Wrong
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-13, filed on 6/9/2026, with respect to objection to claims 3-9 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claims 3-9 and 14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/9/2026 with respect to Double Patenting rejection, 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection, and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument:
Double Patenting
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 19-20 by incorporating subject matter recited in original claim 10, which is not subject to double patenting rejection. Applicant respectfully submits that the amended claims are patentably distinct from claims 1 and 18 of the '997 Application, at least because the amended claims now recite additional limitations that are neither disclosed nor suggested by the claims of the '997 Application.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the double patenting rejection be withdrawn and that claims 1-2 and 19-20 be allowed.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102
amended claim 1 recites, among other things, the following limitations that are not disclosed by NPL:
“wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL- RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs”.
By this Response, Applicant has amended independent claim 1 by incorporating subject matter previously recited in claim 10.
NPL does not disclose the above-recited limitations. As understood from the Office Action, the Examiner appears to rely on Proposal 3 of NPL, which is directed to providing the LMF with Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS-Pos, or a difference of Tx timing delays between UE Tx RF chains. Such disclosure, at most, relates to timing delay information associated with UE Tx RF chains for uplink positioning. However, a Tx timing delay value, or a difference between Tx timing delay values, is not the same as an association relationship between a target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs, as now recited in amended claim 1.
Moreover, Proposal 3 of NPL does not disclose a downlink positioning measurement result, does not identify a target positioning measurement result from such downlink positioning measurement results, and does not disclose indicating an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
Further, even assuming, for the sake of argument, that NPL discloses association information between an SRS resource for positioning and a UE Tx TEG, such disclosure would relate at most to an association between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a UE Tx TEG. It still would not disclose the newly added limitation: when the first information comprises the second association relationship, when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a DL-RSTD, an Rx-Tx time difference, or another type of downlink measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, for a target positioning measurement result, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
Since NPL fails to disclose the above-discussed limitations, Applicant respectfully submits that NPL does not anticipate amended claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claim 1 under35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) be withdrawn.
Examiner’s response:
With respect to the Double Patenting rejection:
The amended claims 1, 19, and 20 added a new limitation:
“wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL- RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs”.
The newly added limitation of claims 1, 19 and 20 only further limiting when the second option is selected is selected; that is:
“a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG”.
Since the Double Patenting rejection depends only on the selection of the first option:
“a first association relationship, wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG)”.
The newly added limitation does not carry patentable weight with respect to the Double Patenting rejection of claims 1-2 and 19-20, therefore, Double Patenting rejection of claims 1-2 and 19-20 are maintained.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1:
The newly added limitation of claim 1 only further limiting when the second option is selected is selected; that is:
“a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG”.
Since the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 depends only on the selection of the first option:
“a first association relationship, wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG)”,
the newly added limitation does not carry patentable weight with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1, therefore, 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 19-20:
The newly added limitation of claims 19-20 only further limiting when the second option is selected is selected; that is:
“a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG”.
Since the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 19-20 depend only on the selection of the first option:
“a first association relationship, wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG)”,
the newly added limitation does not carry patentable weight with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 19-20, therefore, 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 19-20 are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 18 of copending Application No. 18/506,997 (claims filed on 12/22/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following comparison.
Claim
Instant Application
Claim
US Patent Application 18/506,997
1
A timing error group indication method, comprising:
indicating, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, wherein the first information is used to assist the network side device in performing positioning calculation, and the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first association relationship, wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG); or
a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG;
wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL-RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
1
A method for positioning processing, comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, timing error group (TEG) level information, wherein the TEG level information indicates at least one mapping relationship, wherein the at least one mapping relationship comprises at least one of the following:
a timing error threshold corresponding to a TEG level,
a timing error difference threshold corresponding to the TEG level,
a positioning accuracy requirement corresponding to the TEG level, or
configuration information of reference signal for positioning corresponding to the TEG level;
determining, by the terminal, first indication information according to the at least one mapping relationship; and
sending, by the terminal, first indication information, to a first network side device for the first network side device to perform positioning processing associated with the terminal based on the first indication information,
wherein the first indication information is indicates at least one of the following:
an association between a reference signal for uplink positioning and a TEG, or
an association between a positioning measurement result and the TEG.
