DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All of the prior art rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 1 recites, ”a dyne level of 40-46 for a bond between the outer layer and the intermediate layer”. The instant specification (paragraph [0014]) provides support for a dyne level of 40-46 for a bond between the intermediate layer (backer) and the PSA layer but the specification does not provide support for ”a dyne level of 40-46 for a bond between the outer layer and the intermediate layer”.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,283. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,283 encompasses the scope of instant claim 1.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajbani et al. (2004/0151933) in view of Rios et al. (US 2010/0183814).
Ajbani discloses a grip for a firearm (paragraph [0015]) comprising an outer layer formed of a thermoplastic olefin chemical base (paragraphs [0041 – 0055]) containing silicone (paragraphs [0034 – 0038]) and having a shore hardness of 53 (Table 3).
Ajbani does not disclose a grip for a firearm comprising an intermediate layer having a higher surface energy than the elastomer; and an inner layer of pressure sensitive adhesive.
Rios discloses a grip for a firearm comprising an intermediate layer having a higher surface energy than the elastomer, since polyolefin and vinyl acetate are disclosed which are the same material disclosed by applicant in the instant specification at paragraphs [0015 – 0016] (Rios, paragraphs [0093 – 0094] and 306 from Fig. 14); and an inner layer of pressure sensitive adhesive (paragraph [0081] and 308 from Fig. 14) for the purpose of providing high-friction in order to prevent slipping or dropping of an article (paragraphs [0002 – 0003]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided an intermediate layer having a higher surface energy than the elastomer; and an inner layer of pressure sensitive adhesive in Ajbani in order to provide high-friction to prevent slipping or dropping of an article as taught or suggested by Rios.
An intermediate layer having a higher surface energy than the thermoplastic is provided upon the combination of Ajbani and Rios since Rios discloses an intermediate layer having a higher surface energy than the elastomer, since polyolefin and vinyl acetate are disclosed which are the same material disclosed by applicant in the instant specification at paragraphs [0015 – 0016] as discussed above and Ajbani discloses an outer layer formed of a thermoplastic elastomer vulcanite as discussed above.
The combination discloses a dyne level of 40-46 for a bond between the outer layer and the intermediate layer since Rios discloses a corona treatment (paragraph [0110]) between the outer and intermediate layers which is the same treatment which results in the recited dyne level disclosed by applicant (see instant specification, paragraph [0014]).
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 9/8/25 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant argues, “Applicant traverses the rejection of Claim | under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) on the grounds that the instant specification does not provide for “a dyne level of 40-46 for a bond between the outer layer and intermediate layer” because it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that a dyne level of 40-46 would be attainable by the means described. Paragraphs [0014] — [0015] describes “Corona treating the backer material prior to the application of the PSA” and that the “TPV and backer are both of an olefin chemical base”. The outer layer is shown to be the TPV layer, and the backer is shown to be the intermediate layer. No basis has been presented that the same treatment to attain a dyne level of 40-46 between the intermediate and PSA layer could not be used between the outer and intermediate layers.”
However, the specification does not say that the same treatment to attain a dyne level of 40-46 between the intermediate and PSA layer can be used between the outer and intermediate layers. Furthermore, the specification does not specifically state that the outer layer, backer/intermediate layer and PSA are made from the same materials.
Applicant argues, “Applicant traverses the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over U.S. Patent Publication 2004/0151933 from Ajbani et al (Abjani) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2010/0183814 from Rios et al. (Rios) because combined they do not provide motivation to one of ordinary skill for the claim as amended.”
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to combine is provided by Rios (paragraphs [0002 – 0003]) which is to provide high-friction in order to prevent slipping or dropping of an article.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
October 10, 2025