code block group (CBG 2)."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen and further in view of Sundararajan to have the DCI and mask data. The motivation would have been to improve throughput and reduce latency (e.g., Sundararajan [0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Tan in view of Chen does not disclose the mode indicator bit. Sundararajan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: decoding, for a code block group, a mode indicator bit, the mode indicator bit indicating whether the code block group is aligned with a corresponding MAC subheader ([0123], "The delivering component 1135 may deliver, to the MAC layer of the UE and based on the mode for processing the transport block, the one or more decoded bits of the one or more decoded code blocks in the first code block group before completing the decoding of the second code block group. The alignment component 1140 may determine an alignment of a sub- protocol data unit of the MAC layer based on receiving the configuration."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen and further in view of Sundararajan to have the mode indicator bit. The motivation would have been to improve throughput and reduce latency (e.g., Sundararajan [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Tan in view of Chen does not disclose the DCI with mode indicator bit. Sundararajan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving mode indicator data in downlink control information (DCI), the mode indicator data indicating, for one or more code blocks of the transport block, whether a given code block group is aligned with a corresponding MAC subheader ([0088], "the base station 105 may indicate the mode to the UE 115 (for example, via RRC signaling or downlink control information (DCI) signal). In some examples, the base station 105 may then determine an alignment of a sub-protocol data unit of the MAC layer based on transmitting the indication."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen and further in view of Sundararajan to have the DCI with mode indicator bit. The motivation would have been to improve throughput and reduce latency (e.g., Sundararajan [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, Tan in view of Chen does not disclose the DCI containing mask data and number of CBs for each CBG. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving downlink control information (DCI) specifying mask data, the mask data indicating ([0088], "In some aspects, the base station 105 may indicate the mode to the UE 115 (for example, via RRC signaling or downlink control information (DCI) signal). In some examples, the base station 105 may then determine an alignment of a sub-protocol data unit of the MAC layer based on transmitting the indication. In existing wireless communications systems, a base station may receive a data stream from an application, and may transmit the data stream in the order that it is received. According to the present disclosure, the base station 105 may map a sub-protocol data unit of the MAC layer to a code block group of a transport block such that a UE 115 can deliver the first code block group to the MAC layer before decoding a second code block group.") a number of code blocks for each code block group and an order for the code block groups ([0089], "In some aspects, a transport block may be split into multiple code blocks (CB1, CB2, CB3, CB4, CB5, CB6, and CB7). In some examples, one or more code blocks may be grouped into a code block group. As depicted in the example of FIG. 4, CB1, CB2, and CB3 are grouped into a first code block group (CBG 1), and CB4, CB5, CB6, and CB7 are grouped into a second code block group (CBG 2)."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan in view of Chen and further in view of Sundararajan to have the DCI containing mask data and number of CBs for each CBG. The motivation would have been to improve throughput and reduce latency (e.g., Sundararajan [0037]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479