DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/22/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 4, have been amended, claims 6, 21-86 have been canceled and claims 87, 88 are new. Thus, claims 1-5, 7-20 and 87-88 are presently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art Van Dyke et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding Claim 10, the prior art fails to teach nor render obvious wherein the second aperture extends through at least one of the plurality of grooves. Regarding Claim 12, the prior art fails to teach nor render obvious wherein the longitudinal centerline of each of the first and second apertures is angled 30° relative to the longitudinal plane of the stem
Claims 13-18 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art Van Dyke et al. discloses a system, comprising: the stem of Claim 1 (see rejection below), wherein each aperture of the plurality of apertures 138, 142 comprises a first opening, a second opening, and a length measured along a longitudinal centerline therebetween (as seen in Figures 1A-1E). However, Van Dyke et al. does not expressly disclose nor render obvious at least one plug configured to be received by one or more apertures of the plurality of apertures of the stem. Claims 14-18 depends on claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-20 and 88 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art Van Dyke et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0310176 A1 discloses Claims 1 and 19, a stem for a shoulder prosthesis 100 as seen in Figures 1A-1B (paragraphs [0046-0047] and [0050]) comprising: a medial side (to the left side of the longitudinal axis as seen in Figure 1B and paragraphs [0046] and [0050]); a lateral side opposite the medial side (side positioned on the right side of the longitudinal axis 108 as seen in Figure 1B and paragraph [0046], [0050] and [0056]); and a plurality of apertures 116, 118, 126, 128, 138, 142, each aperture of the plurality of apertures configured to receive a screw 120, 122, 132, 134, 136, 144, 146 or one or more plugs (paragraphs [0048], [0054-0055]), the plurality of apertures comprising a first aperture and a second aperture, wherein the first aperture 138 is positioned proximal to the second aperture 142 (paragraphs [0054-0055]), wherein each of the first and second apertures 138, 142 comprises a first opening on the medial side, a second opening on the lateral side (paragraph [0056] and [0059-0060]), and a length measured along a longitudinal centerline therebetween, the longitudinal centerline of at least one of the first and second apertures being angled relative to a longitudinal plane extending in a medial-lateral direction of the stem (as seen in Figures 1A-1E and paragraphs [0056], [0059-0060]). Van Dyke et al. further discloses wherein the distal shaft portion 106 comprises the plurality of apertures 116, 118 (which was described as extending at any angle, in any direction through the distal portion 106, therefore, the longitudinal centerline of at least one of the first and second apertures being angled relative to a longitudinal plane extending in a medial- lateral direction of the stem as seen in the apertures of 138, 142). However, Van Dyke et al. does not expressly teach nor render obvious wherein an angle between the longitudinal centerline of at least one of the first and second apertures and the longitudinal plane is between 15 degrees to about 75 degrees. Regarding Claim 10, the prior art fails to teach nor render obvious wherein the second aperture extends through at least one of the plurality of grooves. Regarding Claim 12 the prior art fails to teach nor render obvious wherein the longitudinal centerline of each of the first and second apertures is angled 30° relative to the longitudinal plane of the stem.
Regarding Claim 13, Van Dyke et al. discloses a system, comprising: the stem of Claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein each aperture of the plurality of apertures 138, 142 comprises a first opening, a second opening, and a length measured along a longitudinal centerline therebetween (as seen in Figures 1A-1E). However, Van Dyke et al. does not expressly disclose nor render obvious at least one plug configured to be received by one or more apertures of the plurality of apertures of the stem.