2
The timing error group indication method according to claim 1, wherein before indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, a first request message sent by the network side device, wherein the first request message is used to request the terminal to indicate the first information.
5
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal, request information from the first network side device, wherein the request information is used to request the terminal to provide the first indication information or TEG capability information.
19
A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor to implement operations comprising:
indicating, by the terminal, first information to a network side device, wherein the first information is used to assist the network side device in performing positioning calculation, and the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first association relationship, wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG); or
a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG, wherein
when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL-RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
18
A terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising:
obtaining timing error group (TEG) level information, wherein the TEG level information indicates at least one mapping relationship, wherein the at least one mapping relationship comprises at least one of the following:
a timing error threshold corresponding to a TEG level,
a timing error difference threshold corresponding to the TEG level,
a positioning accuracy requirement corresponding to the TEG level, or
configuration information of reference signal for positioning corresponding to the TEG level;
determining first indication information according to the at least one mapping relationship; and
sending the first indication information, to a first network side device for the first network side device to perform positioning processing associated with the terminal based on the first indication information,
wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of the following:
an association between a reference signal for uplink positioning and a timing error group (TEG); or
an association between a positioning measurement result and the TEG.
20
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program or instruction, when the computer program or instruction is executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement operations comprising:
indicating, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, wherein the first information is used to assist the network side device in performing positioning calculation, and the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first association relationship, wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG); or
a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG, wherein
wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL-RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs..
18
A terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising:
obtaining timing error group (TEG) level information, wherein the TEG level information indicates at least one mapping relationship, wherein the at least one mapping relationship comprises at least one of the following:
a timing error threshold corresponding to a TEG level,
a timing error difference threshold corresponding to the TEG level,
a positioning accuracy requirement corresponding to the TEG level, or
configuration information of reference signal for positioning corresponding to the TEG level;
determining first indication information according to the at least one mapping relationship; and
sending the first indication information, to a first network side device for the first network side device to perform positioning processing associated with the terminal based on the first indication information,
wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of the following:
an association between a reference signal for uplink positioning and a timing error group (TEG); or
an association between a positioning measurement result and the TEG.
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 of US Patent application 18/506,997 filed on 2/5/2026 discloses one of the options of claim 1, thus satisfied the claimed limitation of claim 1 as shown in the above comparison (the further limiting of the second option does not carry patentable weight with respect to the rejection of claim 1).
(2) Regarding claim 2:
Claim 5 of US Patent application 18/506,997 filed on 2/5/2026 discloses all limitation of claim 2 as shown in above comparison.
(3) Regarding claim 19:
Claim 18 of US Patent application 18/506,997 filed on 2/5/2026 discloses one of the options of claim 19, thus satisfied the claimed limitation of claim 19 as shown in the above comparison (the further limiting of the second option does not carry patentable weight with respect to the rejection of claim 1).
(4) Regarding claim 20:
Claim 18 of US Patent application 18/506,997 filed on 2/5/2026 discloses one of the options of claim 20, thus satisfied the claimed limitation of claim 19 as shown in the above comparison (the further limiting of the second option does not carry patentable weight with respect to the rejection of claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2102204, dated January 25 – February 5, 2021).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
NPL discloses a timing error group indication method, comprising:
indicating, by a terminal, first information to a network side device (LMF), wherein the first information is used to assist the network side device in performing positioning calculation (provide LMF the Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos, or the difference of the Tx timing delays of RF chains between UE Tx RF chain with index=m and index =n, page 30, proposal 3), and the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first association relationship (Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos), wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG) (provide LMF the Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos, or the difference of the Tx timing delays of RF chains between UE Tx RF chain with index=m and index =n, page 30, proposal 3; page 65, Proposal 3-3, option 2, Support a UE to provide the association information of SRS resource for positioning with UE Tx TEG(s) to LMF for UL TDOA positioning); or
a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG,
wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL-RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2102204, dated January 25 – February 5, 2021) in view of Bao et al. (US 2022/0065979 A1 with effective filing date of provisional application 63/073,848 on 9/2/2020).