Regarding Claim 88, Van Dyke et al. discloses a stem for a shoulder prosthesis 100 as seen in Figures 1A-1B (paragraphs [0046-0047] and [0050]) comprising: a medial side (to the left side of the longitudinal axis as seen in Figure 1B and paragraphs [0046] and [0050]); a lateral side opposite the medial side (side positioned on the right side of the longitudinal axis 108 as seen in Figure 1B and paragraph [0046], [0050] and [0056]); and a plurality of apertures 116, 118, 126, 128, 138, 142, each aperture of the plurality of apertures configured to receive a screw 120, 122, 132, 134, 136, 144, 146 (paragraphs [0048], [0054-0055]), the plurality of apertures comprising a first aperture and a second aperture, wherein the first aperture 138 is positioned proximal to the second aperture 142 (paragraphs [0054-0055]), wherein each of the first and second apertures 138, 142 comprises a first opening on the medial side, a second opening on the lateral side (paragraph [0056] and [0059-0060]), and a length measured along a longitudinal centerline therebetween, the longitudinal centerline of at least one of the first and second apertures being angled relative to a longitudinal plane extending in a medial-lateral direction of the stem (as seen in Figures 1A-1E and paragraphs [0056], [0059-0060]). Regarding Claim 12 the prior art fails to teach nor render obvious wherein the longitudinal centerline of each of the first and second apertures is angled 30° relative to the longitudinal plane of the stem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dyke et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0310176 A1 in view of Deransart et al. WO 2016/094739 A1.
Regarding Claim 87, Van Dyke et al. discloses a stem for a shoulder prosthesis 100 as seen in Figures 1A-1B (paragraphs [0046-0047] and [0050]) comprising: a medial side (to the left side of the longitudinal axis as seen in Figure 1B and paragraphs [0046] and [0050]); a lateral side opposite the medial side (side positioned on the right side of the longitudinal axis 108 as seen in Figure 1B and paragraph [0046], [0050] and [0056]); and a proximal portion having a stem face; and a plurality of apertures 116, 118, 126, 128, 138, 142, each aperture of the plurality of apertures configured to receive a screw 120, 122, 132, 134, 136, 144, 146 (paragraphs [0048], [0054-0055]), the plurality of apertures comprising a first aperture and a second aperture, wherein the first aperture 138 is positioned proximal to the second aperture 142 (paragraphs [0054-0055]), wherein each of the first and second apertures 138, 142 comprises a first opening on the medial side, a second opening on the lateral side (paragraph [0056] and [0059-0060]), and a length measured along a longitudinal centerline therebetween, the longitudinal centerline of at least one of the first and second apertures being angled relative to a longitudinal plane extending in a medial-lateral direction of the stem (as seen in Figures 1A-1E and paragraphs [0056], [0059-0060]). In addition, Van Dyke et al. discloses a distal shaft portion adapted to be anchored in a medullary canal of a humerus 110 (as seen in Figure 1 and paragraph [0047]). However, Van Dyke et al. does not expressly disclose a proximal portion having a stem face, and a metaphyseal portion extending between and connecting the distal shaft portion and the proximal portion. Deransart et al. teaches a shoulder prosthesis in the same field of endeavor comprising a stem 30 having a distal shaft portion 32 and a proximal portion 34 (paragraph [0079] and as seen in Figures 1A-3) and a metaphyseal portion 90 (paragraph [0092]) for the purpose of providing accurate support to restore the tuberosities positions and promote tuberosity healing and inhibit tuberosity resorption (paragraph [0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Dyke’s shoulder prosthesis to further include a stem having a proximal portion, a metaphyseal portion extending between and connecting a distal shaft portion and the proximal portion as taught by Deransart et al. for the purpose of providing accurate support to restore the tuberosities positions and promote tuberosity healing and inhibit tuberosity resorption.
Van Dyke et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the distal shaft portion comprises a plurality of grooves extending in a longitudinal direction, wherein the plurality of grooves are circumferentially spaced apart. Deransart et al. teaches a shoulder prosthesis in the same field of endeavor comprising a stem 30 having a distal shaft portion 32 comprising a plurality of grooves that extend in a longitudinal direction and are circumferentially spaced apart (1A-3 and 19) for the purpose of having a distal shaft portion that can fuse with the medullary canal of a humerus and stabilize the device (paragraph [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Dyke’s shoulder prosthesis to further include a distal shaft having a plurality of grooves that extend in a longitudinal direction and are circumferentially spaced apart as taught by Deransart et al. for the purpose of having a distal shaft portion that can fuse with the medullary canal of a humerus and stabilize the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774