(1) Regarding claim 19:
NPL discloses a timing error group indication method, comprising:
indicating, by a terminal, first information to a network side device (LMF), wherein the first information is used to assist the network side device in performing positioning calculation (provide LMF the Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos, or the difference of the Tx timing delays of RF chains between UE Tx RF chain with index=m and index =n, page 30, proposal 3), and the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first association relationship (Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos), wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG) (provide LMF the Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos, or the difference of the Tx timing delays of RF chains between UE Tx RF chain with index=m and index =n, page 30, proposal 3; page 65, Proposal 3-3, option 2, Support a UE to provide the association information of SRS resource for positioning with UE Tx TEG(s) to LMF for UL TDOA positioning); or
a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG,
wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL-RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
NPL fails to disclose a terminal comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor to implement the method.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bao discloses a terminal (UE 105 in figure 8) comprising a processor (processor 810 in figure 8), a memory (memory 860 in figure 8), and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor to implement a method (The memory 860 of the UE 105 also can comprise software elements (not shown in FIG. 8), including an operating system, device drivers, executable libraries, and/or other code, such as one or more application programs, which may comprise computer programs provided by various embodiments, and/or may be designed to implement methods, and/or configure systems, provided by other embodiments, as described herein. Merely by way of example, one or more procedures described with respect to the method(s) discussed above may be implemented as code and/or instructions in memory 860 that are executable by the UE 105 (and/or processor(s) 810 or DSP 820 within UE 105), para. 0097).
It is desirable to have a terminal comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction is executed by the processor to implement the method because the implemented software would perform same function of the hardware for less expense, adaptability, and flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the terminal as taught by Bao to implement the method of NPL for the benefit for reducing cost and improving the adaptability and flexibility of the communication system.
(2) Regarding claim 20:
NPL discloses a timing error group indication method, comprising:
indicating, by a terminal, first information to a network side device (LMF), wherein the first information is used to assist the network side device in performing positioning calculation (provide LMF the Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos, or the difference of the Tx timing delays of RF chains between UE Tx RF chain with index=m and index =n, page 30, proposal 3), and the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first association relationship (Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos), wherein the first association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between an uplink reference signal for positioning and a first timing error group (TEG) (provide LMF the Tx timing delays of RF chains of the UE for transmitting SRS Pos, or the difference of the Tx timing delays of RF chains between UE Tx RF chain with index=m and index =n, page 30, proposal 3; page 65, Proposal 3-3, option 2, Support a UE to provide the association information of SRS resource for positioning with UE Tx TEG(s) to LMF for UL TDOA positioning); or
a second association relationship, wherein the second association relationship is used to indicate an association relationship between a downlink positioning measurement result and a second TEG; or
wherein when the first information comprises the second association relationship, the indicating, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device comprises:
when a downlink positioning measurement result comprises a downlink reference signal time difference (DL-RSTD), a receive-transmit time difference (Rx-Tx time difference), or another type of downlink measurement result, for a target positioning measurement result, indicating, by the terminal, an association relationship between the target positioning measurement result and N second TEGs.
NPL fails to disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program or instruction, when the computer program or instruction is executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the above operation.
However, Bao discloses an UE comprises memory 860 of the UE 105 also can comprise software elements (not shown in FIG. 8), including an operating system, device drivers, executable libraries, and/or other code, such as one or more application programs, which may comprise computer programs provided by various embodiments, and/or may be designed to implement methods, and/or configure systems, provided by other embodiments, as described herein. Merely by way of example, one or more procedures described with respect to the method(s) discussed above may be implemented as code and/or instructions in memory 860 that are executable by the UE 105 (and/or processor(s) 810 or DSP 820 within UE 105), para. 0079.
It is desirable to have a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program or instruction, when the computer program or instruction is executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the above operation because the implemented software would perform same function of the hardware for less expense, adaptability, and flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the terminal as taught by Bao to implement the method of NPL for the benefit for reducing cost and improving the adaptability and flexibility of the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hasegawa (US 2023/0388959 A1) discloses positioning in wireless systems.
Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0292280 A1) discloses timing group indication for positioning measurement.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 7/13/2026